Having studied  the writing on my last (Read 2170 times)
olde.sault

Having studied  the writing on my last
Nov 21st, 2011 at 7:52am

electricity bill I found (in small print) an offer for households on lower incomes to claim a rebate, $50 per quarter.

Back in Howard's day, my quarterly winter electricity bill was $300.

The following winter, with Rudd at the helm, I received a quarterly bill for $750!

If any leftist can count, how does $50 stack up as compensation?

I don't switch fluorescent light on and off for short visits to a room these nights but shine my way with a lantern.

Apparently, my neighbours are also cutting down - stumbling around in the dark.

Walking out on my porch these nights I see a gloomy suburb - only the street light glare on, regardless!

This is the result of being ruled by well-meaning commos.

Re: Having studied  the writing on my last
Reply #1 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:03am

DODGY door-to-door salesmen have cashed in on yet another green scheme in a replica rort to the Federal Government's bungled pink batts scandal.
In a secret report obtained by The Sunday Telegraph, the state's independent power regulator has demanded the multimillion dollar scheme be shut down immediately. The NSW Government yesterday also promised to investigate suspected widespread abuse.

The little-known scheme has proven a bonanza for operaters selling showerheads to households in return for up to $30 million in tradeable energy certificates which have also driven up the state's power bills.

The Sunday Telegraph can reveal that the sale of showerheads has exploded since the Federal Government ended the pink batts scheme.

"We suspect many of the same operators who were involved in the sale of pink batts were involved in the sale of showerheads," one industry source said. "When pinks batts was suspended, there was a big jump in the production of energy savings certificates from showerhead sales."

The supension of the pink batts scheme in February last year saw a surge in the number of energy-saving certificates produced by selling showerheads from 37,032 in 2009 to a staggering 406,755 in 2010.
More than than half the certificates created by the scheme are now generated from the sale of water- and energy-saving showerheads.

The Department of Fair Trading has also been flooded with complaints about dodgy showerhead installations.

These include door-to-door salesmen encouraging customers to buy two showerheads, others encouraged to sign forms to state their showerhead had been replaced when it hadn't, as well as numerous complaints about dodgy installations which led to water leaks.

A yet-to-be released Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal report on the Energy Saving Scheme, obtained by The Sunday Telegraph, found the issuing of energy-saving certificates from the sale of showerheads was open to manipulation, and threatened the integrity of the entire scheme.

The regulator said it was concerned about the potential for "inaccurate, and possibly purposefully manipulated" certificates. "We are also concerned that the new showerheads are mostly replacing previously installed low-flow showerheads."Under the scheme launched in 2009, a market is created in tradable energy efficiency certificates which must be purchased by the state's energy operators as part of a government push to reduce energy consumption.

The report shows the scheme cost more than $20 million last year -- $10 million of it just for showerheads -- which had to be paid for by households in their quarterly power bills.The certificates cost more than $30 million this year because their value increased.

saulty we aint seen nothing yet...

and the caravan of mismanagement rolls on and on.

they claim its probably the same operators that ran the pink batts... may we assume its the same incompetent management running this as well??

otherwise we are paying for more shonky managers than we thought possible. Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #2 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:12am

olde.sault wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 7:52am:
electricity bill I found (in small print) an offer for households on lower incomes to claim a rebate, $50 per quarter.

The following winter, with Rudd at the helm, I received a quarterly bill for $750!

I don't switch fluorescent light on and off for short visits to a room these nights but shine my way with a lantern.

Walking out on my porch these nights I see a gloomy suburb - only the street light glare on, regardless!

I think you are over-stating things a little - well a lot actually.

Reply #3 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:30am

What sort of fool thinks the federal gov has anything to do with electricity bills? some one need to inform the fools of the world that electricity companies are private entities if they don't like the bill go to a new company, no wonder Abbott has some support when people are this stupid.Tho I expect its all lies anyway.

FRED.

Reply #4 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:32am

skippy. wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:30am:
What sort of fool thinks the federal gov has anything to do with electricity bills? some one need to inform the fools of the world that electricity companies are private entities if they don't like the bill go to a new company, no wonder Abbott has some support when people are this stupid.Tho I expect its all lies anyway.

THEY CUT OUT THE STATES    LOL LOL Grin Grin Grin

FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

salad in

Reply #5 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 9:14am

cods wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:03am:
DODGY door-to-door salesmen...

I can't understand the door-to-door salespeople representing the various electricity suppliers. They speak a brand of English which reveals they haven't been in Oz very long. I just tell them I can't understand them.

The ALP, the progressive party, the party of ideas, the workers' friend, is the only Australian political party to roast four young Australians in roof cavities. SHAME! SHAME! SHAME!

bomen_guy

http://aussie-aussie
-aussie.proboards.co
m/index.cg

Reply #6 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:08am

What has this thread got to do with politics.

All power companies are now privately owned, the government can't tell the power companies how much to charge.

THE WORST LABOR GOVERNMENT IS 100% BETTER THEN THE BEST LIBERAL GOVERNMENT

olde.sault

Reply #7 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:33am

cods wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:03am:
DODGY door-to-door salesmen have cashed in on yet another green scheme in a replica rort to the Federal Government's bungled pink batts scandal.
In a secret report obtained by The Sunday Telegraph, the state's independent power regulator has demanded the multimillion dollar scheme be shut down immediately. The NSW Government yesterday also promised to investigate suspected widespread abuse.

------
I've also had a visit from such an operator. He didn't offer anything but to take my showerhead and replace it with the energy-saving one.

A sort of scheme reminding me of Aladdin's lamp "New lamps for old". had me very suspicious!

I asked him to leave his merchandise, that I'd get someone else to install it. After making some inquiries, I learnt that it wouldn't help in anyway other other than standing longer, showering.

It probably be a saving on households with teenagers, who would not bother to risnce out their hair!

I'm still waiting for the bloke to return for the new showerhead

------
The little-known scheme has proven a bonanza for operaters selling showerheads to households in return for up to $30 million in tradeable energy certificates which have also driven up the state's power bills.

The Sunday Telegraph can reveal that the sale of showerheads has exploded since the Federal Government ended the pink batts scheme.

"We suspect many of the same operators who were involved in the sale of pink batts were involved in the sale of showerheads," one industry source said. "When pinks batts was suspended, there was a big jump in the production of energy savings certificates from showerhead sales."

The supension of the pink batts scheme in February last year saw a surge in the number of energy-saving certificates produced by selling showerheads from 37,032 in 2009 to a staggering 406,755 in 2010.
More than than half the certificates created by the scheme are now generated from the sale of water- and energy-saving showerheads.

The Department of Fair Trading has also been flooded with complaints about dodgy showerhead installations.

These include door-to-door salesmen encouraging customers to buy two showerheads, others encouraged to sign forms to state their showerhead had been replaced when it hadn't, as well as numerous complaints about dodgy installations which led to water leaks.

A yet-to-be released Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal report on the Energy Saving Scheme, obtained by The Sunday Telegraph, found the issuing of energy-saving certificates from the sale of showerheads was open to manipulation, and threatened the integrity of the entire scheme.

The regulator said it was concerned about the potential for "inaccurate, and possibly purposefully manipulated" certificates. "We are also concerned that the new showerheads are mostly replacing previously installed low-flow showerheads."Under the scheme launched in 2009, a market is created in tradable energy efficiency certificates which must be purchased by the state's energy operators as part of a government push to reduce energy consumption.

The report shows the scheme cost more than $20 million last year -- $10 million of it just for showerheads -- which had to be paid for by households in their quarterly power bills.The certificates cost more than $30 million this year because their value increased.

saulty we aint seen nothing yet...

and the caravan of mismanagement rolls on and on.

they claim its probably the same operators that ran the pink batts... may we assume its the same incompetent management running this as well??

otherwise we are paying for more shonky managers than we thought possible. Grin Grin Grin Grin

olde.sault

Reply #8 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:42am

longweekend58 wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 8:12am:

You don't know me, so your assumption is that of an idiot, know-all.

Receiving such a bill, I naturally phoned the company and was told that my meter hadn't been read the previous quarter (that I wasn't home, or something) and it had merely been a poor guess.

Since, my bills haven't gone above the $600 per quarter, but I don't often switch on a radiator but make do with an electric throw-over when sitting in a lounge chair or at the computer or light a wood heater that (LOL) emits far more carbon dioxide!

LOL

##########

Reply #9 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:45am

...talking about Power bills;

"The Auditor-General showed that the greatest driver of increased electricity prices is the massive growth in network charges."

The NSW Nature Conservation Council has called on Mr O'Farrell to also include the full costs of coal-fired power to be detailed on bills.

"A prudent account of electricity prices would also factor in the millions, if not billions, we'll need to prevent or mitigate the impacts of rising sea levels,

NSW power bills to display carbon tax cost
www.smh.com.au

comments;

Yes, and there should be an account somewhere of the taxpayer coal subsidies that are keeping power costs artificially low. The NSW govt has guaranteed coal supply at $31 tonne for 20 years whereas the current market price is $119 tonne.

Kuwait and the United Arab Emirates are in the same situation where it is uneconomic to use their fossil fuel for power generation. They are building new solar plants, so they can sell their oil on world markets for top dollar.

olde.sault

Reply #10 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:46am

Come on - put your brains in gear!

Have you forgotten Rudd's baby, rebates to those who had been bribed to install?

We, who don't have such panels, are paying for those who had got on the scheme before it was stopped.

olde.sault

Reply #11 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:49am

In my reply to you, words had been deleted. These were:

"rebates for allowing solar panels installed on their roofs."

Reply #12 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:50am

olde.sault wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:49am:

In my reply to you, words had been deleted. These were:

"rebates for allowing solar panels installed on their roofs."

You dont have very good comprehension skills do you? the gov have nothing to do with how much a private company charges you, only a fool with no idea would think otherwise.

Gist

I am not a sock, I am
a human being!

Reply #13 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:51am

olde.sault wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:42am:

Receiving such a bill, I naturally phoned the company and was told that my meter hadn't been read the previous quarter (that I wasn't home, or something) and it had merely been a poor guess.

Since, my bills haven't gone above the $600 per quarter, but I don't often switch on a radiator but make do with an electric throw-over when sitting in a lounge chair or at the computer or light a wood heater that (LOL) emits far more carbon dioxide!

LOL

That, of course, is Labors fault. Bloody commies. Under Howard, the meter reading ran on time, dammit! And they had nice uniforms too!!

Seriously, what kind of computer have you got? One of the desktop or tower units? You do realise that it represents a nice little heater all on its own don't you?

"When our military goes to war it should be for purposes and objectives clearly in Australia’s interests, not merely because the Americans want some company" - Malcolm Fraser (2012 Whitlam Oration)

Equitist

Reply #14 - Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:51am

olde.sault wrote on Nov 21st, 2011 at 10:42am:

LOL

So, have you received a bill for a 6 month period or a 3 month period?

Surely, if your winter usage has been guesstimated on a pro-rate basis, you could successfully-argue that they accept (or at least negotiate) your own best case scenario - rather than the one they have unilaterally-imposed!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!