Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7
"Axe the NBN for surplus" - Abbott (Read 6415 times)
GoddyofOz

Vote 1 for Sex, cause
you're gay if you don't

"Axe the NBN for surplus" - Abbott
Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:07am

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/breaking-news/axe-nbn-to-reach-surplus-says-opp...

AXING the national broadband network would help bring the Federal Budget back into surplus next financial year, Opposition leader Tony Abbott says.

But he says he doubts the Gillard Government "has the ticker" to make tough financial decisions to avoid further deficit.

A report by Deloitte Access Economics says the Budget will be in deficit in both 2012-13 and the election year of 2013-14.

It warns Treasurer Wayne Swan against cobbling the Budget into surplus by finding billions in extra savings.

But Mr Abbott says the Government must show fiscal responsibility.

"I think it's important that the Government gets us back to surplus. I doubt very much that this government has the ticker to do so," he said in Melbourne.

"Obviously if the Government does deliver the fiscal responsibility that Australia needs, we'll applaud it."

Asked if he supported the Government cutting spending, he said: "There are so many examples of waste under this government, the classic example is the $50 billion-plus national broadband network, which will turn out to be one of the all time great white elephants in our history."

So apparently getting the budget back into Surplus is more important then a 100+ year Infrastructure investment.

Absolutely moronic ultra-conservatism at its worst.

"A Conservative is a man who just sits and thinks, mostly just sits." - Woodrow Wilson.

True Patriotism is serving your country all the time, and serving your Politicians when they deserve it.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Re: "Axe the NBN for surplus" - Abbott
Reply #1 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:11am

The NBN is just a massive big future tax increase....for those of us that pay tax that is. Sad

It's also just a massive ALP pork barrelling exercise. Sad

So now we are getting 'porked' by this pinko Govt as well. Sad

GoddyofOz

Vote 1 for Sex, cause
you're gay if you don't

Reply #2 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:14am

Swagman wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:11am:
The NBN is just a massive big future tax increase....for those of us that pay tax that is. Sad

There was once a Jolly Swagman,

Who needed to be more Jolly and less idiot.

"A Conservative is a man who just sits and thinks, mostly just sits." - Woodrow Wilson.

True Patriotism is serving your country all the time, and serving your Politicians when they deserve it.

Uncle

Reply #3 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:28am

GoddyofOz wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:14am:

"Julia Gillard says she is prepared to legislate a carbon price in the next term. "&&&&- The Age 20/8/10&&&&"You are not just thick - you weant to be thick. It makes you feel compssionate."&&&&- Soren

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #4 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:31am

GoddyofOz wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:14am:

Hey Juliar why the hell bother with

* Green's kick back TAX
* Stimulus TAX
* NBN TAX
* Pink Batt TAX
* School Monuments TAX
* Kevin 747 TAX
* Windsor / Oakeshotte TAX
* Alchopop TAX
* Pokies TAX
* Breathing (Co2) TAX
* Shagging Manufacturing TAX
* Stuff the Mines TAX
* Anti Enterprise TAX
* Hug The Trees TAX
* Save the Greeks TAX
* Suck up to the EU TAX
* Political Correctness TAX
* I'm so good just ask me TAX

Just lump them all in to one big
PORKY PIE TAX
and be done with it. Sad Sad

Gist

I am not a sock, I am
a human being!

Reply #5 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:31am

Well, as a homeless person, I'm sure that counts you out. You should stop being a lazy money sucking dole bludger and go get a job.

"When our military goes to war it should be for purposes and objectives clearly in Australia’s interests, not merely because the Americans want some company" - Malcolm Fraser (2012 Whitlam Oration)

Uncle

Reply #6 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:34am

We get the NBN next month. Tops!

"Julia Gillard says she is prepared to legislate a carbon price in the next term. "&&&&- The Age 20/8/10&&&&"You are not just thick - you weant to be thick. It makes you feel compssionate."&&&&- Soren

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #7 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 12:32pm

The govt is not there to provide infustructure or even look to the future..Govts are only there to divert taxpayers dollars into pollies bloated super funds  Grin

Go the Bunnies

Reply #8 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 4:52pm

Uncle wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 10:34am:

thats nice  you will let us know how it improves your life wont you?

is that right I heard the govt is going overseas for labour to work on the NBN... must be part of these 1.6. million jobs they have up their sleeve but no one here to do them... gosh thats strange!

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #9 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 6:46pm

cods wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 4:52pm:

thats nice  you will let us know how it improves your life wont you?

is that right I heard the govt is going overseas for labour to work on the NBN... must be part of these 1.6. million jobs they have up their sleeve but no one here to do them... gosh thats strange!

The real value of the NBN will be apparent in 5-10 yrs time ..like all good policies, such as the important reforms by Hawke, Keating and Howard its the long term consequences that we need to look out for not the short term costs.

Go the Bunnies

GoddyofOz

Vote 1 for Sex, cause
you're gay if you don't

Reply #10 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 6:52pm

adelcrow wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 6:46pm:
cods wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 4:52pm:

thats nice  you will let us know how it improves your life wont you?

The real value of the NBN will be apparent in 5-10 yrs time ..like all good policies, such as the important reforms by Hawke, Keating and Howard its the long term consequences that we need to look out for not the short term costs.

Do you mind telling me what they were exactly? Bar the GST which was a relic anyway.

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #11 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:05pm

The milk and sugar taxes were to prop up the industries, the Timor tax was to fund the armed forces there to protect the country and to help fund elections etc, Ansett tax was to take over the responsibilities of a private company and the Gun buy back was because to many dangerous rednecks wouldnt hand in their guns without taxpayers footing the bill.
None of which went to an election or referendum.

Go the Bunnies

log_me_in

Reply #12 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:07pm

Do you mind telling me what they were exactly?

Squawk and Cheating had no reforms

They were blood suckers

log_me_in

Reply #13 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:11pm

adelcrow wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:05pm:
The milk and sugar taxes were to prop up the industries, the Timor tax was to fund the armed forces there to protect the country and to help fund elections etc, Ansett tax was to take over the responsibilities of a private company and the Gun buy back was because to many dangerous rednecks wouldnt hand in their guns without taxpayers footing the bill.

Did you hear Howard say a week before any election
"There will be no milk and suger tax under the govt I lead"
"There will be no Timor tax under the govt I lead"
"There will be no Ansett tax under the govt I lead"
"There will be no gun tax under the govt I lead"

No? Of course you didn't, because only a lefty Liebor govt is capable of lying so blatantly

The left are scum

adelcrow

everywhere
Reply #14 - Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:21pm

log_me_in wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:11pm:
adelcrow wrote on Nov 12th, 2011 at 7:05pm:

Did you hear Howard say a week before any election
"There will be no milk and suger tax under the govt I lead"
"There will be no Timor tax under the govt I lead"
"There will be no Ansett tax under the govt I lead"
"There will be no gun tax under the govt I lead"

No? Of course you didn't, because only a lefty Liebor govt is capable of lying so blatantly

The left are scum

They were all taxes bought in by Howard  Cheesy

Go the Bunnies

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7