Pages: 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 ... 25
Vegetable of the week thread (Read 79595 times)
St George of the Garden

http://tinyurl.com/n
3o8m2x

Re: Vegetable of the week thread
Reply #285 - Jan 20th, 2014 at 6:16pm

Down here the heat does cause them to bolt.

But I just keep pulling leaves off and feeding them to the chooks.

I want Muso as GMod. Bring back Muso!
WWW Friends of the National Broadband Network  

Annie Anthrax

Reply #286 - Jan 20th, 2014 at 6:57pm

St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 7th, 2014 at 7:04pm:
Yeah, it is sad. In my 66 years I have eaten two Macca burger imitations—once to try them, next, many years ago, I was working real late and Maccas was the only place open. they gave me some free onion rings (they were about to close too) but even those had little taste.

But I make my own pasta and tomato sauce, my own jams and jellies etc and have built up quite a library which I will leave to whoever of my nieces and nephews or their offspring might make best use of it. Getting hard to buy stuff for preserving tho. I also brew my own beer, mostly ales which I love. Have my offset smoker—a hot smoker, cooks food and flavors it with smoke. Will think about making a cold smoker some time.

Going to get into fermented foods like gherkins, sauerkraut, sourdough. Then cheese/yoghurt then will consider fermented meat like salami.

Good thing is—learning and trying all this stuff out—keeps the stuff behind my eyes from turning to noughat!

You sound like my husband, George. He loves his smoker and also makes all kinds of pickles and jams -  tomato jam is my favourite. He makes a lovely pate too.

St George of the Garden

3o8m2x

Reply #287 - Jan 20th, 2014 at 7:32pm

Yeah! Tomato and basil, unreal on cream cheese!

Hubby’s smoker a hot smoker like my offset smoker or a cold smoker?

Frances

In a Castle in the Hills
Reply #288 - Jan 20th, 2014 at 8:49pm

Frances wrote on Jan 20th, 2014 at 12:51pm:
Given that the leaves are fairly small at the moment, I was thinking of using them in a salad, maybe with some tomatoes.

Which is exactly what I did.  I sliced the chard leaves up into 1cm strips and chopped the stems up as well and added some of those small different coloured tomatoes that they sell in punnets in the supermarkets and dressed it with olive oil, salt and lemon juice.  A very colourful and tasty salad.

The other vegetables I used in my dinner were brown onions.  I fried some chopped onions in a mix of olive and sunflower oils and added some breadcrumbs and anchovies and a bit of dried chilli, and mixed it up with some spaghetti.

Sure God created man before woman. But then you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece.

St George of the Garden

3o8m2x

Reply #289 - Jan 21st, 2014 at 11:31am

Anchovies are the one true path to great salads/soups/pizzas and the like.

White Dove

Reply #290 - Jan 21st, 2014 at 2:31pm

anchovies, yum!

White Dove

Reply #291 - Jan 21st, 2014 at 2:32pm

Jaqs

Reply #292 - Jan 21st, 2014 at 2:42pm

My vege for the week is Courgettes!  Seems they are taking over my vege garden and I'm giving them away and eating heaps and they just keep coming!  Next year I will only put in ONE plant! lol

St George of the Garden

3o8m2x

Reply #293 - Jan 21st, 2014 at 7:56pm

Try pickling them!

A good zucchini pickle is to die for!

Annie Anthrax

Reply #294 - Jan 24th, 2014 at 9:39pm

St George of the Garden wrote on Jan 20th, 2014 at 7:32pm:
Yeah! Tomato and basil, unreal on cream cheese!

Hubby’s smoker a hot smoker like my offset smoker or a cold smoker?

It's a hot smoker.

Anchovies are yum - my favourite pizza is a Margarita with anchovies, jalapenos and pineapple.

St George of the Garden

3o8m2x

Reply #295 - Jan 25th, 2014 at 10:00am

Feral boar ribs cooked on a hot smoker are out of this world!

St George of the Garden

3o8m2x

Reply #296 - Jan 31st, 2014 at 3:53pm

Bought a pomelo today, from Central Market.

Nice and heavy (=lovely and juicy) and smells divine. So a mostly–tropical fruitsalad tonight: pomelo, mango, papaya, dragonfruit, lychees, pineapple plus blueberries, raspberries, passionfruit and some strawberry freezer jam.

Frances

In a Castle in the Hills
Reply #297 - Jan 31st, 2014 at 11:26pm

I used some celeriac for the first time a few days ago and quite liked it.  I used it raw by shredding it (using a mandolin, not a grater) and made a dressing with mayonnaise, mustard, lemon juice herbs and pepper.  I'll be doing it again some time.

Sure God created man before woman. But then you always make a rough draft before the final masterpiece.

St George of the Garden

3o8m2x

Reply #298 - Feb 1st, 2014 at 1:31am

Celeriac is wonderful!

Boil and mash it like potato

Grate it into soups to thicken the soups.

Use the stems like celery

Another vege of the week, and one I will be planting this fall: salsify. I know nothing about it except it is a root crop going way back, look forward to cooking that.

Reply #299 - Feb 1st, 2014 at 8:43pm

My vegetable of the week, every week since birth
is and probably always will be, potatoes