Double standards: Dependent Spouse sit-down $$$ (Read 11512 times)
Equitist

Double standards: Dependent Spouse sit-down $$$
May 5th, 2011 at 11:14am

We're supposed to have skills shortages, right!?

Single mothers of school-aged children are expected to satisfy work-tests or other 'mutual obligation' tests to receive Parenting Payment/Newstart, right!?

So, why is our Govt still effectively-paying 'sit-down money' to other women via working their husband's tax offsets, without any 'mutual obligation' requirements whatsoever!?

Discuss.

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Re: Double standards: Dependent Spouse sit-down $$$
Reply #1 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:19am

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.aspx?doc=/content/00216847.htm

T1 - Spouse (without dependent child or student), child-housekeeper or housekeeper

About question T1

Question T1 image from tax return for individuals form.

The following definitions will help you determine whether you are eligible for this tax offset.

Your 'spouse' includes another person (whether of the same sex or opposite sex) who:

you were in a relationship with that was registered under a prescribed state or territory law,

although not legally married to you, lived with you on a genuine domestic basis in a relationship as a couple.

A housekeeper is someone who kept house for you full time and also cared for your dependent children, students or invalid relatives, or your dependent spouse who received a disability support pension.

A child-housekeeper is your child who kept house for you full time. Your child includes your adopted child, stepchild, ex-nuptial child or child of your spouse. However a child who is a full-time student or a full-time employee is not considered to keep house full time. (See the full definition of child.)

Keeping house means more than simply child-minding or performing domestic duties. It includes having some responsibility for the general running of the household.

See an explanation of Adjusted taxable income (ATI).

Did you have a dependent spouse, child-housekeeper or housekeeper for any part of the year?

No

go to question T2 Senior Australians (includes age pensioners, service pensioners and self-funded retirees), or

return to main menu Tax return for individuals instructions.

Yes

Read below.

Shared care

You had shared care if you, and your spouse if you had one, cared for your child for some of the income year, and someone else, such as a former spouse, cared for the child for the rest of the income year.

If you received family tax benefit Part B as part of a shared-care arrangement, you will need to know your family tax benefit (FTB) shared-care percentage to calculate your spouse offset. Your FTB shared-care percentage is usually not the same as your 'Shared care percentage' which appears on correspondence you have received from the Family Assistance Office (FAO).

If you do not know your FTB shared-care percentage, contact the FAO on 13 61 50.

Answering this question

If you had a dependent spouse, read on. If you had a child-housekeeper, go to part B. If you had a housekeeper, go to part C. If you are claiming a combination of these tax offsets, work through the relevant parts in order.

Part A - Dependent spouse

You cannot claim this tax offset if:

your adjusted taxable income (ATI) for 2009-10 was more than $150,000
    your spouse's ATI for 2009-10 was $9,254 or more.

You can work out your ATI or go to www.ato.gov.au/calculators to use the online income test calculator.

You can claim a dependent spouse tax offset for any period in 2009-10 that you had a spouse and you met all these conditions:

you maintained your spouse - see What is maintaining a dependant?
    your spouse was a resident - if you are not sure, read Are you an Australian resident?
    you were a resident at any time during 2009-10
    neither you nor your spouse (during any period they were your spouse) was eligible for family tax benefit (FTB) Part B or if one of you was eligible for it, you were eligible at the shared-care rate only.

To work out your spouse's ATI for the period you can claim use Worksheet 1 - Working out a person's ATI for the relevant period.

The maximum spouse tax offset you can claim is $2,243.

If you are entitled to claim a dependent spouse tax offset, go to part A of Completing your tax return.

Part B - Child-housekeeper

your adjusted taxable income (ATI) for 2009-10 was more than $150,000, or
    you had a spouse for all of 2009-10 and the combined ATI of you and your spouse was more than $150,000, or
    you had a spouse for only part of the year and the sum of the following is more than $150,000
       your ATI
       your spouse's ATI for 2009-10 multiplied by the number of days they were your spouse divided by 365, or
    you had a child-housekeeper for the whole year and their ATI for 2009-10 was $7,594 or more, or $9,042 or more if you had another dependent child or student.

You can work out the ATI for you and your spouse or go to www.ato.gov.au/calculators to use the online income test calculator.

You can claim a child-housekeeper tax offset for any period in 2009-10 that you had a child-housekeeper and you met all these conditions:

you maintained your child-housekeeper - see What is maintaining a dependant?
    your child-housekeeper was a resident - if you are not sure, read Are you an Australian resident?
    you were a resident at any time in 2009-10
    you were not eligible for a dependent spouse tax offset under part A
    you were not eligible for FTB Part B or were eligible for it only at the shared-care rate.

To work out your spouse's ATI for the period you can claim use Worksheet 1 - Working out a person's ATI for the relevant period.

The maximum child-housekeeper tax offset you can claim is $1,828, or $2,190 if you had another dependent child or student.

If you are entitled to claim a child-housekeeper tax offset, go to part B of Completing your tax return.

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Equitist

Reply #2 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:20am

/contd.

Part C - Housekeeper

your adjusted taxable income (ATI) for 2009-10 was more than $150,000, or
    you had a spouse for all of 2009-10 and the combined ATI of you and your spouse was more than $150,000, or
    you had a spouse for only part of the year and the sum of the following is more than $150,000
       your ATI
       your spouse's ATI for 2009-10 multiplied by the number of days they were your spouse divided by 365.

You can work out the ATI for you and your spouse or go to www.ato.gov.au/calculators to use the online income test calculator.

A housekeeper is a person who worked full time keeping house for you and cared for:

a child of yours under 21 years old, irrespective of the child's ATI
    any other child under 21 years old who was your dependant and whose ATI for the period you maintained them was less than the total of $282 plus $28.92 for each week you maintained them (to work out your child's ATI for the period you can claim go to Worksheet 1 - Working out a person's ATI for the relevant period)
    your invalid relative who was your dependant and for whom you can claim a dependant tax offset (if you are not sure, you will need to read question T10 Parent, spouse's parents or invalid relative in TaxPack 2010 supplement), or
    your spouse who received a disability support pension.

Keeping house means more than simply child-minding or performing domestic duties. It includes having some responsibility for the general running of the household.

You are eligible for the housekeeper tax offset for any period during which you had a housekeeper (who kept house for you wholly in Australia), provided you were an Australian resident at any time during 2009-10 and you:

did not have a spouse and
       were not entitled to claim a child-housekeeper tax offset under part B, and
       were not eligible for FTB Part B or were eligible for it only at the shared-care rate

or

had a spouse who received a disability support pension and you were not entitled to claim a child-housekeeper tax offset under part B

or

had a spouse who did not receive a disability support pension and
       you were not entitled to claim a dependent spouse tax offset under part A or a child-housekeeper tax offset under part B
       neither you nor your spouse was eligible for FTB Part B or were eligible for it only at the shared-care rate, and
       special circumstances applied - for example,
           your spouse deserted you and your children, and you did not enter into a relationship that resulted in you having a new spouse
           you had a child with a severe mental disability who required constant attention
           your spouse suffered from an extended mental illness and was medically certified as being unable to take part in the care of your children.

Where you consider that special circumstances applied, you will need to complete this item and provide additional information. Print SCHEDULE OF ADDITIONAL INFORMATION - ITEM T1 PART C on the top of a separate sheet of paper, print your name, address and tax file number and explain your situation. Sign your schedule and attach it to page 3 of your tax return. Print X in the Yes box at Taxpayer's declaration question 2a on page 12 of your tax return. If we do not consider special circumstances applied, we will advise you.

The maximum housekeeper tax offset you can claim is $1,828, or $2,190 if you had more than one dependent child or student.

If you are entitled to claim a housekeeper tax offset, go to part C of Completing your tax return.

Equitist

Reply #3 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:26am

http://www.ato.gov.au/individuals/content.aspx?doc=/content/00215174.htm

Dependent spouse tax offset - income tests

The dependent spouse tax offset provides tax relief for personal circumstances. To be eligible for the offset you must meet specific criteria.

From the 2009-10 income year, the introduction of a new income test may affect your eligibility for this tax offset. You may no longer be eligible for the tax offset or only be entitled to a lesser amount.

In previous years, your taxable income and the separate net income of your spouse was used to assess your eligibility. From the 2009-10 income year your adjusted taxable income will be used. All other eligibility requirements remain unchanged.

Your adjusted taxable income is the sum of the following amounts:

taxable income
    adjusted fringe benefits (reportable fringe benefits x 0.535)
    tax-free pensions or benefits
    target foreign income (income from overseas not reported in your tax return)
    reportable super contributions (includes both reportable employer superannuation contributions and deductible personal superannuation contributions)
    total net investment loss (includes both net financial investment loss and net rental property loss)

less

child support you've paid.

For further information regarding child support you paid (deductible child maintenance expenditure), refer to the Family Assistance Guide.

For the 2009-10 income year, you will be eligible to claim a dependent spouse offset if all of the following apply:

your adjusted taxable income was $150,000 or less
    your spouse's adjusted taxable income for the year was less than $9,254
    you met all the following conditions:
       you maintained your spouse
       your spouse was an Australian resident
       you were an Australian resident
       neither you nor your spouse were eligible for family tax benefit Part B or were only eligible for it at a shared-care rate.

The following example shows how the change in income tests affect eligibility for the dependent spouse tax offset.

Example 1

Toni and Brett are married. Toni works for a charity as a volunteer and is not in paid employment. They have rental properties and a share portfolio. Brett also has entered into a salary sacrificing arrangement to boost his super.

For the 2008-09 income year, Brett's taxable income was $120,000 (after claiming a rental loss of $17,000 and a financial investment loss of $8,000), and he had reportable employer superannuation contributions (salary sacrificed amount) of $10,000.

As Brett's taxable income was $120,000 and under the income threshold, he was eligible to claim the dependent spouse tax offset.

For the 2009-10 income year, Brett's financial situation remains similar. His taxable income is $120,000 (after claiming a total net investment loss of $20,000), and he has reportable super contributions of $15,000.

The income test for this offset has changed and Brett's adjusted taxable income is now used to calculate his eligibility for the offset. Brett's adjusted taxable income is $155,000.

$120,000 + $20,000 + $15,000 = $155,000.

As Brett's adjusted taxable income is over the income threshold for this offset he is not eligible to claim the dependent spouse tax offset.

Example 2

Tony and Dana are in a de-facto relationship. Dana is on unpaid leave. Tony wants to claim the dependent spouse tax offset for Dana in his 2009-10 income tax return.

While Dana has no salary or wage income, her employer has made $10,000 in reportable employer superannuation contributions for her during the 2009-10 income year.

As Dana had no other taxable income or fringe benefit amounts for the income year, her taxable income is nil, but her adjusted taxable income is $10,000. This is because reportable employer superannuation contributions are included in the income test.

Therefore, Tony is not eligible to claim the dependent spouse tax offset as Dana's adjusted taxable income is more than the dependent spouse income threshold of $9,254 for the 2009-10 income year.

More information

For more information, refer to Spouse (without dependent child or student), child-housekeeper or housekeeper. http://www.ato.gov.au/content.asp?doc=/content/00216847.htm

Last Modified: Monday, 12 July 2010

This is an example of mid-upper class WEALTHfare - which is counted outside usual welfare payments because it is paid as a so-called 'rebate' via the ATO instead of Centrelink.

Reply #4 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:26am

Oooooh there's that angry streak again....

You really don't like the middle - upper incomes do you?

Reply #5 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:28am

I don't like reading 'tax-speak' at tax time, let alone any other time.  What exactly is your issue?

FRED.

Reply #6 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:28am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 11:26am:
Oooooh there's that angry streak again....

You really don't like the middle - upper incomes do you?
Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Wink

FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au FRED.bell58@yahoo.com.au  

Equitist

Reply #7 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:30am

This thread is about anomalies and double standards in our welfare and WEALTHfare systems - it is simply not good enough to deprive needy people of a reasonable standard of living (and constantly harass them in the process) whilst doling out non-means-tested and reverse-means-tested payments to the already-well-off!

Reply #8 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:33am

Of course all middle to higher incomes are parasites who are deliberately keeping poor people poor too.

It's nothing to do with the fact people earn low incomes because they are thick as pig-shite and didn't bother at school you know....

It's because they have been deliberately picked on and they will be poor forever.

The world according to our Stalinist mate Thy.

Reply #9 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:37am

So correct me if I'm wrong - but your issue is with more of a persons taxable income being retained for use by their family?  No actual payments being made to them, just that they get to keep more of THEIR hard-earned than someone who doesn't have any dependents?

Reply #10 - May 5th, 2011 at 11:38am

... wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 11:37am:
So correct me if I'm wrong - but your issue is with more of a persons taxable income being retained for use by their family?  No actual payments being made to them, just that they get to keep more of THEIR hard-earned than someone who doesn't have any dependents?

In a nutshell yes.
Thy dislikes middle incomes not paying about 80% in tax.

Verge

Reply #11 - May 5th, 2011 at 12:03pm

Its not exactly a double standard.

Dependent sposes are no drain on the economy in any way, and since they are depended upon their partners income they also draw no government wlefare.

The offset is essiently a "redistribution of tax", in that a single income household receiving no government benefits of any sort and have a non working partner gets taxed at the marginal tax rate of the one person. 

Had that income been split over two people, their income tax would be much lower.

The spouse tax offset is a "thankyou" from the government for saying thanks for not going on the dole, so here is an offset on your tax to even it a bit.

The highest claimers of this I seen was in our baby boomers where the wife raised the kids and never went back to work, it was never the "rich" or middle class at all.

The biggest career block I seen was probably road transport where the father was rarely at home and a parent was needed at home, and then when the kids left they are now pretty much helping raising grandkids as well.

Its not such a bad thing.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Guildford

It's Only Me

SE Victoria
Reply #12 - May 5th, 2011 at 7:36pm

Verge wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 12:03pm:
Its not exactly a double standard.

Dependent sposes are no drain on the economy in any way, and since they are depended upon their partners income they also draw no government wlefare.

The offset is essiently a "redistribution of tax", in that a single income household receiving no government benefits of any sort and have a non working partner gets taxed at the marginal tax rate of the one person. 

Had that income been split over two people, their income tax would be much lower.

The spouse tax offset is a "thankyou" from the government for saying thanks for not going on the dole, so here is an offset on your tax to even it a bit.

The highest claimers of this I seen was in our baby boomers where the wife raised the kids and never went back to work, it was never the "rich" or middle class at all.

The biggest career block I seen was probably road transport where the father was rarely at home and a parent was needed at home, and then when the kids left they are now pretty much helping raising grandkids as well.

Its not such a bad thing.

quite possibly the best post of 2011. Well done !

Drop Dead Gorgeous

Reply #13 - May 6th, 2011 at 2:13pm

And its not like the dependant spouse rebate is that much anyhow. it is a trifling amoun give  - as someone said - as a thank you for not taking someone elses job and for looking after your own kids and not using government assisted child care.

The amount could be doubled and it would STILL be trifling comparead to what is saved.

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #14 - May 6th, 2011 at 2:19pm

Get rid of all capitalist class Bourgeois welfare and handouts - these people neither need nor are they entitled to tax breaks, childcare, stay at home pay or any other rort of the tax payers dollars.  This money belongs to the working class and the battlers on legitimate welfare - not these rich parasites with a massive sense of entitlement and blame assignment mentality... Cool

... Smiley

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men