Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 
TEENAGE parents Could lose welfare payments (Read 9423 times)
Verge

Re: TEENAGE parents Could lose welfare payments
Reply #45 - May 5th, 2011 at 4:25pm

mantra wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 11:20am:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 11:00am:
mantra wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 10:56am:
One excellent solution would be to stop the baby bonus - that would dramatically reduce the incentive for many young girls to have babies.

Do you really seriously think people have children just to get $5k in welfare??

Yes - it's a well known fact that people have babies because of the bonus.  
On the other hand there are plenty of young girls - children really, junkies etc. who carry their baby to full term just to get that $5,000. Quite often the baby is discarded or neglected when the money has been blown on rubbish for the girl and hits for the junky.

Mantra, the stat of people who have the baby for the $5k would be so small its not even material.

Like Gillard has said, there is currently 11,000 teenage women on welfare payments.  11,000.

There has been something like 279,000 baby bonuses a YEAR dished out.

Thats not 11,000 a year, thats the total number.

Hardly massive numbers, and Im sure of those teenagers many were as a result of an accident.

And I dont think in the adults there would be a raving number of people doing it for the money.

Its just a beat up by people who watch today tonight and believe the bogan living in the caravan park with 5 kids to 5 different fathers.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #46 - May 5th, 2011 at 9:04pm

Why shouldn't the Fathers pay - why me - the taxpayer?

If they put in in they should have some responsibility
after they pull it out - especially when condoms are easy to obtain.

They didn't use contraception & now I have to pay?????????

Equitist

Reply #47 - May 5th, 2011 at 9:18pm

Bobby. wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 9:04pm:
Why shouldn't the Fathers pay - why me - the taxpayer?

If they put in in they should have some responsibility
after they pull it out - especially when condoms are easy to obtain.

They didn't use contraception & now I have to pay?????????

Paying token amounts for the raising of the offspring of once-off sperm donors is probably the least of taxpayers' waste worries - and certainly not worth the long-term risks to the psycho-social well-being of the offspring and their mothers...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #48 - May 5th, 2011 at 10:06pm

Paying token amounts

I would say - enormous amounts of money.
Also -
some have many more kids - sometimes to many different Fathers -
& we idiots have to pick up the tab.
It's not fair.

Sappho

Reply #49 - May 6th, 2011 at 7:49am

Verge wrote on May 5th, 2011 at 10:49am:
Jesus, its hard enough dealing with a 5 month old.

My wife is raising our daughter, spending countless hours with her on her development and wellbeing, does the 3am feed every night and looks after our house.

If anyone out of us has a full time job its her.  Kids are hard work, you cant just stick them in a chair and disappear for the day.

My wife would spend hours a day with her on things like reading to her, and managing her development in things like strength etc.

I think its good they want to help teenage mums get an education, but threatening to take welfare off them in exchange for it is obsurd.  I dont see them doing it to any other group.

Just another government attack on a soft target.  Anyone who undervalues the work of a mother needs a solid kick in the backside.

What has happened to society that they should find excuses for not doing rather than reasons for doing? Govt in this case is not attacking a soft target... they are seeking to empower them. They want teens to return to study and training so they are prepared for work when their youngest comes of school age. Brilliant idea I'm all for it.

I had my first child at 16 and my second at 17. There was no one to assist me with my educational needs. There was no such thing as affordable childcare. You were not encouraged to return to studies.

I had to wait until my youngest was 5 before I could enrol in full time studies to get my VCE. Six years is a long time to wait before being able to finish secondary school.

Knowledge empowers the person, builds self esteem and prepares a person for their working life. I wish they had such programs when I was a single mum on welfare... I could have been off welfare a lot sooner than I was. I could have been less disadvantaged and stigmatised.

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

Reply #50 - May 6th, 2011 at 10:20am

I had my first child at 16 and my second at 17.

And you expected & got the taxpayer to pick up the tab for your irresponsibility.
How could you bring children into the world when you
had no means to support them?

Reply #51 - May 6th, 2011 at 10:36am

Sappho wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 7:49am:

My wife is raising our daughter, spending countless hours with her on her development and wellbeing, does the 3am feed every night and looks after our house.

If anyone out of us has a full time job its her.  Kids are hard work, you cant just stick them in a chair and disappear for the day.

My wife would spend hours a day with her on things like reading to her, and managing her development in things like strength etc.

I think its good they want to help teenage mums get an education, but threatening to take welfare off them in exchange for it is obsurd.  I dont see them doing it to any other group.

Just another government attack on a soft target.  Anyone who undervalues the work of a mother needs a solid kick in the backside.

What has happened to society that they should find excuses for not doing rather than reasons for doing? Govt in this case is not attacking a soft target... they are seeking to empower them. They want teens to return to study and training so they are prepared for work when their youngest comes of school age. Brilliant idea I'm all for it.

I had my first child at 16 and my second at 17. There was no one to assist me with my educational needs. There was no such thing as affordable childcare. You were not encouraged to return to studies.

I had to wait until my youngest was 5 before I could enrol in full time studies to get my VCE. Six years is a long time to wait before being able to finish secondary school.

Knowledge empowers the person, builds self esteem and prepares a person for their working life. I wish they had such programs when I was a single mum on welfare... I could have been off welfare a lot sooner than I was. I could have been less disadvantaged and stigmatised.

That may have worked for YOU, but forcing EVERYONE to do the same is pretty weak.

Verge

Reply #52 - May 6th, 2011 at 10:50am

Bobby. wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 10:20am:

And you expected & got the taxpayer to pick up the tab for your irresponsibility.

Where does Sappho say anything about not being able to pay for them?

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Verge

Reply #53 - May 6th, 2011 at 10:52am

Sappho wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 7:49am:

Im not doubting that, and Im all for helping people.

I just dont like the so called "help" being wrapped up with threats of taking away assistence.

This isnt teaching a man to fish, its forcing them too.

Reply #54 - May 6th, 2011 at 11:19am

Fking hell a child at 16 and one at 17???

Seriously, why on earth would anyone do that?

When I think of what I did between 16 and 31 (when we had our first) - if I had a child I wouldn't have been able to do any of it.

It's like throwing your life away.
Children having children. No, not good.

Reply #55 - May 6th, 2011 at 11:32am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 11:19am:

Fking hell a child at 16 and one at 17???

Seriously, why on earth would anyone do that?

When I think of what I did between 16 and 31 (when we had our first) - if I had a child I wouldn't have been able to do any of it.

It's like throwing your life away.
Children having children. No, not good.

Middle aged & Pensioners having children EVEN WORSE!
A females body is best for childbirth before the age of 30 after that there is increased risk for both mother & child.
Socially I am so glad we had our child at 25 not 35 & older like a lot of our friends, she's 16 this year can look after herself & we are begining to plan for the time when she leaves the nest.
Friends who looked down on us all those years ago now have toddlers & can look forward to chasing after kids well into their late 50's.
Yeah have fun with that, I'll send a postcard Grin

Reply #56 - May 6th, 2011 at 11:44am

Yeah but mate I spent all of my 20's travelling the world and spending weekends in Paris, Madrid, Iceland, Norway, Dublin etc

How would we have done that with a child?

Well we could have, but not the sort of weekends we enjoyed.

Your 20s is a time to enjoy yourself, earn some good money as a couple then your 30s is the time for the family.

Verge

Reply #57 - May 6th, 2011 at 12:04pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 11:44am:
Yeah but mate I spent all of my 20's travelling the world and spending weekends in Paris, Madrid, Iceland, Norway, Dublin etc

How would we have done that with a child?

Well we could have, but not the sort of weekends we enjoyed.

Your 20s is a time to enjoy yourself, earn some good money as a couple then your 30s is the time for the family.

You have hardly lived a typical life have you mate.

Reply #58 - May 6th, 2011 at 12:05pm

Sappho should apologise to all of us poor taxpayers for
her irresponsible decisions that we have to pay for.

Verge

Reply #59 - May 6th, 2011 at 12:07pm

Bobby. wrote on May 6th, 2011 at 12:05pm:
Sappho should apologise to all of us poor taxpayers for
her irresponsible decisions that we have to pay for.

Who says we are paying for it Bobby?

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6