Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9
Half On Disability Pension Should Get A Job. (Read 20328 times)
Cliff Richard

Re: Half On Disability Pension Should Get A Job.
Reply #15 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:02am

arent enough jobs in the country. good luck getting employed if youre disabled anyway - it aint happening.

imcrookonit

Reply #16 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:32am

A split has emerged among the country's major charity groups over planned welfare reforms aimed at returning the long-term unemployed back into work.

Both the Government and the Opposition have called for tougher welfare restrictions, with $13.5 billion currently spent on disability support pensions and $7.2 billion on the dole.   Sad  

Prime Minister Julia Gillard says both these payments will be a key target of next month's federal budget.

Mission Australia is one of the country's leading Christian charities providing homeless shelters and employment services.

The charity has 55,000 unemployed people on its books and says it helps around 200 people a day find work.

CEO Toby Hall says the present welfare system is too soft in not penalising those who fail to comply with the job-seeking rules.   Sad

"The current system as it is has failed and we need to have a new system," he said.

"We need to look at it seriously. We need to create a system which rewards opportunity, which works with people and gives them skills they need to get into work.

"That is not about bashing people. It is actually saying we believe in people, believe in their capability and believe that they can get into the workforce.

"What we believe at the moment is that there is a number of people placed on the disability support pension and the unemployment benefit who actually aren't getting the support they need to move back to the workforce.

"And we think that we need to see a change in the situation. We need to have faith in those people that they can get work, give them the right support to get work and actually see them move back into the workforce."

As other welfare groups met in Canberra to lobby the Government to take a more positive approach in the upcoming budget, Mr Hall says there should be financial penalties if people do not meet their obligations to find a job.   Angry  

"I don't think it is about people trying hard enough, I think there [are] a lot of people who are unemployed who are trying very hard to get into work and a lot of them are actually doing that successfully," he said.

"In fact we are placing around 200 people a day into work who are trying very hard, who are working hard to get into work.

"I think that is what we should be doing. We need to focus on working with those people, give them the skills they need, believe that they can get a job and work for them to ensure that they are moving towards the workforce."

mozzaok

Reply #17 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:33am

billy the fish wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 7:31am:
this is not about people with missing limbs,or downs syndrome ect,,its the fit ones with "bad backs"

Not even Bad backs a lot of the time.
Howard was worried about unemployment figures, back about 7 or 8 years ago I think, and had a heap of long term unemployed, moved onto disability pensions. The criteria was as simple as, "you have been unemployed for six months or more, that must be depressing. YES, it is. Oh, you are depressed, go see the centrelink social worker. OK. You are depressed, here, go on disability pension, you don't have all that sill job network stuff to deal with then. OK."

Job done, employment figures look better.
Psst, don't look at the disability figures whatever you do.

It may sound too simple, but one of my staff at the time had exactly what I describe happen to his girlfriend, where she was literally transferred onto disability pension, by that method.
She would have rathered get a job, but she also liked the idea of not having to deal with job network companies forcing her to do workshops that were designed to gather income for them, rather than actually help her find a job, so she took the easy option, as she was encouraged to do.

I do not have figures for how widespread this was, but I imagine the figures are out there, and sometime around 2003 2004 I reckon there would have been a dramatic rise in the numbers going onto disability pensions.
If anyone happens to know what the figures were, and what changes were seen in the percentages on disability pensions, at that time, I would love to see them.

I think that it is likely to be these people who were "migrated" onto disability pensions, that they are now hoping to try and get into the workforce, and off the government teat.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Reply #18 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:37am

"Work will set you Free"

imcrookonit

Reply #19 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:38am

Mr Toby Hall, what are you on about?.  There are ALREADY financial penalties for people that don't meet their obligations to find work.  Angry

Prevailing

Stop Men
Reply #20 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:43am

mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:33am:
billy the fish wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 7:31am:
this is not about people with missing limbs,or downs syndrome ect,,its the fit ones with "bad backs"

Not even Bad backs a lot of the time.
Howard was worried about unemployment figures, back about 7 or 8 years ago I think, and had a heap of long term unemployed, moved onto disability pensions. The criteria was as simple as, "you have been unemployed for six months or more, that must be depressing. YES, it is. Oh, you are depressed, go see the centrelink social worker. OK. You are depressed, here, go on disability pension, you don't have all that sill job network stuff to deal with then. OK."

Job done, employment figures look better.
Psst, don't look at the disability figures whatever you do.

It may sound too simple, but one of my staff at the time had exactly what I describe happen to his girlfriend, where she was literally transferred onto disability pension, by that method.
She would have rathered get a job, but she also liked the idea of not having to deal with job network companies forcing her to do workshops that were designed to gather income for them, rather than actually help her find a job, so she took the easy option, as she was encouraged to do.

I do not have figures for how widespread this was, but I imagine the figures are out there, and sometime around 2003 2004 I reckon there would have been a dramatic rise in the numbers going onto disability pensions.
If anyone happens to know what the figures were, and what changes were seen in the percentages on disability pensions, at that time, I would love to see them.

I think that it is likely to be these people who were "migrated" onto disability pensions, that they are now hoping to try and get into the workforce, and off the government teat.

The reason for  the hike in disability claims around 2003-2005 was neo-libefralism and social darwinism in the work place.  We the disabled victims of this era of Government and corporate atrocities against our person, our health and our economic rights will tolerate no action against us from our persecutors - we will sue the commonwealth of australia for billions if it tries to screw with our medical records and play ideological semantics with our medical records and treatment. Cool  That is a promise - That is all - the commonwealth will bear its full responsibility, blame and burden for its crimes.

I condemn Male Violence Against Women
The Government Supports Gynocide
There Is Something Dreadfully Wrong With Men

Reply #21 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:54am

QUOTE:  - ""That is not about bashing people""

What utter bullshyt!!!

That's EXACTLY what it is.

QUOTE: - ""Mr Hall says there should be financial penalties if people do not meet their obligations to find a job""

Yeah, right, smack-stick. Add to the distress, add to the
homeless, add to crime, add to the development of
mental health issues.

What DOES this retard use in place of a brain?

Reply #22 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:24pm

Kat wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:54am:
QUOTE:  - ""That is not about bashing people""

What utter bullshyt!!!

That's EXACTLY what it is.

QUOTE: - ""Mr Hall says there should be financial penalties if people do not meet their obligations to find a job""

Yeah, right, smack-stick. Add to the distress, add to the
homeless, add to crime, add to the development of
mental health issues.

What DOES this retard use in place of a brain?

LOL.....this guy's a sure thing for a promotion, it seems he has the necessary qualifications......if he keeps saying things like this Julia or Tony will snap him up quick.

Reply #23 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:27pm

I am sick and tired of all the lazy oiks with their hand out looking for a free ride when they should get a fking job.

Reply #24 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:28pm

And I don't buy this "There is no jobs" shite.

In the 1930s in the last century my great-grandfather had TWO jobs.

Reply #25 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:43pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:27pm:
I am sick and tired of all the lazy oiks with their hand out looking for a free ride when they should get a fking job.

what about non Australian businesses such as Holden and Ford getting 100's of millions in corporate welfare Sad Aren't you sick of that ? I am Sad

"All of the arab states have said we will have peace with Israel when there is a state of Palestine as a UN member state and properly constituted." - Jeffrey Sachs.

Reply #26 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 2:30pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:27pm:

As am I with the elitists who have NFI.
« Last Edit: Apr 29th, 2011 at 2:36pm by Kat »  

Reply #27 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 2:35pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:28pm:
And I don't buy this "There is no jobs" shite.

In the 1930s in the last century my great-grandfather had TWO jobs.

There aren't. It's a FACT.

And, by having two jobs, your great-grandfather was
therefore condemning someone ELSE to poverty.

And, no doubt, then calling them bludgers and
declaring that they deserved nothing.

What a LOVELY family.

Verge

Reply #28 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:02pm

Prevailing wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 9:03am:
I have informed Mission Australia by Phone that I am taking legal action against their organization for their comments today and will be seeking substantial damages. Angry

On what grounds mate?

You cant take legal action because you dont like what they have to say on a topic.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Verge

Reply #29 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 3:04pm

Mission Australia arent some elitest group, they are on the ground helping the needy.

Maybe we shouldnt be so quick to dismiss his comments just yet, this is not someone who profits from making such comments.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9