NSW Treasury chief quits (Read 10164 times)
mozzaok

Re: NSW Treasury chief quits
Reply #15 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:32am

To expect the political rhetoric from an incoming leader was no surprise, but to see the way he has dealt with the findings that he has now received has been surprising, and disappointing.

Don't get me wrong, it could just as easily been a Labor pollie doing it, but the fact that pollies, ANY pollies, will drag others down to try and gain some political advantage, is pretty bloody low, and we need to stop just accepting that this is as good as we can expect pollies to behave, because it is not good enough, we deserve better.

The Lib fanboys who are here defending this are no surprise, as their combined intelligence is only marginally greater than their combined integrity, and the inability to display either has become their expected reaction to almost any topic.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Reply #16 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:42am

Can you not just once stand up and admit the obvious truth that your mate just got it horribly wrong - its not that difficult.

ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

you mean like you do with rudd and gillard without bringing the Libs into it...lol..

you are so funny Barry isnt my mate... I am waiting to see if he pulls NSW out of the mier.. I am giving him a fairgo... you have forgotton what that is..

time will tell if this mans job was worthy or not..

and the same with Barry... so far he isnt wasting any time on doing things.. so far so good for me.. you guys are nitpicking..and Henry resigned.. but didnt see you crying buckets over that...

but concidering the way rudd ended up treating him I would think he was more than put out... after 340 odd pages they took noticed of 4 things... a bit insulting all round I would think... but neither here nor there.. we shall see how things pan out.. I suggest you give Bazza a go.. it wouldnt hurt and lets just assume Bazza knows more than we do.at least I like to think he does.. but if you and mozz could do better why didnt you throw your hats in the ring.

or at least have a protest outside treasury

Reply #17 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 11:57am

cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:42am:
Can you not just once stand up and admit the obvious truth that your mate just got it horribly wrong - its not that difficult.

ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo

you mean like you do with rudd and gillard without bringing the Libs into it...lol..

There have been a number of times when I have said that both Rudd and Gillard had got it wrong and their have been other times when they had been criticised and I made no comment because the criticism was justified.

Reply #18 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:01pm

Dnarever wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 10:10am:
believe it or not the Minister doesnt do the accounting.

Yes Barry just showed us what happens when they try.

Leave it to us accountants.

I can (and have) made a profitable department make a loss on paper and a loss-making entity report a profit.

All above board too.

We are magicians.

I earned $32,500 in Australia in 2008 you know....  Grin

mozzaok

Reply #19 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm

I earned $32,500 in Australia in 2008 you know....  Grin

Yeah, good one Andrei, all Lib supporters know that paying your fair share is only for the suckers, and those too dumb or poor, to have family trusts.

Blow, Australia, so what if I don't pay my fair share, I mean what I don't pay would only get wasted anyway. Every tax minimiser in history has claimed his money would have been wasted by incompetent and immoral governments, because none of his money would have gone to schools, or hospitals, or transport, that is the job of the dummies to pay for.

Your kids will be so proud.
What did you do to make the world a better place daddy?
I implemented tax minimisation schemes so rich people could pay less tax than they normally would.

Ooooh, you are clever daddy.
« Last Edit: Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:44pm by mozzaok »  

Verge

Reply #20 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:17pm

Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 10:04pm:
cods wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 7:09pm:
Dnarever wrote on Apr 28th, 2011 at 3:44pm:
Disgracefull behaviour by the employer in this case.

They have made the employee take full responsibility for getting it right just because they wanted for it to be wrong.

While I am willing to give the Barrie Barrel government a fair go they have definatly made a substandard Liberal type beginning.

Frothing at the mouth getting it wrong then blaming someone else, I hope they can fix this before their term progresses too far or it may be their only term.

woooosh couldnt wait could you dna...no surprises there.

I think the problem is that Barry could not wait - This was his first day on the Job, standing aside (puting on leave) a senior public servant who had got nothing wrong and doing it before he even had any of the facts.

You can not really defend this type of bullying behaviour can you?

Me not being able to wait has little impact but Barry doing the same thing affects peoples lives fairly dramatically.

There might be more to it DNA?

Maybe this is a bit more than just standing aside a now former labor employee, it could well be standing aside someone who made life difficult for them while in opposition?

There is always a cleaning out after elections and there always will be.  I would find it difficult to work with someone who only a week prior I found unresponsive or uncooperative.

In my humble opinion, I think this was personal, and probably some pay back.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Verge

Reply #21 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:20pm

mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:

Yeah, good one Andrei, all Lib supporters know that paying your fair share is only for the suckers, and those too dumb or poor, to have family trusts.

Blow, Australia, so what if I don't pay my fair share, I mean what I don't pay would only get wasted anyway. Every tax minimiser in history has claimed his money would have been wasted by incompetent and immoral governments, because none of his money would have gone to schools, or hospitals, or transport, that is the job of the dummies to pay for.

I implemented tax minimisation schemes so rich people could pay less tax than they normally would.

Mozz, please dont fall over the line of calling someone a tax evader when they are a tax minimiser.

One is criminal, the other legal.

Dont hate the player, hate the game, and its only using the governments very own rules that allow it.

Everyone tries to minimise their tax as much as they can.

Modified by mozzaok to remove the offensive wording I inaccurately, and inappropriately used.
« Last Edit: Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:47pm by mozzaok »  

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #22 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:29pm

mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:15pm:

original quote modified by mozzaok to remove the inaccurate, and inappropriate wording I wrongly used. You have my apologies for my mistake.

Wrong, wrong and wrong again.

I have never, EVER engaged in tax evasion.
« Last Edit: Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:51pm by mozzaok »  

mozzaok

Reply #23 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:43pm

Fair, points, Verge, and Andrei, that was a mistake on my part, and I will go back and edit the post to use the word which does not imply illegal actions, because I never actually meant too, I wasn't thinking along the lines of legality when I wrote it, I was thinking only of morally responsible and socially responsible behaviour, and apologise again for my mistake in using the wrong terminology.

Reply #24 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:08pm

mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:43pm:
Fair, points, Verge, and Andrei, that was a mistake on my part, and I will go back and edit the post to use the word which does not imply illegal actions, because I never actually meant too, I wasn't thinking along the lines of legality when I wrote it, I was thinking only of morally responsible and socially responsible behaviour, and apologise again for my mistake in using the wrong terminology.

not sure where morals or social responsibilty come into paying TAX...

I know people in the old days that would claim the full amount allowed for charity yet never gave a dime..in fact I didnt know anyone that didnt..lol..

when it comes to the TAX MAN.. we have to excuse anything as long as its legal..

nairbe

Rural NSW
Reply #25 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:20pm

cods wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:08pm:
mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 12:43pm:

not sure where morals or social responsibilty come into paying TAX...

I know people in the old days that would claim the full amount allowed for charity yet never gave a dime..in fact I didnt know anyone that didnt..lol..

when it comes to the TAX MAN.. we have to excuse anything as long as its legal..

Yes cods we know these are strange and scary concepts to conservatives. Just like the ideas of nation building, infrastructure, environmental responsibility, social justice and on and on.

These are the silly ideas that those stupid lefties like to push because those lazy morons don't realise that they are only here to slave their guts out for the multinationals to make billions out of our resources and then complain when asked to take responsibility for their excessive waste and profit.

Bloody no good lefty watermelon trouble makers.

"Faced with what is right, to leave it undone shows a lack of courage."
Confucius

mozzaok

Reply #26 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:22pm

No surprise there cods, you struggle to understand ethics, and morality, and as far as a broad social contract goes, lol, forget it.
We can add them to the list.

BTW, what you described as not knowing anyone who didn't do it, it isn't legal, it is ILLEGAL, so I do not know if you are trying to say everyone you associate with is a tax crook, or just the ones who discuss tax issues with you. Smiley

Reply #27 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:26pm

A social contract?

mozzaok

Reply #28 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm

Yes, a social contract.
Of course if there were someone who would happily earn hundreds of thousands of dollars FROM Australia, In Australia but would prefer to set up a company in the channel islands, and then pay himself a nominal salary, of less than a trainee factory hand would expect, from that company, so as to ensure that they pay hardly any tax, here in Australia, whilst the profits are going to the channel islands, and not attracting a local tax, then I would not be surprised at all that such a person would have no sense of connection to any society, much less involve themselves to the point where they felt a sense of being part of a broader community to which they contribute.

Reply #29 - Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:49pm

mozzaok wrote on Apr 29th, 2011 at 1:44pm:
Yes, a social contract.
Of course if there were someone who would happily earn hundreds of thousands of dollars FROM Australia, In Australia .

Just a point of order - the company who employed my nominal company in a NYSE listed company so it was not FROM Australia at all.

In fact Australians paid me nothing, they benefited from what I paid.

Hope that doesn't ruin your outlook there though.....