Gillard's new overseas detention centre - Tasmania (Read 4173 times)
bridonta

Re: Gillard's new overseas detention centre - Tasmania
Reply #30 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:42pm

one tax after another .. one detention after another .. loke like this allicance Lab / Green don't have any clues how to handle any situation .. except taking .. and wasting taxpayers' money

Equitist

Reply #31 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:54pm

bridonta wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:42pm:
one tax after another .. one detention after another .. loke like this allicance Lab / Green don't have any clues how to handle any situation .. except taking .. and wasting taxpayers' money

Some people seem to think that the Howardian Era was a golden age - one in which the Govt was 100% in control and even driving economic growth and deterring would-be refugees...

Just because you didn't hear much negative about the Howard years doesn't mean that nothing much happened - much did happen but the media didn't seem inclined to hold Howard & Co to account...

Heck, unlike the current Lib Opposition, the then Lab Opposition didn't seem so disposed to whining about anything and everything - and the media focused a lot on the Opposition...

I would suggest that some people really need to try to take a step back and consider the extent to which their socio-economic, environmental and political perceptions and opinions have been systematically, albeit insidiously, manufactured through partisan propagandists...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Verge

Reply #32 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:56pm

Equitist wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:54pm:

Some people seem to think that the Howardian Era was a golden age - one in which the Govt was 100% in control and even driving economic growth and deterring would-be refugees...

Just because you didn't hear much negative about the Howard years doesn't mean that nothing much happened - much did happen but the media didn't seem inclined to hold Howard & Co to account...

Heck, unlike the current Lib Opposition, the then Lab Opposition didn't seem so disposed to whining about anything and everything - and the media focused a lot on the Opposition...

I would suggest that some people really need to try to take a step back and consider the extent to which their socio-economic, environmental and political perceptions and opinions have been systematically, albeit insidiously, manufactured through partisan propagandists...

And the winner of this years most over the top, dramatic drama queen goes to thy.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #33 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:01pm

BigOl64 wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:38pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:16pm:
BigOl64 wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:03pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:16pm:

You'll find that majority of refugees are educated and highly skilled, and the only reason they have problems getting a job is because of your exact stereotyping of them.

And how does a refugee become highly skilled and educated, if they a fleeing a war torn 3rd world shiat hole, exactly?

I don't recall afghanistan or countries in africa having too many univerities, secondary or tertiary industries even before it was invaded.

I suppose it is just as easy to tell a big bullshiat story as it is to tell a small one.  Grin

You're right:
* Afghanistan doesn't have doctors, engineers, lawyers. They are all just a bunch of jihadists.

*Africans are just a bunch of voodoo doctors and speer throwers.  They also don't have any professions.
You nuff.  At least open your curtains every now and then, and gaze at the outside world.

You did say 'most' reffos are educated and highly skilled, something you couldn't say about 'most' Australians, so where are they being highly skilled and educated before they lob into aus?

Is there some secret 3rd world education program and industrial skills training program they are not telling us about?

I stand by my statement, BULLSHIAT!!

I repeat, all people from the Middle East are jihadists and all Africans are just spear throwers. 

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

Reply #34 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:04pm

nem any govt would be an improvement on the one we have had for the past 3.5 years..

labs didnt whine..lol are you kidding because whatever they said the Libs could come back with twice as awful by their goodselves.. why do you think they got voted OUT.... and thats going to be the future as well.. so suck it up charlie..

she bought her three independent voters nice one.. I am so glad Abbott didnt inspire them to go with him...lol..

pokies now yeah!!!! right lets get all our priorities in order.. the NBN and pokermachines...and if you dont do as we three say then we take our vote and go home so there!...

and this is Australian politics today..WOW cant wait for tomorrow..

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #35 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:15pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 1:15pm:
chicken_lipsforme wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 12:55pm:
[quote author=alevine link=1301998074/15#24 date=1302056179]
Yes I've heard this line before, and even the ones that only made it to first grade are the 'educated' ones.
And all the woman that were refused schooling in their country because they are female, I suppose they are educated too?
And their highly skilled means what in a non-industrialised country?
Even the East Germans that worked in the auto shops couldn't get a job in West Germany when the wall came down in the 90's.
Why?
Because they don't make cars by hand in West Germany, and who wanted the crappy Eastern ones when they can buy a BMW or Mercedes.
And even if a small few are educated and trained, they would still find it difficult and not because of bias.
But simply because their qualifications are not recognised in this State or country, and they need 're-educating'.
Which is why the few foreign doctors and nurses that come here which we are critically short of can't get a go here.
So being a first class spear sharpener or goat herder means what to us?
The disincentive to the boat crew is to throw them in the slammer for ten years, the disincentive for the lot is to re-open Nauru and reintroduce TPV's.
Because we have come from the high point of 1 boat a year for 3 years and 5 detainees on Nauru thanks to Howard, to the ridiculous situation we are in now.
There is no way to remove the clientelle as you suggest, the situation in foreign lands is totally out of our hands, and their are millions of people waiting in camps.
And we can't solve all the worlds problems.
All thanks to to this incompetent and inept government we are in the situation we are in now.

Most migrants have to re-certify in Australia.  Doesn't mean the person isn't educated, and generally speaking with the skills they have and upon re-certification they'll do a lot better than our wonderful growing bogan community.  And when we are talking about unskilled women, that can be referred to certain cultures only, and unlike some on this forum, I'm against discrimination of a minority.  Despite what The Australian likes to publish, not all refugees are from Afghanistan.

Once again I repeat: the disincentive for boat crew is to not have a product. But like in anything, you don't treat the product harshly and extremely in an attempt to punish the product seller.
1. TPV are a hoax - how many actually left based on the visa, and furthermore, you can't resettle a person, ask them to gain employment, a skill, and then kick them out.  It doesn't work like that.  Otherwise, I vote we don't allow Hickory, and people like Hickory, back in.

2. Nauru is not a refugee convention signatory.  If it was, then whatever.  But, it isn't.

3. How much money did Howard spend to demonise refugees? I'll post it up for you as soon as I check ABS (busy with r/l atm).

4. Once again, stop worrying bout issues that don't impact you in anyway. Concentrate on the growing bogan communities and the fact that in Illawarra, 193 kids are being removed from their home (at the moment at a rate of 1 per day). THAT IS AN ISSUE that impacts this society.

We will see in the budget how this wont effect us when Gillard has to take more money that would have gone to the states in GST to fund our hospitals, roads, education etc to prop up their runaway border protection policy that they no longer control.
And I will also see how much their piss poor policy costs me when this fracking goat track called the Bruce Highway goes underwater again next year up here.
193 Aussie kids removed from bogan homes in the Illawarra will effect me less.
Perhaps the government and do gooders shouldn't have interferred in the family home and schools with discipline and taken away the rights of parents.  Just a thought.
And how much money did Howard spend, well I would say alot less than this wasteful incompetent government which now exists on crisis management.
5 detainees left on Nauru with only Villawood Detention Centre open after Howard closed down the other centres compared to the situation today.
What do you think.
Labors current 'policy' (if it can be called that) is akin to them putting more ambulances at the bottom of the Gap in Sydney to be seen to be doing 'something' about an increase in suicides.
The horse has bolted, and the effort is wasted.
The reality is with TPV's and Nauru, the boats stopped.
One boat a year for three years.
The sewing of lips stopped.
The excessive waste of money stopped with endless appeals.
Only 5 detainees left on Nauru with nearly all the centres closed on the mainland.
And the criminal boat crews had to go back to having real jobs again.
And that's no hoax.
The disincentive for a boats crew might well be to not have a product, and who is going to arrange and make that happen?
Are we going to invade other countries and oust their governments?
What exactly do you propose to 'stop' the clientelle?
Face it, that's just science fiction.
Inject some punative measures would acheive a better result, and that's something we can control.
Cant have a boats crew whilst their painting rocks white in the central desert for 10 years.
And when they are released, I just bet they won't come back for seconds like they do now.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #36 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:24pm

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:01pm:

You'll find that majority of refugees are educated and highly skilled, and the only reason they have problems getting a job is because of your exact stereotyping of them.

And how does a refugee become highly skilled and educated, if they a fleeing a war torn 3rd world shiat hole, exactly?

I don't recall afghanistan or countries in africa having too many univerities, secondary or tertiary industries even before it was invaded.

I suppose it is just as easy to tell a big bullshiat story as it is to tell a small one.  Grin

You're right:
* Afghanistan doesn't have doctors, engineers, lawyers. They are all just a bunch of jihadists.

*Africans are just a bunch of voodoo doctors and speer throwers.  They also don't have any professions.
You nuff.  At least open your curtains every now and then, and gaze at the outside world.

You did say 'most' reffos are educated and highly skilled, something you couldn't say about 'most' Australians, so where are they being highly skilled and educated before they lob into aus?

Is there some secret 3rd world education program and industrial skills training program they are not telling us about?

I repeat, all people from the Middle East are jihadists and all Africans are just spear throwers.  

Just because you have mastered the art of the infantile reductio arguments with just a hint of sarcasm, doesn't mean you are not an idiot.

You made a stupid statement and when held to account you have resorted to inanities.

So, well done you are clown of the highest order

simonhall1900

Reply #37 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:46pm

What next?  An act of desperation which leaves Tasmanians with no choice, they couldn’t get their own way with Timor so this pathetic bunch reverts back to Van Diemen’s Land…….Don’t they realise that Tasmania is a State and therefore not considered offshore?

Whoops forgot they're leftards......

Q: What is the difference between a bleeding heart left winger and a puppy?
A: A puppy stops whining after it grows up.

Maqqa

14% - that low?!

Reply #38 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 3:25pm

Compared that to the Rudd/Gillard years IT IS a golden era

Now we have budget deficits that's 10 times larger than what Keating had

Debts way passed debt levels Keating had

More illegals than they can count

and not to mention increases in taxes eg Carbon Tax

Wastages - Pink Batts, BER

Bill 14% is not the alcohol content of that wine. It's your poll number

Maeve

Reply #39 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 3:45pm

Maqqua you forgot to mention the money they are paying to that hypocrite Garnaut.  You know the bloke that made hundreds of thousands working for mines that caused some of the worst environment vandalism in the world. 

Seems there's different standards between air emissions and river emissions and pollution in the first world and third world?

Garnaut defends dumping mine waste in river
September 15, 2010 - 5:04PM

Climate change expert Ross Garnaut has defended the decision of mining companies with which he has been involved to use a controversial method of releasing mining waste into rivers and the ocean in Papua New Guinea. Professor Garnaut, who conducted the Rudd government's 2008 climate-change review, was the chairman of Lihir Gold, a mining company taken over by Newcrest Gold last month. He is also a director of OK Tedi Mining Limited, another company that operates in PNG.

Last week the ABC's 7.30 Report aired a report about Lihir and OK Tedi's practice of using deep sea tailings placement (DSTP) at two separate mines. The Lihir project, under Newcrest, is set to produce 1 million ounces of gold a year on Lihir Island, 900 kilometres north of Port Moresby. OK Tedi extracts copper, gold and silver from its remote Star Mountains operation in PNG's Western Province.

According to the ABC report, OK Tedi discharges 56 million tonnes of metalliferous waste into local river systems each year
. The practice is banned in Canada and the US and indigenous landowners were concerned with the method being employed at the mines.

http://www.smh.com.au/environment/garnaut-defends-dumping-mine-waste-in-river-20100915-15caf.html

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #40 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 5:36pm

chicken_lipsforme wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:15pm:
We will see in the budget how this wont effect us when Gillard has to take more money that would have gone to the states in GST to fund our hospitals, roads, education etc to prop up their runaway border protection policy that they no longer control.
And I will also see how much their piss poor policy costs me when this fracking goat track called the Bruce Highway goes underwater again next year up here.
Perhaps the government and do gooders shouldn't have interferred in the family home and schools with discipline and taken away the rights of parents.  Just a thought.
And how much money did Howard spend, well I would say alot less than this wasteful incompetent government which now exists on crisis management.
5 detainees left on Nauru with only Villawood Detention Centre open after Howard closed down the other centres compared to the situation today.
What do you think.
Labors current 'policy' (if it can be called that) is akin to them putting more ambulances at the bottom of the Gap in Sydney to be seen to be doing 'something' about an increase in suicides.
Only 5 detainees left on Nauru with nearly all the centres closed on the mainland.
And that's no hoax.
The disincentive for a boats crew might well be to not have a product, and who is going to arrange and make that happen?
Inject some punative measures would acheive a better result, and that's something we can control.
Cant have a boats crew whilst their painting rocks white in the central desert for 10 years.
And when they are released, I just bet they won't come back for seconds like they do now.

The money used for border protection isn't taken away from GST so that's a baseless statement.

Nor can you justify that money used on building up the Bruce Highway. Once again, it's like the argument that this money should be used on homeless.  It's a nice statement, but which party is actually saying they will allocate the retrieved funds this way? they won't.

Taking power from parents isn't the problem.  Drunken violent bogans are.

Punative measures against smugglers I agree with. Against refugees, absolutely not.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #41 - Apr 6th, 2011 at 5:37pm

BigOl64 wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:24pm:
sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:01pm:

You're right:

Just because you have mastered the art of the infantile reductio arguments with just a hint of sarcasm, doesn't mean you are not an idiot.

You made a stupid statement and when held to account you have resorted to inanities.

So, well done you are clown of the highest order

I don't get your anger. I already told you I agree with you!

* Middle East doesn't have doctors, engineers, lawyers. They are all just a bunch of jihadists.

*Africans are just a bunch of voodoo doctors and spear throwers.  They also don't have any professions.

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Seriously mate, get out and enjoy the world.   What a shame you are so closed off.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #42 - Apr 7th, 2011 at 5:48am

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 5:37pm:
I don't get your anger. I already told you I agree with you!

* Middle East doesn't have doctors, engineers, lawyers. They are all just a bunch of jihadists.

*Africans are just a bunch of voodoo doctors and spear throwers.  They also don't have any professions.

Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Seriously mate, get out and enjoy the world.   What a shame you are so closed off.

I don't have a problem with not 'getting out enough' I do have a problem with bullshiat artists who spout leftist propaganda without a shred of evidence; but since you conceded that you were full of shiat when you made you initial statement, you may have learned to not do it again, but I doubt it.

chicken_lipsforme

Townsville NQ
Reply #43 - Apr 7th, 2011 at 8:38am

sir prince duke alevine wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 5:36pm:
chicken_lipsforme wrote on Apr 6th, 2011 at 2:15pm:
What do you think.
And that's no hoax.

The money used for border protection isn't taken away from GST so that's a baseless statement.

Nor can you justify that money used on building up the Bruce Highway. Once again, it's like the argument that this money should be used on homeless.  It's a nice statement, but which party is actually saying they will allocate the retrieved funds this way? they won't.

Taking power from parents isn't the problem.  Drunken violent bogans are.

Punative measures against smugglers I agree with. Against refugees, absolutely not.

Baseless, I don't think so.
There is only so much in the kitty.
I understand Labor will also be reducing spending on medical research as they are committed to bringing the budget back to surplus.
If they are also committed to funding their runaway border protection 'policy' that they no longer control but pay for, that will effect the amount handed to the states.
Unless of course they keep borrowing as they are currently doing in which case forget about any surplus in two years.

"Another boat, another policy failure from the Howard government"

Julia Gillard
Shadow Health Minister

Reply #44 - Apr 7th, 2011 at 9:02am

The conservatives here should print this out and stick it on the wall above their monitor and read it every day.