Relationship breakdowns (Read 8322 times)
mozzaok

Re: Relationship breakdowns
Reply #30 - Mar 22nd, 2011 at 10:56am

Well I reckon that most relationships break down because of a lack of respect, and the growing resentment which inevitably follows.

People have their roles in a relationship, and the expectations that partners attach to the role they are given, or adopt, needs to be understood, and agreed upon by both, for a relationship to work.

I see some relationships, for want of a better word, where a successful man wants little more than something pretty to parade in public, and provide limited companionship, and in return he invests money into the relationship, and for a great many, this is enough.

At the opposite extreme you have those who are smitten with romantic tales of soul mates, and true love's kiss, and try to re-create a relationship of fairytale splendour, which too often does not lead to happily ever afters.

The relationships that work, are the ones where the partners value and respect the input of the other, but for that to have a chance, both parties need to contribute, and that is not always the case.
Sometimes it is just ignorance of what each partner brings to a relationship, where both do contribute, but through some personal flaw, some can over value their own input, while under valuing that of their partner, and if they do not change that perception, their relationships will always be doomed.

It is sad how many relationships fail, and I look forward to the day when people are educated differently, and greater effort is put into helping people better understand, and appreciate themselves, so they can better understand and appreciate others.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Reply #31 - Mar 22nd, 2011 at 11:52am

Very well put Mozza (as usual).

I was going to add this:

We can still be physically around the person we're in a relationship with .. but that doesn't necessarily guarantee that we're communicating with them on the same level. If there is a lack in respect (or some other issue) in the way .. then this barrier will prevent an effective communication flow.

It all comes down to this notion of quality IMO! Investing quality time, quality effort, quality commitment, quality communication, etc.

I was only having lunch with a very close friend down the south coast yesterday about all this. She spends a lot of her time in this area of relationships (as a Church Minister in that region).

I came away enriched and blessed by her insight. This notion of priorities .. came into the discussion.

We're in this awesome relationship which is low maintenance and runs on the smell of petrol like a faithful, reliable car  .. and after a while we take the situation for granted and we even begin to lose our sense of priority. It happens ever so gradually too .. so much so we hardly notice it.

Before we know it .. we find ourselves giving our quality time/effort etc to other things .. and by the time we get to nurturing our relationship with our significant other .. we've nothing much left.

So we give it what's left over .. our left over time, left over energy etc .. and people wonder why/how their relationship "suddenly" just  dies.

Reply #32 - Mar 22nd, 2011 at 12:00pm

And your last paragraph hits the nail on the head Mozza .. education and awareness = the key.

muso

Gladstone, Queensland
Reply #33 - Mar 22nd, 2011 at 4:01pm

mozzaok wrote on Mar 22nd, 2011 at 10:56am:
Well I reckon that most relationships break down because of a lack of respect, and the growing resentment which inevitably follows.

I guess that relationships start off by both partners trying hard to impress - like preparing a special meal (that's not sexist because I consider myself to be a good cook) , making that extra effort, the occasional treat - flowers, or the anticipation of something special - something to look forward to whenever  they meet.

When they lose that spark - that effort on both sides and the anticipation, that's where relationships can break down.  If you keep the spark going, and as you say keep a level of respect for each other, it's more likely to last.

In the first 18 months of a relationship while the brain oxytocin concentration is high, if you can come down from the clouds for a moment, try to keep stock of the special things you do, and  try to maintain that for life.

1523 people like this. The remaining 7,134,765,234 do not 

Reply #34 - Mar 22nd, 2011 at 4:07pm

I may not know Muso or Mozza personally .. but if their posts in here are anything to go by .. they must be BLOODY AWESOME guys!

Much respect for showing such insight!

Reply #35 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:14pm

Different political affiliations can be a problem for relationships .. esp around election time Sad

Men can be such sooks when their party gets massacred loses!

Equitist

Reply #36 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:21pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:14pm:
Different political affiliations can be a problem for relationships .. esp around election time Sad

LOL...dunno if it is worse for those in a close relationship to agree 100% on politics or to be diametrically-opposed...

I expect that most of us, who are passionate enough to debate politics online, have to tread more carefully with our loved ones and friends...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #37 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:32pm

Equitist wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:21pm:

LOL...dunno if it is worse for those in a close relationship to agree 100% on politics or to be diametrically-opposed...

I expect that most of us, who are passionate enough to debate politics online, have to tread more carefully with our loved ones and friends...

Hmm .. I think you might be right there!

All it took was ONE look at this headline .. and he got the s.hits with me lmao .. as if it was all my doing lol Smiley

http://www.smh.com.au/

Foolosophy

Reply #38 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:40pm

Equitist wrote on Mar 26th, 2011 at 10:21pm:

Perhaps that's why people debate online - a safe channel of interaction

Reply #39 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:46pm

Lord help me if my Rugby League team wins the Grand Final this year.

No doubt I'll be held responsible for that too I expect.

I wonder if I'll get the cold shoulder again.

Sheesh .. I had no idea men were this bad lol .. they're like little kids I tell you Smiley
« Last Edit: Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:51pm by Lisa Jones »  

NorthOfNorth

Reply #40 - Mar 26th, 2011 at 11:57pm

Put a bean in a jar for every time you tear one off during the first year of marriage, then take one bean out for every time after the first year and it'll take you the rest of your life to empty the jar...

Sooner or later comes her farts in bed and her sh!t stains on the side of the bowl. Grin

Conviction is the art of being certain

Reply #41 - Mar 27th, 2011 at 12:03am

I beg your pardon? I didn't understand any of that.

Nor could I relate to it on ANY level.

NorthOfNorth

Reply #42 - Mar 27th, 2011 at 12:17am

A woman is like a goddess in the cargo cult of desire.... But come the day she runs out of cargo...

Conviction is the art of being certain

Reply #43 - Mar 27th, 2011 at 12:58am

Relationship breakdown is caused by communication breakdown.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #44 - Mar 27th, 2011 at 9:05am

I always admire those people who marry their first love, mostly just after High School and have some children. You can tell straight away that no job, career, other male or female can tear this couple apart with seductions of money or sex.
They are strong in their marriage and love for one another.
Their behaviour to one another is amazingly great and I once picked a couple straight up (as being first time love/marriage) because of how they looked at one another after many years together, the way they spoke to one another and the way they acted when together.
They really were the best example of what 'True Love' is about.
I even expressed my admiration for them and their relationship. It was a testament to the very well behaved, happy and polite children.
They nodded sympathetically at my run of pathetic attempts at relationships that were basically based upon Lust and List (making notches on the bedpost, Ego, etc ....which equals = WANKER).
I have a mate with HIV (AIDS around the corner) who followed Lust, especially in Thailand, and now he is VERY LONELY as it is so difficult to find 'good company'. Alas, for him it is too late. Sad

People who think they are superior because of many partners might in a way, be 'sexually' superior, but they are definately not superior when it comes to 'love'. I know Pink sings songs about 'Love', but in her real life, Career comes first before an orgasm.

Conclusion: I really regret not having hooked up with a decent beautiful girl when younger and making 'more' out of life with her.

...I can honestly say, if your partner has had x30 lovers before you - thats x30 times they will let you down in a day. Wink

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.