Most Australians Are Spending Beyond Their Means. (Read 3422 times)
Verge

Re: Most Australians Are Spending Beyond Their Means.
Reply #45 - Mar 17th, 2011 at 11:45am

Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2011 at 6:25pm:
... wrote on Mar 16th, 2011 at 4:59pm:
As I said mate - If it's such a foolproof scheme, go try it and tell me how it turns out.

I know someone who did it years ago. They were on the dole and bought a 2nd hand car on credit and the dealers didn't even check their finance. Then he drove the car around for 6 months without paying anything back on it. The sheriffs eventually turned up at his door to get the car back but the car had broken down a month before. He told them where they could find the car and that was the last he heard from them. Then he saw the same car at the same dealers yard again obviously looking for another sucker to flog it to Wink LOL

This dude did the same with TV's and anything else he could get on credit. He just didn't pay it off and the sheriff would eventually arrive at  his door and repossess the goods. He didn't care because he got to watch a big screen TV for 6 months without paying for it Wink

Nice people you hang around with nail.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #46 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 8:24am

I worked for Westpac on King & George St Sydney for 4 years.
I got a Credit Card and gave myself a 'great' trip to the Himalaya for $6,000 to the Himalaya - a trip that I needed and changed my life for the better long term.
But I soon lost my job, found it hard to get work, got into debt and eventually had to declare Bankruptcy.
I was given a 10 year "Blacklisting" for any loans etc.

I've never been formerly educated  the 'processed' way, so I learn from my mistakes instead.

I now stay away from Debt as much as possible and go by the old advice of Pre-Depression era of "If you can't afford it, don't buy it."

I like that chick on Deal or No Deal when she was told she just lost the 'Car'. She beamed: "Excellent! That means less money I gotta spend on the thing to keep it running." The Host was speechless.

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

imcrookonit

Reply #47 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 9:51am

Australians have gone credit mad.  Mr Smith didn't need the $2000, but he took it anyway.  Now Mr Smith is in debt over his head.  And why is that so?.  Well the bank couldn't be more happy.  Mr Smith, well hes happy.  At least for the time being.  What happens when the bank card bill comes in though.  It seems a little time has gone by, but Mr Smith is not so happy now.  The bank, well their still happy.  You see, poor Mr Smith was tempted by the devil.    Smiley  

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #48 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 10:23am

I took credit because I knew no better at the time and there was little advice against at the time.

If there was something akin to a First Aid Course relating to Financial Matters, at School - chances are, I wouldn't have been in debt, etc.

Reply #49 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 10:32am

4 tips

1) STOP whinging/complaining/worrying

2) Cut your credit card in half. IT WILL COST YOU MORE MONEY HAVING ONE!

3) If you have the money THEN spend .. and even then ONLY AFTER you've shopped around for the best deal in town on EVERY item you spend.

4) With the money saved using 2) and 3) above .. put THAT money in the bank (again shop around for the best bank a/c facility)

The End

Reply #50 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 11:35am

Verge wrote on Mar 17th, 2011 at 11:45am:
Sir lastnail wrote on Mar 16th, 2011 at 6:25pm:
... wrote on Mar 16th, 2011 at 4:59pm:
As I said mate - If it's such a foolproof scheme, go try it and tell me how it turns out.

I know someone who did it years ago. They were on the dole and bought a 2nd hand car on credit and the dealers didn't even check their finance. Then he drove the car around for 6 months without paying anything back on it. The sheriffs eventually turned up at his door to get the car back but the car had broken down a month before. He told them where they could find the car and that was the last he heard from them. Then he saw the same car at the same dealers yard again obviously looking for another sucker to flog it to Wink LOL

This dude did the same with TV's and anything else he could get on credit. He just didn't pay it off and the sheriff would eventually arrive at  his door and repossess the goods. He didn't care because he got to watch a big screen TV for 6 months without paying for it Wink

Nice people you hang around with nail.

I heard it on 3AW talk back radio and people were ringing up in disbelief but it was true because the dude rang back and said he wasn't making it up. He said the tax department looks after him quite well Smiley LOL

But to add insult to injury another person rang up and said that her and her husband was earning 150K between the two of them and had two kids and was paying off a mortgage and they reckon they were struggling !! Go figure !!

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #51 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 11:38am

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 18th, 2011 at 10:32am:
4 tips

2) Cut your credit card in half. IT WILL COST YOU MORE MONEY HAVING ONE!

3) If you have the money THEN spend .. and even then ONLY AFTER you've shopped around for the best deal in town on EVERY item you spend.

4) With the money saved using 2) and 3) above .. put THAT money in the bank (again shop around for the best bank a/c facility)

The End

Good advice.

To add to point number 3, look on ebay before you get stitched up to one of Gerry Harvey's "buy now never ever pay later" scams Wink It's better to pay up front for something than to pay more on credit Wink

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #52 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 12:00pm

Yep .. good point there Last Nail.

I only ever pay cash. Why? It gives me the chance to negotiate better terms.

Make that another tip folks!

My mum is a ball breaker when it comes to negotiating .. and my negotiating ability these days scares the sh.it out of her. She smiles and shakes her head with some of the stuff I've bought her over the years lol Tongue

I always tell people .. remember .. everyone wants YOUR money .. so YOU are the BOSS .. and YOU CHOOSE to give it to whoever has best earned the right to have it.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #53 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 12:15pm

I reckon if I was sleeping with
Lisa
Mantra
Nellie
Annie

...I too would be struggling. Grin

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Reply #54 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 1:24pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 18th, 2011 at 10:32am:
4 tips

2)
Cut your credit card in half. IT WILL COST YOU MORE MONEY HAVING ONE!

The End

Actually, it ain't necessarily so!

IF, you are disciplined enough -
1) To not let the availability of Credit, influence your decisions on what to buy, when to buy & how much to pay.
2) To repay each months Credit Card bill, in full & on time, from what you saved during each month.

If you can be disciplined enough to do the above, then -
1) The interest charges on most standard cards will be ZERO.
2) The money you put into your savings account, will actually earn you interest.
3) The Credit Card provider, via the various "customer rewards programs" will actually provide various items or cash, which can be redeemed, for simply using their money.

So, IF you can be disciplined enough, you can actually use the Credit Card providers money free of interest (although there is usually and annual FEE), you can pick up extra interest by saving your money, then paying in full after you have used their money for say 45-55 days and they will also provide you with cash or other incentives, to use their money.

So, IF you can be disciplined enough, IF you can play the numbers game, like they do, THEN YOU CAN BEAT THEM, AT THEIR OWN NUMBERS GAME?

Reply #55 - Mar 18th, 2011 at 2:13pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Mar 18th, 2011 at 12:00pm:
Yep .. good point there Last Nail.

I only ever pay cash. Why? It gives me the chance to negotiate better terms.

Make that another tip folks!

My mum is a ball breaker when it comes to negotiating .. and my negotiating ability these days scares the sh.it out of her. She smiles and shakes her head with some of the stuff I've bought her over the years lol Tongue

I always tell people .. remember .. everyone wants YOUR money .. so YOU are the BOSS .. and YOU CHOOSE to give it to whoever has best earned the right to have it.

my old man was like that. he used to haggle with people to get a good price especially on 2nd hand stuff. Sometimes it was embarrassing but in a lot of cases it did work so who am I to complain. I couldn't do it myself but some people have the knack of it Wink