Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 10
Conscience Vote On Gay Marriage (Read 12798 times)
Verge

Re: Conscious Vote On Gay Marriage
Reply #15 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:05am

____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:33am:
Prevailing wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:20am:
____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:16am:
cods wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:11am:
why not make it an election issue...then it wil really mean something..

and whilst this miserable excuse for a govt is at it.. make the CARBON TAX and issue.. let the greens go to the polls with both issues right on the front page.

id like to see that

So you would vote against human equality cod?

Is that why the hard right want to dehumanise Refugees ... attack humans so your lot can do horrid things to them?

Until everyone is equal, no one is secure from attack ... not even age pensioners !!!

Amazing how you list everything Brown & Gillard are doing - deliberately engineered refugee crisis, threaten the security of the pensioners, the poor and the homeless with your policies and then turn it back on your critics. Cheesy

Who voted against Greens Bill to lift Pensioners out of Poverty the first time?

Liberal and Labor

Greens persisted and Liberals crumbled ... then Labor. Pensions where raised because of the commitment of the Greens to lift them above the poverty line.

Greens are the only party pushing to lift the dole so to lift the unemployed and their families out of poverty.

As for Homeless

Financial crisis no excuse for homeless neglect: Greens

The Greens say the Federal Government should not use the financial crisis as an excuse to water down its commitments to homeless people.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/11/24/2428248.htm

If any political group is attacking the Pensioners, Unemployed (and under employed) and the Homeless, then it is the Hard Right

So why is it the hard right, when you claim they crumbled first?

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #16 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:06am

Another example of Rome burns while the Neros of this country bugger around with useless rubbish.
I wonder who pays woody to sit here all day and spruik his green garbage. Probably the Neolithic Party, no doubt funded by the taxpayer.
Go join the real world woody, get a job and you'll find the average joe doesn't give a toss for your homosexual issues . . .or if he does, it's in the form of negative opinion.

Reply #17 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:06am

____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:05am:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 8:57am:
PS - Thanks for underlining my point about your education woody.

Whoever said Islanders brought up by the state were thick eh?

I am happy you find my education level a point of interest Hicks ... yet what has it to do with the topic.

Conscious Verses Party Line Voting.

BECAUSE ITS CONSCIENCE YOU ILL-EDUCATED RETARD!

____

Reply #18 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:08am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:05am:
____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:03am:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 8:56am:
I'm glad the vote is going to be a conscious one.

I have always found people unconscious make terrible decisions.

12 years of the Howard Government ?

We're you in Australia when the Howard Government began.
Given you are not Australian and all mate......

Migrated to Melbourne in the beginning of 1983, you do the maths.

P.S. we have been through this before ... obviously private education doesn't help memory.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #19 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:10am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:06am:

Someone who considers themselves as eloquent as you Andrei shouldn't have to resort to abuse.

Your vocabulary is obviously limited.

____

Reply #20 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:10am

Verge wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:05am:
____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:33am:
Prevailing wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:20am:
____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:16am:
cods wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 7:11am:
why not make it an election issue...then it wil really mean something..

and whilst this miserable excuse for a govt is at it.. make the CARBON TAX and issue.. let the greens go to the polls with both issues right on the front page.

id like to see that

So you would vote against human equality cod?

Is that why the hard right want to dehumanise Refugees ... attack humans so your lot can do horrid things to them?

Until everyone is equal, no one is secure from attack ... not even age pensioners !!!

Amazing how you list everything Brown & Gillard are doing - deliberately engineered refugee crisis, threaten the security of the pensioners, the poor and the homeless with your policies and then turn it back on your critics. Cheesy

Who voted against Greens Bill to lift Pensioners out of Poverty the first time?

Liberal and Labor

Greens persisted and Liberals crumbled ... then Labor. Pensions where raised because of the commitment of the Greens to lift them above the poverty line.

Greens are the only party pushing to lift the dole so to lift the unemployed and their families out of poverty.

As for Homeless

Financial crisis no excuse for homeless neglect: Greens

The Greens say the Federal Government should not use the financial crisis as an excuse to water down its commitments to homeless people.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2008/11/24/2428248.htm

If any political group is attacking the Pensioners, Unemployed (and under employed) and the Homeless, then it is the Hard Right

So why is it the hard right, when you claim they crumbled first?

Hard Right in their political view, not in their ability to see their extremism through to the bitter end.

Verge

Reply #21 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:10am

Have the concious vote and get it over will already.

I would however put one condition on the vote, regardless of which ever way the decision falls, a new vote on the issue should not be allowed to come before parliment for another, say 3 years, maybe even 4.

I dont want it to turn into a crap fight by whoever loses trying to get it back on the floor and tying up time.

I personally want to see one, and see it passed.  What I dont want is whoever didnt get it their way carry on like pork chops trying to change the last decision.  A concious vote is exactly that, and should not be pursuaded after the facts and another vote called for.  People will have to accept the decision which ever way it falls, for its the opinion of the pollies in the house.

Get it done and over with, and lets get on with some more serious matters.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

____

Reply #22 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:18am

bogarde73 wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:06am:
Another example of Rome burns while the Neros of this country bugger around with useless rubbish.
I wonder who pays woody to sit here all day and spruik his green garbage. Probably the Neolithic Party, no doubt funded by the taxpayer.
Go join the real world woody, get a job and you'll find the average joe doesn't give a toss for your homosexual issues . . .or if he does, it's in the form of negative opinion.

Australians back gay marriage - poll

Most Australians support gay marriage, the latest Nielsen poll shows.

The poll, published on Monday in Fairfax newspapers, found nearly 60 per cent of people support same-sex marriage, with 37 per cent against.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/8145152/australians-back-gay-marriage-poll

Reply #23 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:19am

Verge wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:10am:

I would however put one condition on the vote, regardless of which ever way the decision falls, a new vote on the issue should not be allowed to come before parliment for another, say 3 years, maybe even 4.

I dont want it to turn into a crap fight by whoever loses trying to get it back on the floor and tying up time.

I personally want to see one, and see it passed.  What I dont want is whoever didnt get it their way carry on like pork chops trying to change the last decision.  A concious vote is exactly that, and should not be pursuaded after the facts and another vote called for.  People will have to accept the decision which ever way it falls, for its the opinion of the pollies in the house.

Agree 100%

It's a waste of time, they are the same under the law now as far as benefits, wills are concerned.
They only want to walk down an isle to a priest to rub the churches nose in it.
A commitment ceremony is enough & legal, 1000's of couples choose it over churches every year because they don't want to be hypocrites or make a political point  as they don't believe in God.

____

Reply #24 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:20am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:06am:
____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:05am:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 8:57am:
PS - Thanks for underlining my point about your education woody.

Whoever said Islanders brought up by the state were thick eh?

I am happy you find my education level a point of interest Hicks ... yet what has it to do with the topic.

Conscious Verses Party Line Voting.

Spelling incorrectly doesn't weaken the underlining issue here ... until all are equal under the law, no one is really protected from inequality.

Reply #25 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:21am

____ wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:18am:
bogarde73 wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:06am:

Australians back gay marriage - poll

Most Australians support gay marriage, the latest Nielsen poll shows.

The poll, published on Monday in Fairfax newspapers, found nearly 60 per cent of people support same-sex marriage, with 37 per cent against.

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/8145152/australians-back-gay-marriage-poll

Was the question do you support or do you care?

Reply #26 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:22am

For me it is just one of simple morals.

I don't want a pair of fellas to get married. It's just wrong.

I also do not want them able to adopt or look after children, for the sake of the child.
I do not want children to grow up thinking it is normal. It is not.

Now I have no issue at all with gays per se. They seem alright individually and I speak as I find. Much like the Irish or French, alright individually but annoying in groups of them.

So if they want to live together fine, if they want to be 'partners' or whatever fine.
I am also fine with them having the same legal rights as de-facto normal couple.

But let's not make them equal on marriage. It's silly and it doesn't need to be done.

Let them register their relationship if they like and enjoy legal rights.

Let's just keep a bit of social morality and dignity and no go all silly and start pretending two fellas is a marriage.
God only knows what our grandparents era would have made of it all....

Verge

Reply #27 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:24am

Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:19am:

I personally want to see one, and see it passed.  What I dont want is whoever didnt get it their way carry on like pork chops trying to change the last decision.  A concious vote is exactly that, and should not be pursuaded after the facts and another vote called for.  People will have to accept the decision which ever way it falls, for its the opinion of the pollies in the house.

Agree 100%

It's a waste of time, they are the same under the law now as far as benefits, wills are concerned.
A commitment ceremony is enough & legal, 1000's of couples choose it over churches every year because they don't want to be hypocrites or make a political point  as they don't believe in God.

Exactly.  I think out of the weddings we have attended in the last 5 years, ours was the only one in a church performed by a minister.

That said, our decision to do was less based on actual religion, rather tradition.

Those who want marriage may not necessarily be able to marry in a Church anyway.  Churches still hold the right to discriminate if they choose.  I did like Father Bob last week saying he would happily hold commitment cermonies in gardens, but would withhold from the word marriage, and would not do it in the church.

Reply #28 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:26am

Verge wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:24am:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:19am:

Agree 100%

A commitment ceremony is enough & legal, 1000's of couples choose it over churches every year because they don't want to be hypocrites or make a political point  as they don't believe in God.

Exactly.  I think out of the weddings we have attended in the last 5 years, ours was the only one in a church performed by a minister.

That said, our decision to do was less based on actual religion, rather tradition.

Those who want marriage may not necessarily be able to marry in a Church anyway.  Churches still hold the right to discriminate if they choose.  I did like Father Bob last week saying he would happily hold commitment cermonies in gardens, but would withhold from the word marriage, and would not do it in the church.

That's more the norm these days.

Out of the last 6 weddings I went to, 2 were in Churches and the others were all civil outdoors ones.
Both of the 2 were Catholic as well, not sure if thats a trend.

Anyway, I think for a lot of the "no's" its more like me, more a social morality issue than religion.
My religion (Christian C of E) has nothing to do with my stance.

Reply #29 - Feb 28th, 2011 at 9:27am

andrei's first three points are right on the money! Those are exactly right at the nub of it!
As to registration, let them go to the vet and get a certificate and they can be chipped at the same time.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 10