Showed Gillard sobbing without the Aus flag    
  1 (50.0%)
Cant recall    
  1 (50.0%)

Total votes: 2
« Created by: mellie on: Feb 11th, 2011 at 7:09pm »

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9 
Australia PM introduces contentious floods tax (Read 7319 times)

Re: Australia PM introduces contentious floods tax
Reply #105 - Feb 14th, 2011 at 1:43pm

Dnarever wrote on Feb 14th, 2011 at 1:41pm:
Sympathy to those objecting to this very reasonable and responsible measure = Nill.

And why, pray tell, should we not simply add 1% to GST for a period to cover this.

Thereby ensuring that EVERYONE pays for the upkeep of the country and not just people who have x amount of dollars?

In the UK we increased and decreased VAT in response to issues.

It works and GST is the 'fair tax' meaning you don't avoid it.

nichy

Reply #106 - Feb 14th, 2011 at 1:47pm

I understand that if they lost power for 48 hours but were unaffected otherwise, they still don't have to pay the levy.  Household insurance would pay for loss of food etc due to power cuts, so why do they get these other benefits that could be used better for the REAL victims.

And then you have mongrels like these: 

Net closes on disaster fund cheats
Updated 6 minutes ago

Flood rort: some claimed payments when their homes were not flood-affected (AAP: Dave Hunt)

Related Story: Centrelink to take on flood fraudsters Related Story: Flood rebate rorters put on notice Related Story: Centrelink will catch flood fraud 'mongrels' Related Story: Police warn against cyclone charity scams The Federal Government says more than 1,400 disaster assistance payments may have been claimed fraudulently.

Centrelink has found people who have claimed payments when their homes were not affected, and Human Services Minister Tanya Plibersek says hundreds of other cases are being investigated and reviewed.

She says it is abhorrent behaviour and those who are caught may face criminal charges.

In the wake of Queensland's flood and cyclone disasters the Government offered a number of payments to those affected.

People who lost power for more than 48 hours were eligible for a $1,000 payment.

Ms Plibersek says some of the alleged fraud cases have come to light from tip-offs.

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

Verge

Reply #107 - Feb 14th, 2011 at 2:13pm

I still think its crap I have to pay a flood levy because my income is well over yet my wife doesnt work.  A couple who make my combined income escape it since they are just under the $50k each.

Hardly seems fair to me.

Might just have to do some serious salary sacrificing this year as a matter of principle.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #108 - Feb 14th, 2011 at 2:21pm

Verge wrote on Feb 14th, 2011 at 2:13pm:
I still think its crap I have to pay a flood levy because my income is well over yet my wife doesnt work.  A couple who make my combined income escape it since they are just under the $50k each.

Hardly seems fair to me.

Might just have to do some serious salary sacrificing this year as a matter of principle.

Car allowance.
A cash payment car allowance is treated as normal salary every month but is a massive grey area on family and welfare benefits.

The Family Assistance officer when we claimed admitted they had no idea whether they it was supposed to be included or excluded.

When they accounted for the baby bonus, I left out my $30k car allowance and when I was later audited by the ATO they saw that and never said a thing.

Reply #109 - Feb 17th, 2011 at 3:45pm

Greens announce they will support Gillard Government's flood levy

February 17, 2011 4:16PM

THE Australian Greens will support the Federal Government's $1.8 billion flood levy in parliament.
Greens leader Bob Brown threw his party's support behind the initiative in Canberra today.

"We'll be supporting the package in the House of Representatives and the Senate,'' he told reporters.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/national/greens-announce-they-will-support-gill...

Equitist

Reply #110 - Feb 17th, 2011 at 4:08pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 17th, 2011 at 3:45pm:
Greens announce they will support Gillard Government's flood levy

February 17, 2011 4:16PM

THE Australian Greens will support the Federal Government's $1.8 billion flood levy in parliament.
Greens leader Bob Brown threw his party's support behind the initiative in Canberra today.

"We'll be supporting the package in the House of Representatives and the Senate,'' he told reporters.

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/national/greens-announce-they-will-support-gill...

Jeez, the right whingers are gonna be confused now...

Who to demonise and vilify: the Muslims, the gays or the Greens!?

Will the hip pocket win out, or good ol' bigotry!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #111 - Feb 17th, 2011 at 4:10pm

If this is to pay for the levy and it's 'such a small amount'.....

Can you please tell me why EVERYONE shouldn't pay?

Why only a certain portion of people?

I mean has already declared it is next to nothing in people's budgets.
(Yet interestingly he admits he won't be paying).

Reply #112 - Feb 17th, 2011 at 4:34pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 14th, 2011 at 1:43pm:
Sympathy to those objecting to this very reasonable and responsible measure = Nill.

And why, pray tell, should we not simply add 1% to GST for a period to cover this.

And reconfigure every point of sale unit in the country - and then back again, a year later ?

How much would THAT cost business - which would be passed on to consumers ?

This was the MAIN reason behind the inflation spike following the GST introduction

DAFT IDEA !

Reply #113 - Feb 17th, 2011 at 4:35pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Feb 17th, 2011 at 4:34pm:

[size=14]And reconfigure every point of sale unit in the country - and then back again, a year later ?

I point you to David Cameron's Governnment.

VAT from 17.5% down to 15% then up to 20% in 14 months.
Worked fine.

Reply #114 - Feb 17th, 2011 at 8:02pm

UK consumer confidence dives after VAT rise

Wednesday 16 February 2011

Consumers' confidence in spending fell at its fastest rate on record during January following the Government's VAT increase.

Nationwide's spending index dived by 20 points during the month to stand at 70, the lowest level since November 2008 when the UK was in recession, and the steepest drop recorded since the study began in 2004.

http://uk.finance.yahoo.com/news/UK-consumer-confidence-dives-tele-1325477552.ht...

Reply #115 - Feb 18th, 2011 at 1:56pm

YES !

The Federal Government
now has the numbers
to have its flood levy succeed in the House of Representatives.

Tasmanian independent Andrew Wilkie has announced he has struck a deal with the Government and will now vote for the levy.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2011/02/18/3142621.htm

Reply #116 - Feb 18th, 2011 at 1:58pm

How much will you pay Buzz?

You know, seeing as you care alot about Australia etc....

How much then?

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Reply #117 - Feb 18th, 2011 at 2:16pm

Thereby ensuring that EVERYONE pays for the upkeep of the country and not just people who have x amount of dollars?

DON'T GO INTO POLITICS TOO SOON WILL YA BUDDY!  Shocked Shocked Shocked Shocked Cheesy

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

sir prince duke alevine

Reply #118 - Feb 18th, 2011 at 2:18pm

The GST is given to the states.  How do you propose we rebuild national infrastructure?

Please don't apply for the middle management position at Wesfarmers; Coles is doing quite well atm and I'm loving the savings! Wouldn't want them to go bankrupt within a few days if you step into a role there.

Disclaimer for Mothra per POST so it is forever acknowledged: Saying 'Islam' or 'Muslims' doesn't mean ALL muslims. This does not target individual muslims who's opinion I am not aware of.

BatteriesNotIncluded

MediocrityNET: because
people died for this!

Reply #119 - Feb 18th, 2011 at 2:20pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Feb 17th, 2011 at 4:10pm:
If this is to pay for the levy and it's 'such a small amount'.....

Can you please tell me why EVERYONE shouldn't pay?

Why only a certain portion of people?

I mean has already declared it is next to nothing in people's budgets.
(Yet interestingly he admits he won't be paying).

sPASTIC HERE WANTS US ALL TO REINVENT THE WHEEL!

DON'T GO INTO POLITICS TOO SOON WILL YA!  Undecided Undecided Undecided Undecided Grin

Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Wink

*Sure....they're anti competitive as any subsidised job is.  It wouldn't be there without the tax payer.  Very damned difficult for a brainwashed collectivist to understand that I know....  (swaggy) *

Pages: 1 ... 6 7 8 9