Poor real estate agents doing it tough !! (Read 6999 times)

Re: Poor real estate agents doing it tough !!
Reply #15 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 8:56am

From Money Weekend

Well reader, I have to say it, today your editor read the most ridiculous article we've ever read on Australia's now-popped house price bubble.

And believe me, that takes some doing. There's been a heck of a lot of rubbish written over the years, but the article we read today trumps the lot.

What makes it worse is that it wasn't written by some half-baked real estate agent or a rabid property spruiker. No, it was written by someone who many believe is one of the most respected financial journalists in Australia - Robert Gottliebsen.

As his biography on the Business Spectator website points out:

"When it comes to Australian business media, one name is synonymous with trust, integrity and depth of knowledge that surpasses all others, that name is Robert Gottliebsen. Robert Gottliebsen is an Associate editor for Business Spectator and was the original AFR Chanticleer and founder of Business Review Weekly (BRW) Magazine."

He's a commentator that many in the mainstream respect. Although based on the article he wrote yesterday, he looks to be past his sell-by date.

In his article Mr. Gottliebsen expressed sympathy for a view put forward by Bendigo and Adelaide Bank chairman Rob Johanson. Mr. Johanson was commenting on proposals by the socialist Green Party to prevent Australia's banks from raising rates any higher than rate moves by the Reserve Bank of Australia (RBA).

Mr. Johanson said:

"None of us... who can remember trying to buy a house in the 1970s would want to have to go through or go back to that situation for funding.

"With my wife I bought my first house in 1967 and I remember vividly what it was like in the 1970s. Getting a housing loan from the bank was extremely difficult and as a result house prices were very low because you had to assemble deposits many times current requirements."

Mr. Gottliebsen then offers his opinion on what makes the current Australian housing market so special:

"It might not be intentional, but in Australia banks have developed a unique system to keep dwelling prices high. They are liberal in granting housing loans, so there is a strong consumer demand for houses."

We're dumbfounded, but we'll continue:

"By restricting the supply and boosting the demand, banks keep dwelling prices high. If the Greens' proposal were enacted and we had further increases in the cost of funds overseas - which many are predicting - then the current high house price arrangement would be blown apart...

"I am delighted that neither the government nor opposition are going down that path."

At least we should be grateful for one thing from Mr. Gottliebsen's truly mind-blowingly dumb article, and that's the admission from a mainstream insider that the current housing and banking relationship would be "blown apart" if it wasn't for house price manipulation by the banks and government.

But of course, it's too late to worry about that. As I wrote earlier this week, the house price bubble has already popped and it'll be blown apart regardless of whether the Greens' policy gets up or not.

But quite frankly we find it extraordinary that not only would a banking executive claim it was terrible that people had to "assemble deposits" to buy a house, but it's equally bizarre that a so-called respected journalist would cheer the fact that Aussie banks have "a unique system to keep dwelling prices high."

Clearly they prefer how the market is rigged right now. Where those - we'll assume - such as Mr. Johanson and Mr. Gottliebson who bought their homes in the 1960s and 1970s and who have benefited from two decades of loose bank lending and cheap credit feel weak at the knees at the thought of house prices returning back to their pre-boom levels.

Much better for house prices to remain high, for banks to be "liberal in granting housing loans", and for current homebuyers to be paying 60% or 70% of their income in interest to the banks... banks such as Bendigo and Adelaide Bank.

I mean think about it. Think about the difference. In the 1960s or 1970s buyers would have saved a deposit. They would have had money sitting in a bank account accumulating interest.

Importantly, they would have been debt free. And, they would have had savings set aside for a rainy day or to put down as a deposit for a house.

Today, buyers are bribed and suckered in to the market by banks such as Bendigo and Adelaide Bank thanks to artificially low interest rates and taxpayer funded giveaways such as the first home buyers bribe.

And rather than having a healthy bank balance of savings for a rainy day or for a deposit, well, they've already got a house so they don't need a deposit, and with 60% or 70% of their income going on mortgage repayments they don't have a bean left to put towards savings anyway.

They're living the life of a pauper, but at least they're doing it in style... if that's possible!

But don't worry guys, because apparently in Australia "banks have developed a unique system to keep dwelling prices high."

Don't you believe it. The market has cracked and the baby-boomers who thought they could profit at the expense of youngsters going deeply into debt will soon find the smile wiped off their faces.

Perhaps Gottliebsen's name used to be synonymous with trust, integrity and depth of knowledge, but not after that article. We thinks it's time for Gottliebsen to hang his head in shame and hang up his boots to let someone with a bit of common sense take over.

Reply #16 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:11am

Did you hear the latest news ?

Prices are not inflated and there is no bubble according to the REIV. Smiley

The prices are what suckers are willing to bear and the bubble will stay inflated because of our migrant intake so ladies and gentlemen please go out and bid top dollar at the auctions because you can't loose if you participate in this ponzi scheme Wink LOL

http://www.news.com.au/money/property/treasury-sounds-the-alarm-on-property-bubb...

Treasury sounds the alarm on 'property bubble'

A SENIOR Treasury official has sounded the alarm over Australia's property market.

He has warned that the prospect of a sudden and dramatic drop in prices is "the elephant in the room" and should not be ignored by the Federal Government.

While the Government and Reserve Bank insist Australia does not have a housing bubble, it remains such a worrying concept that Treasury has privately sought reassurance from its analysts that prices are not artificially high and that Australia does not face the kind of house price collapse that has hit Britain and the US.

Documents obtained by The Australian under Freedom of Information laws show the Treasury officials preparing the so-called Red Book of briefs for the incoming government were as divided as private sector economists about the strength of the property market.

Phil Garton, the manager of Treasury's Macro Financial Linkages Unit, sent colleagues a draft paper on the rise in household debt, prospects for further growth in the debt-to-income ratio and the potential implications of slower household debt growth.

His email prompted an exchange with Steve Morling, currently the general manager of the Domestic Economy Division, who argued the paper should "make a bit more about the risks".

"The elephant in the room is house prices or more specifically the risk of a precipitous drop in them, perhaps from an external shock or perhaps from their own internal dynamics when affordability constraints or capacity debt levels see prices and expectations of house prices start to move in the opposite direction," Mr Morling wrote on June 15.

"(I) know there are very supportive fundamentals, but prices rose by 50-60 per cent in three to four years in the early part of this decade, with largely unchanged fundamentals, so they can have a life of their own.

"And given what's happened elsewhere I'm far less sanguine about this - and the interplay with debt - than in the past."

Mr Garton agreed that there would be risks if the fundamentals of low interest rates, unemployment, and financial deregulation "reversed significantly". But he maintained the price growth in the early 2000s was based on a "lagged response" to improvements in the fundamentals, and questioned how Australia could have maintained a bubble for more than six years.

Mr Morling said other bubbles had lasted that long, and the fundamentals were often used to justify price rises - including in Britain where a debate over lack of supply drove property prices higher "before the British property bubble burst".

"(I) think price expectations  can take over from the fundamental drivers that you have identified for extended periods, including generating house price falls," he wrote.

With house prices static at best - the market is particularly soft in the capital cities - there are renewed doubts over the boom of the past decade and whether prices are sustainable.

A spokesman for Wayne Swan said yesterday the Treasurer retained the view that Australia did not have a property bubble, citing recent reports and statements by Westpac and the RBA.

"Of course, we expect our officials to test and debate policy within the department - it is an important and normal process of government," the spokesman said. "However, it is the considered position of the Treasurer and the Treasury that our housing market reflects the fundamentals of supply and demand and not a bubble - specifically that Australia is simply not building enough new houses."

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #17 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:41am

The Federal politicians will work 10 times harder to protect themselves than they will to protect us, the people who pay their wages. They are heavily reliant on the property market staying inflated for their own sakes. I saw a list of pollies investments somewhere and they are pretty well all into property investment.

We could all be unemployed and out on the street, but they'll make sure that real estate doesn't go bust.

Reply #18 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:49am

What gets me is real estate agents selling houses full of borer.
I think you'll see an example on Today Tonight on Monday.

They don't have to supply a Borer report or an Archi center report.
They just sell it & get their commission.
There should be a law stating that they must supply independent inspection reports -
it's a scandal & borders on criminality.
I am not sure but I think in other countries they must supply such reports.

This country is a haven for con men & rip-off merchants.

Reply #19 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:53am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:49am:

There should be a law stating that they must supply independent inspection reports -

This country is full of criminals wearing suits and ties Sad

"If you take out Saddam, I guarantee you that it will have enormous positive reverberations on the region..." - Benjamin Netanyahu in 1995

Reply #20 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:54am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:41am:
The Federal politicians will work 10 times harder to protect themselves than they will to protect us, the people who pay their wages. They are heavily reliant on the property market staying inflated for their own sakes. I saw a list of pollies investments somewhere and they are pretty well all into property investment.

We could all be unemployed and out on the street, but they'll make sure that real estate doesn't go bust.

So much for Kevin Dudd's "Australian fair go" Sad

I hope they get burnt the greedy pieces of shite Sad

Reply #21 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:57am

Sir lastnail wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:53am:

Well Nail,
You have to supply a roadworthy for a car but not
a house worthy for the largest purchase, people ever make.
It's set up for con men & women to reap huge bucks out of suckers.

Reply #22 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 12:01pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 11:57am:

Well Nail,

Yes its hard to believe that the biggest purchase you will make in your life is not covered by any basic consumer protection as far as safety and being fit for its intended purpose.

How is that you can spend 500K on some old termite ridden dump and you have absolutely no comeback on the crooks who sold it to you ?? What sort of society are we living in that allows this to happen ?

Reply #23 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 12:28pm

Must be different rules in different states. I've always needed to supply a pest certificate when selling in NSW and Qld.

Although, I know someone who's pest inspector said there was a termite problem, cost thousands to have the place pulled apart and re-built , only to find out there was no termites in the building at all. The shonky tradies formed a rorting team.

The sooner houses are used for living in, and not investments the better. The stock market is for investors, leave houses out of it.

Reply #24 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 12:40pm

Since I'm new here I don't know if this has been discussed already?

http://www.perthnow.com.au/news/western-australia/scammers-con-real-estate-agent...

I still don't know what the outcome of this was? Last I heard, it sounded like 'too bad, so sad'. How ridiculous is that? How can the sale be considered legal when it wasn't even Mr. Mildenhall's signature on the documents?

This is a case of real estate agents rushing in to make a sale without doing proper background checks. I hope Mr. Mildenhall succeeds with suing them in court and gets his money back.

Reply #25 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:01pm

See how the REIV maggots spin things around to favour their own greedy positions. "Buy today because it's the best time to buy !!"

Why not "housing market is way overpriced so don't buy until the market crashes and dives" would be a more genuine response Wink

http://www.heraldsun.com.au/news/victoria/house-buyers-hold-all-the-cards/story-...

House buyers hold all the cards

A RECORD 4385 auctions will be held over the next four weeks, giving buyers the best opportunity to snap up a bargain in two years.

The Real Estate Institute of Victoria said this was buyers' best opportunity since the global financial crisis to snap up property for less than it was worth.

For the first time, there will be four consecutive weekends with more than 1000 auctions scheduled, which could force sellers to accept less than they hoped for.

REIV spokesman Robert Larocca said the rise in the number of sellers without a corresponding increase in the number of buyers had set up sellers for disappointment.

"Buyers have a lot more opportunity and less competition than they have seen for a while," he said.

"There is little doubt the next four weeks will be the best conditions experienced by buyers for two years.

"Buyers often ask whether they are better off waiting. Looking at the past few weeks and expected volumes over the next few, you would have to say now is not the time to wait."

The auction clearance rate has been revised down to 59 per cent for the past two weekends after being artificially inflated by estate agents who are failing to report properties that are passed in.By hiding their failures, the agents have given buyers the impression that the market is stronger than it is.

This month's interest rate rise and the threat of further rises of up to 1 percentage point has forced many buyers to lower their budgets.

Buyers advocate Jason Wier, of Real Estate Angel, said the owners of the properties coming up for auction would have price expectations that were formed three months ago at the top of the market.

"Sellers are going to the market expecting prices that buyers now won't support," he said.

"Buyers should feel more relaxed about the buying process and expect less competition."

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #26 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:29pm

Well Nail,

Only if the 'suckers' don't listen to their lenders...Most banks/mortgage companies have either a lit of home inspectors or even inspectors on retainer.....
Some real estate agents ( ok not many nowadays) will have a house inspected themselves, before they accept the listing..

Let's face it 'Caveat emptor' does apply..The buyer is the one spending $500k on the house....$1500 for an inspection makes sense...I don't buy a 2nd hand CAR without having it independently inspected by a mechanic I know, or a company ( like NRMA) that I trust...
« Last Edit: Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:34pm by gizmo_2655 »  

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

bwood1946

Reply #27 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:40pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:29pm:

Well Nail,

Only if the 'suckers' don't listen to their lenders...Most banks/mortgage companies have either a lit of home inspectors or even inspectors on retainer.....
Some real estate agents ( ok not many nowadays) will have a house inspected themselves, before they accept the listing..

Let's face it 'Caveat emptor' does apply..The buyer is the one spending $500k on the house....$1500 for an inspection makes sense...I don't buy a 2nd hand CAR without having it independently inspected by a mechanic I know, or a company ( like NRMA) that I trust...

GIZMO
Loosers always blame some on ELSE

Angry Angry Angry Angry

it's the government
. It's the banks
. It's the Yanks
. It says CIA
. It's the bOSS

Never themselves

TPI  VETERAN
bwood1946 bwood1946  

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #28 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:44pm

bwood1946 wrote on Nov 20th, 2010 at 2:40pm:

Well Nail,

GIZMO
Loosers always blame some on ELSE

Angry Angry Angry Angry

it's the government
. It's the banks
. It's the Yanks
. It says CIA
. It's the bOSS

Never themselves

Sadly true bwood

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Reply #29 - Nov 20th, 2010 at 3:00pm

How many of these auctions they are having today provide an architects report ?? Smiley LOL

You're a dreamer gizmo.