Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9
No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance (Read 11223 times)
Equitist

Re:  No room for girlfriends at Ivanhoe Girls' dance
Reply #15 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:48am

Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:23am:
I for one cant wait for the two girls to turn 18.  I love lesbians, but I really love hot ones starting out in the exploration of the wonder that is the female body.

I'm sure that someone else will say something to that effect about your own offspring one day...

Seriously, tho', how's everything coming along with the wife and the bub?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

locutius

You can't fight in here!
It's the War Room

Queensland
Reply #16 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:53am

Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 9:32am:
Either way, if the complainant can establish that she was the only person who was singled out and asked to provide the age of her 'guest', then the school has deliberately targeted (and technically harassed) the complainant in a discriminatory fashion...

Yes regardless of what we personally think of the situation/lifestyle choice. The bottom line is summed up exactly as Thy has stated.

I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives.

culldav

Reply #17 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:58am

Besides up-tight religious freaks, who really cares if a lesbian couple attend a high school dance together.  It just shows that some religious fanatics are a bunch of morons with their mentality stuck in the 15th  Century.

My niece is an 18yo lesbian who came to her parents and family when she was 14.  No one with a brain gives a rats about this garbage anymore, as every individual deserves the human right to live their lives as they want.

Hlysnan

Riht, Fr[ch275]od[ch333]m,
Wærscipe

Burwood
Reply #18 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:07am

culldav wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:58am:
Besides up-tight religious freaks, who really cares if a lesbian couple attend a high school dance together.  It just shows that some religious fanatics are a bunch of morons with their mentality stuck in the 15th  Century.

My niece is an 18yo lesbian who came to her parents and family when she was 14.  No one with a brain gives a rats about this garbage anymore, as every individual deserves the human right to live their lives as they want.  

Keep in mind that it's not just religious people who are offended by homosexuals.

Equitist

Reply #19 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:09am

... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:20am:
From another source....

A complaint by the Year 11 student's father to the Equal Opportunity Commission and has been dismissed, Dr Schnagl said.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/8292448/principal-defends-same-sex-dance-ban/

So even the EOC knows it's all a load of rubbish.

nothing to see here folks, save your righteous indignation for where it's warranted.

Was the case actually 'dismissed' - or is Dr Schnagl misrepresenting the facts!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Verge

Reply #20 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:23am

Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:48am:
I for one cant wait for the two girls to turn 18.  I love lesbians, but I really love hot ones starting out in the exploration of the wonder that is the female body.

I'm sure that someone else will say something to that effect about your own offspring one day...

Two and a half weeks to go!!!!  All is really good, and the wife is doing really well and is fairly well rested.

And if its a girl, she isnt dating until she is 32!

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Equitist

Reply #21 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am

Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:23am:

Two and a half weeks to go!!!!  All is really good, and the wife is doing really well and is fairly well rested.

LOL...best wishes to all of you, at this exciting albeit stressful time!

PS My first-born came 2 weeks early: just 2 days after my last Uni exam for the year - ouch!

Reply #22 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am

Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:09am:
From another source....

A complaint by the Year 11 student's father to the Equal Opportunity Commission and has been dismissed, Dr Schnagl said.

http://au.news.yahoo.com/thewest/a/-/breaking/8292448/principal-defends-same-sex-dance-ban/

nothing to see here folks, save your righteous indignation for where it's warranted.

Was the case actually 'dismissed' - or is Dr Schnagl misrepresenting the facts!?

You've got to assume that if it's reported, it's factual.

But I guess if you MUST work yourself into a tizz over this childish tanty, knock yourself out!

Verge

Reply #23 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:27am

culldav wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 10:58am:
Besides up-tight religious freaks, who really cares if a lesbian couple attend a high school dance together.  It just shows that some religious fanatics are a bunch of morons with their mentality stuck in the 15th  Century.

My niece is an 18yo lesbian who came to her parents and family when she was 14.  No one with a brain gives a rats about this garbage anymore, as every individual deserves the human right to live their lives as they want.  

I think you will find some religious people are pretty liberal about it.

I know plenty that are religious and dont give two hoots about it.

Sometimes this place is pretty quick to throw lables to a pretty large section of society.  Since when does a few extremists represent the majority.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Verge

Reply #24 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:28am

Equitist wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am:

Two and a half weeks to go!!!!  All is really good, and the wife is doing really well and is fairly well rested.

Thanks thy, although I have to admit we are pretty cruisy at the moment and no stress.  Im sure that will change upon arrival!

Equitist

Reply #25 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:36am

... wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:26am:
From another source....

You've got to assume that if it's reported, it's factual.

But I guess if you MUST work yourself into a tizz over this childish tanty, knock yourself out!

Not necessarily so - the father 'reports' a different version of events (and the Principal is doing a shytehouse reactionary PR job)...

HigherBeam wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 6:37am:
http://www.theage.com.au/victoria/no-room-for-girlfriends-at-ivanhoe-girls-dance...

A few weeks earlier, a teacher had told the year 11 student she wasn't allowed to attend the Preston dinner dance with her 15-year-old girlfriend, Savannah Supski. She was asked to bring a male instead.

''It made me very upset. I thought it was unfair so I didn't go,'' she said.

''I put a lot of effort into trying to fix things. I had a meeting with principals, looked through the Equal Opportunity Act, all my friends put posters up around the school and the teachers ripped them down. There was an easy solution; they just needed to let me go with my girlfriend.''

Hannah's father, Peter Williams, lodged a complaint with the Equal Opportunities Commission, alleging the school had discriminated against his daughter because of her sexual orientation.

''The school kept saying because it is an all-girls' school we want to make an event where they can meet boys in a social scenario,'' he said. ''That process is anachronistic and creates feelings of discrimination among girls who are same-sex attracted.''

After lodging the complaint in September, Mr Williams had a mediation session with the school, but the two parties were unable to reach a conclusion.

The Williams family did not take matters further because it was becoming too stressful for their teenage daughter, who will complete her VCE next year.

Mr Williams said the experience had forced his daughter to move to Swinburne Senior Secondary College, a ''more accepting'' school in Hawthorn.

''We made the decision that the best thing to do was to leave the school. The basis has been the whole sense of institutionalised discrimination,'' he said.

''They had a clear idea of why they ran the event, but the world has moved on. It's not the greatest time in someone's educational life to move schools.''

Savannah, now 16, is also moving schools to be with her girlfriend and was happy to hear that Swinburne Secondary College allows same-sex couples to attend formals together.

''I have been not very happy with private schools all my life and this was pushing it. It was a homophobic issue and I feel extremely discriminated against at the old school,'' she said.

Sian Supski supports her daughter's decision to leave the school.

''The idea that there had to be a gender balance at the dinner dance seemed to be discriminatory. It was a very difficult time for Savannah but she's an amazingly strong young person and we are very proud of her.''

Mrs Supski said she was disappointed Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar did not adopt a more progressive approach to same-sex couples. ''It would have been a good thing for other girls who might be in a same-sex relationship and don't feel brave enough to come out, tell their parents and be in a school situation.''

Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar principal Heather Schnagl said the event did not discriminate against same-sex couples and was designed to promote a co-educational experience.

''I don't think it's appropriate they feel discriminated against, and I'm very upset they feel that,'' she said.

''If we opened it up and said girls could bring another female they would all bring females; the policy is trying to create an event where boys are invited. We are a school that has an all-girls environment, and they are meant to invite guests, not partners.''

Dr Schnagl said the event was under review for next year.

She said the students' ages had also been an issue. ''It's an event for year 11s and the student's guest was in year 10.''

Hannah said her classmates had taken younger males to the event and she was the only student asked to provide the age of her partner. ''They kept on making up excuses, and said everything was a problem for me.''

Roz Ward, co-ordinator of the Safe Schools Coalition, unveiled by the state government last month to tackle homophobia in schools, said the incident was a blatant example of discrimination.

''It's a big issue for schools to be visibly supportive of same-sex couples and one of the most visible events of the year is the school formal or dinner dance. One of the six recommendations we make to schools is to allow students to take their same-sex partners or friends to their school formal...

Equitist

Reply #26 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:37am

Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:28am:

Thanks thy, although I have to admit we are pretty cruisy at the moment and no stress.  Im sure that will change upon arrival!

Glad to hear that - enjoy your peace, quiet, sleep, privacy, autonomy and anonymity whilst it lasts...

locutius

You can't fight in here!
It's the War Room

Queensland
Reply #27 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:46am

Verge wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 11:28am:

Thanks thy, although I have to admit we are pretty cruisy at the moment and no stress.  Im sure that will change upon arrival!

Hey congratulations and good luck mate to you and your wife. The best days of your life are about to begin.

I dream of a better tomorrow, where chickens can cross the road and not be questioned about their motives.

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #28 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:36pm

From another source....

From the au.news story...
"A complaint by the Year 11 student's father to the Equal Opportunity Commission and has been dismissed, Dr Schnagl said.

Victorian Equal Opportunity Commissioner Helen Szoke said she was legally unable to comment on the complaint"

If the Commissioner is 'legally unable to comment', then it must still be under investigation....

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat

Equitist

Reply #29 - Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:46pm

gizmo_2655 wrote on Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:36pm:
From another source....

From the au.news story...
"A complaint by the Year 11 student's father to the Equal Opportunity Commission and has been dismissed, Dr Schnagl said.

Victorian Equal Opportunity Commissioner Helen Szoke said she was legally unable to comment on the complaint"

If the Commissioner is 'legally unable to comment', then it must still be under investigation....

Actually, I've been pondering the ramifications of this case - should not the HREOC have some semblance of an obligation to 'prosecute' clear test cases as an advocate and enforcer of HREO 'principles', rather than force parties with differing levels of power and/or resources into 'mediation'...

Nothing that I have seen in the media suggests that the school has acted in anything other than an overtly discriminatory fashion - and the Principal obviously has zero remorse (or insight into the ramifications of her actions)...

IM(no-so)HO, the family has acted in the overall best interests of their daughter, by moving her to another school, but the mediation process was inappropriate and they have given up on a war of attrition - but I reckon that the onus of engaging in mediation ought never have been foistered upon them...

Either way, this has been a most unsatisfactory outcome because the unrepentant (and unreprimanded) Principal has been able to front the media with a dubious claim that the complaint was 'dismissed'...

There have been clear acts of systematic and serial discrimination (and possibly demonisation, vilification, harrassment and/or bullying) - some of which are on the public record via videoed news conferences - for which the offender is flagrantly unrepentant and therefore the HREOC ought to intervene to prosecute of its own volition...

I, for one, hope that this case is taken up by some lawyer/s on a probono basis...
« Last Edit: Nov 11th, 2010 at 1:56pm by Equitist »  

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 9