Trick or Treat - Aussie Style (Read 2077 times)
It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Trick or Treat - Aussie Style
Nov 1st, 2010 at 9:25am

...just a couple of doors down from where I live.
A group of young kids, attired in their Halloween clothes, got the 'fright' of their lives.
Racing away screaming in fear and terror, the parents quickly called the Police.
Cops everywhere arrived, Police Helicopter above, the road cordened off, Ambos, etc.

...drunken idiot had pulled a 'Gun', possibly a 'toy' Gun, upon the Trick or Treating kiddies.

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

mellie

Re: Trick or Treat - Aussie Style
Reply #1 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 9:40am

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Nov 1st, 2010 at 9:25am:
...just a couple of doors down from where I live.
A group of young kids, attired in their Halloween clothes, got the 'fright' of their lives.
Racing away screaming in fear and terror, the parents quickly called the Police.
Cops everywhere arrived, Police Helicopter above, the road cordened off, Ambos, etc.

...drunken idiot had pulled a 'Gun', possibly a 'toy' Gun, upon the Trick or Treating kiddies.

That's terrible... bloody imbecile, who ever it was that pulled the gun.

Theres always one fool who has to wreck it for all.

Anyway, we went to a Halloween kids party on Saturday night, (at a friends place) ...was fantastic, and then we went Trick or treating last night.

Was great, one neighbour gave my daughter a whole box of expensive chocolates (lol, a sure sign they had forgot Halloween)..lol...and another resident in a street down from where we live gave my daughter a small tin of tuna...lol

*cringe*

Smiley...  This area is big on Halloween, even the parents get dressed up, this and get involved...and we never let the kids go alone...of course.

I know it's an American thingy, but the kids love it so why not.

Now, my daughter will be bouncing off the walls for the next 2 days, arrrgh...  she doesn't get lollies often.

I let her take them all to school today, secretly hoping that like last year, she will feel obliged to share them with all the kids in her class.

Cool

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #2 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 9:51am

I'm a 'new' Father ...so I'm enjoying such things through my child now.
Through myself, I couldn't have cared less for an American Halloween or some Finnish fat man in a red suit getting 'high' upon a magical sleigh that is reined in by Deers upon the same wild mushrooms.
...along with the 'Retail' SALE that has decorations up in October already. Roll Eyes

Sure, the kids got the fright of their lives ...but there are better ways to scare kiddies.

...he was again buzzed by Police, when someone called them, because he was seen with alcohol walking to my neighbours upon my right who have already been busted for 1000 Ecstacy Pills, other drugs, stolen goods for Ebay and 'real' Guns.

I live south of Campbelltown which also celebrates Halloween ...which kickstarts the Fisher's Ghost Festival period.

Equitist

Reply #3 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:25am

As much as I despise the wanton materialism and profiteering out of Halloween, I think that trick or treating brings something that has been missing in Aussie communities over the past couple of decades - kids feeling relatively safe and accepted out on our streets...

When I was a 'kid', growing up in the 70s and 80's, it was normal and acceptable for kids to ride bikes, skates, scooters and skate boards until dark on suburban streets. Kids were meant to be outdoors and it was even OK for us to play tennis, handball, cricket - and pass around soccer, foot and basket balls - for as long as the evening light permitted. These days, kids are regarded as 'ferals' if they dare to congregate on local roads...

Back then, it was also acceptable for kids to roam door-to-door selling fundraising chocolates and raffle tickets and gaining sponsorships...

Anyways, last night I permitted my 12 YO to go out trick or treating for the first time - for a few hours, in a medium density community village setting, with a group of kids from his performing arts school totalling almost 40 at last count (a bunch of them arrived late and they split up into groups of 6-10, each led by one or more older kids)...

They had a ball - as did the parents, who sat nibbling, drinking and chatting at the home base of one of the families...

I was somewhat shocked at the haul they returned with. As far as I know, the kids were a bit put off by only two householders - one of whom asked to take a photo of a 15 YO boy dressed up as Clark-cum-Superman and another who told a 13 YO girl that she looked like a slut...

Apparently, this is only the second year that this community has got into the Halloween spirit - and, all in all, it was a great night for all!
« Last Edit: Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:31am by Equitist »  

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #4 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:36am

I with you there Equitist (70s & 80s) with all that and I did that in Mt Druitt, one of the roughest areas around (still is I guess).
A lot of people say the same these days - how you hardly see kids out and about.
- is it the indoor Computer Game sets?
- is it the growth of 'weapon' violence which results in 'Death'?
- is it the growth of 'gang' violence which results in 'Death'?
- is it the growth of Vehicles killing kids on the streets?
- is it the growth of Multi-Cultures and their tightly controlling parents that prevents the kids from sharing/adapting 'with' one another?

...whatever the cause, since the 90's, there has been a major social change in Australia.

I didn't mind driving to work and seeing all the different little groups of Ghoulees around ...even saw one kid dressed up like an Orc which got a lot of attention from the other kids.

Equitist

Reply #5 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:48am

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:36am:
I with you there Equitist (70s & 80s) with all that and I did that in Mt Druitt, one of the roughest areas around (still is I guess).
A lot of people say the same these days - how you hardly see kids out and about.
- is it the indoor Computer Game sets?
- is it the growth of 'weapon' violence which results in 'Death'?
- is it the growth of 'gang' violence which results in 'Death'?
- is it the growth of Vehicles killing kids on the streets?
- is it the growth of Multi-Cultures and their tightly controlling parents that prevents the kids from sharing/adapting 'with' one another?

...whatever the cause, since the 90's, there has been a major social change in Australia.

I didn't mind driving to work and seeing all the different little groups of Ghoulees around ...even saw one kid dressed up like an Orc which got a lot of attention from the other kids.

To some extent, Jas, I would suggest that all of the things you mention have some relevance to the change, however, I reckon that there are two significant factors that you haven't specifically mentioned, i.e.: -

* The fact that we have far more kids in paid care and infinitely more latchkey kids - since more and more mothers, aunties, grandmothers, grandfathers - and other female and/or elderly neighbours - of young kids are remaining in the paid workforce. (On top of this, young families are often priced out of the neighbourhoods that they grew up in - and become geographically isolated from their would-be familial and familiar support network.)

* The increasingly-graphic, sensationalistic and 24/7 media has created a disproportionate sense of fear in the community - especially given the real-world context that most violent crime by strangers stats have actually been declining.

The cumulative impact of these social changes, is that it is no longer considered safe and/or acceptable for kids to be out on the streets - especially on weekday afternoons and evenings.

Oh, that and the fact that single car households are rare these days - there are probably 2-3 times more vehicles on the roads these days - and therefore much increased car movements in local streets...

« Last Edit: Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:54am by Equitist »  

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #6 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:55am

Agree on those points.

Would you also say there has been a 'cultural' change away from the Rural or Backyard environment 'back' towards the City-culture and all these 'suburban' Houses that are like huge blocks that leave little room for a backyard at all?

Equitist

Reply #7 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:04am

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Nov 1st, 2010 at 10:55am:
Agree on those points.

Would you also say there has been a 'cultural' change away from the Rural or Backyard environment 'back' towards the City-culture and all these 'suburban' Houses that are like huge blocks that leave little room for a backyard at all?

Yer, somewhat ironically, the yards are smaller and the kids are less likely to spread out to play on the streets!

I must say, I was impressed by the community atmosphere of the village that my son went trick or treating in - I had never ventured in there before. The design consists of long windy streets of mostly 2-storey townhouses - and mostly cul-de-sacs.

They even have a community commons - inclusive of a community swimming pool - which is somehow collectively shared by the people living in 6 surrounding cul-de-sacs (the pool fence was actually visible and literally a stone's throw away from the townhouse where we had congregated).

It was truly remarkable how few vehicles entered and exited in the 5 hours that we were there...

mellie

Reply #8 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:08am

Equalist, as much as I too loath girls dressing in the manner you describe above, and wont allow my own daughter to wear tarty clothing, I really don't like the way they described someone's 13 year old child looking like a 'slut'...disgusting, remember it's the parents who should be raked over the coals for what their kids wear, what sort of parent lets their child go out looking like this to begin with?

What's wrong with these people?

My daughter dressed up as Medusa, was hard finding an abundance of rubber snakes last week, normally you find them everywhere in junk shops, but over the last couple of months, they have been sparse.

I attached them all to a black swimming cap with a needle and thread.  

Our area is a safe and 'nice' neighbourhood also, though there's no way in hell I would be leaving a group of 12 or 13 year olds to their own devices, without adult supervision.

1) There are some wierdos out there.

2) Given the true nature of "trick or treat"... some kids get carried away with the pranks, the girl who lives next door to us has a couple of bratty friends who I wouldn't let my daughter trick or treat with last night, in fear they would get up to mischief. ...last year, the two girls in question were believed to have taken eggs with them.

Kids will be kids. Parental supervision is your best defence against anything untoward occurring, safe community or not...kids will be kids.

You will find that these incidents usually occur when there's a lack of parental supervision.

My sons a bit over trick or treating, (he's 16), so hasn't gone for the last couple of years, though agreed to attend the party the night before, so long as he didn't have to dress up...this and could take a friend.

He calls trick or treating and getting dressed -up  'gay' these days.

Everything is "Gay" to 16 year old boys!

Grin... But when he saw what his sister had netted last night, this and wanted half of what she had scooped up...2 full green-bags full, you know those recyclable supermarket bags....

I think he wished he had have gone too.

We had no incidents, we live in a nice quiet neighbourhood.

« Last Edit: Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:44am by mellie »  

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

mellie

Reply #9 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:11am

Plus it's the principle of the thing, we teach our children "NOT" to accept lollies/gifts off strangers, and or approach strangers homes, (stranger danger)...so I think being there with them is important, as it hit's it home that they should not do this without the presence of an accompanying  parent.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #10 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:22am

Yeah - ironic that.
We drum into our kids not to accept lollies from (the dirty *P*aedophile that hangs around playgrounds and schools) "strangers"
...and yet, on Halloween we contradict and support that action.
Undecided Huh

Even Doctor Who offered JellyBabies to take youngsters for a ride in his Tardis. Huh

mellie

Reply #11 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:26am

It_is_the_Darkness wrote on Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:22am:
Yeah - ironic that.
We drum into our kids not to accept lollies from (the dirty *P*aedophile that hangs around playgrounds and schools) "strangers"
...and yet, on Halloween we contradict and support that action.
Undecided Huh

Even Doctor Who offered JellyBabies to take youngsters for a ride in his Tardis. Huh

It's only ironic if you aren't there with them....supervising the activity.

Which is why it's important parents go with them, no matter how old they are, or how many kids are going in the group.

I can tell you now, my kids will grow out of trick or treating (one already has)... before I let them go out alone and accept sweets off perfect strangers.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #12 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:26am

remember it's the parents who should be raked over the coals for what their kids wear, what sort of parent lets their child go out looking like this to begin with?

You can't tell a normal 13 year old girl what to wear if she wants to wear something else that she believes is attractive. You can only try to persuade her why she shouldn't wear it.  

Personally I think allowing kids to celebrate Halloween is a great imposition on the neighbours who don't want noisy, teenage brats banging on their door demanding lollies.

mellie

Reply #13 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:34am

mantra wrote on Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:26am:
remember it's the parents who should be raked over the coals for what their kids wear, what sort of parent lets their child go out looking like this to begin with?

You can't tell a normal 13 year old girl what to wear if she wants to wear something else that she believes is attractive. You can only try to persuade her why she shouldn't wear it.  

Personally I think allowing kids to celebrate Halloween is a great imposition on the neighbours who don't want noisy, teenage brats banging on their door demanding lollies.

Garbage Mantra, if the child has been raised properly, with an ounce of self respect, she generally wont want to dress like a trollop.

I consider 13 to 16 year old kid with tattoos child abuse...I was horrified recently when I learned of a girl my daughter used to go to primary school with who at the ripe old age of 14 has a nose piercing and a tramp-stamp...(tattoo)..disgusting! Is this even legal?

It depends on how you bring them up, my daughter has been raised with modesty and self respect, the same way I was raised...this and doesn't want to dress the way some do.

You get some  scummy mummys who live through their teenage daughters and let them wear what ever they like, then they wonder why they get attacked or called horrible names when out in public....this and start lurking with boys too soon.

Re- your considering Halloween to be an imposition, wow, you sound like such a fun person...NOT!

Roll Eyes...

Our neighbours get a kick out of spoiling the kids, they are nice people, not nasty old Scrooges or witches lurking in their hovels/dens with poison apples like some.. Wink

I guess you would have to be a parent yourself 'these days' to appreciate the immense joy kids get out of Halloween Mantra.

mellie

Reply #14 - Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:46am

Also there's a thing called Halloween etiquette, if the porch light is on, it means the people in the house are up for Trick or treating, if it's off, you don't knock.

Smiley...I left a plastic pumpkin battery operated hollow pumpkin lantern  of lollies on my veranda last night, all individually bagged in Halloween lolly bags, and placed a sign on the basket, "Be kind take one bag only"...because we were out ourselves last night so knew we wouldn't be home to answer the door for two or so hours, and to my surprise, none were missing when we got back.  However, as soon as we got back, we had a few come round....mind you, we left when it was still light, so....

Only a few dropped by though because we live in a tiny cul-de-sac.

« Last Edit: Nov 1st, 2010 at 11:53am by mellie »