Centrelink The Most Complained About Agency. (Read 6335 times)
imcrookonit

Centrelink The Most Complained About Agency.
Sep 21st, 2010 at 7:21pm

* Staff continually get facts wrong
    * Third of decisions overturned
    * Appeals cost taxpayers $33m a year

CENTRELINK has been forced to overturn more than a third of its decisions because staff continually get facts and legal advice wrong.

Complaints about Centrelink decisions surged 104 per cent in the last two years, making it the most complained about government agency in the country, the Welfare Rights Centre said.

Appeals against Centrelink's decisions cost taxpayers more than $33 million a year. More than one-third, 34.5 per cent, of its decisions were overturned on appeal, The Daily Telegraph reports.

More than 6.5 million Australians receive some form of payment from Centrelink each year.

In the 12 months to July 2009 there were 103,427 reviews of and complaints about Centrelink decisions.

The number of internal Centrelink reviews of its own decisions more than doubled from 40,474 in 2006-07 to 82,774 in 2008-09.

There were 13,429 applications to the Social Security Appeals Tribunal in 2008-09, up 56 per cent in the last two years.

In the same period the Ombudsman received 7224 approaches and complaints about Centrelink.

The largest number of complaints to the Ombudsman were from people on Newstart Allowance, followed by Disability Support Pension, Family tax Benefit and the age pension.

The Social Security Appeals Tribunal annual report found that 33.1 per cent of Centrelink's decisions it overturned involved an error of fact, and 14.7 per cent involved an error of law.

"As a legal centre we are puzzled by the lack of public outrage or scrutiny of this result, but you have to remember that we are dealing with some of the most vulnerable people in the community," Welfare Rights director Maree O'Halloran said.

"It is hard to reconcile the fact that over 30 per cent of decisions are found to be wrong, with Centrelink's own survey results which claim Centrelink has a payment correctness figure of 96 per cent."

The surge in complaints led to a 27 per cent - or $7 million increase - in the Social Security Appeals Tribunal's budget.

The tribunal spent $33.2 million in 2008-09 and the average cost of each appeal against a Centrelink decision was $1992.

qikvtec

Queensland
Re: Centrelink The Most Complained About Agency.
Reply #1 - Sep 21st, 2010 at 8:22pm

The one subject you can probably speak with authority on Crook and still no comment; just the usual dump and run.

Politicians and Nappies need to be changed often and for the same reason.

One trouble with political jokes is that they often get elected.

Alan Joyce for PM

Reply #2 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 7:47am

"The largest number of complaints to the Ombudsman were from people on Newstart Allowance, followed by Disability Support Pension, Family tax Benefit and the age pension."

"As a legal centre we are puzzled by the lack of public outrage or scrutiny of this result, but you have to remember that we are dealing with some of the most vulnerable people in the community," Welfare Rights director Maree O'Halloran said."

Not really surprising when you think that the great unthinking 'general public'
have been brainwashed into thinking that those on welfare (as opposed to WEALTHfare)
are somehow undeserving, or are in the situation they are in because of their own fault, or are just bludgers who don't matter.

ACOSS and the Welfare Rights Centre need to do more to educate the great uncaring that these stereotypes have no basis in fact.

It_is_the_Darkness

in a ReTardis
Reply #3 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 9:10am

Well there is a large slice of Australian Culture that percieves the act of being 'poor' as an excuse to be 'nasty'.
Take the Tale of Two Cities for example: Melbourne & Sydney
I have lived in both.
In Sydney, I somehow percieve the rich as being hardworking and nice, but the poor as being nasty and ungrateful.
In Melbourne is is the reverse.
How do I come to this perception?

Well maybe it is the 'Police' factor?
I think Sydney Police are culturally brought up to aim for the top and hence why the 'Upper Class' are on their best behaviour ...and probably why you get 'riots' at street-level in Sydney and the Cops aren't really trained to meet such adversity.
In Melbourne, the so-called Westie (or Bogun) comes across a bit more behaved, possibly due to the Police being very 'street-level' culturally (Hell, I think if we had Melbourne Cops in Mt Druitt - I think things would have been a lot different) ...and probably why crime is more 'organised' in the Upper Class of Melb' and guys like Packer, Rivkin, Skase, Grollo Bros, etc prefer Melbourne. Although brought up in the rough and tumble of Mt Druitt -Houso capital of Australia, west of Sydney ...I was always thinking twice about catching a train out to Heidelberg around Melbourne, for fear of the 'rich' boys "Cruisng this neighbourhood and think 'clubbing' is done with a length of wood" (TISM).

I would take a guess then that the majority of complaints against Centrelink emanate from the Sydney 'culture' and these would be indeed the ungrateful scumbags that is so cliche'. They can be so bad that they rob other poor people rather than get some balls and take a pot shot at the Lodge.

SUCKING ON MY TITTIES, LIKE I KNOW YOU WANT TO.

aussiefree2ride

Reply #4 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:41pm

I think it`s amazing that people can be unemployed and still get paid, still get medical care etc.

Equitist

Reply #5 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:47pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:41pm:
I think it`s amazing that people can be unemployed and still get paid, still get medical care etc.

Much better that they sleep under bridges, sell their bodies, beg for food, clothing and money and/or rob other citizens to survive - and spread preventable and curable diseases in the process, eh!?

How about some of them increase the value of your residence, by residing and carking it on your own doorstep!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #6 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:49pm

Kat wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 7:47am:
"The largest number of complaints to the Ombudsman were from people on Newstart Allowance, followed by Disability Support Pension, Family tax Benefit and the age pension."

"As a legal centre we are puzzled by the lack of public outrage or scrutiny of this result, but you have to remember that we are dealing with some of the most vulnerable people in the community," Welfare Rights director Maree O'Halloran said."

Not really surprising when you think that the great unthinking 'general public'
have been brainwashed into thinking that those on welfare (as opposed to WEALTHfare)
are somehow undeserving, or are in the situation they are in because of their own fault, or are just bludgers who don't matter.

ACOSS and the Welfare Rights Centre need to do more to educate the great uncaring that these stereotypes have no basis in fact.

So these people will at some point in the near future come off welfare and actually look after themselves instead of having the taxpayer do it for them?

If that is the case, they will have nothing to complain about, if they intend to live out their entire lives on welfare, looks like they will be complaining a little longer.

aussiefree2ride

Reply #7 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:57pm

Equitist wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:47pm:

Much better that they sleep under bridges, sell their bodies, beg for food, clothing and money and/or rob other citizens to survive - and spread preventable and curable diseases in the process, eh!?

How about some of them increase the value of your residence, by residing and carking it on your own doorstep!?

Equatits, communicating with you only results in a sensation of futility, due to the difficulty you have in grasping even the simplest, most obvious of points.

Equitist

Reply #8 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 2:13pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:57pm:
Equitist wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 1:47pm:

Equatits, communicating with you only results in a sensation of futility, due to the difficulty you have in grasping even the simplest, most obvious of points.

Huh!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

aikmann4

canberra
Reply #9 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 2:21pm

It amazes me too, though I still consider it absurd when you get people like Kataya and Crook running around this forum acting like access to welfare payments is a fundamental, intrinsic human right.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #10 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 2:30pm

aikmann4 wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 2:21pm:
It amazes me too, though I still consider it absurd when you get people like Kataya and Crook running around this forum acting like access to welfare payments is a fundamental, intrinsic human right.

Imp, if you speak to any socialist they will tell you that unlimited access to welfare from cradle to grave is as fundamental as the air we breathe.

The best part it is always someone else (PBT) that has to pay for it.

Along with being a lifetime dole recipient we must also provide them with unlimited respect and sympathy.

Lucky I don't give a shiat what the leftards think.  Grin

djrbfm

Reply #11 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 3:12pm

you'd like to see them dying in the street, maybe?
not a good look for tourists, etc.
j.

Reply #12 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 3:28pm

I too frown on the bludgers, but if ya don't give 'em the dole, do you think thye'd just lay down and die?

Nope, they'll just rob ya, which would be all well and good if we were allowed to defend ourselves and our property.

Reply #13 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 4:13pm

aikmann4 wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 2:21pm:

What the hell's wrong with sticking up for the disadvantaged?

Or having SOME sort of social conscience?

What's absurd about understanding that the unemployed are NOT being given a fair go?

Or not being mean-spirited?

How does that make me some kind of 'lesser' person?

Equitist

Reply #14 - Sep 22nd, 2010 at 4:18pm

Kat wrote on Sep 22nd, 2010 at 4:13pm:
What the hell's wrong with sticking up for the disadvantaged?

Or having SOME sort of social conscience?

What's absurd about understanding that the unemployed are NOT being given a fair go?

Or not being mean-spirited?

How does that make me some kind of 'lesser' person?

Unfortunately, some cannot interpret any form of communication that doesn't involve dollar sign language - empathy does not compute!