French Say Leave The Retirement Age Alone (Read 2509 times)

Re: French Say Leave The Retirement Age Alone
Reply #15 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:48am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:45am:
... wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:42am:
Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:37am:
... wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:33am:
They don't owe the rest of the world anything,

Their behaviour for the last 60 years to the United States and Britain, the two countries that bailed them out in 2 world wars and saved them from occupation has been anything other than grateful.

They blocked Britain's entry into the EEC, they caused chaos in NATO, they obstinately block us at the UN etc.

France does owe people some gratitude, they have just never shown it.

LOL.  I suppose it was just out of the goodness of the US and britains hearts they 'saved' France, not because they knew they'd be next?  Nope, they don't owe anybody anything.

France was under occupation.
British, Canadian and American troops waded onto their beaches and secured the country's freedom for them.

France, meanwhile, had capitulated to the Germans in 8 days.

In my opinion they do owe us some gratitude and thanks.
It'd be nice if they showed it instead of behaving as arrogantly and as obstinate as they do.

Be honest - Britain didn't 'save' France - they were desperately trying to save their own hides.  America joining the war was a prudent long term move, motivated by increasing their world power, not because they wanted to save anyone else.

Reply #16 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:50am

... wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:48am:

Their behaviour for the last 60 years to the United States and Britain, the two countries that bailed them out in 2 world wars and saved them from occupation has been anything other than grateful.

They blocked Britain's entry into the EEC, they caused chaos in NATO, they obstinately block us at the UN etc.

LOL.  I suppose it was just out of the goodness of the US and britains hearts they 'saved' France, not because they knew they'd be next?  Nope, they don't owe anybody anything.

British, Canadian and American troops waded onto their beaches and secured the country's freedom for them.

It'd be nice if they showed it instead of behaving as arrogantly and as obstinate as they do.

Be honest - Britain didn't 'save' France - they were desperately trying to save their own hides.  America joining the war was a prudent long term move, motivated by increasing their world power, not because they wanted to save anyone else.

Irrelevant of ours, Canada's or the US's motivation - France was saved by our troops.
One of my grandfather's was in the British Army that arrived into France after the initial invasion and the other was on a battleship pounding the German positions (not that they knew each other then!).

Now you tell me, is that not saving France from occupation?

Reply #17 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:54am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:50am:
... wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:48am:

Be honest - Britain didn't 'save' France - they were desperately trying to save their own hides.  America joining the war was a prudent long term move, motivated by increasing their world power, not because they wanted to save anyone else.

Irrelevant of ours, Canada's or the US's motivation - France was saved by our troops.
One of my grandfather's was in the British Army that arrived into France after the initial invasion and the other was on a battleship pounding the German positions (not that they knew each other then!).

Now you tell me, is that not saving France from occupation?

So how long must they grovel at the feet of the US and Britain?  If they had have known they would be expected to put their own interests last for the next 65+ years, they probably would have preferred nazi rule.  It was never in the allies best interest to let the nazis occupy France.

Reply #18 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 12:00pm

... wrote on Sep 7th, 2010 at 11:54am:
So how long must they grovel at the feet of the US and Britain?  If they had have known they would be expected to put their own interests last for the next 65+ years, they probably would have preferred nazi rule.  It was never in the allies best interest to let the nazis occupy France.

I didn't say they need to grovel at the feet of the US and Britain.

BUT they have not shown an inkling of gratitude since 1944 for what we did for them.

When France blocked our entry into the EEC it was less than 2 decades after the end of the war.
NATO was a complete shambles because of their behaviour.

How about with the US?
How did they thank them?
Hand them the screaming child that was Vietnam and disappear quietly out of the side door when nobody was looking!!

France's behaviour is arrogant and self-serving.
Have a look at how they behaved on your very doorstep in the South Pacific with nuclear testing!

Reply #19 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 12:05pm

France's behaviour is arrogant and self-serving.
Have a look at how they behaved on your very doorstep in the South Pacific with nuclear testing!

EVERY country is self-serving.

Reply #20 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 12:07pm

I support being able to have retirement, at a reasonable age.   As the French obviously do.

Retirement assumes the END of work. that 4 letter word you are unfamiliar with... WORK.

imcrookonit

Reply #21 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 12:15pm

Are you familiar with it?.  I used to work 12 hours a day 7 days a week.  In a job most people couldn't even handle.  How about you?.

Reply #22 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 12:18pm

Are you familiar with it?.  I used to work 12 hours a day 7 days a week.  In a job most people couldn't even handle.  How about you?.

I am not far off that to be honest.

I reckon I do 70 hours per week and I am on conference calls local time midnight at times.

Verge

Reply #23 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 12:28pm

Are you familiar with it?.  I used to work 12 hours a day 7 days a week.  In a job most people couldn't even handle.  How about you?.

Oh thats just gold. 

Union spamming yahoo isnt a job mate.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

gizmo_2655

South West NSW
Reply #24 - Sep 7th, 2010 at 1:36pm

I support being able to have retirement, at a reasonable age.   As the French obviously do.

Good for you crook...

But for (hopefully) the last time...the RETIREMENT age is completely different to the PENSION qualification age....

"I just get sick of people who place a label on someone else with their own definition.

It's similar to a strawman fallacy"
Bobbythebat