Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13 
No Excuses For Years Of Cuts To Social Spending. (Read 13051 times)
aikmann4

canberra
Re: No Excuses For Years Of Cuts To Social Spending.
Reply #180 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:09pm

Do people have a right to dictate whether or not you deserve to be given their money, though? Not particularly. Nobody can 'opt-out' of paying their taxes to you.

Reply #181 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:10pm

Kat wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:07pm:
BTW: Once the money is in their bank-account, it is THEIRS, not yours, and you should have NO right to dictate how it is spent, any more than they have to dictate how YOU spend yours.

I disagree on that point.
My money is earned through working. It is not given by handouts by the taxpayer.

Whereas their income is obtained by not actually doing anything.

Therefore it is our right to ensure that they are spending it correctly and what it is intended to do. Support their basic needs whilst they look for work.

Getting pissed is not a basic need.

I am all for helping people, I refuse to see why we should bankroll a social lifestyle though.

Reply #182 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:13pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:10pm:
BTW: Once the money is in their bank-account, it is THEIRS, not yours, and you should have NO right to dictate how it is spent, any more than they have to dictate how YOU spend yours.

My money is earned through working. It is given by handouts by the taxpayer.

Therefore it is our right to ensure that they are spending it correctly and what it is intended to do. Support their basic needs whilst they look for work.

I am all for helping people, I refuse to see why we should bankroll a social lifestyle though.

A couple of beers is not 'getting pissed' or a 'social lifestyle.

And if, as in my case at the time (1979), spending $2 on a couple of middies gets a PAYING, FULL-TIME JOB, which leads into a BETTER job, I'd venture to say it was $2 well-spent.

Reply #183 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:15pm

Kat wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:13pm:

My money is earned through working. It is given by handouts by the taxpayer.

A couple of beers is not 'getting pissed'.

And if, as in my case at the time, spending $2 on a couple of middies gets a PAYING, FULL-TIME JOB, I'd venture to say it was $2 well-spent.

You're talking about a particular personal situation.
I am talking about in general.

There are bludgers existing out there and we fund them to get pissed in a pub.

It does happen.

Reply #184 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:21pm

The skills and experience that I gained in that job have also helped me to obtain work since then (as they did during the 'recession we had to have'), so I'd say it was the best value I've ever gotten out of $2-worth of beer.

And they still do today.

Equitist

Reply #185 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:24pm

My money is earned through working. It is not given by handouts by the taxpayer.

Ironically, when Android was working in Oz, he felt entitled to offshore at least some of his personal services income to the Channel Islands tax haven and dispute $50,000 tax with the ATO - he even boasted about same!

Similarly, he felt entitled to claim the ill-conceived Baby Bonus for his first born (tho' he did resent that he needed to condescend to mixing with the great unwashed "trash" at Centrelink)  - and bitched and moaned that his second child wouldn't be eligible on the basis of new means testing rules...

Moreover, he reckons that Abbott's ill-conceved and reverse-means-tested WEALTHfare measure of Paid Parental Leave is somehow 'fair' and proper...

Oh, and apparently, in his infinitely egocentric superiority, he doesn't expect to be dictated to, or scrutinised over, the gratuitous uses to which he personally puts such WEALTHfare...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #186 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:27pm

Andrei & Co stop bitching about taxes.
Our taxes as much as we hate paying them  allow us to live a relatively peaceful, comfortable life.
You don't want to pay taxes, go live in Somalia.

Equitist

Reply #187 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:30pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:27pm:
Our taxes as much as we hate paying them  allow us to live a relatively peaceful, comfortable life.

I'm not sure whether you are aware, Smithy - but our country-shopping Android claims to have left Australia to work for an Oil Co in Canada...

Apparently, he and me will be in California at the same time in January - when he moves to HQ and my son is performing on a few international stages...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #188 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:36pm

Equitist wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:30pm:
Our taxes as much as we hate paying them  allow us to live a relatively peaceful, comfortable life.

I'm not sure whether you are aware, Smithy - but Android claims to have left Australia to work for an Oil Co in Canada...

Apparently, he and me will be in California at the same time in January - when he moves to HQ and my son is performing on a few international stages...

LOL Eq
Yes he flew out yesterday
Probably posting from LAX
I leave the 17th
what stages for your son(music/acting?) & have you sent him a ticket??

Equitist

Reply #189 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:45pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:36pm:

I'm not sure whether you are aware, Smithy - but Android claims to have left Australia to work for an Oil Co in Canada...

LOL Eq
I leave the 17th

LOL, Smithy...good on you - are you going for a holiday or long-term!?

My son is an all-round performing artist - he does musical theatre and acrobatics but he's a dancer at heart - from memory, he'll be performing at Disneyland, Universal Studios and Knotts Berry Farm, as well as doing some dance classes for extra experience...

No, I haven't sent Android a ticket - he can afford his own!

Reply #190 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 1:04pm

Equitist wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:45pm:

LOL Eq
I leave the 17th

My son is an all-round performing artist - he does musical theatre and acrobatics but he's a dancer at heart - from memory, he'll be performing at Disneyland, Universal Studios and Knotts Berry Farm, as well as doing some dance classes for extra experience...

Nice, I'll be at all those places
3.5 wk hol

Equitist

Reply #191 - Sep 6th, 2010 at 3:10pm

Dsmithy70 wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 1:04pm:
Equitist wrote on Sep 6th, 2010 at 12:45pm:

LOL Eq
I leave the 17th

Nice, I'll be at all those places
3.5 wk hol

Darn, you'll have 2 more weeks there than us - enjoy!

PS Would be grateful if you could let me know, at some stage, what options are available in California for 'throw away' pre-paid wireless broadband and mobiles - ta!

Reply #192 - Sep 14th, 2010 at 12:47pm

And the unemployed cop yet ANOTHER kick in the face from the Govt.......

A paltry, insulting $2 a week increase.

That won't even buy a meal, the Govt should be very ashamed.

Pages: 1 ... 11 12 13