Good PM's come to those who wait (Read 5875 times)
mellie

Good PM's come to those who wait
Aug 25th, 2010 at 10:47pm

Tony is just biding his time, with 2 seats still up for grabs, one in Brisbane, the other 'Corangamite', (Which is fast turning into a Liberal seat with the postal votes coming in)...this will make 74, without having to negotiate the terms of government between 3 Independents who are currently placing unusual demands on both party's leaders.

Labor are putting the pressure on because they know this, and are just hoping he cracks under pressure, before the final seats swing his way.

Hang-in there Tony, at least wait for the postal votes to reveal their count, or does a Labor government have intentions on intentionally drawing out this process for as long as it takes to allow a handful of crummy independents throw around their perceived weight, knowing full well they aren't the only defining factor in this election?

Liberal have 72 seats, Labor has 71...if these other two seats turn Liberal, before either party resolved to agree or disagree with the independents 7-point demands, then guess what happens...demands even Gillard herself readily admits she isn't sure she can meet, with her having to run her business by her own legal people first.

Ok for Gillard to take rain-checks, but not Abbott?

Lets see who gets the last 2 seats shall we.

Cool

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

mellie

Re: Good PM's come to those who wait
Reply #1 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 10:51pm

The early bird gets the worm!

Cool....

All together now Labor voters.......&&&&lap-tops, pink-bats refugees and Clunker-cars&&&&insurance.AES256

mellie

Reply #2 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:01pm

We will know by September 3.

When the last of the absentee, postal votes are due to be counted.

Drag them out as long as you can Gillard, and pray Tony stuffs up between now and then...

I doubt he will, he's pacing himself quite well, this and not making any rash decisions or commitments, unlike your bold desperate self.

To the contrary, I wonder how many more MP's  Labor will have 'cheesed' off by then?

If you will excuse my Corangamite pun.

Wink Labors seats are rather transient, I believe.

Equitist

Reply #3 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:03pm

mellie wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 10:47pm:
Tony is just biding his time, with 2 seats still up for grabs, one in Brisbane, the other 'Corangamite', (Which is fast turning into a Liberal seat with the postal votes coming in)...this will make 74, without having to negotiate the terms of government between 3 Independents who are currently placing unusual demands on both party's leaders.

Labor are putting the pressure on because they know this, and are just hoping he cracks under pressure, before the final seats swing his way.

Hang-in there Tony, at least wait for the postal votes to reveal their count, or does a Labor government have intentions on intentionally drawing out this process for as long as it takes to allow a handful of crummy independents throw around their perceived weight, knowing full well they aren't the only defining factor in this election?

Liberal have 72 seats, Labor has 71...if these other two seats turn Liberal, before either party resolved to agree or disagree with the independents 7-point demands, then guess what happens...demands even Gillard herself readily admits she isn't sure she can meet, with her having to run her business by her own legal people first.

Cool

FFS, Mellie, there will be a minority Govt asnd the Independents are simply being responsibly proactive - by commencing preliminary negotiations, so as to limit the amount of time that the nation is under caretaker governance...

Even if the Libs or Labs scrape it over the line, they will remain remain vulnerable to the risks of the morbidity and mortality of every single Party/Coalition MP. So, they might as well enter into good faith negotiations with the Independents up-front - and undertake to implement improvements to a number of counter-productive current processes and procedures...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #4 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:03pm

mad mod mozza - plse don't comment or delete here.
I don't like or trust you.

mel - Ironman abbott is playing this as perfectly as he played judas on her bugger up with hte debates.

can the alp run a minority govt against Tony ??
No way. if they get it, it'll collapse withim months.
Who will win the reelection, with a majority govt?

mellie

Reply #5 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:08pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:03pm:
mellie wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 10:47pm:

Cool

FFS, Mellie, the Independents are simply being proactive - and commence preliminary negotiations so as to limit the amount of time that the nation is under caretaker governance...

Even if the Libs or Labs scrape it over the line, they will remain remain vulnerable to the risks of the morbidity and mortality of every single Party/Coalition MP. So, they might as well enter into good faith negotiations with the Independents up-front - and undertake to implement improvements to a number of counter-productive current processes and procedures...

The independents should wait until after the last vote is counted.

...  They shouldn't have even been rushed into the arena until after all votes had been counted, much less be swinging their weight around and barking 7-point orders.

Wont they look like stupid hay-stacks in the event what I predict occurs.

Cool...Don't count your chickens until they've hatched...wont they be in for a rude surprise when they cut their hick-noses off to spite their  faces.

hahahaha Grin
« Last Edit: Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:14pm by mellie »  

Reply #6 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:09pm

the independants are fkwts.

mellie

Reply #7 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:13pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:09pm:
the independants are fkwts.

Shhhh, they don't know they are being expended by a Labor government yet, used as a door stop.

Shhh...lets not spoil the surprise... when Gillard thought nothing of toppling Rudd, imagine what trap-door awaits these poor deluded bastards.

Reply #8 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:21pm

equit Quote:
..............and undertake to implement improvements to a number of counter-productive current processes and procedures...

owing to your protector mozzaok gagging me, I am strongly disinclined to chat with you.
let alone consider disagreeing.

mellie

Reply #9 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:21pm

I think it would be rather un-Australian to have decided upon any government without first having counted all postal votes, yes?

Or weren't these votes the votes Gillard had her stone-heart set on when pre-determining the fate of her house-of-cards?

I say we wait for the postal votes.

2 seats are looking more and more liberal by the day.

Cool

Equitist

Reply #10 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:26pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:21pm:
equit Quote:
..............and undertake to implement improvements to a number of counter-productive current processes and procedures...

owing to your protector mozzaok gagging me, I am strongly disinclined to chat with you.
let alone consider disagreeing.

Aw c'mon SweetCheeks - lighten up and stop being such a sook!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #11 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:31pm

equit - mozzas a typical bad loser leftard.
he's a lying cowardly bully just like judas.

would you debate under such conditions?

Equitist

Reply #12 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:31pm

mellie wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:21pm:
I think it would be rather un-Australian to have decided upon any government without first having counted all postal votes, yes?

Or weren't these votes the votes Gillard had her stone-heart set on when pre-determining the fate of her house-of-cards?

I say we wait for the postal votes.

2 seats are looking more and more liberal by the day.

Cool

FFS, Mellie et al, it is only your fellow right whingers who have been arrogant enough to call this election one way or another - despite the fact that it has been known, since Saturday night, that one or more seats may come down to the wire...

What is known, is that:

* Triumphant Tony got a little too carried away on election night.

* One or more of the Independents will need to guarantee supply, in order of either of the LibLabs to form government - and therefore that the LibLabs will need to start playing fair and nice!

mellie

Reply #13 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:33pm

The peoples vote must come first, and with Gillard already trying to fast-track negotiations with the "Independents".... what is she saying?

The postal votes count for nothing as she like with dethroning our Queen, sets about making plans to lock-in "Independents" votes before the peoples are even finished being counted?

Think again.

Cool

mellie

Reply #14 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:34pm

Thats 2 more seats!!

Cool...  one being almost certain, the other likely to swing Liberals way.

Furthermore, the postal votes will need to be taken above that of any of the 7-point independents.

Gillards lost the election, but she's still so trying....*cute*

Equitist

Reply #15 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:38pm

mellie wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:33pm:
The peoples vote must come first, and with Gillard already trying to fast-track negotiations with the "Independents".... what is she saying?

The postal votes count for nothing as she like with dethroning our Queen, sets about making plans to lock-in "Independents" votes before the peoples are even finished being counted?

Think again.

Cool

FFS, Mellie...unlike attack-dog Abbott, Gillard is a very skilled negotiator - and she obviously knows full well that bullying and rushing other parties tends to be counter-productive...

Abbott and Gillard are being given equal opportunity to participate in a fair, progressive and transparent process - and Abbott ought to be respectful, honourable, open and forthcoming in that process, or he will deal himself out of the equation by default!

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #16 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:42pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:31pm:
FFS, Mellie et al, it is only your fellow right whingers who have been arrogant enough to call this election one way or another . . .

You mean like this 'right whinger'?

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1282439836/0#0

mellie

Reply #17 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:42pm

UPDATE: LIBERAL Sarah Henderson is within striking distance of Labor's Darren Cheeseman as counting continues today in Corangamite.

Mr Cheeseman was hanging on by only 573 votes after preferences this afternoon (5.12pm), having seen his overnight lead of more than 1200 quickly whittled away in counting this morning.

Cool... It;s almost certain Liberal have this traditionally conservative Lib-Nat seat.

With more than 15,000 votes - postal, pre-poll and absentee - still to be counted, Mr Cheeseman was doing his own scrutineering in Colac today

Equitist

Reply #18 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:46pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:31pm:
equit - mozzas a typical bad loser leftard.
he's a lying cowardly bully just like judas.

would you debate under such conditions?

Err...ummnnn....suffice to say that I reckon that your little dispute with Mozz would have been long forgotten already, if the heat-of-the-moment election evening altercation had been allowed to slide...

Oh, and there's still opportunity for that slide to occur - but it will just take a little longer than it otherwise would have...

mellie

Reply #19 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:49pm

Perhaps you should read this then....

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-08-25/australia-to-count-special-ballots-that...

The postal counts practically just started....and already we are bringing in independents to call the election as they see fit?

Cool  Dream on!

Equitist

Reply #20 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:52pm

deepthought wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:42pm:
FFS, Mellie et al, it is only your fellow right whingers who have been arrogant enough to call this election one way or another . . .

OK, I concede that I ought to have not been so absolute - I've obviously been spending too much time with black/white-thinking right whingers...

Either way, can you prove me less than about 95% correct - on threads and/or individual posts!?

mellie

Reply #21 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:53pm

At least 2 of the Independents oppose her mining levy, and with Cheesmans seat up for grabs, lemmy see now, could this mean.....75?

Cool  Abbotts won for sure!

mellie

Reply #22 - Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:58pm

It's hardly surprising that Abbott doesn't feel overly pressured pandering to the 7-point whims of those whom bark them.

But Gillards still hopeful her Jedi mind-trick will suffice.

A short red skirt perhaps?

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2010-08-25/australia-to-count-special-ballots-that...

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #23 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:01am

Equitist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:52pm:

OK, I concede that I ought to have not been so absolute - I've obviously been spending too much time with black/white-thinking right whingers...

Either way, can you prove me less than about 95% correct - on threads and/or individual posts!?

I believe there was certainly an explosion of effusive glee on Election Night.  And, one may ask, why not?

To a right winger, and I am one, the last three years have been pretty bleak.

The polls as recently as three or four months ago held out little hope of a change of government, if they could have been believed.

Just a couple of weeks ago they tended to favour the GALP still. 

The bookies had long odds on the coalition winning and the media for the most part believed the GALP would win.

Imagine the situation in reverse.

Then on Saturday night, the swing away from the GALP was almost total (what is wrong with Tasmanians?).

I fully understand the excitement.

Even now it appears that the coalition will be able to form a minority government with the support of just two Independents.

mellie

Reply #24 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:06am

Take a look at this....as of 9.46 pm tonight.

http://vtr.aec.gov.au/Default.htm

Cool Still....with only 79.78% of the primary vote having been counted.

*rubs hands together*

mellie

Reply #25 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:11am

And re- Libs minority government...my views are that they will form a majority well by the time the postal votes have finished being counted.

The rate things are going.

Cool

Equitist

Reply #26 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:16am

deepthought wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:01am:
Equitist wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:52pm:

I believe there was certainly an explosion of effusive glee on Election Night.  And, one may ask, why not?

To a right winger, and I am one, the last three years have been pretty bleak.

The polls as recently as three or four months ago held out little hope of a change of government, if they could have been believed.

Just a couple of weeks ago they tended to favour the GALP still.  

The bookies had long odds on the coalition winning and the media for the most part believed the GALP would win.

Imagine the situation in reverse.

Then on Saturday night, the swing away from the GALP was almost total (what is wrong with Tasmanians?).

I fully understand the excitement.

Even now it appears that the coalition will be able to form a minority government with the support of just two Independents.

Funny how you lot claim that you have triumphed, by picking up 1.9% of the 5.4% of primary national votes lost by the Labs...

Oh, and the facts, that the Greens got 3.7% gain in national votes and there was an unusually high informal vote, should get you lot waking up to the message that the electorate is leaning further left while the dogmatic Libs are lurching further to the right...

Judging by comments here and elsewhere, that message is still being arrogantly ignored...

mellie

Reply #27 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:21am

The fact is, despite the odds, concerning what Labor themselves described as being an unelectable opposition, what does this have to say for them?

Well done to all ...but I shall maintain my stance that Libs have indeed won.

We have a Green in the senate, so this is a good thing too, I'm not complaining.

Cool

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #28 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:24am

Equitist wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:16am:
Funny how you lot claim that you have triumphed, by picking up 1.9% of the 5.4% of primary national votes lost by the Labs...

Oh, and the facts, that the Greens got 3.7% gain in national votes and there was an unusually high informal vote, should get you lot waking up to the message that the electorate is leaning further left while the dogmatic Libs are lurching further to the right...

Judging by comments here and elsewhere, that message is still being arrogantly ignored...

Mere justification.

The reality is that Dawson, Bonner, Longman, Leichhardt, Flynn, Forde, Herbert, Dickson, Bennelong and Macquarie all slipped away and Brisbane, Hasluck and (possibly) Corangamite will wind up with the coalition too.

A source of delight?

You betcha.

mellie

Reply #29 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:25am

deepthought wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:24am:
Equitist wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:16am:

Mere justification.

The reality is that Dawson, Bonner, Longman, Leichhardt, Flynn, Forde, Herbert, Dickson, Bennelong and Macquarie all slipped away and Brisbane, Hasluck and (possibly) Corangamite will wind up with the coalition too.

A source of delight?

You betcha.

Grin Yes indeed....  I have to agree.

Equitist

Reply #30 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:25am

mellie wrote on Aug 25th, 2010 at 11:58pm:
It's hardly surprising that Abbott doesn't feel overly pressured pandering to the 7-point whims of those whom bark them.

Beware Libs: attack-dog Abbott's arrogance is his perhaps his Party's biggest problem in these negotiations...

What if he gets so delusional, cocky and/or aggressive that the Independents refuse to deal with the Party whilst he's still at the helm!?

Will self-preservation kick in - or will you hold yourselves to the high moral ground you took in relation to Rudd's knifing!?

Equitist

Reply #31 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:27am

Crikey, look at the time - gotta hit the sack!

We can continue this circular discussion any time...

Nite folks - sweet dreams of burua-wearing redheads, unionists,  greenies and independents in boats under yer beds!

mellie

Reply #32 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:29am

Equitist wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:25am:

Beware Libs: attack-dog Abbott's arrogance is his perhaps his Party's biggest problem in these negotiations...

What if he gets so delusional, cocky and/or aggressive that the Independents refuse to deal with the Party whilst he's still at the helm!?

Will self-preservation kick in - or will you hold yourselves to the high moral ground you took in relation to Rudd's knifing!?

I think you will find Tony Abbotts less, shall we say 'aggressive' when it comes to attacking his own dogs.

Bad-form re- the Rudd ordeal, I reckon this was what spoiled it for them, really I do.

...Aside from Labors bad-economics and apparent in-party dysfunction this is.

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #33 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:29am

I think you will find many hold to the "high moral ground" concerning "Rudd's knifing".

I think you will find many made a decision to dump a first term government on that basis.

After all why should one trust a government when even their leader could not?

Equitist

Reply #34 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:31am

mellie wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:29am:

I think you will find Tony Abbotts less, shall we say 'aggressive' when it comes to attacking his own dogs.

Bad-form re- the Rudd ordeal, I reckon this was what spoiled it for them, really I do.

...Aside from Labors bad-economics and apparent in-party dysfunction this is.

Nah, you ain't seen nothing yet! When Abbott ultimately let's fly, he won't hold back - he'll even outdo Latham...

Going to bed now!

mellie

Reply #35 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:32am

deepthought wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:29am:

I think you will find many hold to the "high moral ground" concerning "Rudd's knifing".

I think you will find many made a decision to dump a first term government on that basis.

After all why should one trust a government when even their leader could not?

Grin A devilishly delicious irony there....

mellie

Reply #36 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:34am

Trust me Equ, no one could out mad-dog Latham.

Liberal have a humble record, whereas Labor, well, they generally disembowel their own before they leak any shred of credibility, paint them mad, before the media/public can determine the facts for themselves.

Cool...Have you not heard of Labors most-recent resignation?

http://news.ninemsn.com.au/national/7950920/vic-mp-quits-parliament-months-from-...

Another one bites the dust....

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #37 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:35am

Equitist wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:31am:
Nah, you ain't seen nothing yet! When Abbott ultimately let's fly, he won't hold back - he'll even outdo Latham...

Going to bed now!

You mean he will put taxi drivers in hospital and smash people's cameras?

mellie

Reply #38 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:39am

deepthought wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:35am:
Equitist wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:31am:

Going to bed now!

Roll Eyes...

You mean he will put taxi drivers in hospital and smash people's cameras?

Did you see his face when looking at Abbott, gave him the mad-dog stare, Jeesus that man's scary sometimes.
*jitters*..

Shocked

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #39 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:43am

mellie wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:32am:

There seems to be this notion the coalition has not accomplished much.

Yet to see the most popular PM (Cardboard Kev) in recent times beheaded by the GALP machine out of fear of the coalition, and then to see the person tasked with his execution, and said, by Bill Shorten,  to be the best the GALP has to offer blown away by the people on August 21 is in fact a major triumph.

Particularly as history was definitely against a first term government being toppled.

No wonder the coalition and its supporters are elated.

mellie

Reply #40 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:51am

deepthought wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:43am:
mellie wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:32am:

There seems to be this notion the coalition has not accomplished much.

Yet to see the most popular PM (Cardboard Kev) in recent times beheaded by the GALP machine out of fear of the coalition, and then to see the person tasked with his execution, and said, by Bill Shorten,  to be the best the GALP has to offer blown away by the people on August 21 is in fact a major triumph.

Particularly as history was definitely against a first term government being toppled.

No wonder the coalition and its supporters are elated.

Tony has accomplished so much, he brought his party back from the dead, fought a battle against not one leader, but 2, (Rudd and Gillard)...this and still came through.

He's a stayer, there's no doubt about it.

Comes down to endurance I think.

Smiley...

mellie

Reply #41 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 12:54am

Yes, and like you say, there's those factional war-lords he was up against like Bill Shorten.

So, damn it, I'm going to send the man a present.

Never have I felt so pleased, passionate about an election victory, never in my life.

Smiley He well and truly earned it.

« Last Edit: Aug 26th, 2010 at 7:13am by mellie »  

Amadd

Mo

Reply #42 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 6:34am

Ye smellie, well may gloat.
I wonder if you have any clue of the national party's policies and what you voted for there?

Given that labor got 38% of the primary vote and the libs got 30% (without the nationals), I wonder would happen if labor and the greens formed a co-alition?

And you bang on about labor trying to gain the support of independents? Sheesh  Roll Eyes

mellie

Reply #43 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 7:24am

Amadd wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 6:34am:
Ye smellie, well may gloat.
I wonder if you have any clue of the national party's policies and what you voted for there?

Given that labor got 38% of the primary vote and the libs got 30% (without the nationals), I wonder would happen if labor and the greens formed a co-alition?

And you bang on about labor trying to gain the support of independents? Sheesh  Roll Eyes

I think it's understandable that ye might want to 'celebrate' Tonys election victory?

Tonys been a stayer, has brought the liberal party back from the brink of death, toppled two leaders , had to fight off the trickery of numerous factional war-lords and a few other has-been ALP leaders also...and has well and truly earned his right to lead the nation. Furthermore, more people voted for Tony Abbott as an individual as per their primary vote than they did Gillard.

You need to accept this fact, you appear a tad lost.
Do you know what a primary vote is?

Now would the real Miss Gillard please stand aside, please stand aside, please stand aside...

Cool

Reply #44 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 7:25am

Abbott has refused to release the costing for his policies.....and the Liberal faithful bang on about accountability and honesty.....you have no concept of these principles......Abbott is divisive, negative and running away from being up front with the Coalitions costing....ask yourself WHY did Abbott refuse to have his policies costed by treasury and why is he refusing now......what is Abbott trying to hide.....if the costing add up then their would be nothing to leak.....Abbott is a flake of the highest order.....Australia deserves better than Abbott is providing!!!
« Last Edit: Aug 26th, 2010 at 7:35am by philperth2010 »  

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #45 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 7:39am

Abbott has refused to release the costing for his policies.....

I think this is going to be a huge problem for Abbott especially when he's stated that he doesn't trust the Treasury or the public service and there is a question mark hanging over the head of the auditing firm he's using for his "costings".

This means if he wins government - the public service and Treasury will have to be sacked - which I doubt we can afford at present.

Listening to Tony Windsor this morning - this is a big worry for him as he wants to see how the figures add up before he makes a decision.

It isn't looking good for Abbott today.

Del_has_returned

Reply #46 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 7:41am

Tony Abbott should smack off the black mailing independents.  Let the witch cling on by giving them what they “demand”.  Is that the way a nation should be governed, by a weak witch who is so smacking desperate to hang on she’ll do anything?  If that pathetic witch gets to be PM, there’ll be an election early next year.

Labor.....what a bloody joke...

Reply #47 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:27am

mantra - abbotts playing to his strength. can't let a miority push him around.
judas tried it during the campaign with meetings and came off 2nd best.

the independants are supposed to represent their constituents, if they don't, they get fired next election.

THE three rural Independent MPs who could decide the nation's political fate have been sent a clear message from their constituents to back Tony Abbott, an exclusive Courier-Mail/Galaxy poll finds........
.......... But a Galaxy poll finds the voters of Kennedy, New England and Lyne want their MPs to side with the Coalition. Only 37 per cent of voters in those seats are in favour of Mr Katter, Mr Windsor and Mr Oakeshott supporting Ms Gillard's bid for minority government, with 54 per cent opposed.

By contrast, 55 per cent support backing Mr Abbott and one-third are opposed........]

http://www.couriermail.com.au/news/national/poll-says-independents-should-back-t...

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #48 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:30am

I saw that Sprintcyclist, but as Tony Windsor said this morning - they have to take preferences into consideration also.

In some cases their Greens or Labor preferences might be greater than Coalition preferences.

It was only a small poll.

Darwin

Reply #49 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:31am

Abbott is in a very weak position. He needs the indies but refuses to have his costings scrutinised by Treasury.

That is the situation. Julia will serve 3 years as PM. Get used to it Sprint, the man you have a crush on is weak as piss.

With a nice bit of pork the voters in the Indie electorates will come round. No reason why the NBN can’t be run out in Kennedy, New England, Lyne and O’Connor next  Grin Grin Grin

Reply #50 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:39am

Well if Abbott wont release his costings it just shows he was bullsh1ting to begin with and doesn't want to get found out.
It also means he has no chance at forming government as the independents said yesterday, no costings ,no government. GOOD,

Cyberman

Reply #51 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:43am

Mr Windsor, one of three independents likely to determine the next government, says the issue won't be "a deal breaker",

Darwin

Reply #52 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:44am

Longer term it is even worse for the Coalition, skippy. Farmers and rural voters generally will see Indy’s electorates benefit and will be much more critical of the Nats sucking up to the Libs and ignoring rural concerns.

Expect to see more Labor and Indy in rural electorates in future!

Reply #53 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:44am

mantra - had you voted for a leftward leaning independant.
then he sided with the right, would you vote for that independant again?

......."I'll give you an instance - broadband. This $43bn figure that's bandied about. I haven't seen the real trail that ends up to that number and in fact I think that's a fictitious number ... we want to find out what the real one is and there should be a trail that leads us to that," Mr Windsor told reporters at the National Press Club this afternoon...........
..........the government has never provided a cost-benefit analysis to support the ambitious project.

In fact Communications Minister Stephen Conroy has repeatedly said there was no need for such a study.

Senator Conroy last reiterated that stance to reporters on August 10 at the National Press Club, Canberra.

"Telstra made it very clear that they could find no business case beyond five capital cities and north and south of Sydney.

"So the Gillard government has decided we're going to do it......

http://www.theaustralian.com.au/australian-it/government/nbn-under-scrutiny-by-c...

dudds nbn is uncosted. as an independant, would you agree to that ?

darwin, you have your site that has its own prejudiced modding, as has this site.
I see no reason to reply to anything you say.
go back to your own deserted site.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #54 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:44am

Cyberman wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:43am:
Mr Windsor, one of three independents likely to determine the next government, says the issue won't be "a deal breaker",

Then he has changed his mind. He said the opposite about an hour ago.

vegitamite

Reply #55 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:50am

Tony  Abbott a PM that will walk out of the press conference when things got tough !

Reply #56 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:52am

mantra wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:44am:
Cyberman wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 8:43am:

Then he has changed his mind. He said the opposite about an hour ago.

I saw it come out of his mouth at the press club yesterday, he said
NO COSTING NO GOVERNMENT. Which is how it should be, the fact the Lib huggers are supporting Abbott in his hiding of his costings just proves what tards they are to support someone even though they know he is lying.

vegitamite

Reply #57 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:05am

Abbott's arguement is becoming entirely  ,or  tiredly, unconvincing !

Amadd

Mo

Reply #58 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:09am

Furthermore, more people voted for Tony Abbott as an individual as per their primary vote than they did Gillard.

Ye smellie (if I have misplaced a space there, you may find it residing between your ears  Grin), do you realise that Beasley also had more primary votes than Howard?

Oh what a better world it could've been.

Our system needs to be run with regard to preferences. It also needs two major parties to compete.
Would you be happy if the Nationals were running the country in their own right? No? Then why did you vote for them?

« Last Edit: Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:19am by Amadd »  

mellie

Reply #59 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:11am

We shall see.

Wont know for another 9 days ...3rd September at the earliest.

So strap yourselves in, it's going to be a tight squeeze.

I am anticipating quite a few bruised egos.

codswal

Reply #60 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:17am

not sure why anyone is worried about Abbott or Gillard... its the independants you need to worry about... they cant even agree am ongst themselves... sorry folks but this election is about the WHOLE country not just three electorates..bully boy Katter has already shown his stripes.. he wont work with anyone its all about his electorate.. rural is the go word.  my bet is we will go to the polls again maybe those who voted for independants/greens will realize what a no go that is with Fed elections...imagine independants in the house and Green in the Senate....OMG.

codswal

Reply #61 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:18am

Amadd wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:09am:
Furthermore, more people voted for Tony Abbott as an individual as per their primary vote than they did Gillard.

Ye smellie (if I have misplaced a space there, you may find it residing between your ears  Grin), do you realise that Beasley also had more primary votes than Howard?

really can you prove that?

Reply #62 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:21am

codswal wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:17am:
not sure why anyone is worried about Abbott or Gillard... its the independants you need to worry about... they cant even agree am ongst themselves... sorry folks but this election is about the WHOLE country not just three electorates..bully boy Katter has already shown his stripes.. he wont work with anyone its all about his electorate.. rural is the go word.  my bet is we will go to the polls again maybe those who voted for independants/greens will realize what a no go that is with Fed elections...imagine independants in the house and Green in the Senate....OMG.

On the contrary GREENS voters WONT BE CHANGING our votes, if anything it will increase now that the rest of the population can see that it is bullsh1t that only the two major parties can govern.
I also expect more independents to get up, viva la revolution.
In fact if a new poll is called the likes of GET UP will be advocating for people to vote the same again just to show you rusted on old party voters your days of ruining this country are over.

Reply #63 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:23am

codswal wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:18am:
Amadd wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:09am:

really can you prove that?

You dont follow politics much if you didn't know Beasley got more votes than Howard in 98. Check it out on the AEC website.

Darwin

Reply #64 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:27am

Significantly more, like 51.5-48.5 (don’t have exact figures but it was major.)

mellie

Reply #65 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:29am

WA      Hasluck      ALP      49.53      -1.32      84.44%(counted)
QLD      Brisbane      ALP      49.71      -4.89      74.46%(counted)
VIC      Corangamite ALP      50.34      -0.51      84.93%(counted)

These three seats are still up for grabs.

Libs are likely to win all three as votes are counted.

Cool Libs are already leading Brisbane.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/stories/2010/08/26/2993773.htm

The seat of Hasluck in Western Australia is almost certain to be won by the Liberals' Ken Wyatt.

Mr Wyatt has extended his lead over Labor's Sharryn Jackson by 765 votes.

About 85 per cent of ballot papers have been counted.

The ABC's election analyst Anthony Green believes it is almost impossible for Ms Jackson to retain the seat.

If he wins, Mr Wyatt will become the first Indigenous person to be elected to the House of Representatives.

In the other two seats still in doubt, the Liberals are leading in Brisbane and Labor is in front in the Victorian seat of Corangamite.

Darwin

Reply #66 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:39am

Arch Bevis is behind only a few votes and closing fast. He will retain the seat.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #67 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:39am

I think this is going to be a huge problem for Abbott especially when he's stated that he doesn't trust the Treasury or the public service and there is a question mark hanging over the head of the auditing firm he's using for his "costings".

This means if he wins government - the public service and Treasury will have to be sacked - which I doubt we can afford at present.

Listening to Tony Windsor this morning - this is a big worry for him as he wants to see how the figures add up before he makes a decision.

It isn't looking good for Abbott today.

I heard Bob Katter on the radio (sounding very pissed off), asking what Abbott had to hide.
There's one that I would've counted as a shoe in for the libs. Hope he helps keep the bastards honest for all our sakes.

Darwin

Reply #68 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:43am

Bob Katter sees himself as an old time union man and his seat is a Labor/Indep seat mostly held by Katter snr & jnr with a labor guy in between (Rob Hulls, now a Vic MP and Minister.)

Darwin

Reply #69 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:44am

BTW if another election is held I expect Labor to pick up a whole swag of seats: the electorate has had a chance to vent and will now vote much moe according to self interest.

mellie

Reply #70 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:52am

Darwin wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:44am:
BTW if another election is held I expect Labor to pick up a whole swag of seats: the electorate has had a chance to vent and will now vote much moe according to self interest.

There wont be a need for another election, and despite Gillards smear-scare campaign, re- her last grapple for seats, and Abbott not wishing to divulge his costings prematurely, (understandable, as Labor only want to snoop)... this is not grounds enough to send us back to the polls and Australians will be very pissed off if Shortens mother-in-law insists, of which in turn wont win them anymore seats, rather will just reinforce what we already thought.

Australians had had a gut-full of this BS, and have clearly stated their preferred PM....3/4 Australians prefer Abbott as their PM, why cant Labor lose gracefully?

Clearly, Labors power-brokers ie, Bill Shorten don't like to lose, this and are just showing lousy sportsmanship...even if a Labors front Bencher Bill Shortens mother-in-law is  Governor General Quentin Bryce.  

Most Australians would love to see the back of her too.

She's a traitor and a hypocrite, when it's clear, she will facilitate her own son-in-law to becoming Australia's first President of a Republic Australia at all cost.

Australians have had their fill of a corrupt and familial Labor party.

Cool

Darwin

Reply #71 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:59am

Oh for gods sake!

Lib costings have been published!

But Treasury was not allowed to look at them because they are rubbish.

mellie

Reply #72 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 9:59am

Note...there is only one Independent pushing the "costings" notion, the other two are more concerned about a Gillard government imposing a mining tax.

I'm sure Tony has the situation well under control, he's an accomplished and experienced campaigner whereas Gillard, spends more time having make-overs with the Woman's Weekly requiring others (faceless-men) to machine her smear-election campaigns for her.

Even her policies are Obamas, she's a national embarrassment.

Are they her costings or did she borrow these from Obama too?

Darwin

Reply #73 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 10:01am

Good lord!

All three Indies are pushing the costings issue!

Two want a mining tax, only Katter doesn’t want one. That’s fine, he can oppose the Bill in the HoR, it wouldn’t stop him supporting Labor when Tone moves a motion of no confidence.

mellie

Reply #74 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 10:06am

Darwin wrote on Aug 26th, 2010 at 10:01am:
Good lord!

All three Indies are pushing the costings issue!

Two want a mining tax, only Katter doesn’t want one. That’s fine, he can oppose the Bill in the HoR, it wouldn’t stop him supporting Labor when Tone moves a motion of no confidence.

Wont you be in for a rude shock!

Cool

mellie

Reply #75 - Aug 26th, 2010 at 10:10am

Want a little fibre in your diet....try this site.

http://interceder.net/

And stop placing all your faith in OZZ MSM, particularly unreliable newscorps.

Want the full scoop, then try this site.