Will Turnbull & perhaps other moderates defect!? (Read 1160 times)
Equitist

Will Turnbull & perhaps other moderates defect!?
Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:08pm

Here's an interesting comment from someone over at the ABC's Drum Unleashed: -

Blackie :

22 Aug 2010 2:35:09pm

A little bird in Canberra phoned me this morning and told me about the possibility of Malcom Turnbull (now frustrated by Tony Abbott's unexpected success and his certainty to retain the leadership)leaving the Coalition to sit on the cross benches as a sixth independent?

Might this mean he would then be offered a cabinet position in a Gillard minority government with responsibility for implementing an Emissions Trading Scheme as well as preparing the groundwork for Australia to become a Republic?

It sounded too incredible, but in the current environment anything is possible and stranger things have happened - we are certainly living in interesting times!

http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/stories/s2990039.htm#comments

Apparently, the new Nat who replaced Tuckey also intends to sit on the cross-benches...

Seriously, how united are the Libs and Nats behind Abbott!?

Is there a mutiny afoot!?

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

BlOoDy RiPpEr

aussie-patriot.com

Re: Will Turnbull & perhaps other moderates defect!?
Reply #1 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:20pm

Unlikely as people will see him as another back stabber like Gillard, And also ridding of the back of a Lib ticket to back the ALP. It would be political suicide.

host of the aussie-patriot.com site

Soren

Reply #2 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:29pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:08pm:
someone over at the ABC's Drum Unleashed: -

nuf said. shite.

deepthought

In Defence Of Liberty

Reply #3 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:38pm

Mutiny?

The coalition have just accomplished what most of the population thought they couldn't and you think a mutiny is afoot?

Verge

Reply #4 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:49pm

Ive heard Rudd might defect in exchange for a portfolio or even the speakers position.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

cockneydoll

Reply #5 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 10:50pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:08pm:
Here's an interesting comment from someone over at the ABC's Drum Unleashed: -

Blackie :

22 Aug 2010 2:35:09pm

A little bird in Canberra phoned me this morning and told me about the possibility of Malcom Turnbull (now frustrated by Tony Abbott's unexpected success and his certainty to retain the leadership)leaving the Coalition to sit on the cross benches as a sixth independent?

Might this mean he would then be offered a cabinet position in a Gillard minority government with responsibility for implementing an Emissions Trading Scheme as well as preparing the groundwork for Australia to become a Republic?

It sounded too incredible, but in the current environment anything is possible and stranger things have happened - we are certainly living in interesting times!

http://www.abc.net.au/unleashed/stories/s2990039.htm#comments

Apparently, the new Nat who replaced Tuckey also intends to sit on the cross-benches...

Seriously, how united are the Libs and Nats behind Abbott!?

Is there a mutiny afoot!?

If he did that he would have a mutiny on his hands in Wentworth. I think we'd demand his resignation

Reply #6 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 10:52pm

Ive heard that Gillard is joining Family First and Bob Brown is defecting to teh Fred Nile group.

Honestly, some of you wil beleive anything to avoid the fact that Abbott just became PM.

Equitist

Reply #7 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:24pm

cockneydoll wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 10:50pm:
If he did that he would have a mutiny on his hands in Wentworth. I think we'd demand his resignation

Dunno about that, Shirl, since Wentworth has a substantial Green vote and Nichy and various others reckon that Turnbull is really a Lab...

FYI: here is how his electorate of Wentworth voted yesterday http://www.abc.net.au/elections/federal/2010/guide/went.htm: -

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

stryder

Reply #8 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:31pm

Equitist, I think you are wishing for a scenario  Grin Grin

You really are, I think the political execution of Kevin Rudd has got to you so much and you would probably think that sort of behavior is fittting for Coailtion as others do.

But instead happen to LABOR.  Grin Grin Grin

And you know what Equitist, I ENJOYED IT

John S

Fascist Party = Liberal
Party

Reply #9 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 11:31pm

longweekend58 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 10:52pm:
Ive heard that Gillard is joining Family First and Bob Brown is defecting to teh Fred Nile group.

Honestly, some of you wil beleive anything to avoid the fact that Abbott just became PM.

Abbott has not became Prime Minister yet Gillard hasn't concede defeat yet. Abbott has jump the gun by claiming victory

'The worst Labor Government is always better then the best Liberal government for Australians workers'

____

Reply #10 - Aug 23rd, 2010 at 9:44am

If Mal does go independent then he risks being no one in a future non hung governments. Best he does it with at least half a dozen other small l liberals and then a hung parliament could become the norm.