Has Abbott won mandate to lead his own Party? (Read 7072 times)
Equitist

Re: Has Abbott won mandate to lead his own Party?
Reply #30 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:32pm

bwood1946 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 12:56pm:
Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 12:51pm:
Nope, ye and me both know that: Turnbull would have been far more popular with the electorate if he hadn't been white-anted from within - and the media (and the sacrificial Grech) had not been cynically-utilised by the Liberal Party to trash him in the eyes of the public...

isn't that what happened Kevin Rudd  we can't mention that

On the contrary, the Labs kept up the public image of unity behind Rudd fairly well - hence the surprise (that the Libs ruthlessly capitalised upon) when he was ultimately knifed...

By contrast, the Libs had already mortally-wounded Turnbull and paved the way for Hockey to take over - His knifing was very much expected hence there was no real surprise (and much incredulity that Abbott got up)...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

aussiefree2ride

Reply #31 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:40pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:32pm:
bwood1946 wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 12:56pm:
Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 12:51pm:
Nope, ye and me both know that: Turnbull would have been far more popular with the electorate if he hadn't been white-anted from within - and the media (and the sacrificial Grech) had not been cynically-utilised by the Liberal Party to trash him in the eyes of the public...

isn't that what happened Kevin Rudd  we can't mention that

On the contrary, the Labs kept up the public image of unity behind Rudd fairly well - hence the surprise (that the Libs ruthlessly capitalised upon) when he was ultimately knifed...

By contrast, the Libs had already mortally-wounded Turnbull and paved the way for Hockey to take over - His knifing was very much expected hence there was no real surprise (and much incredulity that Abbott got up)...

Soooo, you`ve convinced yourself, that`s the easy part.  The hard part will be convincing anyone else.

Equitist

Reply #32 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:42pm

nichy wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:22pm:
Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:21am:
[quote author=aussiefree2ride link=1282431701/0#2 date=1282432556]

Settle down for a little while, AF2R...have you looked at the swing and TPP figures, in the respective seats of Abbott, Jockstrap and Talksbull!?

This from the one who was whingeing a few days ago about someone referring to Gillard as Judas.  

You were not prepared to accept what most of us knew, that Abbott is an extremely intelligent man,  has had enough experience in politics to know how to campaign and is very competent.  Some of you were too busy belittling him for being a surf lifesaver and enjoying physical exercise to see the real person.  

He has certainly earned the respect of his colleagues for this effort of bringing the Libs out of the wilderness to the brink of leading the country.

Bollox - show me where I 'whinged' about that! I think you will find that I highlighted the hypcrisy of those right whinging parrots on here, who were whinging about lefties calling their beloved LNP pollies names...

As for your claims re internal Party 'respect' - I think you will find that: there is actually a fairly even divide, betwixt those who dogmatically worship him and those moderates who pragmatically worry about his potential to drag the party down towards the divisive and bigoted religious right...

Moreover, I guarantee you that: the moderates are currently plotting whether/when to stage a coup or formally split from the religious righteous nutjobs...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

aussiefree2ride

Reply #33 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:55pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:42pm:
nichy wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:22pm:
Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 9:21am:
[quote author=aussiefree2ride link=1282431701/0#2 date=1282432556]

Settle down for a little while, AF2R...have you looked at the swing and TPP figures, in the respective seats of Abbott, Jockstrap and Talksbull!?

This from the one who was whingeing a few days ago about someone referring to Gillard as Judas.  

You were not prepared to accept what most of us knew, that Abbott is an extremely intelligent man,  has had enough experience in politics to know how to campaign and is very competent.  Some of you were too busy belittling him for being a surf lifesaver and enjoying physical exercise to see the real person.  

He has certainly earned the respect of his colleagues for this effort of bringing the Libs out of the wilderness to the brink of leading the country.

Bollox - show me where I 'whinged' about that! I think you will find that I highlighted the hypcrisy of those right whinging parrots on here, who were whinging about lefties calling their beloved LNP pollies names...

As for your claims re internal Party 'respect' - I think you will find that: there is actually a fairly even divide, betwixt those who dogmatically worship him and those moderates who pragmatically worry about his potential to drag the party down towards the divisive and bigoted religious right...

Moreover, I guarantee you that: the moderates are currently plotting whether/when to stage a coup or formally split from the religious righteous nutjobs...

You must live in a very dark & shadowy world equatist.   Grin

Equitist

Reply #34 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:58pm

Abbott's surprise success yesterday, has created a problem for the aspirations of a large group of Moderate Libs - who had planned a post-election coup in expectation of unequivocal defeat...

This is an outside possibility - but we are yet to see, whether any of those alienated Moderates are apt to defect as Independents and approach the Labs to assist them to form Govt...perhaps with some kind of coalition...

I can think of one highly popular, disaffected, disowned and self-serving Republican who still has his sights set on becoming Oz's first President - and I reckon that he can be seduced to defect...

nichy

Reply #35 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:01pm

aussiefree2ride wrote on Jan 1st, 1970 at 10:00am:
You must live in a very dark & shadowy world equatist.   Grin

I'd have to agree 100% with you there aussiefree2ride.  I suppose that's what comes with having your head where it shouldn't be.

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

Verge

Reply #36 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:04pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:58pm:
Abbott's surprise success yesterday, has created a problem for the aspirations of a large group of Moderate Libs - who had planned a post-election coup in expectation of unequivocal defeat...

This is an outside possibility - but we are yet to see, whether any of those alienated Moderates are apt to defect as Independents and approach the Labs to assist them to form Govt...perhaps with some kind of coalition...

I can think of one highly popular, disaffected, disowned and self-serving Republican who still has his sights set on becoming Oz's first President - and I reckon that he can be seduced to defect...

You really are a drama queen mate.  Its one thing to not like Abbott, its another to say people will defect.

Whos not to say someone wont defect from the ALP for the same reason?

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

aussiefree2ride

Reply #37 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:05pm

nichy wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:01pm:
aussiefree2ride wrote on Jan 1st, 1970 at 10:00am:
I'd have to agree 100% with you there aussiefree2ride.  I suppose that's what comes with having your head where it shouldn't be.

Grin Grin Must be hard on the spinal column too, unless it`s jelly.  Cheesy

Equitist

Reply #38 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:08pm

LOL...the Libs are nowhere near as united behind the rabid Abbott monster as you lot want to believe...

Scoff all you like but, as we debate this, the Moderate Libs are considering the following question: -

How do you solve a problem like Tony Abbott!?

Guaranteed!

Mark my words, that their dysfunctional disunity will come to the fore...sooner or later...

We may not hear about it for quite a while - but it will eventually come out...perhaps in someone's memoirs...

Verge

Reply #39 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:10pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:08pm:
LOL...the Libs are nowhere near as united behind the rabid Abbott monster as you lot want to believe...

Scoff all you like but, as we debate this, the Moderate Libs are considering the following question: -

Guaranteed!

Mark my words, that their dysfunctional disunity will come to the fore...sooner or later...

We may not hear about it for quite a while - but it will eventually come out...perhaps in someone's memoirs...

Much the same as not everyone is as united behind Judas as you would like to believe.

You lost the seat of Melbourne because of her remember.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

nichy

Reply #40 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:11pm

Grin Grin  Must be hard on the spinal column too, unless it`s jelly.    Grin Grin

And that ring around the neck !  eeerk !   Grin Grin

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

Equitist

Reply #41 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:13pm

Verge wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:04pm:
Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 1:58pm:

You really are a drama queen mate.  Its one thing to not like Abbott, its another to say people will defect.

Whos not to say someone wont defect from the ALP for the same reason?

I don't doubt that possibility at all...

Meantime, I expect that you are also wondering what is going on behind the scenes in the Liberal Party - given that Abbott is claiming a perpetual 'popularly-elected' mandate to lead the Party, despite having been installed as a default stop-gap measure and seat-warmer for Joe Jockstrap in the first instance...

I don't expect anybody to publicly agree with me - but I know that many will be wondering along similar lines...

aussiefree2ride

Reply #42 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:13pm

nichy wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:11pm:
Grin Grin  Must be hard on the spinal column too, unless it`s jelly.    Grin Grin

And that ring around the neck !  eeerk !   Grin Grin

ARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR Grin Grin Grin

Equitist

Reply #43 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:14pm

Verge wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:10pm:
Equitist wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:08pm:

Guaranteed!

Much the same as not everyone is as united behind Judas as you would like to believe.

You lost the seat of Melbourne because of her remember.

On the contrary - I see Melbourne as an important gain - and some of you seem to be forgetting that I am a Greens supporter...

Equitist

Reply #44 - Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:27pm

Thank you, Nichy: -

http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1282437593/9#9

aussiefree2ride wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:21pm:
nichy wrote on Aug 22nd, 2010 at 2:08pm:
Equitist can't bear the fact that neither Hockey (who never wanted to be) or Turnbull (who has a penchant for labor) is sitting at the top of the heap,  and that Tony Abbott had brought the Libs from the depths to taking the majority away from Labor. 

It might interest her to know that both Hockey and Turnbull are of the same religious persuasion as Abbott too - as I believe her hatred of Abbott has something, or a lot, to do with that.

Incidentally Rudd is actually of the same persuasion too .(When it suits him)

That poster harbors an inordinate quantity of discriminatory religious bigotry.  Sad really, that a person could be so twisted by such prejudice and hatred.

LOL...I don't support any of them - just pointing out that Turnbull and Hockey are far more user-friendly than Abbott...

Besides, Hockey does want the head job - with two infants at home, it just wasn't convenient for him to take over last December - he stood back as a martyr so that he could have a tilt at the leadership, after what he had expected to be an electoral bloodbath for an Abbott-led Coalition...

We'll all just have to wait and see, what will happen over the coming hours, days, weeks, months and years...