An excellent campaign on OzPolitic (Read 2756 times)

An excellent campaign on OzPolitic
Aug 21st, 2010 at 9:08am

It has been a great time here.
Thank you all

it has deepend my belief that the left sucks bad.

perceptions_now

Perth  WA
Re: An excellent campaign on OzPolitic
Reply #1 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 9:49am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 9:08am:
Thank you all

It has certainly confirmed my opinion that this section of OzPolitic is correct, that ALL Politicians Suck!

Soren

Reply #2 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 9:56am

Yes, I agree sprint, a good, sensibly bitching has been had by all.
despite all the obvious differences, we have kept it pretty steady.

Thank you all, thank you FD and mods, thank you linesmen, thank you ball boys.

mozzaok

Reply #3 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 10:00am

Thank you all

lol, Sprinty, sprinty, sprinty.
You realise of course that we have been tracking all the extreme right delusionists, and after midnight when Grand Leader Julia declares the new loony right, political re-education centres opening up, a vehicle with blacked out windows will be coming to take you away to the gulag.

Prepare now, practice your smuggling technique so you can take some rolled up pictures of amanda vanstone to help get you through the long cold nights.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Reply #4 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:27am

perceptions_now wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 9:49am:
Thank you all

It has certainly confirmed my opinion that this section of OzPolitic is correct, that ALL Politicians Suck!

I disagree PN.

Few years back, Sir John Cope. Tory MP for Bristol North East where my parents live - he was a good fella.
Even in the years when the Conservatives were shedding seats like refugees chuck kids into oceans - he held on.

The reason because he was around the constituency all the time, if you had a problem or an issue and wrote to him, he wouldn't just write a personal letter back, often he'd call around on his own about 7pm at night and find out more about the problem.

I remember when the council were going to move Irish Travellers onto a disused horse's field near our house, he worked tirelessly with the local residents to get the decision reversed, often meeting people daily and going to London and voting.

He was a good man and a local man.

Many politicians are scoundrels, but when there are men like Cope around it gives you hope.

EDIT -

John Ambrose Cope, Baron Cope of Berkeley, PC (born 13 May 1937) is a Conservative Party politician in the United Kingdom.

He was educated at Oakham School before qualifying as a Chartered Accountant. He served as Member of Parliament for South Gloucestershire from 1974 to 1983. When that constituency was abolished for the 1983 general election, he was returned for the new Northavon constituency, serving in until his defeat in the 1997 general election by the Liberal Democrat Steve Webb. In 1988, he was sworn of the Privy Council.

Cope served as Paymaster-General in John Major's government between 1992 and 1994. Before that, Cope had been a whip, and played a significant part in the pressure put on the BBC to reintroduce Russian-language services during the attempted coup against Mikhail Gorbachev in 1991, apparently returning to a Cabinet meting to forcefully put the case, at the height of the uncertainty, that the recently-cut services should be reinstated forthwith. He was made a life peer as Baron Cope of Berkeley, of Berkeley in the County of Gloucestershire in 1997. He has served as Opposition Chief Whip in the House of Lords, on the Conservative front bench. In 2007 he was replaced be Baroness Anelay.
« Last Edit: Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:02pm by Andrei.Hicks »  

aussiefree2ride

Reply #5 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:31am

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:27am:
perceptions_now wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 9:49am:
Thank you all

I disagree PN.

Few years back, Sir John Cope. Tory MP for Bristol North East where my parents live - he was a good fella.
Even in the years when the Conservatives were shedding seats like refugees chuck kids into oceans - he held on.

The reason because he was around the constituency all the time, if you had a problem or an issue and wrote to him, he wouldn't just write a personal letter back, often he'd call around on his own about 7pm at night and find out more about the problem.

I remember when the council were going to move Irish Travellers onto a disused horse's field near our house, he worked tirelessly with the local residents to get the decision reversed, often meeting people daily and going to London and voting.

He was a good man and a local man.

Many politicians are scoundrels, but when there are men like Cope around it gives you hope.

I believe you are right AH, politicians in this country are paid a pittance, many are genuine, public spirited people.  Except the ALP and the Greens.

Reply #6 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:45am

I've been in Oz most of this week and attended a really good lunch on Thurs in Melbourne at the Windsor Hotel.

He's Labor and retiring but Lindsay Tanner was one of the guests and he spoke really well. Was pretty impressed with his handling of a lot of the questions.

He's very well versed in demographic trends and why the Greens support has increased so much.

Kevin Andrews was the other guest and he wasn't as impressive.

Interesting though, the questions were all very Liberal biased.

If the views of the Australian Institute of Directors forum is replicated across the country, the Liberals will win handsomely.

Reply #7 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:52am

Havent seeen you much on here andrei? hows canada? Glad you made it back in time to watch labor get some stick! even if they win, there is no doub they are on the nose and I hope they get the message!

Reply #8 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:56am

Yes very good thanks.

Canada is coming to an end around Jan for us, been a lot of upheaval where I work and I am going to work in the head office in California.
A really interesting part of the world right now, not without significant problems.

It's pleasant to be here and is a complete coincidence I am here same time as the election.
I had this trip booked in long before Ms Gillard called this date.

Makes life interesting anyway.

You would have liked some of the questions at the lunch forum on Thurs -

From the floor - "If you run a company and you have four key people making all the decisions, then everything goes to pot and you're looking for a scapegoat. Is it not true that all four senior managers should be fired and not just one?"

Tanner - "Well given I am one of the four you're presumably alluding to, it won't surprise to hear I don't necessarily agree with that...."

Reply #9 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:01pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:56am:
Yes very good thanks.

Canada is coming to an end around Jan for us, been a lot of upheaval where I work and I am going to work in the head office in California.
A really interesting part of the world right now, not without significant problems.

It's pleasant to be here and is a complete coincidence I am here same time as the election.
I had this trip booked in long before Ms Gillard called this date.

Makes life interesting anyway.

You would have liked some of the questions at the lunch forum on Thurs -

From the floor - "If you run a company and you have four key people making all the decisions, then everything goes to pot and you're looking for a scapegoat. Is it not true that all four senior managers should be fired and not just one?"

Tanner - "Well given I am one of the four you're presumably alluding to, it won't surprise to hear I don't necessarily agree with that...."

I love it!  I think the ALP will miss Tanner - esp if they lose the election. they wil be looking for a credible and honest person to take on the role of leader... and he was probably the last remaining one!

Reply #10 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:11pm

I didn't catch the guy's name but there was a columnist from the Age up with Tanner and Andrews who spoke pretty well.

He actually said that he thought the ALP had missed Tanner in this campaign as well. He added that he though the ALP would be returned but with a reduced vote and that on the other side of the election is where they will miss Tanner.

On asked did he think Tanner was more competent than Swan, the guy replied "I think every man and his dog knows that's the case"

His best bit was talking about how it's hard to judge some poll answers and predict a result, he gave an example from Mt Gambier.

"Who do you think will run the economy better?"
"Liberals probably"

"What do you think of the current Government?"
"Pretty average actually mate. I reckon they've stuffed up this issue with the boat people and the mining tax"

"Who do you plan to vote for?"
"I'll vote for Labor"

He added - "I mean how do you reconcile that? But these people are entitled to vote however they like. Just makes our job as columnists hard to work out"

Equitist

Reply #11 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:23pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 11:45am:
Interesting though, the questions were all very Liberal biased.

If the views of the Australian Institute of Directors forum is replicated across the country, the Liberals will win handsomely.

Clearly, the Australian Institute of Directors forum is representative only of the elite, incorporated and stockmarket-listed few - hence the Liberal bias in the questions!

So, they are in no way indicative of whether or not the grubby and ugly win-at-all-costs Lib campaign was successful!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #12 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:27pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:23pm:
Clearly, the Australian Institute of Directors forum is representative only of the elite, incorporated and stockmarket-listed few

That's an incredibly blinkered view of looking at an Institute with hundreds of members.

Plus also those members make decisions in their companies which afffect millions of Australian workers.

Reasonably influential people I would say.

I managed to sneak an invite though despite being neither an Australian worker nor a Director in Australia!
Glad I went though.
The creme brulee was lovely  Grin

Equitist

Reply #13 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:51pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:27pm:
Clearly, the Australian Institute of Directors forum is representative only of the elite, incorporated and stockmarket-listed few

That's an incredibly blinkered view of looking at an Institute with hundreds of members.

Plus also those members make decisions in their companies which afffect millions of Australian workers.

I managed to sneak an invite though despite being neither an Australian worker nor a Director in Australia!
Glad I went though.
The creme brulee was lovely  Grin

LOL...some of us can actually discern the material difference betwixt 'representative' and 'influential'...

Moreover, as ye and me well know: the 'decisions' made by the born-to-rule 'hundreds' are shamelessly self-serving and therefore they detrimentally "afffect" (sic) 'millions of (vulnerable) Australian workers' and their families...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #14 - Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:55pm

Andrei.Hicks wrote on Aug 21st, 2010 at 12:27pm:

Glad I went though.
The creme brulee was lovely  Grin

You remember nemesis, dont you andrei? the one who describes everyone above minimum wage (or welfare) as a parasite?