Morgan Face to Face poll (Read 2243 times)
Darwin

Morgan Face to Face poll
Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:49pm

Holy smacking shi t!

Morgan face to face 57.5:42.5 to Labor!

Morgan face-to-face: 57.5-42.5 to Labor
Thursday, August 12, 2010 – 6:20 pm, by William Bowe

News Radio reports the latest Morgan face-to-face poll, conducted last weekend, has Labor’s two-party lead leaping to 57.5-42.5. This series is traditionally favourable to Labor, but the lead recorded here is their highest since February. The Greens primary vote was 15.5 per cent, up 4.5 per cent, the highest ever recorded by Morgan (no other details available yet on the primary vote). Contrary to expectation, Morgan does not seem to have conducted a mid-week phone poll as it has been doing throughout the campaign so far.

UPDATE: Labor actually down a point on the primary vote from last week to 43 per cent, but the Coalition are down four to 37 per cent, making room for that Greens surge.

http://blogs.crikey.com.au/pollbludger/2010/08/12/morgan-face-to-face-57-5-42-5-to-labor/

Probably this really means “only” 54:46 or so but I will try and live with that!

iamtheman012

Re: Morgan Face to Face poll
Reply #1 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:53pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:49pm:
Holy smacking shi t!

Morgan face to face 57.5:42.5 to Labor!

Morgan face-to-face: 57.5-42.5 to Labor
Thursday, August 12, 2010 – 6:20 pm, by William Bowe

News Radio reports the latest Morgan face-to-face poll, conducted last weekend, has Labor’s two-party lead leaping to 57.5-42.5. This series is traditionally favourable to Labor, but the lead recorded here is their highest since February. The Greens primary vote was 15.5 per cent, up 4.5 per cent, the highest ever recorded by Morgan (no other details available yet on the primary vote). Contrary to expectation, Morgan does not seem to have conducted a mid-week phone poll as it has been doing throughout the campaign so far.

UPDATE: Labor actually down a point on the primary vote from last week to 43 per cent, but the Coalition are down four to 37 per cent, making room for that Greens surge.

http://blogs.crikey.com.au/pollbludger/2010/08/12/morgan-face-to-face-57-5-42-5-to-labor/

Probably this really means “only” 54:46 or so but I will try and live with that!

What a load of sh_t, that poll is VERY suspect.

I await.

Darwin

Reply #2 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:57pm

Yea, probably it is "only" 54:46  Grin Grin Grin

The Libs attitude to broadband will be a huge factor in their landslide defeat.

iamtheman012

Reply #3 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:00pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:57pm:
Yea, probably it is "only" 54:46  Grin Grin Grin

I think you'd be surprised at the low percentage of the population that consider broadband the ' be all and end all' issue. There are MUCH more serious issues facing the Australian public than an additional expense.

Darwin

Reply #4 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:25pm

You don’t know nothing.

And the NBN will be a great investment to make as the Long Depression clamp down.

After WWI they built the Great Ocean Rd as a stimulus project. It is now a huge generator of tourism. Snowy Mountain Scheme needed roads which helped the ski industry develop. Who knows what serendipitous by products there will be from the NBN?

iamtheman012

Reply #5 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:33pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:25pm:
You don’t know nothing.

And the NBN will be a great investment to make as the Long Depression clamp down.

After WWI they built the Great Ocean Rd as a stimulus project. It is now a huge generator of tourism. Snowy Mountain Scheme needed roads which helped the ski industry develop. Who knows what serendipitous by products there will be from the NBN?

LOL , no i just WORK in the industry mate.

LOL, moron.

Shocked

Darwin

Reply #6 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:42pm

I repeat, you don’t know nothing.

After Abbott’s incompetent rubbish about broadband the betting market moved strongly to labor, and now we have this Morgan poll.

iamtheman012

Reply #7 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:56pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:42pm:
I repeat, you don’t know nothing.

After Abbott’s incompetent rubbish about broadband the betting market moved strongly to labor, and now we have this Morgan poll.

Repeat all you like if it's makes you feel better but clearly YOU are clueless about what the overall public want and NEED.

LOL.

« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:03pm by iamtheman012 »  

____

Reply #8 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:18pm

15.5% for the Greens

sounds promising.

Equitist

Reply #9 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:36pm

iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:00pm:

I think you'd be surprised at the low percentage of the population that consider broadband the ' be all and end all' issue. There are MUCH more serious issues facing the Australian public than an additional expense.

I think that the Libs are in for a rude shock, since they have boiled their election theme down to 4 petty and divisive issues: -

"The Coalition will end the waste, stop the taxes and stop the boats." Pfffftttt

You are really kidding yourself, if you think that ordinary Aussies are more concerned about imaginary boat people than they are about their day to day access to leading edge telecommunications tools...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

iamtheman012

Reply #10 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:38pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:36pm:
iamtheman012 wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:00pm:

I think that the Libs are in for a rude shock, since they have boiled their election theme down to 4 petty and divisive issues: -

"The Coalition will end the waste, stop the taxes and stop the boats." Pfffftttt

You are really kidding yourself, if you think that ordinary Aussies are more concerned about imaginary boat people than they are about their day to day access to leading edge telecommunications tools...

Point me to WHERE i said that Nem?

Huh

Equitist

Reply #11 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 9:38am

Sorry, Ima...perahaps I should have been more general with my words!?

I wasn't intending to imply that you had personally said or even thought that - rather that the Libs (and most of their supporters) seem to be dogmatically obsessed with propaganda over imaginary and/or relatively minor things and out of touch with the day to day realities in the broader electorate...

Meantime, I note that your fellow right whingers are staying away from this poll and its implications...
« Last Edit: Aug 13th, 2010 at 9:49am by Equitist »  

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

iamtheman012

Reply #12 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 9:51am

Equitist wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 9:38am:
Sorry, Ima...I should have been more general with my words...

I wasn't intending to imply that you had personally said or even thought that - rather that the Libs (and most of their supporters) seem to be dogmatically obsessed with propaganda over imaginary and/or relatively minor things and out of touch with the day to day realities in the broader electorate...

Personally I don't give 2 sh_ts about the issue; there was a time when I pushed the line but as you get older and wiser attitudes change.  Whilst I don't agree with every Liberal policy, I will never vote for a Government so inept that couldn't run a chook raffle at the local, let alone bring an NBN in on budget.

Reply #13 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 10:18am

Comment ....

Rod Hagen
Posted Thursday, August 12, 2010 at 6:33 pm

Good gracious. And that comes from before the Libs released their “internet by string phone” policy, the Gillard performance on Q&A and Abbott’s flumoxed performance on the 7.30 report!

I guess that may give us some idea why Andrew Robb has looking a bit stressed over the last day or two!

http://blogs.crikey.com.au/pollbludger/2010/08/12/morgan-face-to-face-57-5-42-5-...

But seriously, I.m more inclined to trust an anonymous, random phone poll - than a confrontational "face-to-face" - to gather vote intent information, as attractive as the result might be

I've never been able to find information on the 'nuts and bolts' of the 'face-to-face' method

Door to door ?
A vox pop of people wandering aimlessly around shopping malls ?

I'b be curious to know

Equitist

Reply #14 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 10:25am

buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 10:18am:
Comment ....

Rod Hagen

Good gracious. And that comes from before the Libs released their “internet by string phone” policy, the Gillard performance on Q&A and Abbott’s flumoxed performance on the 7.30 report!

I guess that may give us some idea why Andrew Robb has looking a bit stressed over the last day or two!

http://blogs.crikey.com.au/pollbludger/2010/08/12/morgan-face-to-face-57-5-42-5-...

But seriously, I.m more inclined to trust an anonymous, random phone poll - than a confrontational "face-to-face" - to gather vote intent information, as attractive as the result might be

I've never been able to find information on the 'nuts and bolts' of the 'face-to-face' method

Door to door ?

I'b be curious to know

I did the face-to-face Morgan poll a few years ago (close to the 2007 election) - here it was door-knocked and I made an appointment with the guy to come back a few days later, since it wasn't convenient, at the time of the cold call, to sit down for an hour or so...

He indicated to me that he would be doing the same in the area for about a week...

It was a very extensive survey - covering everything from politics to personal tastes...

From memory, he actually read questions out from a book and filled them out separately in a huge multi-paged 'form' that was also more like a book than a booklet...

He also left other consumer survey booklets to be filled out by other members of the household - which was attached to an incentive of a choice of rewards for filling the forms out...

The kids chose a backpack and a survey board game...
« Last Edit: Aug 13th, 2010 at 10:31am by Equitist »  

Reply #15 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:12pm

Woe is me

IN THE FEDERAL ELECTION FOR THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES TO BE HELD ON SATURDAY,
THE 21ST OF AUGUST, WHICH ONE OF THE FOLLOWING WILL YOU VOTE FOR? IF “UNCOMMITTED”,
TO WHICH ONE OF THESE DO YOU HAVE A LEANING?
PRIMARY VOTE+ COALITION LABOR GREENS OTHERS
% % % %
Election 24 November 2007 42.1 43.3 7.8 6.8
Newspoll 18-20 June 2010 40 35 15 10
Newspoll 25-27 June 2010 40 42 10 8
Newspoll 16-18 July 2010 38 42 12 8
Newspoll 23-25 July 2010 42 40 12 6
Newspoll 30 July - 1 August 2010 44 37 12 7
Newspoll 6-8 August 2010* 42 38 13 7
*4 per cent “uncommitted” and 1 per cent “refused” excluded.

TWO PARTY PREFERRED+
Based on preference flow at November 2007 Federal election COALITION LABOR
% %
Election 24 November 2007 47.3 52.7
Newspoll 18-20 June 2010 48 52
Newspoll 25-27 June 2010 47 53
Newspoll 16-18 July 2010 45 55
Newspoll 23-25 July 2010 48 52
Newspoll 30 July - 1 August 2010 50 50
Newspoll 6-8 August 2010 48 52
+ Excludes

http://www.newspoll.com.au/cgi-bin/polling/display_poll_data.pl
« Last Edit: Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:20pm by Sprintcyclist »  

Reply #16 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 2:19pm

seat by seat, we will do it.
An arm wrestle it is ......

..........TWO PARTY PREFERRED - DAWSON
Based on preference flow at November 2007 Federal election ELECTION
24 NOV 2007#
3-5 AUG 2010
CURRENT
SWING SINCE
ELECTION
% %
LABOR 52.4 50 - 2 points
COALITION 47.6 50 + 2 points
# Based on estimates provided by Malcolm Mackerras after 2009 redistributions
TWO PARTY PREFERRED - LINDSAY
Based on preference flow at November 2007 Federal election ELECTION
24 NOV 2007#
18-20 JUN
3-5 AUG
CURRENT
SWING SINCE
ELECTION
%
%
LABOR 56.4 44 49 - 7 points
COALITION 43.6 56 51 + 7 points
# Based on estimates provided by Malcolm Mackerras after 2009 redistributions......

http://www.newspoll.com.au/image_uploads/100826%20Marginals%20-%20Dawson%20&%20L...

Reply #17 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 8:05pm

buzzanddidj wrote on Aug 13th, 2010 at 10:18am:
Comment ....

Rod Hagen

Door to door ?

I'b be curious to know

the real clue is that it is massively out of sync with every other poll. thats all you need to know.