Unemployed Should Put A Protest Vote In (Read 3868 times)
imcrookonit

Unemployed Should Put A Protest Vote In
Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:49am

With the election only a week and a half away, should the unemployed lodge a protest vote?.  The low income workers have had a fair and just pay rise.  (As they should have).  The pensioners have had a fair and just increase.  (As they should have).  However there has been nothing said by both the labor or liberals, about a fair and just increase in benefits for the unemployed people.  Yes I know there has been talk about relocation allowances, which may or may not be all well and good.  In any case still no mention of a fair increase, for people that are unfortunate enough to be unemployed.  With the election coming up, what better way to get the message across to the two main party's.  The Australian greens support a fair and just increase for the unemployed.  Unemployed people send labor and liberal a message on election day.  Do not vote labor, do not vote liberal.

imcrookonit

Re: Unemployed Should Put A Protest Vote In
Reply #1 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:53am

For a fair go for the unemployed.  Vote1- Australian Greens.  The fair and sensible people.  (Send the others a protest vote).

____

Reply #2 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 7:57am

I spent a few hours pre-polling in a marginal western sydney seat and the wilderness society is running a campaign to make people aware that Labor and Liberal parties support the burning of wombat habitat for electricity.

I suggest unemployed ... and those that think the unemployed should not be punished for market conditions and bad business/government decisions ... should consider forming a lobby group and start targeting marginal seats. May be a little late this election, yet if things don't change soon, it is an issue worth fighting for.

BlOoDy RiPpEr

aussie-patriot.com

Reply #3 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:39am

If unemployment handouts were fair, what incentive would there be to get them into a job?
Unemployment would rise as there will be less people willing to work.
Then Australia would suffer from a Labour shortage.
I Would like to see an end to Unemployment handouts for those under 30's as there is a large demand for workers in that age group. then the money saved could be directed to aged pensions

host of the aussie-patriot.com site

Reply #4 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:46am

I would think it foolhard for the unemployed to risk votes which do not oppose the Liberals unless they want the Tont Abbot policies implimented with things like extending the travel requirement and making it more difficult in many areas like increased obligation quicker time before work for the benifit etc.

While Labor have done little to help the Lib option would be to damage the unemployed.

I would think a strong protest to the greens may be justifiable as long as the Liberals are not on their downstream options. A vote for anyone which ends up counting for the liberals for the unemployed would be shooting yourself in the foot (mayby even the head).

James Bluntus

Reply #5 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:57am

While it is true the majority of people on the Unemployment benefits are true claims that are trying to get a job, there are a small percentage of people who aren't even attempting to get a job. As a result, I believe that if people want the Unemployment benefit, they should be made to apply for a certain amount of jobs at a time. If they don't, they don't get their payment for the week. That way, we can assure that the payments aren't abused and they are actively trying to get a job.

Keep David Harris for Wyong. He gets things done.

Equitist

Reply #6 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 11:14am

James Bluntus wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:57am:
While it is true the majority of people on the Unemployment benefits are true claims that are trying to get a job, there are a small percentage of people who aren't even attempting to get a job. As a result, I believe that if people want the Unemployment benefit, they should be made to apply for a certain amount of jobs at a time. If they don't, they don't get their payment for the week. That way, we can assure that the payments aren't abused and they are actively trying to get a job.

I have no doubt that unemployment and underemployment levels are much higher than we are being lead to believe. I also agree, that the majority of Australia's unemployed are being conveniently demonised, vilified and scapegoated. However, it is widely known that unemployment benefits are well below subsistence-level already - and that Australia's unemployed are suffering unconscionable levels of deprivation and stress.

Therefore, the inevitable socio-economic results, of even more draconian measures, will only lead to increased deprivation, insecurity, anxiety, depression, suicides, crime, etc. - and it is in everybody's interests to implement a range of positive and compassionate interventions, with more support and carrots and less sticks...

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

imcrookonit

Reply #7 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:09pm

Unlike some people I do not see the unemployment benefit as a hand  out.  Nor should it be seen as such, as it was never intended to be a hand out.   We also must remember several things.  The unemployed most certainly do have to comply with the rules, and those rule are enforced.  They must look for jobs, or if not they are indeed punished, by having their already ridiculously low benefits partly cut.  Let us also remember those that are working today, could very well be unemployed tomorrow.  Yes the unemployed should protest on August 21, don't vote labor or liberal send them a protest.  After all lets remember, the unemployed vote too.

aikmann4

canberra
Reply #8 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:12pm

I don't want benefits. I want a JOB. I would be more than willing to support a politician who came up with some sort of concrete solution to really assisting the unemployed find work. I'd gladly take an agency I know was actually doing something for me (which I know mine isn't) over my dole cheque.

Equitist

Reply #9 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:16pm

I'd go further, and suggest that all human beings have inherent needs and value in any community - and, sadly and ironically, that even the unemployed perform a key economic role of keeping wage inflation down...

Moreover, I reckon that draconian trends in countries such as Australia, that systematically scapegoat the systemically disadvantaged, underprivileged (and especially the abused, abandoned, disabled and mentally ill) are unconscionably callous and inhumane...

Therefore, I would urge all welfare recipients to lodge protest votes against the draconian LibLabs - i.e. vote 1 Greens then preference the major party that they trust the least...

This protest will send a message to the LibLabs that they are trending too far towards the right on socio-economic matters - and, given the increasingly-uncertain outcome in the lower house, such a protest will be especially crucial in the Senate...
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 12:21pm by Equitist »  

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Sappho

Reply #10 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:40pm

 They must look for jobs, or if not they are indeed punished, by having their already ridiculously low benefits partly cut.

You have no idea what you are talking about. Penalties that partially cut your payments were removed ages ago.

Now days, if you fail to attend your appointments twice in a row, Centrelink will stop paying you until you do attend. For more serious non compliance such as refusing a suitable job or leaving a job voluntarily without another job to move to, Centrelink will not pay you for 8 weeks. All penalties are investigated most thoroughly and must be justified. All penalties have a right of appeal. 

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

imcrookonit

Reply #11 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 2:58pm

Well there you go, so in other words there are a lot of hoops that the unemployed must jump through.  In any case we know that the pensioners got a fair rise.  We also know that the low income workers got a fair rise.  Its high time the unemployed had a fair increase as well.

Sappho

Reply #12 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:31pm

Well there you go, so in other words there are a lot of hoops that the unemployed must jump through.

Hoops? You think that attending appointments with your job services provider is a hoop? You think that accepting a suitable job offer, although it may not be the job you want is a hoop? You think that leaving a job without good cause and then not being paid for 8 weeks is a hoop? You think that centrelink investigating these non compliance issues to ensure the law is fairly applied a hoop?

Where is your brain at?

Equitist

Reply #13 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:35pm

Sappho wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:31pm:
Well there you go, so in other words there are a lot of hoops that the unemployed must jump through.

Hoops? You think that attending appointments with your job services provider is a hoop? You think that accepting a suitable job offer, although it may not be the job you want is a hoop? You think that leaving a job without good cause and then not being paid for 8 weeks is a hoop? You think that centrelink investigating these non compliance issues to ensure the law is fairly applied a hoop?

Where is your brain at?

Sadly and ironically, if there were sufficient REAL jobs out there, then simple supply/demand factors would precipitate rapid rises in wages and conversions from casual/part-time to full-time employment - and all of this tokenistic and demeaning hoop-jumping would be redundant...

imcrookonit

Reply #14 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 6:27pm

I think that being told that we have low unemployment, when in fact there is no such thing is wrong.  I think being told there are lots of jobs out there, when there is not is wrong.  I think that the unemployed should be given more money, instead of living on the smell of an oily rag is wrong, until they find a job.   No one knows how long they will be unemployed.  Sometimes it can be for a short period of time, other times it can be for very long periods of time.  Now don't get me wrong, I am not saying it should be made easy for the unemployed, but at least we have to be fair about it.

iamtheman012

Reply #15 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 6:41pm

Actually James THAT has been happening for a NUMBER of years now. In most cases you need to apply for 10 jobs per fortnight and fill out the details in a 'job seeker diary' that gets handed in at regular intervals. Plus when paperwork is lodged each fortnight, details of 4 jobs applied for during that period MUST be provided. It is up to Centrelink staff to follow up on these 'applications' to ensure all obligations are being met.

hawil

Reply #16 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 6:48pm

There are some bludgers among the unemployed, but most are genuinely looking for a job.
It is also nonsense to ask the unemployed to apply for a certain number of jobs, because it is also a nuisance to the employers; what the government should implement is a register where any employer in need of workers should register and the unemployed should be obliged to apply  for this jobs, provided they do have the qualifications because it would be silly silly to apply for a job with no qualification.
Some pensionerss have  also been very badly treated, namely the part-pensioners who are affected by the meanest "Means Test" among all the OECD countries, which cuts in when a pensioner couple receives extra income above $6,500 per annum, when the loss becomes $0.50 in every dollar, and should their income near$40,000 combined per annum, they will pay $0.315 tax including Medicare levy, so that all they have left is $0.185 of every dollar extra income, and some of this people paid taxes for 45 or more years.
Compare this with the Independent retirees and their generous tax concessions paying often no taxes on incomes of $100,000 plus per annum.

Sappho

Reply #17 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:03pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:35pm:
Sappho wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 5:31pm:

Where is your brain at?

Sadly and ironically, if there were sufficient REAL jobs out there, then simple supply/demand factors would precipitate rapid rises in wages and conversions from casual/part-time to full-time employment - and all of this tokenistic and demeaning hoop-jumping would be redundant...

What is demeaning about attending an appointment with a job services provider? I'm at a loss to understand?

And yes I agree that it would be easier if it were an employee's market... but capitalism and labor don't work that way.

imcrookonit

Reply #18 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:21pm

Well one has to ask the question, are the job service providers really there for the unemployed, or for themselves?.  Now it has been proven in the past, that some of job service providers were using phantom jobs to make money for themselves.  They were given large fines for this.  In any case the individual unemployed person knows full well, whether he/she is being treated fairly or not.   Also in any case this thread is about more money for the unemployed.  It seems to fall on deaf ears.  One election day make sure if you are unemployed don't vote labor or liberal.  Send them a message they will hear, and vote for the Australian Greens.

Reply #19 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:35pm

As a result, I believe that if people want the Unemployment benefit, they should be made to apply for a certain amount of jobs at a time.

This has been in place for years and in fact is an impediment to finding work in many cases.

You need to document your job applications, if you are a skilled professional you need to customise your job application and cover letter fairly comprehensively if you want a chance at the Job but when you are in a mass production situation where you are required to submit 10 or more applications the quality of each suffers and as well you end up applying for employment substantially different from your expectation and skill set just to make up the numbers.

you weaken your genuine opportunities in order to apply for unrealistic targets where the enforced bulk effort actually diminishes you chance of finding work.

You also spend time applying for the repeat adds which you know are just employment companies fishing for numbers on their books and the actual jobs advertised do not in reality exist, you do this just to make up the numbers.

I still think that 5 quality applications for well targeted and achievable positions is much better then being forced to go to 10 or 15 applications which end up all being supported poorly, unachievable or non existent.

stryder

Reply #20 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:36pm

Vote for the greens, hey ??

How are the greens going to afford this ever expansive entitlement society ??? imcrookit

Have you ever asked that question, Maybe imcrooknit doesnt care, I mean the greens want to create and even bigger entitlement society just like in GREECE

And look what happened to its economy, the greens are that loopey with ideas that would make them far WORSE than Labor.

Dont risk your vote with the Greens whatsoever. 

Equitist

Reply #21 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:41pm

Sappho wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:03pm:
What is demeaning about attending an appointment with a job services provider? I'm at a loss to understand?

And yes I agree that it would be easier if it were an employee's market... but capitalism and labor don't work that way.

Surely, Sappho, you cannot be serious!?

Do you not know anybody who has been funnelled past any Job Network parasites!?

I, for one, do! Not only is the whole experience demeaning - but the production line is grossly bureaucratic and inefficient and anything-but tailored to assist individual job seekers.

In short, it is a costly and counter-productive rort that scapegoats the vulnerable unemployed at enormous taxpayer expense!

Under Welfare to Slavery, a friend of mine - a single divorced mum with 2 kids - was on Parenting Payment Single (PPS) when she was forced to go to a local Job Network parasite around the time that her youngest turned 6.

This was despite the fact that she had already been working part time for an average of 15 hours per week for the preceding 2 years - and had been docked PPS reporting to Control-link accordingly!

When she fronted at the offices of the designated Job Network parasites, at her designated 'interview' time, she found herself in a waiting room with a receptionist and over a dozen other people who had apparently been told to present there at the same appointment time.

She had been led to believe that she would be having an actual 'interview' with a particular representative - she even had the man's name. Instead, the receptionist handed her a form and instructed her to take a seat with everyone else, to fill the form out and then to drop it back to the desk, after which her 'interview' attendance obligations would have been met.

When she complained, that she was there to attend an interview, she was told that they were so busy that they couldn't actually offer individual interviews unless and until 'clients' had been on their books for about 6 months.

When she queried, why she had been sent there in the first instance, given that she was already meeting the so-called 'mutual obligation' requirements of 15 hours weekly average paid work anyway, the receptionist said that they couldn't deal with her at all - and that she needed to go back to Control-link to get the misdirection sorted.

Clearly, the Howard Govt's privatised production-line Job Network parasites were a grossly inefficient waste of time and taxpayer money - that resulted in double and triple bureaucratic-handling and paper-shuffling, with nobody actually taking responsibility for assisting job seekers-cum-scapegoats to gain skills and/or secure paid employment.

There can be no doubt that the outcome was a Govt-funded pseudo-privatised white elephant, that was even more ineffective and counter-productive than the defunct CES that the Job Network parasites superceded!

Meantime, the needs and aspirations of some of Australia's most vulnerable and disadvantaged people remain unconscionably abused, scapegoated and neglected!
« Last Edit: Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:49pm by Equitist »  

Equitist

Reply #22 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 9:08pm

If the Federal Govt was serious about getting the unemployed into work, then they would be funding employment services who match individuals to real jobs and training opportunities.

Moreover, those employment services would be held responsible for ensuring (and proving) that each and every one of their clients was put forward by the service provider for the arbitrary minumum number of jobs per week!

Either way, in most parts of Australia, there simply are not enough jobs out there - and most Control-link welfare recipients are repeatedly wasting the time and resources of employers purely because of the legislated bureaucratic nonsense that requires them to apply for a set number of jobs regardles of whether or not they are not suited to them.

My abovementioned friend told me that: prior to the introduction of Welfare to Slavery, they typically received about 20 applications when they advertised for staff. Nowadays, she said, they are swamped with around 200 each time they advertise - and sometimes NONE of those applicants are invited in for an interview.

What's worse, is that they also get harassed by Control-link, for the purposes of establishing whether or not they actually received applications from the unsuitable applicants!

Clearly, the system is not working for anyone, other than the Job Network production line parasites - who get paid to shuffle paperwork and to neglect rather than assist long-suffering welfare scapegoats!

After all, the system is set up so counter-productively that: the longer that each individual neglected welfare recipient is on their books, the more Corporate WEALTHfare handouts the Job Network parasites receive to fill out more useless paperwork!!!

Sappho

Reply #23 - Aug 12th, 2010 at 10:30pm

Equitist wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:41pm:
Sappho wrote on Aug 12th, 2010 at 8:03pm:

Surely, Sappho, you cannot be serious!?

Do you not know anybody who has been funnelled past any Job Network parasites!?

I, for one, do! Not only is the whole experience demeaning - but the production line is grossly bureaucratic and inefficient and anything-but tailored to assist individual job seekers.

In short, it is a costly and counter-productive rort that scapegoats the vulnerable unemployed at enormous taxpayer expense!

Under Welfare to Slavery, a friend of mine - a single divorced mum with 2 kids - was on Parenting Payment Single (PPS) when she was forced to go to a local Job Network parasite around the time that her youngest turned 6.

This was despite the fact that she had already been working part time for an average of 15 hours per week for the preceding 2 years - and had been docked PPS reporting to Control-link accordingly!

When she fronted at the offices of the designated Job Network parasites, at her designated 'interview' time, she found herself in a waiting room with a receptionist and over a dozen other people who had apparently been told to present there at the same appointment time.

She had been led to believe that she would be having an actual 'interview' with a particular representative - she even had the man's name. Instead, the receptionist handed her a form and instructed her to take a seat with everyone else, to fill the form out and then to drop it back to the desk, after which her 'interview' attendance obligations would have been met.

When she complained, that she was there to attend an interview, she was told that they were so busy that they couldn't actually offer individual interviews unless and until 'clients' had been on their books for about 6 months.

When she queried, why she had been sent there in the first instance, given that she was already meeting the so-called 'mutual obligation' requirements of 15 hours weekly average paid work anyway, the receptionist said that they couldn't deal with her at all - and that she needed to go back to Control-link to get the misdirection sorted.

You haven't actually addressed my question... What you have done is highlight the ineptitude of centrelink for referring her their in the first place. Centrelink was supposed to recognise her 15hrs per week of work and not refer her on.

What you describe, which is centrelink mismanagement, is also very common... too common even. Maybe, if centrelink was getting the management of referrals and non-referrals correct in the first place... there wouldn't be the process line production that you describe. Maybe there would be enough time to spend with customers in individual interviews.

Not fair to blame Job Services for the mistakes of Centrelink.

My question pertains to those asked to interviews not seminars. It pertains to those who have been unemployed for more than three months, since most people are actually off payments within three months and have little contact with the job services.

imcrookonit

Reply #24 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 6:19am

Another question that come to mind is this, did the unemployed get the $900 payment to help stimulate the economy?.  If not then why not?.  They would have been the perfect people for it, and if anyone needed the money would it not have been the unemployed?.

aussiefree2ride

Reply #25 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:35pm

The unemployed should`t be allowed to vote at all.  After all, what is the value of the opiion of someone who can`t even get a job?

aussiefree2ride

Reply #26 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 12:36pm

opinion, I`ve got a sticky n

Sappho

Reply #27 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 1:41pm

Another question that come to mind is this, did the unemployed get the $900 payment to help stimulate the economy?.  If not then why not?.  They would have been the perfect people for it, and if anyone needed the money would it not have been the unemployed?.  

No they didn't. But those who were unemployed and entering training of some kind did receive the $950 student stim payment as well as the education entry payment.

imcrookonit

Reply #28 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 3:35pm

So then the majority of the unemployed misses out on the $900 to help stimulate the economy.  These would have been the very people that would have needed the money.

imcrookonit

Reply #29 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 3:55pm

So then the majority of the unemployed missed  out on the $900 to help stimulate the economy.  These would have been the very people that would have needed the money.  There is no mention of the unemployed getting any more money in their benefits, this is from labor or liberal.  Yet I am sure of one thing, the government want something very much from the unemployed.  They want it so badly that people could not even imagine how much they want it.  That thing is the their vote.  Yes they can make a difference on August 21.  If your unemployed send the government a message.  Send a message to the liberals as well,that wont mention anything about a fair go for the unemployed, except to make them travel further to work.  YOU can make a difference.   Why should YOU if your unemployed have to live on the smell of an oily rag?.  Why should YOU vote for them?.  This election send them a message loud and clear.   A fair go for the unemployed.  A vote for not labor, or liberal.  A vote for the Australian Greens.   Isn't it great  that the unemployed vote?

Verge

Reply #30 - Aug 13th, 2010 at 3:56pm

This bores me.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13