SHHHHH! There is an Elephant in the room. (Read 6412 times)
Verge

Re: SHHHHH! There is an Elephant in the room.
Reply #30 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:00pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 2:43pm:
longweekend58 wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 2:39pm:
Verge wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 2:37pm:
Mozz, why would the government increase the GST to pay of debt when the GST goes to the states?

This GST furphy is typical of the desperate labor supporters on here. neither abbot or Gillard have even mentioned the GST and the possibility of raising it. it is nothing more than a desperate smear by a group of supporters unwilling to accept that labor are on the nose and could possibly lose this election.

Bah! GST is federal legislation and the Libs could amend it the day Parliament first sits unless Mr X opposed it and who knows how that media tart would vote. Can’t you Libs put forward some decent arguments?

Why when the money goes to the states?

GST isnt moving, unless you have actual PROOF that it is?

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Darwin

Reply #31 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:03pm

Just actually listen to Tone, critically assess his spending and saving and a big bump up of the GST is the only way he can do half of what he is promising. The first 10% can go to the states, the second 10% to the Feds, a minor amendment to the GST Bil is all that is needed you know.

Why don’t you Libs know these everyday facts?

On the Lib Party website they are flying a kite re bumping up the GST: what is the point of bumping it to 12%? Might as well take it to 20%! Another pointer, one of the brilliant Lib economic brains did let slip that europe (and now the UK) had 20$ VAT so why didn’t we?

If the betting agencies offer as a bet that if Tone wins the GST would be hiked I would put $1000 on it!

Reply #32 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:04pm

Verge wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:00pm:
Darwin wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 2:43pm:
longweekend58 wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 2:39pm:
Verge wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 2:37pm:
Mozz, why would the government increase the GST to pay of debt when the GST goes to the states?

This GST furphy is typical of the desperate labor supporters on here. neither abbot or Gillard have even mentioned the GST and the possibility of raising it. it is nothing more than a desperate smear by a group of supporters unwilling to accept that labor are on the nose and could possibly lose this election.

Bah! GST is federal legislation and the Libs could amend it the day Parliament first sits unless Mr X opposed it and who knows how that media tart would vote. Can’t you Libs put forward some decent arguments?

Why when the money goes to the states?

GST isnt moving, unless you have actual PROOF that it is?

Forget him. Darwin is very obviously a troll. Gillard could legalise bestiality and this twit would support it. dnot bother with his rubbish any more. there are better labor supporters to debate with - the ones with brains.

mozzaok

Reply #33 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:04pm

Longy, you wanted to debate me on this issue but time and again you show that you have not even the first idea what you are talking about.

The idea of optical fibre being redundant in fifty years is common sense, if you vote liberal, but sticking with copper, a technology from THE NINETEENTH CENTURY!!!! is the Liberal Plan we should have faith in?

People are just being silly opposing fibre, it has to happen, it is the only viable choice.
How far the fibre goes, and what areas it goes into is relevant, and I agree that for many rural communities fibre would not be a good choice, but copper can carry the load in those areas for the final run.
I tested one of Telstras advanced copper options, and it was quite good, but what people who complain about the broadband network ignore is that we will be receiving everything online, TV, phone, media home control and security, games, all that and more, and speed and bandwidth will be imperative.
Speed and bandwidth only fibre can deliver.
Sure Labor's plan is not perfect, but it is a perfect example of what you get from Labor, as compared to the Libs.
Labor invested in world class infrastructure to serve Aussie families and businesses for decades to come.
Liberals suggested we make do with technology already over a hundred years old, just "tweak" it a bit and she'll be apples.
They could have paid for the whole thing with the money they sent over to the USA for their Super Fund investments, wasn't that a stroke of economic genius?

So while luddites can whinge that they already get their emails fast enough, the rest of the world will be moving full tilt into the digital age, and unless we are a part of that, we will be left behind.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Verge

Reply #34 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:04pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:03pm:
Just actually listen to Tone, critically assess his spending and saving and a big bump up of the GST is the only way he can do half of what he is promising. The first 10% can go to the states, the second 10% to the Feds, a minor amendment to the GST Bil is all that is needed you know.

Why don’t you Libs know these everyday facts?

So increasing the state coffers will pay of federal debt, and you know this from the tone of his voice.

Wow, you are so wasted on a message board when you could be selling this Saturdays lotto numbers instead.

And why not, if you will permit me; why shouldn’t I, if you will permit me; spend my first week as prime minister, should that happen, on this, on your, country - Abbott with the Garma People Aug 13

Reply #35 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:08pm

mozzaok wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:04pm:
Longy, you wanted to debate me on this issue but time and again you show that you have not even the first idea what you are talking about.

The idea of optical fibre being redundant in fifty years is common sense, if you vote liberal, but sticking with copper, a technology from THE NINETEENTH CENTURY!!!! is the Liberal Plan we should have faith in?

People are just being silly opposing fibre, it has to happen, it is the only viable choice.
How far the fibre goes, and what areas it goes into is relevant, and I agree that for many rural communities fibre would not be a good choice, but copper can carry the load in those areas for the final run.
I tested one of Telstras advanced copper options, and it was quite good, but what people who complain about the broadband network ignore is that we will be receiving everything online, TV, phone, media home control and security, games, all that and more, and speed and bandwidth will be imperative.
Speed and bandwidth only fibre can deliver.
Sure Labor's plan is not perfect, but it is a perfect example of what you get from Labor, as compared to the Libs.
Labor invested in world class infrastructure to serve Aussie families and businesses for decades to come.
Liberals suggested we make do with technology already over a hundred years old, just "tweak" it a bit and she'll be apples.
They could have paid for the whole thing with the money they sent over to the USA for their Super Fund investments, wasn't that a stroke of economic genius?

So while luddites can whinge that they already get their emails fast enough, the rest of the world will be moving full tilt into the digital age, and unless we are a part of that, we will be left behind.

ok now that you actually want to debate details maybe we can go ahead. Im no against fiber at all - quite the contrary. fiber to the node is an excellent and cost-effective solution and will give excellent and reliable results for most home owners. it is also a quater of the cost of fibre to the home. fibre to the home is superior in every measurment other than cost effectiveness. very very very few homes will need it or utilise if a fractions of its bandwidth. most hardly stretch ADSL2+ now either.

so the simple and far cheaper solution is fibre to the node followed up by optional (and separately costed) fiber to the home or business as required. it is scalable, vastly cheaper and with virtually no reduction in actual usefulness.

Darwin

Reply #36 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:09pm

What I said was, changing the GST Bill was just a vote in parliament away. the all the GST money going to the states is not part of the Constitution you know! It just takes a minor amendment to change "GST monies will go to the States. . .” to “GST monies up to 10% or as the Treasurer decides will go to the States. . .”

This stuff about the GST going to the States is not cast in stone!

Verge

Reply #37 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:09pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:09pm:
What I said was, changing the GST Bill was just a vote in parliament away. the all the GST money going to the states is not part of the Constitution you know! It just takes a minor amendment to change "GST monies will go to the States. . .” to “GST monies up to 10% or as the Treasurer decides will go to the States. . .”

This stuff about the GST going to the States is not cast in stone!

Care to show me where this is the Libs plan, as opposed to just fear and smear on your behalf?

Reply #38 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:10pm

Is that the best you can do? spend OTHER PEOPLES MONEY (federal public servants superannuation) on a govt project? If I spent my employees superannuation on a company project I would be fined and rightly so.

Darwin

Reply #39 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:12pm

FTTN is way inferior, why would anybody do such a halfhearted scheme? When Labor was calling the first tender Conroy and Rudd were advised by those that know that it had to be FTTH.

Anyway, I doubt the savings would be very real. Telstra as owner of the copper would screw the system to make an extra buck or a hundred anyway. I remember reading all this way back when.

The NBN is just so revolutionary, would unleash so much innovation, new services, new applications it would boost the economy for a long time.

Reply #40 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:13pm

When Labor was calling the first tender conroy and Rudd were advised by those that know that it had to be FTTH.

actually they were advised the complete opposite but dont let a fact get in the way of you positing!

Darwin

Reply #41 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:15pm

No they weren’t! If they were advised the complete opposite they would have proceeded with the FTTN.

Reply #42 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:32pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:15pm:
No they weren’t! If they were advised the complete opposite they would have proceeded with the FTTN.

I think you are trying to imply LOGIC into a govt process. the original tender process was for FTTN and then they suddenly overnight changed theire mind and virtually every ISP and telecoms company said it was the wrong decision.

Darwin

Reply #43 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:42pm

virtually every ISP and telecoms company said it was the wrong decision.

Errrrrr no, they didn’t! Sure, a few did, the ones whose networks were considered inadequate for folding into the NBN. I reckon I could count all the telcos/ISPs opposing the NBN on the fingers of one hand. ISPs are certainly selling their services in the areas where the NBN has already been rolled out in Tassie.

We need the NBN to improve business productivity, educational and health services and I will hammer micron thin the stupid wireless broadband dongle I rely on now, s l o w !

Reply #44 - Aug 4th, 2010 at 4:15pm

Darwin wrote on Aug 4th, 2010 at 3:42pm:
virtually every ISP and telecoms company said it was the wrong decision.

Errrrrr no, they didn’t! Sure, a few did, the ones whose networks were considered inadequate for folding into the NBN. I reckon I could count all the telcos/ISPs opposing the NBN on the fingers of one hand. ISPs are certainly selling their services in the areas where the NBN has already been rolled out in Tassie.

We need the NBN to improve business productivity, educational and health services and I will hammer micron thin the stupid wireless broadband dongle I rely on now, s l o w !

you just keep hammering those total lies and misrepresentations. a few other morons wil beleive you as well.