Voter Decline - A Threat to Democratic Process (Read 2174 times)

Voter Decline - A Threat to Democratic Process
Jul 30th, 2010 at 8:44pm

Participation in this year's federal election is down compared to 2007 in what the Australian Electoral Commission calls "a most serious threat to Australia's democratic model".

Figures compiled by the AEC show that compared to 2007, fewer Australians who are eligible to vote are choosing to have their say on election day.

When Australia decides on its next government on August 21, precisely 14,030,528 people will be eligible to attend one of the 8000 polling stations around the country to lodge their vote.

While that marks an increase of 385,455 voters since the 2007 election, AEC spokesman Phil Diak said when population growth is factored, the overall participation rate will be down for this election.

"In 2007, the estimated participation was 92.3 per cent ... We believe the participation rate at the 2010 election, just based on the arithmetic, is lower," Mr Diak said.

"It's still in the low 90 per cent range, but it's lower than 2007. There has been a decline in the roll over time."

Voting is compulsory for every Australian citizen aged 18 years or older. If a person does not vote, and does not have a valid and sufficient reason for failing to do so, a $20 penalty is imposed.

In a document submitted to the federal Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters in January this year, Electoral Commissioner Ed Killesteyn urged the government "not to underestimate the threat to our democratic model presented by declining enrolment participation".

"The AEC is of the view that decisive action is required to arrest the evident decline in enrolment participation. While there is no single remedy which will bring about a sustainable and ongoing increase in enrolment participation, we do need to extend the range of tools in our toolset and be flexible enough to change them as necessary in order to keep with the times," Mr Killesteyn wrote.

He added that declining enrolment participation had the "potential to erode perceptions about the legitimacy of election results".

http://www.theage.com.au/federal-election/decline-in-voters-a-threat-to-nations-...

nichy

Re: Voter Decline - A Threat to Democratic Process
Reply #1 - Jul 30th, 2010 at 9:51pm

Are you worried that all the addled young lefty's haven't enrolled.

Personally I think the voting age should be raised to 40.  They just might have learned some commonsense by then,  though that's debatable too judging from some of the comments i read.

"He who does not value life does not deserve it." -- Leonardo da Vinci&&&&

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #2 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 6:29am

buzzanddidj wrote on Jul 30th, 2010 at 8:44pm:
"It's still in the low 90 per cent range, but it's lower than 2007. There has been a decline in the roll over time."

Voting is compulsory for every Australian citizen aged 18 years or older. If a person does not vote, and does not have a valid and sufficient reason for failing to do so, a $20 penalty is imposed.

In a document submitted to the federal Joint Standing Committee on Electoral Matters in January this year, Electoral Commissioner Ed Killesteyn urged the government "not to underestimate the threat to our democratic model presented by declining enrolment participation".

"The AEC is of the view that decisive action is required to arrest the evident decline in enrolment participation. While there is no single remedy which will bring about a sustainable and ongoing increase in enrolment participation, we do need to extend the range of tools in our toolset and be flexible enough to change them as necessary in order to keep with the times," Mr Killesteyn wrote.

He added that declining enrolment participation had the "potential to erode perceptions about the legitimacy of election results".

http://www.theage.com.au/federal-election/decline-in-voters-a-threat-to-nations-...

Wow a whole $20 if you get caught and if they don't believe your 'story', I must run off and enrol before I get fined into bankruptcy.  Grin

As far as eroding the legitamacy of the election, it's the politicians that do that through their lies & deception, not us non-voters.

Nearly every single first world democracy has given their voters the right to vote, some vote, some don't and yet those democracies function quite nicely.

Countries like zimbabwe and Australia feel the need to impose compulsory voting for what ever reason, mostly to ensure the people know who is in charge and compliance with the government is mandatory.

We non-voters will persevere and grow in numbers, remember more people refused to vote, than voted for the greens in 2007, Australia's supposed third force in politics.  Cool

Reply #3 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 6:36am

Compulsory voting is absurd. I have chosen not to vote before, only once, and I never got fined. If people don't want to vote for the deplorable choice we have, they simply vote informal. It's a power thing that they feel they must make us vote.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #4 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 7:05am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jul 31st, 2010 at 6:36am:
Compulsory voting is absurd. I have chosen not to vote before, only once, and I never got fined. If people don't want to vote for the deplorable choice we have, they simply vote informal. It's a power thing that they feel they must make us vote.

I have only voted 4 or 5 times since '82 at all 3 levels of government and have never been fined, of the 3 times I was found out.

THe only reason voting is compulsory in Australia is the polliticians recieve $2 for every voter scammed, once they get over 4% of the vote. It's worth millions to political parties and they will never give up that sort of 'free money' to give us our basic human rights.

This scam was expertly manipulated by one nation and pauline hanson on 2 occasions, the pollies feigned indignation and promptly place their snouts back in the trough.

I have personally saved the taxpayer (me) many hundereds of diollars by not voting, I should be congratulated.  Grin

codswal

Reply #5 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 7:51am

hey pansi and bigol if you dont vote and then brag about it why are you on here whingeing about the govt or in your case backing them...seems pretty hypocritical to me... no you dont have to vote everyone knows that, but then you cant really whinge about the govt you have can you?.. as you have admitted you dont care what govt you have.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #6 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 8:28am

Cods

The good thing about not voting you don't have to justify your choices, like the labor voters are doing now. It makes not one iota of difference whether I vote or not in the big scheme of things, I am irrelevant, there will always be a deadshiat in parliment stuffing things up.

But, I do have every right to comment about the govenment since I do pay for them with my taxes.

Take away my obligation to pay tax and I would as quiet as a church mouse and just as warm and fuzzy  Grin

Reply #7 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 8:40am

cods, I pay tax too, so I can bag the government all I like. When the politicians can offer me something worth voting for, I will vote. I could never bring myself to vote for such a poo load of rubbish that they are dishing up to us at the moment. Gillard and Abbott are pathetic. They feed us a whole stream of absolute garbage, very few truths and expect the population to pick one of them, no way!

I will probably vote in this election though, independents or greens, and don't say a vote for greens is a vote for labor, because I choose my preferences.

George

Reply #8 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 8:55am

PANSI1951 It would be better if you chose NOT to vote in this election, as you clearly do not understand the very devastating implications to this country, of the Greens having the balance of power.   

" Ignorance is no excuse "

Reply #9 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 9:18am

George wrote on Jul 31st, 2010 at 8:55am:
PANSI1951 It would be better if you chose NOT to vote in this election, as you clearly do not understand the very devastating implications to this country, of the Greens having the balance of power.  

Oh I do. Whether Libs or Labor win, it is imperative that the greens have the balance of power.

The greens are the only party that are making any sense at the moment.

The greens will get record votes this year because the other two parties are right of centre, and Australia has a majority of leftist voters.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #10 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 9:27am

Oh I do. Whether Libs or Labor win, it is imperative that the greens have the balance of power.

I agree wholeheartedly, but unfortunately we have to give our preferences to someone - at least put one of the major parties last.

What astounds me about all these sustained attacks on Labor is that we've forgotten what it was like under the coalition.

Just for example -

The Coalition has said it would be prepared to adopt recommendations from the government review into the funding model set up by John Howard.

Opposition education spokesman Christopher Pyne has written to the Bishops Commission for Catholic Education promising to keep most of the Howard system, which gives elite private schools substantial sums on the basis of where students live.

That was a rort if there ever was one. The most expensive elite schools in NSW received the most funding.

What I have noticed with people making similar comments to yours George - is that you can't back up any of your attacks.

You pick up on a line of propaganda and run with it - not even understanding why you're spruiking it.

cockneydoll

Reply #11 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 10:08am

Ex Dame Pansi wrote on Jul 31st, 2010 at 9:18am:
George wrote on Jul 31st, 2010 at 8:55am:

Pansi have a look at their web site if you think that, they are as kooky as they come.

We''ll end up with a drug clinic in every street if they get their way

The greens are the only party that are making any sense at the moment.

The greens will get record votes this year because the other two parties are right of centre, and Australia has a majority of leftist voters.

laborfornever

Reply #12 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 11:00am

I haven't been on the roll for 20 years, how ever i registered this year to throw Rudd out and to stop this country from going bankrupt and to ensure a useless ETS does not get put in place.

BigOl64

Townsville QLD
Reply #13 - Jul 31st, 2010 at 11:55am

laborfornever wrote on Jul 31st, 2010 at 11:00am:
I haven't been on the roll for 20 years, how ever i registered this year to throw Rudd out and to stop this country from going bankrupt and to ensure a useless ETS does not get put in place.

L4N

Once your back on the roll it ain't so easy to get back off again, I had to move house twice before they lost me off their radar.  Grin

But at least your are voting because you truely believe in what your are doing, unlike most voters / sheeple.

You will always be welcomed back to the 'dark side'  Grin

jcheeverloophole

Reply #14 - Aug 1st, 2010 at 9:30pm

Buzz

In the Uk and maybe other countries as well Polling Day is midweek as you already know.

Under the 11 yrs of JW Howard, he 'reformed' the Commonwealth Electoral Act. As it stands new enrolments had a 3 days less to get on the roll for the first time. Already on the roll then you had another 4 days.

For all the whinging blue bloods, your boy Howard tweaked the Act, and you still moan and poke fun.

Some very unhappy perfectionists in Opposition...Where is julie Bishop on her leadership aspirations...still backing her man..err men