Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9
Election Debate: Gillard v's Abbott (Read 15502 times)
Equitist

Re: Election Debate: Gillard v's Abbott
Reply #30 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:04pm

Dnarever wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:59pm:
Probably the worst debate I have seen, I do not think either of them was the winner.

They both wasted my time.

Ditto!

Sappho wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:59pm:
No passion. No verve. Very lack luster. Indeed the commentary has more life than did those two leaders. This thread has more life than those two leaders.

I am left feeling that neither of them really want to be leaders of vision... that they... like a process worker... are just doing the time until retirement.

Heck, corporate meetings that I attend have more passion and verve that that public exercise in the art of being boring.

Agreed!

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #31 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:05pm

Equitist wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:02pm:
Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:52pm:
Equitist wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:51pm:
Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:37pm:
Equitist wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:33pm:
Crikey, did Abbott really stoop so low as to throw in a comment about voting based on the GENDER of the PM!?

WTF, is this guy for real!?

Do you not think that that could be a factor whatsoever?

Surely, what is more relevant, is the fact that a wannabe PM saw fit to make such an immature and petty statement!?

If it is a factor, then how can it be immature and petty?

I'll type slowly and try to explain it one more time: he was having an immature and petty dig at a significant portion of the e-l-e-c-t-o-r-a-t-e!

There is so much you just dont get about what happens in politics that I am truly astounded. it has been polled repeatedly that Gillard being female has raised labor's stakes. labor know it, liberals know it, the public knows it.... but nemesis doesnt nor does she accept it. You are starting to sound like the person who accepts ONLY their own beliefs and nothing else. you are wrong on almost every topic - and this is the reason why.

Reply #32 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:08pm

Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:51pm:
Dsmithy70 wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:44pm:
Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:37pm:
Equitist wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:33pm:
Crikey, did Abbott really stoop so low as to throw in a comment about voting based on the GENDER of the PM!?

WTF, is this guy for real!?

Do you not think that that could be a factor whatsoever?

Only for the .05% of hardcore feminists out there
Anyhow they've both already lost half of them, the Dykes on Bikes wanted same sex marriage Wink

I don't think even you believe that. Yo only have to look at commentary on the ABC Drum and the like for female commentators saying they were raising their fist in the air for women everywhere as well as comments on Australia having their first female PM (unelected). If you think that it has no influence (or 0.05%) then I say you are either sadly mistaken or ignorant

A few female commentars on the drum are even less than the figure I quoted.
Sorry I just dont think the gender argument carries any weight with the electorate.
Most know you vote for a party and policies not a person(as I argued when Julia took the leadership)

Cyberman

Reply #33 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:12pm

You are wrong

Sappho

Reply #34 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:17pm

Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:12pm:
Most know you vote for a party and policies not a person(as I argued when Julia took the leadership)
You are wrong

We vote for the vision that captures our imagination. We vote for the determination they show in that vision. We vote on their track record. Some of us... many of us... tho not me... will vote on their likability.

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

Equitist

Reply #35 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:19pm

FFS, some of you guys seem to have serious comprehension issues...

Why did you assume that I was talking about 'relevance' - rather than political maturity and savvy - in the first instance!?

Abbott wants to be PM.
He is trailing badly in the polls.
Women in particular don't much like him.
They think he's immature, petty, divisive &/or erratic.
Some call him a chauvanist.
Others reckon he's a mysoginist.
So, what does he do on national TV!?
He denigrates women in a pre-election debate!?
Great way to win them back over - NOT!!!
Get it!? Got it!? Good!?

(BTW, not referring to you on this, Smithy!)

Lamenting the shift in the Australian psyche, away from the egalitarian ideal of the fair-go - and the rise of short-sighted pollies, who worship the 'Growth Fairy' and seek to divide and conquer!

Reply #36 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:20pm

Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:12pm:
You are wrong

LOL, in your esteemed opinion Cheesy

Reply #37 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:20pm

For what it's worth, the Seven Network's
'worm'
(courtesy of AC Nielsen) called it a 53% win to Gillard

This pretty much reflects the recent opinion polls

Whether EITHER leader made no ground - or whether the audience stuck with pre-conceptions - we don't seem to have achieved a lot

I SHOULD have bought some wine for dinner
It might have all been slightly compelling
(The debate, not the dinner)

mozzaok

Reply #38 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:22pm

Well I was left with the feeling that we have got the politicians that we deserve.
I fear that with the age of instant media that we now have, all pollies are just focused on the quick grab, and using it to hold, or gain power.

I think we must consider five year terms, as the current system leaves our leaders paralysed with fear of taking any tough decisions, and merely seeking to placate the electorate into accepting borderline mediocrity as the most we should hope for.

Tonight's effort saw Gillard hold her own against Abbott, and she came across as more informed and confident, but still far too timid for my liking.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Sappho

Reply #39 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:24pm

I agree with having a 5 year term of govt. It's how business operates. It's how most people plan their personal lives.

"Love is a cunning weaver of fantasies and fables."

Cyberman

Reply #40 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:25pm

Considering the 'worm' has never been kind to Liberals, then 53% should be hailed as a decisive victory

Equitist

Reply #41 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:31pm

mozzaok wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:22pm:
Well I was left with the feeling that we have got the politicians that we deserve.
I fear that with the age of instant media that we now have, all pollies are just focused on the quick grab, and using it to hold, or gain power.

I think we must consider five year terms, as the current system leaves our leaders paralysed with fear of taking any tough decisions, and merely seeking to placate the electorate into accepting borderline mediocrity as the most we should hope for.

Tonight's effort saw Gillard hold her own against Abbott, and she came across as more informed and confident, but still far too timid for my liking.

Yup, I basically agree - except that I reckon the fixed 4 year election cycle (with maximum 2 terms for PMs) would be the way to go...

As for your comment that Gillard was too 'timid' - I mused over one of the voters on the ABC coverage (at Penrith I think) was put off by her condescending attitude towards Abbott.

Just goes to show that an assertive woman is still perceived by many to be aggressive, eh!?

Reply #42 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:32pm

thy

Abbott wants to be PM.
He is trailing badly in the polls.
Women in particular don't much like him.
They think he's immature, petty, divisive &/or erratic.
Some call him a chauvanist.
Others reckon he's a mysoginist.
So, what does he do on national TV!?
He denigrates women in a pre-election debate!?
Great way to win them back over - NOT!!!
Get it!? Got it!? Good!?

wadda load of leftard crap.

abbott sploe the truth and answered questions.
the gaunt mare did not and was pulled into line about it OFTEN.

women vote for her, no matter what she says.

punk

Reply #43 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:37pm

Sappho wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 7:59pm:
Heck, corporate meetings that I attend have more passion and verve that that public exercise in the art of being boring.

u work at centrelink shithead, u dont go to meetings with normal people

Equitist

Reply #44 - Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:37pm

Cyberman wrote on Jul 25th, 2010 at 8:25pm:
Considering the 'worm' has never been kind to Liberals, then 53% should be hailed as a decisive victory

Is it me, or was the worm's scale different to previous ones!?

Did it ever reach the very top or the very bottom of the scale shown!?

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 9