You're getting a bit homoerotic there, Sprint. Grin

Conviction is the art of being certain

Re: Tony Abbott
Reply #2 - Dec 1st, 2009 at 2:03pm

is this kevin rudd in a few years time ???

« Last Edit: Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:03am by Sprintcyclist »  

NorthOfNorth

Reply #3 - Dec 1st, 2009 at 4:24pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 1st, 2009 at 2:03pm:

More like this, they reckon....

Conviction is the art of being certain

Reply #4 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:03am

Tony Abbott is the real deal.

Some reporter asked him about the next election. He said it'll be a real fight.
He said the Libs get no backing from big business, big business does deals with Labour.
Libs will have to rely on ground swell and their foot soldiers.

There is a LOT of truth to that. If labor were true to their basic ideas I'ld probably vote for them.
It has been decades since labor has been for the worker.

mozzaok

Reply #5 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:48am

I agree Sprint, it is supremely frustrating that we have no political party we can really identify with as one that truly reflects the ideals, and aspirations, of the average aussie.
The average bloke is either a small business tradie, or a payg taxpayer, with a couple of cars, a mortgage, and a wife and two kids to support.

He wants to see good universal health cover, a fair social security system, where those unable to work, and those whose working life is over, are looked after properly.
He wants good schools, and a safe community for his family to live in.

He wants a tax system that is fair, and without punitive rates for those who wish to work harder, and longer, to then be over taxed because of it.

He wants to see his society protected, and to stop seeing money wasted on politically correct nonsense, like the indigenous lesbian dwarf tapdancing academy scholarship fund, but he does instead want real social issues that address equality and fairness supported.

He wants to see special interest groups stop being allowed to demand and receive special treatment because they happen to be able to organise lobby groups that seek disproportional allowances be made for them.

He doesn't care if you are atheist, hindu, muslim, jew, or christian, so long as you are foremost, aussie, and are willing to keep your spiritual hopes, and your secular responsibilities and desires separate.

He recognises that big business needs to be allowed an environment free enough to prosper, but still bound by legal and ethical constraints, that governments need to enforce.

He wants to see the environment protected, so his kids, and grandkids, and even the grandkid's, grandkids, can inherit a world that is in as good a shape as we can pass on to them.

He just wants a fair go.

Any ideas which party could best offer that?
lol, me neither. Sad

If we could get the best of each party, and just pick what we like from each, we could probably manage it.
So I may vote for the LABORnGREENnDEMOCRATnNATIONALnLIBERAL Party.
It is a pity they cannot work together a little better, we could all be so much better off for it.

OOPS!!! My Karma, ran over your Dogma!

Reply #6 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 7:52pm

Onya Mozzaok.
You're the only poster to have the guts to talk about Tony.
Tony's thrashed ruddy on their first face up.

Rhodes Scholar, Aussie Surf life saver, cyclist, pugilist, Budgie smuggler wearer.
i know boxers, very good opponents.

Soren

Reply #7 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 8:08pm

mozzaok wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:48am:
I agree Sprint, it is supremely frustrating that we have no political party we can really identify with as one that truly reflects the ideals, and aspirations, of the average aussie.
The average bloke is either a small business tradie, or a payg taxpayer, with a couple of cars, a mortgage, and a wife and two kids to support.

He wants to see good universal health cover, a fair social security system, where those unable to work, and those whose working life is over, are looked after properly.
He wants good schools, and a safe community for his family to live in.

He wants a tax system that is fair, and without punitive rates for those who wish to work harder, and longer, to then be over taxed because of it.

He wants to see his society protected, and to stop seeing money wasted on politically correct nonsense, like the indigenous lesbian dwarf tapdancing academy scholarship fund, but he does instead want real social issues that address equality and fairness supported.

He wants to see special interest groups stop being allowed to demand and receive special treatment because they happen to be able to organise lobby groups that seek disproportional allowances be made for them.

He doesn't care if you are atheist, hindu, muslim, jew, or christian, so long as you are foremost, aussie, and are willing to keep your spiritual hopes, and your secular responsibilities and desires separate.

He recognises that big business needs to be allowed an environment free enough to prosper, but still bound by legal and ethical constraints, that governments need to enforce.

He wants to see the environment protected, so his kids, and grandkids, and even the grandkid's, grandkids, can inherit a world that is in as good a shape as we can pass on to them.

He just wants a fair go.

Any ideas which party could best offer that?
lol, me neither. Sad

If we could get the best of each party, and just pick what we like from each, we could probably manage it.
So I may vote for the LABORnGREENnDEMOCRATnNATIONALnLIBERAL Party.
It is a pity they cannot work together a little better, we could all be so much better off for it.

he, he, he, always he...  What does the little lady want?

And the little lady's GLBTQ brother/sister? and their Indian cousin-by-marriage? and the Sri Lankan refugees? And the palestinian/iranian/iraqi/lebanese/australian refugees with legitimate ummah aspirations (non-violent, of course)?

Who's looking after them, MATE?!? Have you asked them what they want, mate??

You talk like it was your country, mate!

Wink Wink

Amadd

Mo

Reply #8 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 8:34pm

Is this a political interlude?

Costello retired, Turnbull gone, but you wouldn't even know it if you relied on this forum for political news.
Maybe it' just a sign that the Libs aren't seen as being any chance to take government in the near future - not while Labor is as right winged as they are anyway.
We could do with a new left wing party to vote for.

Soren

Reply #9 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 9:04pm

Au contraire.

it is high time for some greater polarity, sharper contrast.

howard was keating-lite, rudd howard-lite. can't have any more lightweight than Rudd. Turnbull tried it, look what happened.
What was he difefrence between Rudd and Turnbull?
Rudd and Hockey?

The mood for pussies is over. Look at Obama -  a lightwight. He is so inlusive, he doesn't know how to be an American President. To him everything is community outreach -bowing to the King of Araby, the Emperor of Japan - it's all community organising.

NZ had enough of Clarke. Blair is gone, Brown soon to follow. Canada, with a conservative government in the Howard mould,  is now the most odius nation for the likes of Monbiot. That must be an encouraging sign.

All of a suddent the Left is the old, fuddy-duddy, stuck in the past side of politics.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #10 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:02pm

it is high time for some greater polarity, sharper contrast

Exactly, it's no secret that we don't have a real left wing party to vote for anymore. I don't count the greens as being an alternative because their focus should stay as is.

Labor has moved to right and has made the liberals almost obsolete. Maybe this is just a natural progression of political teachings, but my cynical side says that a one party nation is a dictatorship. Even the unions (the basis of the Labor party) are under the thumb of a right winged system.

Reply #11 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:24pm

The true right wing basis is :

"The customer is always right"

Anyone who has ever ran a small business knows this. This is THE basis of every business.
It's the pure mathematical ecomonic fact.

Abbott knows this basic fact.

ETS is a crock of poo, everyone knows that.
kyoto, grocery watch, fuel watch, ruddbank, stimulus packages, educaton revolution revolution are all failed crocks of poo.

Everyone knows it.
"The customers always right"

Soren

Reply #12 - Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:34pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 3rd, 2009 at 10:24pm:
The true right wing basis is :

Anyone who has ever ran a small business knows this. This is THE basis of every business.
It's the pure mathematical ecomonic fact.

Abbott knows this basic fact.

ETS is a crock of poo, everyone knows that.
kyoto, grocery watch, fuel watch, ruddbank, stimulus packages, educaton revolution revolution are all failed crocks of poo.

Everyone knows it.
"The customers always right"

Not quite.
the true basis of conservative politics is individual liberty and responsibility. Conservatism is not about business or labour.

Social conservatism is more akin to environmental conervationism. It is about th preservation of what is worth keeping. In the case of social conservatism, in the end it is always individual liberty and responsibility. No business, no customer will trump that.

Amadd

Mo

Reply #13 - Dec 4th, 2009 at 12:01am

Let's take a cae in point of the customer always being right.

Do you think that the customer agrees that the banks should be able to skimp on interest rate cuts when the reserve bank lowers them, and then raise them further than the official reserve bank interest rate rise?

I'm sure that the customer disagrees with this, and rightfully so.
But what can they (we) do about it?
Can we demand to be paid in cash as should be our natural right?
Who would ever get a job these days if they demanded to be paid in cash?

The simplistic buyer seller (market will dictate terms) approach is all well and good in fantasy land, but how about the reality that people are greedy and they will use any means available to exploit their fellow man?
There is nothing surer besides death and taxes that if you leave yourself open to exploitation, then you will be exploited.

Forget trust and fairness, you have to fight every step of the way for a fair deal.
We've become such the apathetic herd of cattle that we wouldn't even know how to fight for a fair deal anymore. So I suppose we get what we deserve. Yay banks.

And what, pray tell, will Abbott do to instill a fairer system? Nothing. He'll make it even worse.
It's all about taking rights away, not conserving freedoms (which was once a worthwhile cause don't you think Soren?).

Forget the "basis" of any political party. That exists only in the imagination.
The real objective is to gain control without causing a revolution, because the wise know that revolutions  cause a huge stumbling block to the ultimate objective of total control.
Everybody wants to rule the world. That's the real basis of any party.

That's my rant  Grin

Reply #14 - Dec 4th, 2009 at 6:53am

amadd - excellent rant there too !!!!!!!!!

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 5