No driving at night if you’re 60 or older. (Read 737 times)
Daves2017

No driving at night if you’re 60 or older.
Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:28am

https://olskin.com.au/senior-drivers-in-australia/

“ From October 1, 2025, no Australians aged 60 and over will be permitted to drive between the hours of 10:00 PM and 05:00 AM. ”

Apparently the government will require anybody 60 or older to display a yellow star on their vehicle so police can identify and  round them up as efficiently as possible.

And before anyone takes the bait- it’s fake news.
« Last Edit: Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:42am by Daves2017 »  

I support the No Bonk Ban in Federal Government because I believe anything we can do to stop our current politicians from breeding is best for the future of our nation.

Leroy

Re: No driving at night if you’re 60 or older.
Reply #1 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:49am

They should also stop over 60's from going into Bunnings and clogging up the isles.

Trump derangement syndrome
Fareed Zakaria defined the term as "hatred of President Trump so intense that it impairs people's judgment"

Lets check in at 5pm on 23rd July 2025 then at 5pm on 30th July

Reply #2 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:49am

And before anyone takes the bait- it’s fake news

Seems to be a lot of that around lately regarding older drivers.

Some people obviously have too much spare time on their hands.

I was also going to say the the biggest danger to elderly drivers at night is all the young hoons roaring around the streets almost every night.

Heard a couple of these myself during the past week. The roar of cars hooning up and down the streets usually followed by the screaming of police sirens sometimes with the added "entertainment" of the noise of a police helicopter.

The 'record' so far (for me) is listening to a chase that lasted for about three quarters of an hour at nearly midnight just recently.

Reply #3 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:52am

Carl D wrote on Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:49am:

I was also going to say the the biggest danger to elderly drivers at night is all the young hoons roaring around the streets almost every night.

Heard a couple of these myself during the past week. The roar of cars hooning up and down the streets usually followed by the screaming of police sirens sometimes with the added "entertainment" of the noise of a police helicopter.

The 'record' so far (for me) is listening to a chase that lasted for about three quarters of an hour at nearly midnight just recently.

I think I heard that one.

I was staying in Carlisle at the time.

You hear lots of chases in that area at night, mainly because of Orrong Rd.

Reply #4 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 11:07am

Hey Greg.

The other one we've been getting here for some time now is the motorbike from hell.

It must be the loudest motorbike in Australia and possibly the entire world, probably has illegal exhaust modifications or something.

The owner would go roaring around the streets here late at night several times a week just to annoy everyone, so it would seem.

Actually, I haven't heard it for a couple of weeks now so maybe the police finally caught up with him? Here's hoping.

Daves2017

Reply #5 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 11:15am

Carl D wrote on Sep 5th, 2025 at 11:07am:
Hey Greg.

The other one we've been getting here for some time now is the motorbike from hell.

It must be the loudest motorbike in Australia and possibly the entire world, probably has illegal exhaust modifications or something.

The owner would go roaring around the streets here late at night several times a week just to annoy everyone, so it would seem.

Actually, I haven't heard it for a couple of weeks now so maybe the police finally caught up with him? Here's hoping.

I actually understand the reason why bikes are tricked up to be loud.
It’s to alert others on the road to their presence.

However being ridiculous loud is just someone with a need for attention mental illness.

I support the No Bonk Ban in Federal Government because I believe anything we can do to stop our current politicians from breeding is best for the future of our nation.

Reply #6 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 11:47am

Carl D wrote on Sep 5th, 2025 at 11:07am:
Hey Greg.

Yeah, I've heard that guy.

I think I saw him once near Lathlain oval.

Noisy bugger   Angry

Reply #7 - Sep 5th, 2025 at 12:52pm

Carl D wrote on Sep 5th, 2025 at 10:49am:

I used to hear that at night at Mum’s place, hoons then sirens. Here—blissfully silent at night.

OzPolitic needs a >real< Environment MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Food MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Health MRB now!
OzPolitic needs a >real< Economics MRB now!

Topics in the right MRB!

Reply #8 - Sep 7th, 2025 at 10:56am

Well, I'm happy to say that I've finally taken the plunge and got rid of my car on Friday. It was 15 years old (2010 Hyundai Getz) and it was getting more and more expensive to keep it running and I had no intention of ever buying another car.

The only reason I kept it for so long was so I could take my elderly aunt out shopping and socialising and to take her to medical appointments, etc. but now that she is sadly in full time aged care I decided it was time to go carless especially seeing as I'm on the age pension.

There's also too many dangerous idiots on the roads as well these days.

I get free travel outside peak hours Monday to Friday and all day weekends and public holidays on public transport with my WA Seniors Card so why pay for running a car if I don't need it? It's also quite easy to visit my aunt in aged care with public transport (I did that last Tuesday to try it out).

Just thinking about all the money I will now save on petrol, insurance, registration and repairs. In fact, when I took the number plates back to the licensing centre in Cannington on Friday they said they will give me a partial refund on the registration that I last renewed for 6 months in June. Cool.

I then took the short walk to the Beckenham train station (lucky I had my umbrella because it was cold and wet all day), caught the train into Perth City and cancelled my car insurance and roadside assist with RAC and they will be giving me a partial refund for those as well. Wow, I'm going to be rolling in the money. Might have to buy myself a new big screen TV.

I'll keep my drivers licence until it expires in 2028, it comes in handy for photo ID and also if I ever have to drive someone else's car for any reason.
« Last Edit: Sep 7th, 2025 at 3:53pm by Carl D »  

Daves2017

Reply #9 - Sep 7th, 2025 at 11:08am

Best decision ever. I wish I could do the same!

Definitely as I ( hopefully) near retirement I will be able to live with a reliable public transport system close by and ditch driving.

Don’t underestimate the value in a walk to keep you happy and healthy.

Regarding the idiots on the road I completely agree.

The longest construction of the shortest piece of road at the most expensive cost has finally after 5 years been completed on the m1 behind Palm beach ( Gold Coast).

It’s average quality but now it’s open and the speed limit has increased from zero a hour to 100 it’s just so much more dangerous.

People overtake on the inside, go slow in the fast lane, fail to indicate and just randomly cut across lanes as they realise that they are going past their exit.

I don’t drive without a camera on . It’s simply too dangerous.

The roads have never been better, our cars never safer, our road toll never higher.

I suggest it’s because drivers have never been so stupid!

Reply #10 - Sep 7th, 2025 at 5:15pm

I've been driving with front and rear dashcams for many years now. They really are a necessity these days.

I've kept both of my dashcams, they're pretty basic Blueskysea B1W's that were released in 2017 and I got mine in 2018.

They've worked well for me for 7 years (they are now unavailable because the company that was making them no longer makes dashcams).

You can even use them for home security and the 32GB cards I have in them give you about 4 hours of recording time before they 'loop back' and start recording over older footage.

Daves2017

Reply #11 - Sep 7th, 2025 at 6:50pm

Mate I am so jealous.

It’s like owning a boat…the happiest day in your life is when you sell it.

The money you will save is significant and might equal to a holiday.

My only concern is bad weather but that is why we Uber!

I guess you also are doing your bit for the environment!!

I hate cars and wish I could work without one.

P.s and no more looking for somewhere to park and driving laps around the block.

Did I mention i  am jealous 😤

Reply #12 - Sep 7th, 2025 at 7:15pm

Carl D wrote on Sep 7th, 2025 at 10:56am:
I'll keep my drivers licence until it expires in 2028, it comes in handy for photo ID and also if I ever have to drive someone else's car for any reason.

Keep it for as long as you can, or even your passport.

After being on the pension for 20 years Centrelink told both of my parents that if they didn't produce photo ID their pension would be cancelled.

Neither of them had a valid drivers licence or passport.

It was a nightmare for me to sort out.

Keep either you passport or licence current, even if you never plan to travel overseas or drive again.

Reply #13 - Sep 7th, 2025 at 8:05pm

Thanks Dave and Greg.

I'll wait and see what happens with the renewal of my drivers licence which will expire in April 2028.

If they toughen up on the requirements for older drivers to have their licences renewed like having to take medical and driving tests (I'll be 70 going on 71 by then) I might not bother with the licence and just get a photo ID card instead.

Apply for a photo card - WA Government

WA residents aged 16 and over can apply for a card that helps them prove their identity without a driver’s licence or passport.

I don't have an Australian passport but I do have a UK one which will expire in 2027 and I'm not sure at this stage if I'm going to renew it. Plenty of time to consider options, I guess?
« Last Edit: Sep 7th, 2025 at 8:54pm by Carl D »  

Reply #14 - Sep 8th, 2025 at 2:28am

Carl D wrote on Sep 7th, 2025 at 10:56am:
Well, I'm happy to say that I've finally taken the plunge and got rid of my car on Friday. It was 15 years old (2010 Hyundai Getz) and it was getting more and more expensive to keep it running and I had no intention of ever buying another car.

The only reason I kept it for so long was so I could take my elderly aunt out shopping and socialising and to take her to medical appointments, etc. but now that she is sadly in full time aged care I decided it was time to go carless especially seeing as I'm on the age pension.

There's also too many dangerous idiots on the roads as well these days.

I get free travel outside peak hours Monday to Friday and all day weekends and public holidays on public transport with my WA Seniors Card so why pay for running a car if I don't need it? It's also quite easy to visit my aunt in aged care with public transport (I did that last Tuesday to try it out).

Just thinking about all the money I will now save on petrol, insurance, registration and repairs. In fact, when I took the number plates back to the licensing centre in Cannington on Friday they said they will give me a partial refund on the registration that I last renewed for 6 months in June. Cool.

I then took the short walk to the Beckenham train station (lucky I had my umbrella because it was cold and wet all day), caught the train into Perth City and cancelled my car insurance and roadside assist with RAC and they will be giving me a partial refund for those as well. Wow, I'm going to be rolling in the money. Might have to buy myself a new big screen TV.

Great move.
We have small carrier bags on our pushbikes and do some shopping on our bikes.

Using a bike for shopping is a lot of fun, a good activity and very economic. There's not much can be carried on 2 bikes. By necessity I can't buy much when on our bikes.