Environment of flowers. (Read 2482 times)

Environment of flowers.
Nov 10th, 2022 at 3:20pm

I think as we're well into Spring and near Summer
it's time to post some flower pics from around your place.
Please keep them no larger than 700 x 700 pixels.
Here are 2 from close to me taken with my mobile phone:

Re: Environment of flowers.
Reply #1 - Nov 11th, 2022 at 7:12am

Some more flowers on remembrance day Nov. 11 2022
after it rained overnight.
Lest we forget.
I took these only 20 minutes ago.

Reply #2 - Nov 12th, 2022 at 10:06pm

Victoria really is the garden state -
the rain and warm weather has brought them out.
I took some more flower photos today.

Reply #3 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 2:47am

Thanks Bobby.
I took a native flower piccie today. How do I post it here?

Reply #4 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 5:14am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 2:47am:
Thanks Bobby.

Hi Sprint.
First of all you need to resize your pic for say
a maximum of 700 pixels wide and make sure it's smaller than 250K - I think?
Make sure it's saved as a .jpg

You can use Microsoft Paint to do that which is part of: Win7, 10 & 11.
One way to post is to click Browse when you reply and select the picture file.
I use Photoshop as it's more powerful.

Another way is to upload the pic to an image hosting site
such as  https://imgbb.com/
and then get the .jpg link for it.
See here:
https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?action=help#Replying_to_a_Post
under insert image.

Reply #5 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 5:46am

We have a pollen problem in Melbourne now.
There are fears of thunderstorm asthma.
The weeds are growing fast and now they're flowering.
The grass curbs and other areas are overgrown with weeds.
They are still pretty flowers:

The humble daisy - flat weeds growing like crazy everywhere:

Blackberries are growing like a super weed - but I love eating them:

This flower is unidentified on a tree.

Reply #6 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:26pm

Come on Ozpolitians - post some pics.  Smiley

Reply #7 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 8:06pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 5:14am:
Thanks Bobby.

Hi Sprint.

See here:
under insert image.

Thanks, I'll get onto it.
may take a few days

Reply #8 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 8:26pm

Nikon FT2, 35mm, Fuji ASA 50 film.

Reply #9 - Nov 16th, 2022 at 7:50pm

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1593303377

Monk posted 2 flower pictures that are worthy of my MRB:

Reply #10 - Nov 18th, 2022 at 8:25pm

I got some more photos today -
I'll post only 2 of them here now and more over the next few days:

Reply #11 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 6:18am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 18th, 2022 at 8:25pm:
I got some more photos today -
I'll post only 2 of them here now and more over the next few days:

https://i.ibb.co/BTHdTpf/Flower-and-a-bee.jpg

https://i.ibb.co/4FqwNXR/Flowers-18th-Nov-2022.jpg

Nice 😎

Reply #12 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 8:48am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 6:18am:
Nice 😎

Thanks Lisa - here are 2 more:

Reply #13 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:16am

Bobby this topic is a breath of fresh air. As an avid gardener I'm loving 🥰 it.

Got a question for you though : WHEN do Mother's Day flowers bloom? Let's be more specific  ... when do they bloom in Sydney Australia?

(I'm currently looking at the date AND my Mother's Day flowers which are happily blooming away in one of my garden beds.)

Reply #14 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:28am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:16am:
Bobby this topic is a breath of fresh air. As an avid gardener I'm loving 🥰 it.

Got a question for you though : WHEN do Mother's Day flowers bloom? Let's be more specific  ... when do they bloom in Sydney Australia?

(I'm currently looking at the date AND my Mother's Day flowers which are happily blooming away in one of my garden beds.)

Thanks Lisa,
Mother's day is next May.
I'm not sure which flowers will be blooming then.

Here's my last pic from yesterday - a feijoa  tree.

https://sandrasgardenblog.wordpress.com/2020/12/07/tree-of-the-moment-feijoa/

Acca sellowiana is native to the highlands of southern Brazil, eastern Paraguay, Uruguay, northern Argentina, and Colombia, but grows very well in much of New Zealand. Kiwis will spot the family relationship feijoas have with our native pohutukawa, thanks to the flowers and leaves being so similar. Both are members of the Myrtaceae (myrtle) family.

Originally named Feijoa sellowiana, German botanist Ernst Berger was honouring João da Silva Feijó, a Portuguese naturalist, and Friedrich Sellow, the German who first collected specimens of feijoa in southern Brazil.

« Last Edit: Nov 21st, 2022 at 8:34am by Bobby. »  

Reply #15 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:33am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 12:26pm:

I'll go and take a pic of some of our Mother's Day flowers (my favourite are the deep blood red ones). Before I do so ... I'll write up a note with today's date/time and I'll dedicate the shot to you. Ok Bobby?

Edit : Actually ... I'll even take a shot of one of my 4 choko vines. Yep...we've got chokos growing. EVERYWHERE! They've taken over adjoining neighbourhood yards too 🥺

In fact I reckon I'll start HARVESTING chokos BEFORE December <--- that's when I normally start looking around for an over ripe choko to PLANT. Not this year....here we are staring at chokos and Mother's Day flowers happily growing away in our own garden. In November. 😳

Reply #16 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:37am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:33am:

I'll go and take a pic of some of our Mother's Day flowers (my favourite are the deep blood red ones). Before I do so ... I'll write up a note with today's date/time and I'll dedicate the shot to you. Ok Bobby?

Edit : Actually ... I'll even take a shot of one of my 4 choko vines. Yep...we've got chokos growing. EVERYWHERE! They've taken over adjoining neighbourhood yards too 🥺

In fact I reckon I'll start HARVESTING chokos BEFORE December <--- that's when I normally start looking around for an over ripe choko to PLANT. Not this year....here we are staring at chokos and Mother's Day flowers happily growing away in our own garden. In November. 😳

OK - go ahead Lisa - I look forward to it.

That last pic is so beautiful I'll post it again:

Reply #17 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:52am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:37am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:33am:

OK - go ahead Lisa - I look forward to it.

That last pic is so beautiful I'll post it again:

https://i.ibb.co/92xkrFp/Flowers-18th-Nov-2022-b.jpg

It doesn't look real. By that I mean it looks too amazingly perfect.

Love it!

Hey .... guess my favourite tree! Hint : It starts with J.

Reply #18 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 11:04am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:52am:

Love it!

It's real and taken with a low priced mobile phone!

J?

Jacaranda ?

Reply #19 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 11:37am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 11:04am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:52am:

Love it!

It's real and taken with a low priced mobile phone!

J?

Jacaranda ?

Wow!

And YESSSSSS!

I LOVE Jacaranda trees ESPECIALLY when their gorgeous purple flowers spray everywhere across lawns. The resultant look is so soft and romantic. Just beautiful!

Reply #20 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 12:02pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 11:37am:
Wow!

And YESSSSSS!

I LOVE Jacaranda trees ESPECIALLY when their gorgeous purple flowers spray everywhere across lawns. The resultant look is so soft and romantic. Just beautiful!

yes - one of my favorites too -
this was taken Xmas 2019 by me:

Reply #21 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 8:13pm

I got 2 more today that were worth posting:

Reply #22 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:20pm

Oh wow! Those pics look very clear and crisp.

Tomorrow should be an easier/less busy day here. I'll have a bit more time to transplant a few of my Mother's Day flowers into pots for a few neighbours so I'll be out there nice n early. Re chokos .. 1 neighbour has now indicated she wants my 1st choko lol. It should be ready by next week. I'm giving this particular neighbour as many chokos as she wants (she has breast cancer and her husband was recently diagnosed with pancreatic cancer). The lovely couple are in their 70's but have always worked very hard running businesses all their adult lives. Very sad situation there. 🥺

Anyway I'll place my iPhone in my pocket and whilst I'm out there ... I'll take a few pics for you tomorrow Bobby. Cheers.

Reply #23 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:22pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:20pm:

Tomorrow should be an easier/less busy day here. I'll have a bit more time to transplant a few of my Mother's Day flowers into pots for a few neighbours so I'll be out there nice n early. Re chokos .. 1 neighbour has now indicated she wants my 1st choko lol. It should be ready by next week. I'm giving this particular neighbour as many chokos as she wants (she has breast cancer and her husband was recently diagnosed with pancreatic cancer). The lovely couple are in their 70's but have always worked very hard running businesses all their adult lives. Very sad situation there. 🥺

Anyway I'll place my iPhone in my pocket and whilst I'm out there ... I'll take a few pics for you tomorrow Bobby. Cheers.

No worries,
thanks Lisa.

Reply #24 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:31pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:22pm:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:20pm:

No worries,
thanks Lisa.

You're more than welcome Bobby.

I love this topic ... and I love your shots! They look professional too!

Reply #25 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:38pm

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 9:31pm:
You're more than welcome Bobby.

I love this topic ... and I love your shots! They look professional too!

Thanks Lisa,
all the pics are taken with a low priced mobile phone.
No $1,000 mobiles needed.
You don't need an expensive mobile or a DSLR camera to take nice photos -
especially at the small size of 700 pixels wide.
With mine I do have to tell it what to focus on -
just by pressing on the screen the center of the flower of interest.
It's that easy.

Reply #26 - Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:23pm

Bobby. wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 8:13pm:

Magnificent.
Am wearied, will post the one I spoke of tomorrow.
Thanks Bobby

Reply #27 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 9:23am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 10:23pm:
Bobby. wrote on Nov 19th, 2022 at 8:13pm:

Magnificent.
Am wearied, will post the one I spoke of tomorrow.
Thanks Bobby

Good on you Sprint! I now love coming to OzPol BECAUSE of this sub forum (and in particular this topic).

Re gardening and flowers etc ... I've been up since 6 am watering away and plugging in my early morning chores. I'm now at the stage where I've showered, dressed, had my morning coffee, sorted out the family ( they're showered, breakfasted and off with Dad to visit their cousins this morning )  and I've got washing machine load no 2 going.

That means I'm ready to get out there with this iPhone and start taking snaps. Let me prep a Good Morning OzPol by Lisa Jones dated 20 Nov first.

Edit : Damn these bloody strong winds...our usual Sunday midday bbq is definitely not happening today 🥺☹️😐

Reply #28 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:12am

Let's see if this comes up.

Reply #29 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:23am

Just took this shot .... bloody windy here this morning ☹️

Reply #30 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:27am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:23am:
Just took this shot .... bloody windy here this morning ☹️

Thanks Lisa but what have you done?
That picture is too small at only 37K so
it's come out tiny and blurry.
Try to aim for 700 pixels wide and about 200K in size.

Reply #31 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:30am

Here is another one Bobby. Too windy here and I'm holding my shout out card for dear life ☹️

Reply #32 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:35am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 8:06pm:
Thanks Bobby.

Hi Sprint.

See here:
under insert image.

may take a few days

I am totally lost.

could not find a 'browse' button

Reply #33 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:41am

Now ....THIS is just an example of what typically happens to me when I bury vege scraps. I end up with way too much in the way of whatever it is I've buried. In this case it's tomatoes and I start giving them away in large pots. I need to transplant these into pots and give these to others as I've already planted 20 tomato plants here sigh.

Reply #34 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:45am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:35am:
Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 13th, 2022 at 8:06pm:
Thanks Bobby.

Hi Sprint.

See here:
under insert image.

may take a few days

I am totally lost.

could not find a 'browse' button

I am using Firefox and while I reply I see a browse button below my post.

Reply #35 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:45am

Not a good shot as it's terribly windy but I will come back to this area of my garden AFTER the wind goes away.

This snap captures 3 different plants growing together.

My purple coloured hydrangeas (my fav flowers are hydrangeas and I now have every colour 😎).

If you know your vines then you will be able to differentiate btwn the grape vine and the choko vine. These are growing around the hydrangea.

Note : all the above plants I propagated/planted myself.

I no longer buy plants from Bunnings...not even seedlings 🌱

Once this wind goes away I'll take snaps of my "laboratory" ie where I muck around with transplanting and propagating plants.

Reply #36 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:46am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:30am:
Here is another one Bobby. Too windy here and I'm holding my shout out card for dear life ☹️

Tomatoes already!
However your picture is too small to show the wonder of you work.

Reply #37 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:53am

Bobby. wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:46am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:30am:

Tomatoes already!
However your picture is too small to show the wonder of your work.

Yep! We've been eating home grown tomatoes all November.

It's not my work. It's the wonder of God's workmanship Bobby.

And right now I'm hoping God takes that awful wind away as I've got these little chokos (which I hope don't fly away) 🥺

Reply #38 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:58am

Bobby I might email you my snaps. Let me do that and then you can post them up. For whatever reason you seem to be the Master of posting up pics lol.

Here's an action plan : I'll take the snaps later on this afternoon when the wind dies down and send them off to you via email.

Note : I'll keep that little lavender coloured shout out note and include it in all the snaps too.

How does that sound Bobby?

Reply #39 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 11:04am

Lisa Jones wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 10:58am:
Bobby I might email you my snaps. Let me do that and then you can post them up. For whatever reason you seem to be the Master of posting up pics lol.

Here's an action plan : I'll take the snaps later on this afternoon when the wind dies down and send them off to you via email.

Note : I'll keep that little lavender coloured shout out note and include it in all the snaps too.

OK but do you have your mobile phone set to take only tiny pictures?

Reply #40 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 1:17pm

Can I do that too please?

Reply #41 - Nov 20th, 2022 at 4:26pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Nov 20th, 2022 at 1:17pm:

Can I do that too please?

Sure you can but maybe it's worthwhile for
you to learn how to resize and post a picture?
It's really very easy.

Reply #42 - Dec 4th, 2022 at 7:29pm

From yesterday:

Reply #43 - Dec 4th, 2022 at 7:36pm

Lovely.

Flowers are really good to grow.
They take almost 0 nutrients from the soil

Reply #44 - Dec 4th, 2022 at 7:38pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 4th, 2022 at 7:36pm:
Lovely.

And the bees like them.

Reply #45 - Dec 4th, 2022 at 8:10pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 4th, 2022 at 7:38pm:
Lovely.

And the bees like them.

And the butterflies, birds, many insects.

Reply #46 - Dec 4th, 2022 at 8:15pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 4th, 2022 at 8:10pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 4th, 2022 at 7:38pm:
Lovely.

And the bees like them.

And the butterflies, birds, many insects.

That's true:

Reply #47 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 4:23pm

Ok! I just found this thread about flowers  Smiley

I went to fill up bin as it has to be put out tonight for morning collection… now we’ve had 2 hot days in Melbourne… and today (Monday) it is quite cool and raining now…I saw the flowers covered in droplets of rain and took a pic just now to put up in here.
PS…. Bobby I know you’ve told me before about resizing but can you put it in step by step how to please  Smiley

resized for you

I added width=506 height=676 into the link

Reply #48 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 4:29pm

Beautiful pic Sophia.
Thanks.

I gave instructions for posting and resizing on the first page:

Reply #7 - Nov 13th, 2022 at 9:06pm

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1668057633/0
« Last Edit: Dec 5th, 2022 at 4:35pm by Bobby. »  

Reply #49 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:03pm

That imgbb site wanted my credit card… it’s not free?
I will have to find a way to resize from my phone. I will see what apps I can get.
The Imgur one is okay and used to have resize capabilities but not quite so lately.

Reply #50 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:09pm

Sophia wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:03pm:
That imgbb site wanted my credit card… it’s not free?
I will have to find a way to resize from my phone. I will see what apps I can get.
The Imgur one is okay and used to have resize capabilities but not quite so lately.

You don't have to pay a penny.
Just click start uploading.

Resizing?
(I use Photoshop as it's more powerful.)

Reply #51 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:19pm

In the apps they want .99c
In your link they say free but want all my credit card details,
I’m not giving it.
Will find another app

Reply #52 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:21pm

Sophia wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:19pm:
In the apps they want .99c
In your link they say free but want all my credit card details,
I’m not giving it.
Will find another app

I'm using Mozilla Firefox from a desktop computer.
I don't have to pay anything.

You can always resize on your mobile or computer and
upload to Ozpolitic by clicking browse when you are making your post.

Reply #53 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:51pm

Some stuffing around with different apps to resize and save then upload and put on here. I would love to put up more flower photos I’ve taken recently … let’s see if all that effort worked out for sizing ….

Anyway…. Kangaroo Paw

Reply #54 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 7:53pm

Nice -  thanks.

Reply #55 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 8:24pm

Reply #56 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 8:35pm

Reply #57 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 8:41pm

I have a Triffid in my yard.
It's on a leash.
But I've got to be careful when I water it.

Reply #58 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:03pm

Jasin wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 8:41pm:
It's on a leash.

Just be as good as Sophia and post some nice pics.

Reply #59 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:19pm

It's on a leash.

That reminded me of something! A house we had up in Hervey Bay once… has these weird growing crawling vine type plants… reaching up to second floor and no matter how much we trimmed it back (and there were fast invisible biting things living amidst it!!!)
It kept growing and one day… when daughter went up there and took a photo of these weird plants going over the rail and into the veranda towards the house!
It freaked me out and I said… it’s like that movie the day of the triffids!
She didn’t know about it and I explained.
She thought it looked cool.
I was so annoyed at this taker over that it took several attempts by hubby’s chain saw to rid of it.
Was still growing and surviving from the stumps in the ground.
Well there was more effort to stop it.
Finally we did it, so triffids they were!  Shocked
Daughter visiting after work tomorrow and I will ask if she can locate that photo!

Reply #60 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 10:01pm

This is one of the better threads here.
Thanks

Reply #61 - Dec 5th, 2022 at 10:04pm

Sophia wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:19pm:
It's on a leash.

That reminded me of something! A house we had up in Hervey Bay once… has these weird growing crawling vine type plants… reaching up to second floor and no matter how much we trimmed it back (and there were fast invisible biting things living amidst it!!!)
It kept growing and one day… when daughter went up there and took a photo of these weird plants going over the rail and into the veranda towards the house!
It freaked me out and I said… it’s like that movie the day of the triffids!
She didn’t know about it and I explained.
She thought it looked cool.
I was so annoyed at this taker over that it took several attempts by hubby’s chain saw to rid of it.
Was still growing and surviving from the stumps in the ground.
Well there was more effort to stop it.
Finally we did it, so triffids they were!  Shocked
Daughter visiting after work tomorrow and I will ask if she can locate that photo!

Wow.

An app called google lens can help identify plants.
I was recommended it, it works pretty well

https://lens.google/

Reply #62 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:14am

This is an unidentified flower from the internet.
3 different plant sites couldn't identify it.

Reply #63 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:19am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:14am:

https://media.gab.com/cdn-cgi/image/width=700,quality=100,fit=scale-down/system/...

maybe a Phalaenopsis.
Moth orchid

Reply #64 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:23am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:19am:

https://media.gab.com/cdn-cgi/image/width=700,quality=100,fit=scale-down/system/...

maybe a Phalaenopsis.
Moth orchid

Don't think so.
I wasn't going to have an app permanently running on my computer
just to identify a flower as per here:
https://lens.google/

Reply #65 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:54am

How beautiful they are!!! I want some!

Reply #66 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 12:49pm

Sophia wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:54am:

Me too - they are so beautiful - looks like it's an Aqua color?
They could be orchids?

https://www.yates.com.au/how-to-grow/moth-orchids/

Reply #67 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:46pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 5th, 2022 at 9:03pm:
It's on a leash.

Damn thing took a swipe at me today.
I guess it didn't like the stray cat I fed it last night.

Reply #68 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:46pm

Me too

Reply #69 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:46pm

Now that's a beauty.

Reply #70 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:47pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:46pm:

Me too

Is it possible that they put Aqua dye into the plant's water?
Aqua is a strange color for any flower.

Reply #71 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 2:10pm

Jasin wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 1:46pm:
It's on a leash.

Triffids have a sensitive diet

Reply #72 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 2:19pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 2:10pm:
It's on a leash.

3 weeks ago. I think someone tried to break into my place through the back door. I came home to find a pair of boots and regurgitated clothes on the step next to my fat looking Triffid of 3m height.

Reply #73 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:07pm

Jasin wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 2:19pm:
It's on a leash.

3 weeks ago. I think someone tried to break into my place through the back door. I came home to find a pair of boots and regurgitated clothes on the step next to my fat looking Triffid of 3m height.

Grin Grin
Better than a watch dog!

Reply #74 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 6:52pm

Lamb's Ear flowers with a bee.

Reply #75 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:30pm

Nice photo.

Reply #76 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:32pm

Sophia wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 4:07pm:
Jasin wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 2:19pm:
It's on a leash.

Grin Grin
Better than a watch dog!

Probably why it took a swipe at me for feeding it a stray cat.
Once it has tasted human, it probably won't settle for something less now. Shocked

Reply #77 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:53pm

Alright - I've had this photo checked by an orchid expert.
He says that yes - it's an orchid but the color is suspect -
it has either had Aqua color dye added to the plant's water
or it has been photo-shopped to give it the Aqua color.

Reply #78 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:54pm

Jasin wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:30pm:
Nice photo.

Thanks - it is pretty and it's an unusual plant -

Reply #79 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:34pm

The expert is right - this is how they dye Orchids:

DIY Blue Orchid - How blue Phalaenopsis Orchids are made.

Reply #80 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:15pm

Why Did My Blue Orchid Turn White?

https://laidbackgardener.blog/2015/09/22/4113/

The blue dye needed to color an orchid is not available to home gardeners.
Besides, the growers that color orchids have no desire to share their technique with us:
they want to keep it secret.

Reply #81 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:26pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:54pm:
Nice photo.

https://media.gab.com/system/media_attachments/files/122/024/374/original/60cf69...

Nice bee in it too.
Plant is possibly a Stachys.

I never heard of it before

Reply #82 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:15pm:
Why Did My Blue Orchid Turn White?

https://laidbackgardener.blog/2015/09/22/4113/

[url]https://i0.wp.com/laidbackgardener.blog/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/or
chid-748534_1280.jpg[/url]

The blue dye needed to color an orchid is not available to home gardeners.
Besides, the growers that color orchids have no desire to share their technique with us:
they want to keep it secret.

Amazing

Reply #83 - Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:31pm

Sprintcyclist wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 10:26pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 8:54pm:
Nice photo.

https://media.gab.com/system/media_attachments/files/122/024/374/original/60cf69...

Nice bee in it too.
Plant is possibly a Stachys.

I never heard of it before

It's a Lamb's-Ear.

Stachys byzantina

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Stachys_byzantina

Reply #84 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 8:27am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 6th, 2022 at 9:34pm:
The expert is right - this is how they dye Orchids:

DIY Blue Orchid - How blue Phalaenopsis Orchids are made.

Regardless, it looks a lot better with the dye put in. I recommend using a syringe to put the dye in.
People do it to Canaries.

Reply #85 - Dec 7th, 2022 at 6:35pm

Jasin wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 8:27am:
Regardless, it looks a lot better with the dye put in. I recommend using a syringe to put the dye in.

But it's cheating.  LOL

I found a new flower today.
I think it's a Wild Iris.

Reply #86 - Dec 8th, 2022 at 8:59am

Reply #87 - Dec 8th, 2022 at 10:18am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 6:35pm:
Jasin wrote on Dec 7th, 2022 at 8:27am:

But it's cheating.  LOL

I found a new flower today.
I think it's a Wild Iris.

https://media.gab.com/system/media_attachments/files/122/101/214/original/1bb932...

noice

Reply #88 - Dec 8th, 2022 at 4:28pm

The rainfall and cool conditions in Melbourne
is bringing out flowers everywhere today:

Reply #89 - Dec 11th, 2022 at 9:14pm

Melbourne is truly the garden state.
Took some more flower photos while it was raining.

Reply #90 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 12:49am

stuffing around with sd card in my desk top puter and resizing...at least the internet is not as slow at this time of night.
All these are from my higgly piggly garden  Grin I like weird stuff like my star wars gnomes!

and a spooky moon pic too!

Reply #91 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 12:50am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 8:59am:

I love this one!

Reply #92 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 5:23am

Sophia wrote on Dec 12th, 2022 at 12:49am:
stuffing around with sd card in my desk top puter and resizing...at least the internet is not as slow at this time of night.
All these are from my higgly piggly garden  Grin I like weird stuff like my star wars gnomes!

Very nice pics -
how did you take that Moon pic?
Do you have a telephoto on a DSLR?

Reply #93 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 5:25am

Sophia wrote on Dec 12th, 2022 at 12:50am:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 8th, 2022 at 8:59am:

I love this one!

Yes it looks almost too good to be real?

Reply #94 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 7:52am

Dracula simian orchids

Reply #95 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 8:07am

Frank wrote on Dec 12th, 2022 at 7:52am:

Wow - I thought you were joking but they are real:    Shocked

https://orchideria.com/dracula-orchids/
« Last Edit: Dec 12th, 2022 at 8:14am by Bobby. »  

Reply #96 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 10:20am

Oh that's just retarded!  Tongue

Reply #97 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 10:21am

Nice moon pic Soph.

Reply #98 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 11:57am

Bobby. wrote on Dec 12th, 2022 at 5:23am:
Sophia wrote on Dec 12th, 2022 at 12:49am:

Very nice pics -
how did you take that Moon pic?
Do you have a telephoto on a DSLR?

I have taken moon pics hand held with a canon power shot 50 optical zoom

https://www.dpreview.com/reviews/canon-powershot-sx50-hs

I’ve got a pro dslr Nikon 750D but…out of all cameras I’ve had… I like this canon zoom the best! Very versatile. There’s a 65 optical zoom out currently but I heard on the grapevine… there’s yet another bigger canon power shot zoom in the making!
I’ve taken some awesome flower pics with the Nikon…but need to find them in the millions of photos I have! Eventually I will put them up.

Reply #99 - Dec 12th, 2022 at 11:59am

Frank wrote on Dec 12th, 2022 at 7:52am:

OMG that’s so weird! But hilarious! Imagine giving a bunch of monkey faced flowers to anyone!  Grin

Reply #100 - Jan 9th, 2023 at 1:06pm

At the local garden nursery today - orchids: