no more migrants (Read 1541 times)

no more migrants
Oct 14th, 2021 at 8:55am

The study has found that the majority of Australians want less, not more migrants.
They believe that we should be skilling up our own rather than importing "skilled" migrants.

Re: no more migrants
Reply #1 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 10:31am

Yep however once our borders open - what Australians want won't matter. Unfortunately 😩

Ayn Marx

South of Australia
Reply #2 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:39pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 8:55am:
The study has found that the majority of Australians want less, not more migrants.
They believe that we should be skilling up our own rather than importing "skilled" migrants.
Yes, it would be sensible to skill up or own but there’s one big problem staring us in the face we refuse to see. As ocean levels rise ( No, I’m not going to argue about the science pro or con) low lying nations such as Bangladesh will somehow make their way to our shores believing they’ll be safer here. Has anyone thought how we’d prevent the millions who survive such a trecherous journey from landing? Our turning a blind eye to Pacific Islanders who are already starting to sink indicates ’true-blue ozzies' are in for a very big shock, or a few million .

The Human Race is Insane

Ayn Marx

South of Australia
Reply #3 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:40pm

We tend not to ‘import’ them but hire them on crap wages and once we've finished with them send them back.

The Human Race is Insane

Reply #4 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:50pm

Ayn Marx wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:40pm:

We tend not to ‘import’ them but hire them on crap wages and once we've finished with them send them back.

Immigrants must - by law - be paid the same minimum wage as Australians.

Reply #5 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:03pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:50pm:

And if you believe that.

I have a nice cheap bridge on London for sale.......

Reply #6 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:51pm

another useless thread.

The article is illegible. It could say the opposite of valkies claim for all I know, and knowing Valkie, it probably does

Reply #7 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:53pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:03pm:

And if you believe that.

It's not about belief - it's a fact.

Reply #8 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:05pm

Just last night on Novosti
(is News Tovarich)
they said that our building section - once lockdown was over - would 'need' 70,000 new tradies, engineers and so forth....

Well -  WTF happened to all the tradies we've got now, some of whom haven't been able to work etc?

We are being prepared for another inload of allegedly skilled people from Balbagistan..... the government propaganda machine is already in full swing..... my question is why they are so determined to reduce Australia to Non-Australia..... Cultural Cringe or something?

Get rid of the bloody lot!  The politicians and public servants that is - we are NOT part of Asia.... we live in the Asian-Indian-Pacific Basin - but we do not belong to the Region.  I've explained that to yez before, and note that European nations who trade etc here also belong to the Region but not the locality.

Let the People Decide!!
« Last Edit: Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:12pm by Grappler Truth Teller Feller »  

Reply #9 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:11pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:53pm:

And if you believe that.

well thats not true.
Minimum salary requirement ‘doesn’t add up’ for 457 visa workers
https://www.migrationsolutions.com.au/minimum-salary-requirement-doesnt-add-up-for-457-visa-workers/
lol, and I will remind you of something else (again). The Indian security guards employed in the Covid hotels are getting paid below the  award which i previously informed you of, you agreed and stated it wasnt right.

Reply #10 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:13pm

There is a world of difference between what is required and what people will try to get away with...

Reply #11 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:17pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:51pm:
another useless thread.

The article is illegible. It could say the opposite of valkies claim for all I know, and knowing Valkie, it probably does
Most of what he posts is illiterate nonsense. I like it when he tries to pretend he  has an education but doesnt know the meaning of basic words.

Reply #12 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:18pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:13pm:
There is a world of difference between what is required and what people will try to get away with...
or are getting away with and have been for years. The 457 visa scheme is a massive rort for employers to underpay wages.

Reply #13 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:33pm

rhino wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:11pm:
greggerypeccary wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 4:53pm:

And if you believe that.

well thats not true.
Minimum salary requirement ‘doesn’t add up’ for 457 visa workers
https://www.migrationsolutions.com.au/minimum-salary-requirement-doesnt-add-up-for-457-visa-workers/
lol, and I will remind you of something else (again). The Indian security guards employed in the Covid hotels are getting paid below the  award which i previously informed you of, you agreed and stated it wasnt right.

You need to brush up on your English comprehension skills.

There are people all over Australia - migrants and locals - who are being paid under the Award, and under the minimum wage.

Nobody would ever deny that.

I'm merely stating what's required by law.

i.e. everyone - by law - must be paid at least the minimum wage.

Nobody has ever claimed that employers don't break the law - quite the contrary, in fact.

Reply #14 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:34pm

Exactly.

Scumbag employers all over the country underpay employees everyday.

Reply #15 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 6:48pm

rhino wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:18pm:
or are getting away with and have been for years. The 457 visa scheme is a massive rort for employers to underpay wages.

So true - a deliberate error compounded by 'workplace agreements' that confuse many, some deliberately so as to be 'confused' about the rate they should be paying.

That was the whole raison d'etre of WorkChoices.... to muddy the waters to enable pirates to lower incomes to workers.  All it has done, in reality, is blast the contest between lower incomes and wage requirements (not demands) into the stratosphere alongside William Shatner... and thus exacerbate inflation and industrial unrest and lower work ethic and productivity...

In short terms, exploitation doesn't work.

It's life, Jim - but not as we knew it....

Reply #16 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 6:53pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:05pm:
Well -  WTF happened to all the tradies we've got now, some of whom haven't been able to work etc?

Haven't been able to work? tradies are absolutely flat out. They're all booked out several months in advance.

Reply #17 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:33pm

rhino wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:17pm:
another useless thread.

Most of what he posts is illiterate nonsense. I like it when he tries to pretend he  has an education but doesnt know the meaning of basic words.

Its good to see you two sticking together and focusing your vitriol on me.

That way others are not subject to it.

We still have a ways to go to get you being nice though.
Life must have dealt you a rough hand to be so full of hate and anger.

But we can work it out.
Tell me. why are you so full of hate and anger?
Did you have a hard childhood?
Have you been unsuccessful in your job aspirations?
Do real people treat you badly?
What are you afraid of?

Anger is a manifestation of fear.
What is it that you fear that makes you so angry.

Remember

Remember
Repeat to yourself.

I can be a worthwhile member of the human race
I can be a normal contributor and nice person.
I don't have to insult everyone, just because I'm afraid they might see my true character.

We will get you over this.

Reply #18 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:42pm

I am with that

Reply #19 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 9:17pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:33pm:
another useless thread.

Vitriol? mate, lol, you really think you are that important that I would waste a negative emotion on you? ROFL! Im in it for the laughs. look at your posts man, you are pure walking  entertainment.

Reply #20 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 10:35pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 6:53pm:

Haven't been able to work? tradies are absolutely flat out. They're all booked out several months in advance.

So I get it - we're going to need more of them when lockdown lifts, in order to build for the influx of more migrants?

Isn't that a kind of boot-strapping thing?  Bring in migrants, then say we need skills to build etc, then bring in more?

What IS this mad rush to over-populate this country?

My son is a tradie and he was caught at Noosa for a while...

Reply #21 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 7:44am

rhino wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 9:17pm:
Valkie wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:33pm:
another useless thread.

Vitriol? mate, lol, you really think you are that important that I would waste a negative emotion on you? ROFL! Im in it for the laughs. look at your posts man, you are pure walking  entertainment.

I know your hurting buddy, but Im here for you.

Just keep trying .

We will get you there.

We can work it out.
What are you afraid of?

Remember
Repeat to yourself.

I don't have to insult everyone, just because I'm afraid they might see my true character.

Reply #22 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 10:15am

That's because there is a national shortage of tradies & apprentices ... been going on for ages.

Feds & State govts rationalising there Trade Colleges & staff ...

and lack of incentives to employ apprentices.

Reply #23 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 12:33pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 10:15am:

That's because there is a national shortage of tradies & apprentices ... been going on for ages.

and lack of incentives to employ apprentices.

Good point - those bastards have kept us under such a constant barrage of changes for their better and not for ours for so long now that many issues are just forgotten... that's why they do it...  their intent isn't to actually create a better life and country for all, just to keep the peasants in a constant state of flux and uncertainty by constantly changing the rules.

To mis-quote Kerry Packer - they don't do a good enough job with our allegiance to be given any more for free...

Reply #24 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 12:58pm

the libs have spent decades undermining tafe and destroying any sort of job security for any prospective tradie.

Reply #25 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 8:29pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 12:58pm:

the libs have spent decades undermining tafe and destroying any sort of job security for any prospective tradie.

Tafe is a state responsibility.  Garlic cannoli time, bozo.  Have two.

Reply #26 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 12:20am

Valkie wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 7:44am:

I beg to differ.

Reply #27 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 6:40am

Frank wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 8:29pm:

Amazing how Howard's GST money to the States was going to fix all their financial shortcomings, yet they remain as poor as church mice and forced to sell off every public asset for thirty pieces of silver.

Like privatisation, all the GST did was impose a layer of tax that created inflation and runaway spending by foolish state governments on all their pet ideas - nothing has changed one bit ever since, except that everything costs more while the value of work goes down and unemployment rises.

I'm sure a learned study would find that GST created unemployment, along with a raft of social divisions created by all the oddball little Star Chamber Inquisition 'commissions' and other QANGOS staffed by their old mates and party hacks and preferred groups.

Let the rest eat cake, eh?  Talk about how to tear a society apart, eh?

A river of gold passes through their hands, and yet they are poor people ... poor little bastards retiring on millions....

Reply #28 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 11:59am

rhino wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 12:20am:
Valkie wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 7:44am:

I beg to differ.

No, I still hold out in hope for you yet.
Never give in my friend, you can do it.

What are you afraid of?

Remember
Repeat to yourself.

Reply #29 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 12:43pm

You've got that right

Reply #30 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 12:50pm

Frank wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 8:29pm:

So what? They run in every state & the whole concern about apprentices & lack thereof should be an education concern of the federal govt.

The last rationalisation & downsizing of TAFEQ was done under a Newman LNP Govt.

I know it for a fact as my son inlaws sister was appointed CEO of TAFE QLD by that govt to be a toe cutter.

We had a brilliant modern TAFE college here with facilities for most major trades ...... it now sits empty & deteriorating.

Reply #31 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:17pm

Ayn Marx wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:39pm:
Yes, it would be sensible to skill up or own but there’s one big problem staring us in the face we refuse to see. As ocean levels rise ( No, I’m not going to argue about the science pro or con) low lying nations such as Bangladesh will somehow make their way to our shores believing they’ll be safer here. Has anyone thought how we’d prevent the millions who survive such a trecherous journey from landing? Our turning a blind eye to Pacific Islanders who are already starting to sink indicates ’true-blue ozzies' are in for a very big shock, or a few million.

The same way we have prevented millions of Asians from migrating to Australia in the last 50 years. Border controls. Most Asians do not even know that Australia exists. They are caught up in their own world where it ends as far as the eye sees. Educated Asians might well want to seek Australia as one example of a new place to live. But they are not going to jump on boats and sail to Australia to do that. They get on planes and come legally to Australia. Then the ones that want to stay illegally in Australia after their time is done, tend to blend into the community at some point.

It is more likely that the Asians would move to a more defined Asian region, such as China or Japan or South Korea. Those nations will see the need for more people to replace the ones that were not having children.

Reply #32 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:22pm

The ABC had a propaganda mouth piece on their show
recently - telling us how good it is to have millions of
immigrants here in Australia.
I can't find the video on the ABC website but here is an old clip:

Dr Liz Allen has no idea what she is talking about:

https://www.macrobusiness.com.au/2018/10/dr-liz-allen-actually-no-idea-talking/

Mass immigration is the number one inequality problem in the country causing:

lower wages;
    higher house prices;
    crush-loading of infrastructure for working classes in the areas where migrants mostly settle.

These all hit youth and working classes hardest while a narrow set of corporate interests make rentier gains. That’s why they love it so much.

Other issues like ageing population aging can be resolved easily via productivity reform, participation measures and technology without an immigration class war.

Indeed, social inequality or class warfare is exactly why MB is against the mass immigration growth model. It’s not just us. All of the above has been described at length by the Productivity Commission which long ago concluded that all of the gains of mass immigration go to the migrants and capital and that an ageing population can never be solved by immigration.

It’s extraordinary, I know. Dr Liz Allen actually has no idea what she is talking about.
« Last Edit: Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:41pm by Bobby. »  

Reply #33 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:43pm

We do need immigration. This is such an insular little country it needs fresh ideas, better ways of doing things and immigrants can bring that.

A valid argument against immigration could be the country physically can’t carry more people, that water resources etc are limited and already stretched more then they should be.

Reply #34 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:46pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:43pm:
We do need immigration. This is such an insular little country it needs fresh ideas, better ways of doing things and immigrants can bring that.

A valid argument against immigration could be the country physically can’t carry more people, that water resources etc are limited and already stretched more then they should be.

Hospitals are overloaded -
roads are congested -
housing is in short supply - the prices have skyrocketed.

Crime by ethnic groups is out of control -
home invasions,
drug dealing,
car jackings,
murders,
rapes,
muggings

We can't take anymore of it.

Reply #35 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:57pm

Then we spend on getting the infrastructure fixed.

Reply #36 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:05pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:57pm:

Federal debt is already over $1 trillion.
Do you want us to borrow more?

How can we stop immigrant crime waves?

Reply #37 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:06pm

We need immigration.

Reply #38 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:11pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:06pm:
We need immigration.

Yes we do but we don't need to import the dregs of the world that no one else wants.

Reply #39 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:15pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:06pm:
We need immigration.

Not at the rate of 200k + a year and not from culturally incompatible the third world.

Reply #40 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:17pm

Some skilled mkigrants but some random too, from wherever.

Reply #41 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:19pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:17pm:
Some skilled migrants but some random too, from wherever.

answer the questions - Mr Avoidance -

Federal debt is already over $1 trillion.
Do you want us to borrow more?

Reply #42 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:20pm

The positives outweigh the negatives. A country that controld its own currency cannot go broke.

Reply #43 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:34pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:20pm:
The positives outweigh the negatives. A country that controls its own currency cannot go broke.

People with savings are having those savings diluted by mass money printing
to keep the country afloat with socialist ideas -
that we never have to pay for anything.

Reply #44 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:39pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 4:20pm:
The positives outweigh the negatives. A country that controld its own currency cannot go broke.

Nonsense. Zimbabwe. Most of Africa. Venezuela. Soviet Union.  Etc.

https://www.britannica.com/topic/failed-state

Reply #45 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 5:00pm

Nope. You can mismanage but there is is lot of nonsense talked.

Borrowings for good infrastructure take generates to pay for themseived. Doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do it.

Reply #46 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 5:00pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:57pm:

That's what Howard's GST was supposed to fix - flood the States with money for developing infrastructure - all that happened was the costs of living skyrocketed and people got poorer and less willing to pay taxes by any means.

The States have never had so much money and where are the results?  Sell-offs to mates to make mega-profits that apparently the state, in the same manner - say, roads, rails, gas, power and every otherflickenthing - could not.

Hospitals are next, you fools.

Don't make me laugh...  anyone prepared to tell me the state, without a need to pay shareholders and leeches, could not make a profit from the current rates of road tolls in Sydney alone?  That at the same prices for a rail ticket, the state would not have a system flush with funds and NO shareholders and leeches to pay?  Same with gas and power?  Oh, sorry - public utilities are socialism and communism... Jesus God - the nation did pretty well under government of ANY stamp when these things were state public owned utilities.

Swallow that bullshit whole, people - we were better off back then overall...
« Last Edit: Oct 18th, 2021 at 5:06pm by Grappler Truth Teller Feller »  

Reply #47 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 5:03pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 5:00pm:

Borrowings for good infrastructure take generates to pay for themseived. Doesn’t mean we shouldn’t do it.

Hi Monk,
are you drinking right now?

Reply #48 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 5:08pm

Generations, correct... that's why get rich quick schemes in the peasant grasping Eurotrash* manner
(Mafia, like Communist China at the moment)
should be pushed out of the way and sense prevail.  Government has no place in BUSINESS - business has no place in government and governance.

There yet, people?  I cannot save you if you are not....

Welcome to Grappler Free University - we sweep with a broad broom - but she sure as hell sweeps clean... some mistake the accumulation and synthesis of various trends of hard knowledge for being inchoate - I beg to differ - it is a homogenous amalgam - a synchronicity - of various strands on inter-related knowledge.... sort of Einsteinian social science....

*  should've included MediterraneoTrash.... grasping peasants all... greedy, barbarous and cruel..
« Last Edit: Oct 19th, 2021 at 10:09am by Grappler Truth Teller Feller »  

Reply #49 - Oct 19th, 2021 at 9:16am

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 3:43pm:

Yes - but we need to be more selective instead of just bleeding heart migration.

One thing Australia & Australians are not is.......
INSULAR.

Reply #50 - Oct 19th, 2021 at 9:21am

So you'd support the CCPs Belt & Road scheme/scam here?

Reply #51 - Oct 19th, 2021 at 10:16am

Gnads wrote on Oct 19th, 2021 at 9:21am:

So you'd support the CCPs Belt & Road scheme/scam here?

Many here think it is perfectly all right to sell off our national or state sovereignty to gain some 'infrastructure' that governments should already have had well in hand long before the 'need' arose for any 'private consortium' to be involved - local or international.

When Big Tony said he was going to be an 'Infrastructure PM' - I nearly fell off my chair laughing... if ever there was a retrograde step in development of genuine long-term infrastructure for this country, it was installing the conservative government of any kind with its/their privatisation silliness - all designed for pure profit to some and nothing else.  Tony was THE epitome of that silliness, and had no thought of genuinely developing anything of true value to the nation and people.

In NSW - St Gladys was one of the worst - she had to go for quietly selling off what was left in public hands during the panicdemic..... all the rest is just window dressing and stage play for public consumption, with ICAC singularly failing to ask the killer questions.... imagine the utter stupidity of selling off the remaining stake in the 'private roads' for a single payment, which we all know will vanish into the maw of 'consolidated revenue' and be sucked away into fripperies and silliness to suit party ideologues and mates - and leave the state with no source of income other than robbing the people again.

Years ago I told yez of a work creation program in NYC (The Big Apple), in which over 90% of the funds were absorbed without result, in 'management costs'.... same here - give a government $10Bn and $9Bn will go to achieving nothing but a few larger public service empires and higher salaries for chosen ones etc... like Vic's comment on submarines - the upside down pyramid principle.

Wait until they sell off the hospitals...
(vision of lines of wheelchairs and stretchers parked outside the doors filled with dead and dying people waiting for their family to find funding ... doctors and nurses will have private entrances so the poor will not touch their robes as they glide past to their Nirvana inside, and the windows on the entrance side will be painted over to avoid unseemly sights outside ... daily a band of black-robed brethren come along with a garbage truck and remove the dead..... bring out your dead.. oh, sorry - they're already outside... an ambulance appears and tips one supplicant off a stretcher.. sorry mate, we're running a bit short.. you'll be right on the grass)

They are all party hacks - and that includes Labor and 'those others' as well.
« Last Edit: Oct 19th, 2021 at 10:28am by Grappler Truth Teller Feller »  

Reply #52 - Oct 20th, 2021 at 7:26am

self interested business groups want cheap easily manipulated labor.

Pure greed and self interest.

more_migrants.JPG (87 KB | 2 )
more_migrants.JPG

Reply #53 - Oct 20th, 2021 at 5:42pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 20th, 2021 at 7:26am:
self interested business groups want cheap easily manipulated labor.

Pure greed and self interest.

It's always easy for the over-fat who've never missed a meal to say they should be paying less for labour.... maybe they need to live the life themselves for a while and get the idea.

Told yez a thousand times that pressure on wage incomes always follows pressure from rising costs of living - not the other way around.... control costs of living by revoking privatisation and other nonsenses that suit an insider few, and that pressure will diminish and everyone might be able to get a fair living.

Got a letter from the toll roaders in Sydney today - the replacement ex-government Terr'uh'tree has about $180 in tolls unpaid on it....  tell 'em they're dreamin' if they think I'm going to pay those...