Cyclists must be licenced and identifiable (Read 3237 times)

Cyclists must be licenced and identifiable
Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:08am

Lycra clad loonies at it again.

They demand protection from motorists, but run down pedestrians when ever they like.

It appears that riding a bike makes you the most important person on earth and everyone and everything should give you your way.

We need to organise a lycra clad loony bike ride through a lion park, to prove to them they arent the alphas they think they are.

lycra_clad_loony_.JPG (176 KB | 12 )
lycra_clad_loony_.JPG

Re: Cyclists must be licenced and identifiable
Reply #1 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:11am

Dear God that's bloody awful. Poor woman.

Reply #2 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 8:58am

Do you actually know any actual, real cyclists on a personal basis?

Or do you form your 'opinions' based upon on bullshit like this, from the
rightly-discredited tabloid media?

The story is almost certainly a fabrication, intended to run on a slow-news
day specifically to get the terminally outraged and the congenitally ignorant
(often the same people) reaching for their pitchforks and lighting the fires
under the vats of oil.

And, sadly, idiots swallow it every time.

Reply #3 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 9:12am

Lisa Jones wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:11am:

yes, some cyclists are very bad, totally inconsiderate, dangerous.

Reply #4 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 10:11am

Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 8:58am:

day
specifically to get the terminally outraged and the congenitally ignorant
under the vats of oil.

And you know that how?

Reply #5 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 11:10am

another turdie from bondi .... who here is surprised?

Reply #6 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 11:11am

Sprintcyclist wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 9:12am:
Lisa Jones wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:11am:

yes, some cyclists are very bad, totally inconsiderate, dangerous.

or, it could just be that she didn't even see the bike coming up behind her, and with her dog jumped in front of it leaving the cyclist no chance to avoid her

Reply #7 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 12:53pm

... wonder how that one would work out if a car hit a pedestrian ...... hmmmm .....

My experience with some bike riders is they are complete idiots and think they have all entitlements and no responsibility.

It's not just a feminist thing after all... the world is full of self-important idiots...

Down to the roads people, get your licence for a fee, get your mandatory lycra over-shirt with number on it.... learn the road rules...... cop a fine if you break them....

Reply #8 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 1:42pm

They should also have indicators and stop lights since none of them use hand signals, the cops should also do regular roadworthy checks because I have seen some pretty deadly treadlies out there including my own, mine doesn't even have a bell!

Reply #9 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:04pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:08am:

They demand protection from motorists, but run down pedestrians when ever they like.

It appears that riding a bike makes you the most important person on earth and everyone and everything should give you your way.

We need to organise a lycra clad loony bike ride through a lion park, to prove to them they arent the alphas they think they are.

Nice to see you aren't having a hysterical over-reaction Valkie.

Reply #10 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:30pm

freediver wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:04pm:

Yes, it would be hard to imagine anyone going off like a Lycra clad loony who thinks his 1.5 metre space is invaded.

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #11 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:46pm

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

Reply #12 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:21pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 10:11am:

day
under the vats of oil.

And you know that how?

I suggest you go and look up the meaning of the phrase, 'almost certainly'.

Then get back to me.

Reply #13 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:28pm

Just for the record:

1/ I've been riding bicycles since 1962 (I was four).

2/ I've been riding them on the road since 1966.

3/ I have NEVER worn Lycra in my life.

4/ I have NEVER hit a pedestrian, either on the road or on a path. Nor have I hit any other vehicle.

5/ Contrary to your generalisation, I NEVER force my right-of-way when on the bike - even when entitled to.

6/ I have NEVER claimed to be the most important person on Earth - whether on the bike or off.

Reply #14 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:37pm

Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:28pm:

Just for the record:

1/ I've been riding bicycles since 1962 (I was four).

2/ I've been riding them on the road since 1966.

3/ I have NEVER worn Lycra in my life.

4/ I have NEVER hit a pedestrian, either on the road or on a path. Nor have I hit any other vehicle.

5/ Contrary to your generalisation, I NEVER force my right-of-way when on the bike - even when entitled to.

6/ I have NEVER claimed to be the most important person on Earth - whether on the bike or off.

You have a very good riding record, i have been riding since i was 5 and have a similar record, boardies and thongs are my preferred biking attire not lycra, that would be weird.

Reply #15 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:59pm

K, a first hand perspective from someone who regularly goes to Centennial Park.

Early morning and late arvo, there are 50 strong packs of cyclists who ride at 40+ks and don't stop or give way to anything, even at the children's pedestrian crossing, they will bomb right thru.

On one hand, I get that it's the only car-less place to ride bikes for miles around, but some cyclists there are absolute arseholes, not all or even most, but some.

The rider in the article was probably one. There is zero reason to hit someone as there is no obstructed vision. The guy probably was being an arsehole and didn't want to give any ground.

Reply #16 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 9:32pm

On the board, this strand shows as 'Cyclists must be lice"....... a bit rough on the lice, don' cha think?

Reply #17 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 12:42am

Add cyclists to the long list of people Valkie is scared of.

Reply #18 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 12:48am

Valkie wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:30pm:

Yes, it would be hard to imagine anyone going off like a Lycra clad loony who thinks his 1.5 metre space is invaded.

Wtf? Your an idiot mate.

Jim Lahey

Lisa's Merc
Reply #19 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 6:00am

Oh great, more rules...as if there isn't enough...

Reply #20 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 6:43am

rhino wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 12:42am:
Add cyclists to the long list of people Valkie is scared of.

Now , now rhino.

You have been doing so well.

having a bit of a relapse.

Well, Im here for you buddy.
Take out all your anger and fear on me all you like.
We will get you through this.

Remember

Repeat to yourself.

I am a worthwhile member of the human race
I can be a normal contributor and nice person.

We will get you over this.

Reply #21 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:11am

Jim Lahey wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 6:00am:

One Law For All!  All Laws For One!!

Why should bicycles, being road users, be exempt and sacrosanct?  You can't ride a horse madly down a city street.... and a bicycle is considered a vehicle in national parks etc...

Hang ten a week until the rest get the message............

Reply #22 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:36am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:11am:

Why should bicycles, being road users, be exempt and sacrosanct?  You can't ride a horse madly down a city street.... and a bicycle is considered a vehicle in national parks etc...

Hang ten a week
until the rest get the message..

There is NO message TO 'get'.

Apart from the fact that anti-cyclists are totally irrational, and
some are outright threats to people's safety.

Reply #23 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 1:31pm

Kat wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:36am:

Hang ten a week

Easy fix then - one day we'll run out of cyclists.......  Wink

Is no cyclist - is no problem....

Reply #24 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 3:28pm

Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:21pm:

day
under the vats of oil.

And you know that how?

Then get back to me.

So you were talking through your arze ... yeah?

Reply #25 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 2:29pm

"Apart from the fact that anti-cyclists are totally irrational, and
some are outright threats to people's safety."

Funny thing is many are saying those things about cyclists... we've all seen some doozies...

What they need is a big target on their back, glow in the dark etc, so they're hard to miss...

Reply #26 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 2:31pm

I'd make allowances for this type:-

Reply #27 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 5:21pm

Kat wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:36am:

Hang ten a week

I am far from ant-cyclist.

I even ride a bike myself a mountain bike with far too many gears and an elliptical drive.

Been riding since I was 12 and rode for many years in Sydney, all over Sydney.

My primary gripe is with the way the loonies go on now days.
"I HAVE RIGHTS, KEEP YOUR DISTANCE, I HAVE AS MUCH RIGHT TO BE ON THE ROAD/FOOTPATH/ PARK ETC WHEN I LIKE" etc etc.

Add the lycra and you get a mental, irrational, rude and obnoxious freak.

Some cyclists are good, keep the road clear, move over and keep away fro  heavy traffic.
Other (lycra brigade) take up the whole lane, never move over, must ride through heavy traffic "slowly" make their way to the front and ride off slowly again taking up the whole lane. The middle finger salute is mandatory.
Ignore lights, stop signs, one way streets, pedestrians, kids and of course Non-lycra clad bike riders.

I had a lycra clad loony scratched my car in Sydney traffic years ago.
Lost his balance and fell over.
Refused to give me his name and told me to "Get F$#ked" if I thought he would pay for the damage.
I seriously considered wrecking his bike, but because of the pro-bike lobby, I considered this a less than ideal solution.
Calling the cops would have been pointless, so a deep scratch was left by a moron never to be paid for by the culprit.
How many other people have had their cars scratched or damaged by these freaks?
If it had a rego or even identifier on the bike, Id have had my car fixed, and probably woken him up to his responsibilities.

Reply #28 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 5:34pm

In the 12 months to June 2020, 48 cyclists died on Australian roads.

Yet Valkie chooses to get all hysterical over a case involving no deaths.

Reply #29 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 7:33pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 3:28pm:
Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:21pm:

day
under the vats of oil.

And you know that how?

Then get back to me.

So you were talking through your arze ... yeah?

No. That's something I never do.

Reply #30 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 9:00pm

I dont think the story is a fabrication however I will say this, I do not understand the pedestrians who are walking correctly on the left of the path, see a bike coming and then jump to the other side of the path directly in front of the oncoming bike, I have seen accidents caused by this and I cannot fathom why many pedestrians do this, and its always female pedestrians. And they are erratic in their movements with no thought for  anyone else, dog walkers are the worst, fido all of a sudden wants to sniff something and without thought they will walk their dog straight into the middle of the path. Arrogance, ignorance, whatever, these people bring it on themselves most of the time.

Reply #31 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 9:38pm

rhino wrote on Oct 11th, 2021 at 9:00pm:
I dont think the story is a fabrication however I will say this, I do not understand the pedestrians who are walking correctly on the left of the path, see a bike coming and then jump to the other side of the path directly in front of the oncoming bike, I have seen accidents caused by this and I cannot fathom why many pedestrians do this, and its always female pedestrians. And they are erratic in their movements with no thought for  anyone else, dog walkers are the worst, fido all of a sudden wants to sniff something and without thought they will walk their dog straight into the middle of the path. Arrogance, ignorance, whatever, these people bring it on themselves most of the time.

She was an old chook. In Cento park there is no obscured vision for cyclists so no excuse for not seeing her. My take is she didn't see the cyclist and stepped out, and the cyclist was on a mission to do a record lap time and didn't want to change course.

Reply #32 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 10:26pm

Im actually in favour of speed limits for cyclists on these paths. But I just wish the pedestrians would stick to the f#@ing left like the cyclists. The paths I ride on are clearly delineated between lanes and these  plonkers still dont get it.

Reply #33 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:27am

rhino wrote on Oct 11th, 2021 at 10:26pm:
Im actually in favour of speed limits for cyclists on these paths. But I just wish the pedestrians would stick to the f#@ing left like the cyclists. The paths I ride on are clearly delineated between lanes and these  plonkers still dont get it.

Speed limits for cyclists? They go slower than cars anyway but every bike would have to be fitted with a speedometer. . . .  kids riding to school etc

The Heartless Felon

Reply #34 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 6:23am

Not all cyclists are bad...some are "special".

This happened years ago, I was in George St in Brisbane when we got one of those sudden storms and I was waiting to cross a street when a cyclist pulled up at the red light. He was wearing bright yellow wet weather gear and gumboots. Now, jamming your gumboots into the toecaps on your pedals may have seemed a good idea at the time, but, when you HAVE to stop at a light...

Anyway, the fall didn't hurt him much and the last I heard of him, he was muttering, "phkn rain, phkn boots, phkn lights..."

Reply #35 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 6:52am

Grin I wouldn't be bitching about pedestrians not staying to left or within lanes ....

cyclists are experts at not doing it.

It's why bikes used never be allowed on footpaths.

Then bicyclists couldn't obey road rules so they were allowed on footpaths.

They do the same on footpaths.

If a pedestrian steps off a footpath to cross the road - motorists are obliged to give way to them.

Bicyclists should be obliged to do the same on co-used paths. Slowdown/give way.

Otherwise head bush or find a velodrome.

Reply #36 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 7:05am

freediver wrote on Oct 11th, 2021 at 5:34pm:

And 47 of those 48 deaths have most probably been as a result of the cyclists own stupidity.

I cannot help their own stupidity.

Perhaps, had they been less arrogant, less "entitled" and more willing to ride sensibly.

They might still be alive to be arrogant and entitled just a little longer.

Swagman

Beware of cheap imitations......

Illawarra NSW
Reply #37 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 12:09pm

I've been cycling quite alot lately during lockdown, mostly on cycle paths that are usually clogged up with walkers.

Gotta constantly dodge Ma, Pa, the kids on dinkies and  the family dog on a lead spread out all across the path, and then there's the dopey buggers with their headphones on full blast that do crazy Ivans just as you're riding past.

Mind you, riding or walking, you get an appreciation on just how many friggin dickheads there are driving cars around.

I'm much more wary of them.    Huh

Reply #38 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 12:51pm

People who drive cars.
Know that pedestrians and cyclists are all morons.

People who ride cycles.
Know that pedestrians and car drivers are all morons.

People who walk.
Know that car drivers and cyclists are all morons.

And at any given time, depending on what wide of transport some people use.
They know that the other modes of transport are populated by morons.

Reply #39 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 1:43pm

Swagman wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 12:09pm:
I've been cycling quite alot lately during lockdown, mostly on cycle paths that are usually clogged up with walkers.

Gotta constantly dodge Ma, Pa, the kids on dinkies and  the family dog on a lead spread out all across the path, and then there's the dopey buggers with their headphones on full blast that do crazy Ivans just as you're riding past.

Mind you, riding or walking, you get an appreciation on just how many friggin dickheads there are driving cars around.

I'm much more wary of them.    Huh

And I've had pretty-much the same experiences (or at least very similar)
during the lockdown. Some people, whether on foot, on bikes or in cars
really should be locked down permanently to protect others from their
idiotic actions. And the lockdowns only seem to have made them more
obvious.

Reply #40 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:23pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 12:51pm:
People who drive cars.

People who ride cycles.

People who walk.

Is this the dumbest post ever on OZpol?

Reply #41 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:26pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:27am:

Speed limits for cyclists? They go slower than cars anyway but every bike would have to be fitted with a speedometer. . . .  kids riding to school etc

As Gordon says, some of these  cyclists just dont get it either , on the paths they can be doing 40 ks an hour, thats unsafe and that is not recreational cycling. You dont have to fit every bike with a speedo, these competition cyclists shouldnt be anywhere near dual use paths.

Reply #42 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:32pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 6:52am:

Grin I wouldn't be bitching about pedestrians not staying to left or within lanes ....

They arent allowed on footpaths anywhere in Asutralia Ive been, wheres your special spot where you think they are?

Negative. See above.

If a pedestrian steps off a footpath to cross the road - motorists are obliged to give way to them.
if I ever see a car stopping  to let a pedestrian cross the road I will take a picture and enter it in the Guinness book of records as a first for Australia, we hve the worst and the most ignorant drivers in the world.

Reply #43 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:57pm

rhino wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:23pm:
Valkie wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 12:51pm:
People who drive cars.

People who ride cycles.

People who walk.

Is this the dumbest post ever on OZpol?

Come , come rhino, you know It's the truth.
People are so selfish that whatever mode of transport they are currently using is the only one that isn't populated by morons.

Never the less.
Your post was far less abusive than previously, that's very good.

We are working well to get you over your hump.

Now keep up the good work

Repeat to yourself.

I am a worthwhile member of the human race

The Heartless Felon

Reply #44 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 4:10pm

They arent allowed on footpaths anywhere in Asutralia Ive been, wheres your special spot where you think they are?

Queensland.

Reply #45 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 5:46pm

Valkie wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 7:05am:

And 47 of those 48 deaths have most probably been as a result of the cyclists own stupidity.

Perhaps, had they been less arrogant, less "entitled" and more willing to ride sensibly.

I see you are not afraid to make it all up as you go along. 48 deaths in 12 months is fine, but a few nasty bruises on an old lady and you get hysterical and demand SOMETHING MUST BE DONE.

Reply #46 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 6:30pm

freediver wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 5:46pm:
Valkie wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 7:05am:

I see you are not afraid to make it all up as you go along. 48 deaths in 12 months is fine, but a few nasty bruises on an old lady and you get hysterical and demand SOMETHING MUST BE DONE.

You just dont get it do you.

Cyclists, some not all, are arrogant, rude, narcissistic and consider themselves entitled.
They fight tooth and nail not to be identifiable.
And there is a good reason for that, they break the law constantly, run down pedestrians and damage cars.

We rarely hear about the incidents because there is nothing that can be done about these morons.
I have driven and ridden my motorcycle around Sydney many times.
I have driven around Brisbane, Adelaide, Perth, Melbourne and many other locations around Australia and seen the antics these lycra clad loonies get up to.
They, more often than not, deliberately create problems for drivers and pedestrians simply because they want the attention.

I have also driven and have been driven around in New York, Texas, Philly, Canada, France, Italy, Amsterdam, Sweden, Finland, London and many villages, China, Holland, Germany and a few I cannot remember.

In these places, bike riders are considerably less aggressive than in good old Aussieland.
Some are suicidal, but are still less narcissistic than our mob.

Not many wear lycra overseas, at least not as many as do in Australia.
That may be the problem.
Squeezing their balls into super skin tight lycra and perching on a tiny seat might just be upping their aggression like elastic bands about a bulls balls makes it angry for rodeos.

Whatever the reason.
I still believe most cycle accidents are the riders fault, even if they somehow manage to get to blame the drivers.

Reply #47 - Oct 12th, 2021 at 6:55pm

You just dont get it do you.

Correct. I have absolutely no idea why you are getting so hysterical about this incident.

Cyclists, some not all, are arrogant, rude, narcissistic and consider themselves entitled.

So you are not even pretending to be rational, you are just doing this because of your anger management issues?

Reply #48 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 7:30am

Double post. Sorry.

Deleted by Kat.

Reply #49 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 7:30am

rhino wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:26pm:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:27am:

As Gordon says, some of these  cyclists just dont get it either , on the paths they can be doing 40 ks an hour, thats unsafe and that is not recreational cycling. You dont have to fit every bike with a speedo,
these competition cyclists shouldnt be anywhere near dual use paths.

100% in agreement with this.

THESE are the cyclists (along with many bicycle couriers) who give
all other cyclists the bad reputation they simply do not deserve.

Reply #50 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 3:47pm

rhino wrote on Oct 12th, 2021 at 3:32pm:

Negative. See above.

if I ever see a car stopping  to let a pedestrian cross the road I will take a picture and enter it in the Guinness book of records as a first for Australia, we hve the worst and the most ignorant drivers in the world.

Obviously you haven't been anywhere.

Schoolchildren & adults ride push bikes,scooters & skateboards on footpaths here .... QLD. Even in the CBD.

They also ride on the wrong side of the road against oncoming traffic (coming out around parked cars) like pedestrians are advised
to do when there is no footpath.  They do even when there is a footpath on either side of the road.

It's come about because of whining bubble wrapping parents & compliant dogooder councils. "Let our kids ride on the footpath ... it's safer."

Pretty sure they apply what they're taught when they grow up & get a drivers license.

Reply #51 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 4:07pm

In 2019, I spotted a cyclist riding around near dusk. No helmet, no light. He got told to pull over by an officer in a following police vehicle. He failed to stop and rode off with the officer failing to pursue him much further.

This is just one of the many cases where having a cyclist "licenced and identifiable" would not have meant a thing in reducing traffic incidences involving cyclists. Even motorists have the right to deny being involved in a traffic incident. How do you identify a cyclist if they do not stop?

Reply #52 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 4:13pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 4:07pm:
In 2019, I spotted a cyclist riding around near dusk. No helmet, no light. He got told to pull over by an officer in a following police vehicle. He failed to stop and rode off with the officer failing to pursue him much further.

This is just one of the many cases where having a cyclist "licenced and identifiable" would not have meant a thing in reducing traffic incidences involving cyclists. Even motorists have the right to deny being involved in a traffic incident. How do you identify a cyclist if they do not stop?

Little plate on the bike under the seat facing backward ... just like a car.

Your details logged against the plate... simple.

Reply #53 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 4:16pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 4:13pm:

And what do we do in times when the cyclist denies being the rider of the bike?

Reply #54 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 5:07pm

If Valkie has his way we will all have a serial number tattooed on our forehead, just in case we do something impolite.

Reply #55 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 5:13pm

freediver wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 5:07pm:
If Valkie has his way we will all have a serial number tattooed on our forehead, just in case we do something impolite.

And if that tattooed serial number consisted of 3 sets of 6 digits then that would make Valkie the Anti Christ.

Reply #56 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 5:41pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 4:16pm:

Same as car owner - name the other person or take the hit....

Reply #57 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 7:36pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 3:47pm:

Negative. See above.

Schoolchildren & adults ride push bikes,scooters & skateboards on footpaths here .... QLD. Even in the CBD.

They also ride on the wrong side of the road against oncoming traffic (coming out around parked cars) like pedestrians are advised
to do when there is no footpath.  They do even when there is a footpath on either side of the road.

It's come about because of whining bubble wrapping parents & compliant dogooder councils. "Let our kids ride on the footpath ... it's safer."

Pretty sure they apply what they're taught when they grow up & get a drivers license.
The paths are designated dual use paths, not footpaths. they have to re designate them to make it legal to ride on them. Any path designated "footpath" is for pedestrians only.

Reply #58 - Oct 13th, 2021 at 7:55pm

thats because QLD's bike paths are the worst. Qld's idea off a bike path is to paint a line down the side of the road. Ride a bike in a bike path with anything resembling more than light traffic and you take you life in your hands. I tell my kids not to use them, to ride on the footpaths instead

By comparison, the bike paths in Wollongong were excellent. I could ride from Helensburg in the North to Kiama in the south, a distance of approx 70km, and almost never ride on the road except for along a few short sections.

Reply #59 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 12:29am

Well - cyclists are lice as per the headline...

Actually I'm very kind to them and give them a wide berth when they are riding the 100 kph zones here.... not as much as I give the Wood Ducks or Possums  or deer or kangaroos that leap onto the road, not to mention the snakes and lizards I swerve to avoid...
(what kind of f**k-head runs over a snake who kills vermin for you?  ...note the cunning humanisation of the snake)
... but I will give a cyclist a wide berth IF offered the opportunity, as long as they don't do something totally stupid like push over and triple file when I'm passing them as if they have the right...

At school some sixty years ago or more, the idea was to ride Indian file...... not just take the road as a right and get killed while asserting a right or making a statement ......

Reply #60 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 1:43pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 5:41pm:

The person can just say that they were not riding the bike at the time of an alleged offence. Same as car owner. "I was not driving the car at the time of the offence".
« Last Edit: Oct 14th, 2021 at 1:52pm by UnSubRocky »  

Reply #61 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 1:53pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 1:43pm:

The person can just say that they were not riding the bike at the time of an alleged offence. Same as car owner. I was not driving the car at the time of the offence.

Here in Original Australia
(South Eastern Austrochine)
or the old NSW, you either front up the name of the driver and they cop it or you do.  Nobody gets a walk unless they are a retired PM's wife, son or daughter...

Reply #62 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 3:23pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 1:53pm:

The person can just say that they were not riding the bike at the time of an alleged offence. Same as car owner. I was not driving the car at the time of the offence.

or the old NSW, you either front up the name of the driver and they cop it or you do.  Nobody gets a walk unless they are a retired PM's wife, son or daughter...

Innocent until proven guilty does not apply with revenue, traffic offences.

Revenue is the primary objective of road rules.
That's why they change the speed limit so frequently.
That's why the have hidden greed cameras.
That's why they budget for increased revenue every year.
That's why there is a whole (well funded) police infringement department.

The Australian grubberment is not one to let honesty, morals, fairness, common sense or human rights impinge on their revenue aspirations.

Reply #63 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:34pm

Not true. You just say it was stolen.

Reply #64 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:49pm

freediver wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 5:34pm:

wouldn't you need a police report number to go with it?

Reply #65 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:56pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:49pm:

Sure. You file the report as soon as you realise it is stolen. Which is usually when the police knock at your door asking about it.

Reply #66 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:58pm

freediver wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:56pm:

Sure. You file the report as soon as you realise it is stolen. Which is usually when the police knock at your door asking about it.

so you're suggesting people should file false police reports?

Reply #67 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:59pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:58pm:

I am suggesting they do. But only if they want to get away with it.

Reply #68 - Oct 14th, 2021 at 8:40pm

Police State.....Persecute the majority of law abiding bike riders who are the target of dickheads to solve a problem than doesn't exist....The same dickheads advocate for lesser restrictions on fire arms and no mandates for health emergencies....Stupid is as stupid does???

Reply #69 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 7:45am

philperth2010 wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 8:40pm:

Police State.....Persecute the majority of law abiding bike riders who are the target of dickheads to solve a problem than doesn't exist....The same dickheads advocate for lesser restrictions on fire arms and no mandates for health emergencies....Stupid is as stupid does???

One can say the exact same thing for greed cameras Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

The Heartless Felon

Reply #70 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 8:14am

rhino wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 7:36pm:

Negative. See above.

The paths are designated dual use paths, not footpaths. they have to re designate them to make it legal to ride on them. Any path designated "footpath" is for pedestrians only.

The Beatty Government made it legal for bikes to be ridden on any footpaths in Qld, I think it was 2007.
We've been dodging and weaving ever since...

Reply #71 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 9:38am

And they find the bike on your premises?? Grin Grin

Reply #72 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 9:40am

Gnads wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 9:38am:

Ah, thank you officer. Must have been borrowed by the local kids again.

Obviously, if you want to get away with it, you need to hide the evidence before the police arrive.

Reply #73 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 9:55am

The Heartless Felon wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 8:14am:
rhino wrote on Oct 13th, 2021 at 7:36pm:

Negative. See above.

The Beatty Government made it legal for bikes to be ridden on any footpaths in Qld, I think it was 2007.
We've been dodging and weaving ever since...

Correct .... & it had nothing to do with "designated pathways".

It was all about people/children not being able to learn road rules & bubble wrapping them.

There's an old saying - "you can't legislate for idiots".

Reply #74 - Oct 15th, 2021 at 1:31pm

You can deny being the rider of a bike. You can get photographed running a red light and say that you were not riding that bike at the time of the offence.

Reply #75 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 12:11pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 1:31pm:

You can deny being the rider of a bike. You can get photographed running a red light and say that you were not riding that bike at the time of the offence.

You still don't get it - the cops will say to you, "If you claim not to have been riding the bike at that time, you must name the person who was, or you will be the one fined.  If you do not know that person, did you report the bike stolen?"

It simply won't wash in NSW, same as denying you were the one driving the car at the time..... name who was or cop the fine.... tell it to the judge......

Reply #76 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 1:57pm

Cyclist mentality

Reply #77 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 1:58pm

But they can make a driver happy occasionally.

Reply #78 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 4:45pm

More angry violence from Valkie, our resident sms.

Reply #79 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 5:01pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 16th, 2021 at 12:11pm:

You still don't get it - the cops will say to you, "If you claim not to have been riding the bike at that time, you must name the person who was, or you will be the one fined.  If you do not know that person, did you report the bike stolen?"

It simply won't wash in NSW, same as denying you were the one driving the car at the time..... name who was or cop the fine.... tell it to the judge......

You CAN say that you were not the rider of a bike. The only defence you can use is that you can deny being in charge of a vehicle when the police take a picture of you running a red light on a bike, you can make the claim that the person was not you.

If I stole the number plates of your car and attached them to mine and then went and did all manner of traffic infringements and then replaced your number plates, whether you knew or not or whether you reported suspicious activity or not, you can say that you were not driving a vehicle when this traffic offence occurred.

We have just had reports around the region of a massive number of car thefts. The owner of the car cannot be held accountable for the acts of the thieves.

Reply #80 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 5:01pm

rhino wrote on Oct 16th, 2021 at 4:45pm:
More angry violence from Valkie, our resident sms.

No anger my poor little friend.

Just a home truth and a bit of a laugh.

See, you cannot even distinguish between anger and fun, you are in a bad way.

We will have to work on your comprehension once we get you over your proclivity toward nastyness.

But we can work it out.
Tell me. why are you so full of hate and anger?
Did you have a bad childhood?
Have you been unsuccessful in your job aspirations?
Do real people treat you badly?
What are you afraid of?

Anger is a manifestation of fear.
What is it that you fear that makes you so angry.

Remember

Repeat to yourself.

I can be a worthwhile member of the human race
I don't have to insult everyone, just because I'm afraid they might see my true character.

Reply #81 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 10:12pm

You are a very angry violent man with small man syndrome.

Reply #82 - Oct 16th, 2021 at 10:32pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 16th, 2021 at 5:01pm:
Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 16th, 2021 at 12:11pm:

You CAN say that you were not the rider of a bike. The only defence you can use is that you can deny being in charge of a vehicle when the police take a picture of you running a red light on a bike, you can make the claim that the person was not you.

If I stole the number plates of your car and attached them to mine and then went and did all manner of traffic infringements and then replaced your number plates, whether you knew or not or whether you reported suspicious activity or not, you can say that you were not driving a vehicle when this traffic offence occurred.

We have just had reports around the region of a massive number of car thefts. The owner of the car cannot be held accountable for the acts of the thieves.

That's big stretch... but if someone stole The Vest and used it and then returned it - you'd have to prove you were somewhere else at the time of the offences.  Otherwise your chances don't exist... Buckley had a better shot at the title...

Reply #83 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 8:10am

rhino wrote on Oct 16th, 2021 at 10:12pm:
You are a very angry violent man with small man syndrome.

Oh no, no, no mr rhino.

You cannot deflect your anger issues onto me.

You are the one who returns every post with insults and personal attacks.
It is you and your buddy smiffy who is in need of anger management.

Which, I am willing and currently providing.

We can get you over these issues, we just have to get you to realise your problem.

But we can work it out.
Tell me. why are you so full of hate and anger?
Did you have a bad childhood?
Have you been unsuccessful in your job aspirations?
Do real people treat you badly?
What are you afraid of?

Anger is a manifestation of fear.
What is it that you fear that makes you so angry.

Remember

Repeat to yourself.

I can be a worthwhile member of the human race
I don't have to insult everyone, just because I'm afraid they might see my true character.

Reply #84 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 9:21am

freediver wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:59pm:
John Smith wrote on Oct 14th, 2021 at 7:58pm:

I am suggesting they do. But only if they want to get away with it.

how often have you done this fd?

Reply #85 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 9:25am

Gnads wrote on Oct 15th, 2021 at 9:38am:

i had that happen once when I was painting. We left all our ladders and scaffolding under the guys house chained to a pier (house was on a slope so you can only get under the rear of the house, the front of it was street level). When we turned up to start again the next morning the gate was padlocked and the owner was acting weird. He told us we couldn't go into the back as all our stuff had been stolen during the night. When we jumped the fence to have a look, all the stuff was still there where we left it with our chains still on.  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

I'm guessing he was related to gordon Grin

Reply #86 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 12:30pm

John Smith wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 9:25am:
i had that happen once when I was painting. We left all our ladders and scaffolding under the guys house chained to a pier (house was on a slope so you can only get under the rear of the house, the front of it was street level). When we turned up to start again the next morning the gate was padlocked and the owner was acting weird. He told us we couldn't go into the back as all our stuff had been stolen during the night. When we jumped the fence to have a look, all the stuff was still there where we left it with our chains still on.  Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

What kind of Usual Suspect was he?   Grin  Grin  Grin  Probably had an online buyer on the way....  Grin  Grin  Grin

Reply #87 - Oct 17th, 2021 at 1:01pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 12:30pm:

What kind of Usual Suspect was he?   Grin  Grin  Grin  Probably had an online buyer on the way....  Grin  Grin  Grin

He was a dinky die aussie.

Doubt he had anything online. I don't think facebook had even started yet. This was in the days where if you wanted a bargain, you went to the pub to buy .

Reply #88 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 6:47am

John Smith wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 1:01pm:
Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 17th, 2021 at 12:30pm:

He was a dinky die aussie.

Doubt he had anything online. I don't think facebook had even started yet. This was in the days where if you wanted a bargain, you went to the pub to buy .

Then what was he doing?  Just off the planet as some older guys are?  Just before I moved into my first bought home, the old guy I had been renting from decided, for whatever strange reason, that in order to ensure he got his final payment of rent - and I'd never missed one cent - his two sons should unload my trailer loaded for the move and keep it until I paid.

Naturally this caused me to firstly report the trailer stolen and then advise him he would receive nothing until I got it back and could move.  His idiot sons brought it back - I still paid him as a matter of honour, but I should have told him to stuff it.  Guess what - later it came to light that it was he who had entered the house while I was working all night, and stolen my licenced pistol and ammunition - reported stolen, of course..... I was a licenced security guy with a pistol licence.

Some people get the strangest ideas in their heads about what their rights are.

Guess he found out, eh?

Reply #89 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 7:25pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 18th, 2021 at 6:47am:
Then what was he doing?

probably looking to sell it down at the pub.

Just before I moved into my first bought home, the old guy I had been renting from decided, for whatever strange reason, that in order to ensure he got his final payment of rent - and I'd never missed one cent - his two sons should unload my trailer loaded for the move and keep it until I paid.

I hope the cops still pursued the theft of your property

Reply #90 - Oct 18th, 2021 at 7:31pm

Some people get the strangest ideas in their heads about what their rights are.

speaking of strange ideas on their rights, my wife's employer (real estate agent) just today got a bad online revue from a former tenant who broke their lease ..... .. the review read something along the lines off  ' avoid this agency, the  property manager blacklisted us for not paying our rent'

well derrrr Cheesy Cheesy

(they weren't actually blacklisted, they were just warned that it was a possibility if they didn't pay what they owed soon)

i told the wife to make sure they left that review up. It's good advertising for any potential landlord looking for a property manager   Grin Grin