Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 7
Cyclists must be licenced and identifiable (Read 3225 times)

Re: Cyclists must be licenced and identifiable
Reply #15 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:59pm

K, a first hand perspective from someone who regularly goes to Centennial Park.

Early morning and late arvo, there are 50 strong packs of cyclists who ride at 40+ks and don't stop or give way to anything, even at the children's pedestrian crossing, they will bomb right thru.

On one hand, I get that it's the only car-less place to ride bikes for miles around, but some cyclists there are absolute arseholes, not all or even most, but some.

The rider in the article was probably one. There is zero reason to hit someone as there is no obstructed vision. The guy probably was being an arsehole and didn't want to give any ground.

Reply #16 - Oct 9th, 2021 at 9:32pm

On the board, this strand shows as 'Cyclists must be lice"....... a bit rough on the lice, don' cha think?

Reply #17 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 12:42am

Add cyclists to the long list of people Valkie is scared of.

Reply #18 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 12:48am

Valkie wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:30pm:
freediver wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 4:04pm:
Valkie wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 7:08am:
Lycra clad loonies at it again.

They demand protection from motorists, but run down pedestrians when ever they like.

It appears that riding a bike makes you the most important person on earth and everyone and everything should give you your way.

We need to organise a lycra clad loony bike ride through a lion park, to prove to them they arent the alphas they think they are.

Nice to see you aren't having a hysterical over-reaction Valkie.

Yes, it would be hard to imagine anyone going off like a Lycra clad loony who thinks his 1.5 metre space is invaded.

Wtf? Your an idiot mate.

Jim Lahey

Lisa's Merc
Reply #19 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 6:00am

Oh great, more rules...as if there isn't enough...

Reply #20 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 6:43am

rhino wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 12:42am:
Add cyclists to the long list of people Valkie is scared of.

Now , now rhino.

You have been doing so well.

having a bit of a relapse.

Well, Im here for you buddy.
Take out all your anger and fear on me all you like.
We will get you through this.

Remember

Repeat to yourself.

I am a worthwhile member of the human race
I can be a normal contributor and nice person.

We will get you over this.

Reply #21 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:11am

Jim Lahey wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 6:00am:

One Law For All!  All Laws For One!!

Why should bicycles, being road users, be exempt and sacrosanct?  You can't ride a horse madly down a city street.... and a bicycle is considered a vehicle in national parks etc...

Hang ten a week until the rest get the message............

Reply #22 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:36am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:11am:

Why should bicycles, being road users, be exempt and sacrosanct?  You can't ride a horse madly down a city street.... and a bicycle is considered a vehicle in national parks etc...

Hang ten a week
until the rest get the message..

There is NO message TO 'get'.

Apart from the fact that anti-cyclists are totally irrational, and
some are outright threats to people's safety.

Reply #23 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 1:31pm

Kat wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:36am:

Hang ten a week

Easy fix then - one day we'll run out of cyclists.......  Wink

Is no cyclist - is no problem....

Reply #24 - Oct 10th, 2021 at 3:28pm

Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:21pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 10:11am:
Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 8:58am:
Do you actually know any actual, real cyclists on a personal basis?

Or do you form your 'opinions' based upon on bullshit like this, from the
rightly-discredited tabloid media?

The story is almost certainly a fabrication, intended to run on a slow-news
day
specifically to get the terminally outraged and the congenitally ignorant
(often the same people) reaching for their pitchforks and lighting the fires
under the vats of oil.

And, sadly, idiots swallow it every time.

And you know that how?

I suggest you go and look up the meaning of the phrase, 'almost certainly'.

Then get back to me.

So you were talking through your arze ... yeah?

Reply #25 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 2:29pm

"Apart from the fact that anti-cyclists are totally irrational, and
some are outright threats to people's safety."

Funny thing is many are saying those things about cyclists... we've all seen some doozies...

What they need is a big target on their back, glow in the dark etc, so they're hard to miss...

Reply #26 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 2:31pm

I'd make allowances for this type:-

Reply #27 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 5:21pm

Kat wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 11:36am:

Hang ten a week

I am far from ant-cyclist.

I even ride a bike myself a mountain bike with far too many gears and an elliptical drive.

Been riding since I was 12 and rode for many years in Sydney, all over Sydney.

My primary gripe is with the way the loonies go on now days.
"I HAVE RIGHTS, KEEP YOUR DISTANCE, I HAVE AS MUCH RIGHT TO BE ON THE ROAD/FOOTPATH/ PARK ETC WHEN I LIKE" etc etc.

Add the lycra and you get a mental, irrational, rude and obnoxious freak.

Some cyclists are good, keep the road clear, move over and keep away fro  heavy traffic.
Other (lycra brigade) take up the whole lane, never move over, must ride through heavy traffic "slowly" make their way to the front and ride off slowly again taking up the whole lane. The middle finger salute is mandatory.
Ignore lights, stop signs, one way streets, pedestrians, kids and of course Non-lycra clad bike riders.

I had a lycra clad loony scratched my car in Sydney traffic years ago.
Lost his balance and fell over.
Refused to give me his name and told me to "Get F$#ked" if I thought he would pay for the damage.
I seriously considered wrecking his bike, but because of the pro-bike lobby, I considered this a less than ideal solution.
Calling the cops would have been pointless, so a deep scratch was left by a moron never to be paid for by the culprit.
How many other people have had their cars scratched or damaged by these freaks?
If it had a rego or even identifier on the bike, Id have had my car fixed, and probably woken him up to his responsibilities.

Reply #28 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 5:34pm

In the 12 months to June 2020, 48 cyclists died on Australian roads.

Yet Valkie chooses to get all hysterical over a case involving no deaths.

Reply #29 - Oct 11th, 2021 at 7:33pm

Gnads wrote on Oct 10th, 2021 at 3:28pm:
Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 6:21pm:
Gnads wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 10:11am:
Kat wrote on Oct 9th, 2021 at 8:58am:
Do you actually know any actual, real cyclists on a personal basis?

Or do you form your 'opinions' based upon on bullshit like this, from the
rightly-discredited tabloid media?

The story is almost certainly a fabrication, intended to run on a slow-news
day
specifically to get the terminally outraged and the congenitally ignorant
(often the same people) reaching for their pitchforks and lighting the fires
under the vats of oil.

And, sadly, idiots swallow it every time.

And you know that how?

I suggest you go and look up the meaning of the phrase, 'almost certainly'.

Then get back to me.

So you were talking through your arze ... yeah?

No. That's something I never do.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 ... 7