Keeping backyard chickens (Read 1682 times)

Re: Keeping backyard chickens
Reply #30 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 9:51pm

Nah.

And I deleted ONE post by the grub, plenty other posts are equally full of slime, equally deserve the same fate.

Reply #31 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:44pm

Monk - aren't you going a bit far for a man
of your age suffering infirmity?

You want to make a gigantic move to Tassy -
a cold and unforgiving wilderness.
You want: a greyhound, chooks and now a bee hive.

This is not adding up.
I suggest you talk to your doctor.

Reply #32 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:51pm

’sup, poof?

Reply #33 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:55pm

Hey Bobby, you are thin,  single and neat. Its Saturday night, you should be out on a date, not bear hunting.

Reply #34 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:59pm

rhino wrote on Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:55pm:
Hey Bobby, you are thin,  single and neat. Its Saturday night, you should be out on a date, not bear hunting.

I don't go night clubbing anymore.
I couldn't be bothered.
I can't stand the noise anyway.
I'm too old now.

Reply #35 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 11:01pm

Back to chooks/chickens....Went to see a friend whose kitchen/dining is very country themed and chook images galore!
Her kitchen is reminiscent of the cream coloured 1950s.
Check out this most unusual kettle she has! It’s amazing!

Reply #36 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 11:03pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:59pm:
rhino wrote on Apr 10th, 2021 at 10:55pm:

I don't go night clubbing anymore.
I couldn't be bothered.
I can't stand the noise anyway.
I'm too old now.

There’s different ways to be in clubs to meet people, with similar age groups. You don’t have to go to noisy night clubbing!

Even cruise ships have “singles” clubs for all ages.

Reply #37 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 11:28pm

Dad had a 'brilliant idea of buying a chicken and a rooster to roam the yard. This was back in the day when I was getting into my teens. The first thing 3 in the morning, the rooster lets off its crow. Dad put up with this for a couple of days before deciding to put the rooster under a bin to muffle it's crow. After some time, they just had to go. I was sick of the crowing and I saw no reason why Dad would embarrass the family making the yard into a farm.

Reply #38 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 11:45pm

UnSubRocky wrote on Apr 10th, 2021 at 11:28pm:
Dad had a 'brilliant idea of buying a chicken and a rooster to roam the yard. This was back in the day when I was getting into my teens. The first thing 3 in the morning, the rooster lets off its crow. Dad put up with this for a couple of days before deciding to put the rooster under a bin to muffle it's crow. After some time, they just had to go. I was sick of the crowing and I saw no reason why Dad would embarrass the family making the yard into a farm.

Roosters are a bloody nuisance.

Reply #39 - Apr 11th, 2021 at 3:46am

Sophia wrote on Apr 10th, 2021 at 11:01pm:
Back to chooks/chickens....Went to see a friend whose kitchen/dining is very country themed and chook images galore!
Her kitchen is reminiscent of the cream coloured 1950s.
Check out this most unusual kettle she has! It’s amazing!

https://i.imgur.com/FnhPLZA.jpg

HAHAHA!

Reply #40 - Apr 11th, 2021 at 9:18am

Monk - aren't you going a bit far for a man
of your age suffering infirmity?

You want to make a gigantic move to Tassy -
a cold and unforgiving wilderness.
You want: a greyhound, chooks and now a bee hive.

This is not adding up.
I suggest you talk to your doctor.

Reply #41 - Apr 11th, 2021 at 9:20am

I don’t have any chicken–themed crockery, Lols (apart from two egg coddlers) but I did buy material  with chickens painted on it (or dyed on, whatever.) Make nice curtains for my kitchen window once I have a kitchen. White fabric, colorful chooks on window looking onto backyard where my chooks will be, nice.

Reply #42 - Apr 11th, 2021 at 12:14pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 11th, 2021 at 9:20am:
I don’t have any chicken–themed crockery, Lols (apart from two egg coddlers) but I did buy material  with chickens painted on it (or dyed on, whatever.) Make nice curtains for my kitchen window once I have a kitchen. White fabric, colorful chooks on window looking onto backyard where my chooks will be, nice.

Check out these cool garden ornaments from eBay!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Garden-Ornaments-Chicken-Yard-Art-Garden-Backyard-La...

Reply #43 - Apr 11th, 2021 at 12:45pm

Some interesting facts about chickens:

1. They poop mostly at night while they are sleeping on a roost

2. Their poop is black but has a while cap. The black is poop and the white is the urine.

3. Removing the poop weekly or daily will inevitably leave some poop for insects to eat but not enough of those insects to attract their predators. Best way is to cover the poop with straw, that way there is a balance of poop loving insects and their predators.

4. When a hen lays an egg it puts a “bloom” on the egg that will prevent bacteria gaining access to the inside of the egg.

5. Washing an egg removes that bloom: scrape the poop off if there happens to be some on an egg. (if you are going to boil the egg right there and then you can of course wash it and that is what I would do.)

6. Because of 5. to break open an egg crack on a straight surface, do NOT use a knife which can carry any poo on the shell to the inside of the egg.

7. Regardless of 5. and 6. Do keep some chooks (at least two) because FRESH! eggs from chooks that can roam some of your backyard are incredibly delicious!

8. Chickens have powerful claws that they use to dig through soil in the search for insects to eat. Terriers love to chase and kill chickens. Make a secure coop and run!

9. Make sure to keep a patch of dry soil: chickens take dustbaths to rid themselves of lice and mites etc.

10. If you lose a chook, eh, $15 at a fodder store.

11. Chickens need a secure coop and run. The coop needs to have a roost made of about 5cm diameter wood that is free of splinters and rounded so the chickens can lock the claws around it.

12. You need egg boxes where the birds can sit and lay their eggs.

13. You need to ensure eggs are collected at least daily because if the chickens realise how tasty their own eggs are they will peck them open and eat them. A golfball left in the nesting boxes discourages that behavior.

« Last Edit: Apr 11th, 2021 at 1:14pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #44 - Apr 11th, 2021 at 12:49pm

Sophia wrote on Apr 11th, 2021 at 12:14pm:
Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 11th, 2021 at 9:20am:

Check out these cool garden ornaments from eBay!

https://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Garden-Ornaments-Chicken-Yard-Art-Garden-Backyard-La...

Yeah, I have seen similar, some made of iron that has rusted and I do want to get some once I have a house and garden at least started in Tassie. Can make a nice comic effect I reckon.

I had two pergolas built on the George Town block. The big one was 3m high and 2m wide. I thought the height would give elegance. It just looked skinny {Oops!} I reckon 3m high and 4m wide would do the trick. 4m wide would give a nice big outdoor entertaining area too. Clematis climbing the pergola posts, star jasmine growing over the top.