Looking for a new dog (Read 2549 times)

Looking for a new dog
Apr 8th, 2021 at 11:59pm

This one, a 20Kg Jack Russell cross not too bad:

20Kg—and I would have to take a husky cross as well, too dangerous while Mum is around—a 20Kg dog could easily cause her to fall by just greeting her. Coco is only 1yo which is nice tho I prefer a puppy, start obedience training early.

Re: Looking for a new dog
Reply #1 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:04am

Wrong dog for the elderly.
It's a working dog that requires heaps of daily exercise.

Reply #2 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:09am

It is not a working dog, it is a terrier. Geez, DUMB!

Reply #3 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:15am

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:09am:

Monk - ask the vet and tell them about your bad hip
and other medical problems.

Reply #4 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:23am

LOL, you idiot! My hip is titanium! It is fine! I can walk kilometres.

Do you think I would want an active dog if I had mobility problems? Then I would get a chihuahua or something.

Reply #5 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:38am

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:23am:

Do you think I would want an active dog if I had mobility problems? Then I would get a chihuahua or something.

Monk - you can't keep up with a working dog -
you're too old.

Reply #6 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:40am

That is a terrier not a working dog you IDIOT!

A Jack Russel cross FFS

Reply #7 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:45am

Monk - you really are an idiot:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jack_Russell_Terrier

The Jack Russell Terrier is a small terrier that has its origins in fox hunting in England.

Jack Russells are an energetic breed that rely on a high level of exercise and stimulation. They are relatively free from any serious health complaints.

Jack Russells are first and foremost a
working terrier

[47] Originally bred to bolt foxes from their dens during hunts,

Reply #8 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:48am

But not a working dog like a border collie you idiot!

Reply #9 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:49am

jack russels are a really sh1t dog, aggressive and bark a lot all the time, they all have small dog syndrome and very difficult to train it out of them ,  worst breed of dog ever.

Reply #10 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:55am

rhino wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:49am:
jack russels are a really sh1t dog, aggressive and bark a lot all the time, they all have small dog syndrome and very difficult to train it out of them ,  worst breed of dog ever.

They bark because idiots like Monk buy them
and chain them all day in a backyard.
The poor dog gets bored and very distressed
so it barks all day long.

Reply #11 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:04am

You idiot.

I never chain any dog.

I walk my dogs pretty much every day with a LONG walk each week

I take them to obedience, agility and tracking training.

You are an idiot.

Demi was part Jack Russell. Lovely dog.

Reply #12 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:05am

Bobby. wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:55am:
rhino wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:49am:

They bark because idiots like Monk buy them
and chain them all day in a backyard.
The poor dog gets bored and very distressed
so it barks all day long.
incorrect, you could walk a jack Russell all day long and it will still be aggressive and bark all night. Its in their nature.

Reply #13 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:06am

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:04am:
You idiot.

I never chain any dog.

You are an idiot.

why do you react to his sh1t.  He pulls your strings like a puppet.

Reply #14 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:07am

You idiot.

I never chain any dog.

You are an idiot.

Monk - you're too old to own a working dog.

Apologise for saying that it wasn't a working dog.

Reply #15 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:08am

You 2 are like a couple of aging gays putting each other down.

Reply #16 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:15am

Bobby. wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:04am:
Wrong dog for the elderly.
It's a working dog that requires heaps of daily exercise.

Plenty of elderly get does with plenty of energy and go for walks daily. My parents, although not elderly, are old enough to have two medium-large dogs that love their walk down to the park for a runaround and back home. It is part of the reason why older people get pets. So that they can stay fit.

Reply #17 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:16am

Yup, got to take a dog walking or don’t get a dog!

I can walk a dog, no probs.

A working terrier can search for and kill rats. Or take a Jack Russel if hunting foxes.

Reply #18 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:34am

Triumph!

Oh man, last night was so weird: Went into ring, took lead off and gave to steward and thought “Will she run away straight away like the last trial in May/” No, didn’t run away, obediently followed me as I walked at a smart pace as directed by the judge “Forward. . .left turn. . .right turn. . .halt (and Demi did the automatic sit) etc” She missed one “drop” command. Anyway, we worked our way to the back of the (rectangular, roughly 15m x 50m, ring) and I thought “now she will stuff up” because the judge tends to let people stand there for maybe quarter of a minute. But Demi was still there, and I get the command “fast forward” so I tell Demi “heel” with voice and hand signal and break out into a bit of a trot—usually the time when she will misbehave, just out of excitement and joy of running but we did a halt, left turn and into the figure of eight, two stewards (in practice sometimes just two small witches hats) standing 2-3m apart and I am thinking “We are going through the flipping figure of eight!” It was on leaving the figure of eight I clapped my hands for Demi to come up to me, sheer nerves! The figure of eight as usual caused quite a few dogs to fail, lagging too far behind the handler and then walking past the figure not through it: key is to walk briskly esp in the bits in between the two posts (the stewards making the posts) but I had no worries, Demi does this quite well.

This is all fairly hard—the heeling is heeling free—no lead! One of the stewards took the lead after I took it off Demi and took it way! Remember there are like 200 dogs there, going through rings on either side, standing around the ring as the owners wait for their turn to go into the ring and naturally there is some barking etc. It is purely the bond between dog and handler that keeps the dog by your side, and terriers tend to get bored and sidetracked easily.

After the heeling pattern is the stand for exam, bring dog up to a mark, stop telling the dog “stand” with voice and hand signal, on command of judge leave the dog telling it “stay” and come to rest about 3m from dog. Judge then goes up to the dog and “examines” it, running his/her (a her last night) over dogs back and legs, then leaves dog and tells handler (handler is not always the owner, e.g. due to informity) to return to the dog down its left side, around behind the dog and up its right side. If the dog moves 1 or 3 legs you get penalised, if the dog moves all 4 legs you bomb the trial. You must get at least half marks in EVERY part of the trial.

After stand for exam you are told to go to the back of the ring where there is a little marker—and Demi did head for the edge of the ring but came back promptly enough when I called her. On the marker judge tells you forward, so move forward 2-4 paces “Halt” and I stopped and Demi did the automatic sit nicely enough “leave your dog” so I told her to “wait” and walked, oh about 20 metres, turned around and halted on command (you must let yourself become a robot and just do what the judge tells you, this becomes more important the higher you get) then on command I shouted “Come! trying to keep the tone of voice happy—you are such a bundle of nerves already and you try to remember everything your instructors have pounded into you :bgrin — and sometimes the dog just sits there and you bombed the trial or it saunters over or it races past you, all of which fail this exercise and the trial. Demi came at a good clip and banged into my legs, costing us 3 points but I was happy as a pig in poo, Demi not being always reliable here :jump “Heel your dog” and Demi obediently wnet down my right side, behind me and ended sitting on my left—we probably lost a point because she sat a little bit crooked.

Then the change of position, where from a distance of 3-4 metres I tell Demi who I left standing “drop” with voice and hand signal and again, sometimes a dog who has done brilliantly will miss the signal and just stay standing, failing the exercise and the trial. Demi, tho distracted by a dog barking at the wrong flipping moment dropped nicely without moving forward—dog has to move straight down, if it moves more than half a body length forward you fail.

So do all that, judge tells me we did really well and I leave ring with adrenaline pulsing through me :jump

After that had to wait for the stays: these are done 10 dogs at a time and the rules say at least 3 dogs have to do the exercise so last night two dogs that had done (and broke!) their stays stayed in the ring to let one last handler do her stays. Dog has to sit and not lift its bum for one minute with handler 10 metres away, then has to drop and we leave our dogs for a 3 minute drop stay—dog must not get up, no daylight under its belly. This gets nerve wracking and I had to tell myself to breathe the whole 3 minutes!

in the end I knew we probably had a place because precious few dogs got through the stays, didn’t know only 3 made it the whole way. Happens like that sometimes, other times 10-20 dogs will pass.

Dog obedience is not a competitive sport, you and your dog just have to get a minimum of 170 points and at least half marks in each exercise and every dog and handler can pass if they are good enough.

Does this have any use in the real world? Well, the figure of eight doesn’t but imagine your dog I still remember thinking “We are doing the figure of eight!”
« Last Edit: May 19th, 2021 at 1:32am by Jovial Monk »  

Super Nova

Everywhere
Reply #19 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 3:43am

rhino wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:08am:
You 2 are like a couple of aging gays putting each other down.

LOL - nailed it

Reply #20 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 10:18am

Reply #21 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 10:30am

Do some reading, dumbarse. Your copy and pastes show you are clueless.

Reply #22 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 10:41am

An Australian Terrier is not a bad dog, if you are looking for a small dog which circumstances force me to do.

Better than these terriers:

Reply #23 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 10:58am

Working terriers—foxhunting:

And:

Reply #24 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:22pm

i hate yap yaps. They arent real dogs.

Reply #25 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 4:26pm

No dog is a yap yap. Their owners turn them into yap yaps—every time they bark the owner picks them up, pats them “Good dog!” I had a chihuahua and it was not a yappy dog.

Reply #26 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:38pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 12:38am:

you're too old.

you don't even know what a working dog is ... do you?

Reply #27 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:41pm

John Smith wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:38pm:

you're too old.

Monk deleted my explanation:

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1617935174/3#3

Yep - if he can't win against Bobby -
he deletes Bobby's words.

Reply #28 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:45pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:41pm:
John Smith wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:38pm:

you're too old.

BTW ... monk didn't delete anything... it's just that you're to stupid to figure it out

Monk deleted my explanation:

https://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1617935174/3#3

Yep - if he can't win against Bobby -
he deletes Bobby's words.

it's a terrier you moron  ... it was an idiot like you that thought putting the word 'working' in front of the word terrier would change that. You can put the word 'working' in front of every type of dog that doesn't make them working dogs.

Reply #29 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:49pm

Not deleted.

Copy and paste ad infinitum is not explanation. Your crap about “working terrier” you had already posted 3 times and I am possibly thinking about a Jack Russell cross.

See the YouTubes I posted? Those are working terriers, not at all the same as a working (i.e. herding) dog.

I have written heaps about dogs here. I do know what I am talking about, unlike you. I did check with the RSPCA re my age, no problem.

So go away with your tiresome copy and pastes of stuff you have no knowledge or understanding of.

Reply #30 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:51pm

Sprint I sent you a PM.

Reply #31 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:56pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:49pm:
Not deleted.

Copy and paste ad infinitum is not explanation. Your crap about “working terrier” you had already posted 3 times and I am possibly thinking about a Jack Russell cross.

See the YouTubes I posted? Those are working terriers, not at all the same as a working (i.e. herding) dog.

I have written heaps about dogs here. I do know what I am talking about, unlike you. I did check with the RSPCA re my age, no problem.

So go away with your tiresome copy and pastes of stuff you have no knowledge or understanding of.

The dog you want is a working dog and
is unsuitable for someone as old and infirm as you.
Tell your Vet the truth before getting it.

Reply #32 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:59pm

Working TERRIER.

Demi was a Jack Russell cross. No probs.

Reply #33 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 6:05pm

THESE are working dogs.

Working TERRIERS:
A working terrier is a small type of dog which pursues its quarry into the earth. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, the name dates back to at least 1440, derived from French chien terrier 'digging dog', from Medieval Latin terrarius, ultimately from Latin terra (earth).

With the growth of popularity of fox hunting in Britain in the 18th and 19th centuries, terriers were extensively bred to follow the red fox, and also the Eurasian badger, into its burrow, referred to as "terrier work" and "going to ground".[1] The purpose of the terrier is to locate the quarry, and either bark and bolt it free or to a net, or trap or hold it so that it can be dug down to and killed or captured.[

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Working_terrier

Reply #34 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 6:25pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 5:59pm:
Working TERRIER.

Demi was a Jack Russell cross. No probs.

Anecdotal evidence is inadmissible when you argue with me.

Reply #35 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 6:37pm

You mistook working terrier for working dog.

I posted excerpts and cited my sources to show a working terrier is not a working dog.

Now you babble about anecdotal evidence? Not anecdotal evidence, idiot!

Demi was no problem. Throwing a rubber ball for her to fetch gave her exercise.

Argue with you? You are so dense you do not see what people tell you, you go on and on and on and on and on about something you think you know because of a quick google and copy and paste.

Reply #36 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 7:16pm

I wouldn’t mind a whippet. Nice looking dogs. Or a rehomed greyhound.

But likely it will be a small terrier. Will get a second, bigger dog once settled in Tassie.

Reply #37 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 7:22pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 7:16pm:

But likely it will be a small terrier. Will get a second, bigger dog once settled in Tassie.

A greyhound is a working dog - you fool.     Roll Eyes

Reply #38 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 7:26pm

Get an Italian greyhound ... much smaller than a regular greyhound and easier to manage

Reply #39 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 8:13pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 7:22pm:

A greyhound is a working dog - you fool.     Roll Eyes

Do you have any idea how little exercise a rehomed greyhound needs?

Greyhound is not listed under Working Dogs by the ANKC, it is listed in the Hounds section of course.

Reply #40 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 8:17pm

John Smith wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 7:26pm:

Get an Italian greyhound ... much smaller than a regular greyhound and easier to manage

OK, will keep that in mind.

Reply #41 - Apr 9th, 2021 at 10:11pm

Reply #42 - Apr 10th, 2021 at 2:11pm

I think when a couple of things are done and dusted I will approach the mob in the link above. A companion dog, will do some obedience training but likely not trialling (will have to see how it goes.)

A greyhound has better eyes and uses sight to hunt. Else they wouldn’t follow the mechanical hare in greyhound races. So maybe not a candidate for tracking training.

Reply #43 - May 18th, 2021 at 5:26am

After better informed debate elsewhere (LOL a greyhound is NOT a working dog!) I will likely buy a Staffordshire terrier and maybe an Italian greyhound.

Plenty of staffies for adoption in the pound—likely people think they are small dogs, easy to care for but they are terriers, headstrong! Not at all easy to train and manage! They need mental stimulation and plenty exercise.

I have my eye on an excellent large block of land, plenty nice spaces to walk the mutt or mutts.
« Last Edit: May 18th, 2021 at 5:47am by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #44 - May 18th, 2021 at 3:29pm

Dog’s are great:

Reply #45 - May 18th, 2021 at 9:48pm

Bobby. wrote on Apr 9th, 2021 at 1:07am:
You idiot.

I never chain any dog.

You are an idiot.

Was it a Plumber ? May come in handy.

Reply #46 - May 19th, 2021 at 1:05am

LOL, that clown has no idea what a working dog is, like he has no idea about what his board is supposed to discuss.

Reply #47 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 10:58am

Definitely an English Staffordshire Bull Terrier I reckon. When the lounge is tidied again will start looking seriously. (emptying 3 large bookcases, sorting books and photos, makes a mess temporarily.)

Reply #48 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 11:50am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 26th, 2022 at 10:58am:
Definitely an English Staffordshire Bull Terrier I reckon. When the lounge is tidied again will start looking seriously. (emptying 3 large bookcases, sorting books and photos, makes a mess temporarily.)

Great dogs

Reply #49 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 1:34pm

And possibly a rehomed greyhound or Italian greyhound as well.

I go for fairly long walks in the early morning most days—a dog would get me walking every day, overcome the Sancho Panza in all of us. Not that I will tilt at windmills—there aren’t any here Smiley Smiley

In cooler weather I woul go back to the 13–14Km walks in the Torrens Linear Park as well as doing the obedience etc training.

Reply #50 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 1:43pm

There is a young Rottweiler bitch up for adoption at the local pound:

https://www.rspcasa.org.au/adopt-a-pet/?search=1&type%5B%5D=98&type%5B%5D=107

Might help with feral neighbor in Tassie?

Think they are just too aggressive.

Reply #51 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 1:50pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 26th, 2022 at 1:43pm:
There is a young Rottweiler bitch up for adoption at the local pound:

https://www.rspcasa.org.au/adopt-a-pet/?search=1&type%5B%5D=98&type%5B%5D=107

Might help with feral neighbor in Tassie?

Think they are just too aggressive.

rotties need a lot of work. Good dogs, but I'm not so sure if they're suitable for someone your age. She's likely to pull you off your feet while walking.

And they are as aggressive as you teach them to be.

Reply #52 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 2:11pm

I think you are right about rotties, John. I just thought I would throw the idea out there. I have no desire to have my arm pulled from my shoulder by a big, strong, dominating dog.

Mind you, would help with the feral neighbor  Grin

Ayn Marx

South of Australia
Reply #53 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 2:44pm

First off, which region of the country do you live in. Some breeds, such as Smithfields and Scots Collies won’t tolerate long walks in the heat.
Do you want a dog that will live inside the house? Tolerant of violent two year old humans? (More often than not when a young child has been attacked it’s the brat who should be put down, not the dog).
How happy would you be with a breed that requires frequent grooming? Be careful of this one as some short haired breeds moult like crazy requiring a daily brush.
Do you need a dog that’s going to bail up intruders?

Haven’t read all this thread so maybe I’m asking questions already answered.
« Last Edit: Jan 26th, 2022 at 3:09pm by Ayn Marx »  

The Human Race is Insane

Reply #54 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 2:48pm

Heat is not a problem where my block is, it really isn’t.

Yes, strange kids (strange to the dog) and dogs do not get on—the dog wants to be dominant and it does that—by biting. This will generally not be a problem occurring much at all.

Terriers don’t mould but shed all year round, oh yeah, know that!

Ayn Marx

South of Australia
Reply #55 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 3:45pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jan 26th, 2022 at 2:48pm:
Heat is not a problem where my block is, it really isn’t.

Yes, strange kids (strange to the dog) and dogs do not get on—the dog wants to be dominant and it does that—by biting. This will generally not be a problem occurring much at all.

Terriers don’t mould but shed all year round, oh yeah, know that!

Having witnessed a few two year olds attack dogs I don’t share your view. From an upstairs kitchen window I witnessed a brat bash a dogs tail with a hammer into a concrete path. Sadly I wasn’t quick enough to prevent the dog defending itself by holding said brat down by her arm. The parents refused to accept my obervations of their little darling’s attack and had the dog destroyed.

Silky Haired Australian Terriers are one of my pet canine hates. Prone to biting even their owners, especally when they get older it’s not a breed I’d ever consider living with. But hey, even Aunt Maud’s darling Chihuahuas can be ankle biters. Can’t blame them though, they were bred for humans to eat.

The Human Race is Insane

Reply #56 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 8:31pm

Not getting a silky. Hope to get a cross or mongrel.

Reply #57 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 8:49pm

A pet dog is like a pet black person. A working dog has dignity, a pet dog is a house slave.

Reply #58 - Jan 26th, 2022 at 8:52pm

Terriers are ratters, i.e. working terriers.

Reply #59 - Jan 27th, 2022 at 9:12pm

Frank wrote on Jan 26th, 2022 at 8:49pm:
A pet dog is like a pet black person. A working dog has dignity, a pet dog is a house slave.

it's got one up on you then

Reply #60 - Mar 3rd, 2022 at 7:57am

Above I state my intention of getting a Staffordshire Bull Terrier puppy. And I did visit the RSPCA shelter when there were two of those up for adoption, but both adopted when I got there.

Meet staghound cross Socks: http://www.ozpolitic.com/forum/YaBB.pl?num=1646110251/0#0