Homelessness Shaping Up As Major Election Issue (Read 589 times)
whiteknight

Homelessness Shaping Up As Major Election Issue
Jan 20th, 2021 at 7:01am

Homelessness crisis: Mark McGowan says ‘anarchists’ behind Perth, Fremantle tent cities

January 19, 2021

Perth Now

West Australian Premier Mark McGowan has blamed “anarchists” for organising tent cities to draw attention to the state’s homelessness crisis.

The premier has accused activists of setting up a camp in Fremantle over the Christmas period as a political stunt ahead of the March election.

Dozens of tents have been set up at the camp located opposite the office of Communities Minister Simone McGurk.

Premier Mark McGowan.

Another homeless camp has been set up on the eastern fringes of Perth’s CBD for much of the past year.   Huh

A “frustrated” Mr McGowan claims some of the people at the Fremantle camp already have accommodation but have been enticed there by organisers.

“The protesters, professional protesters, are often people from organisations like Extinction Rebellion - basically anarchists,” he told reporters on Tuesday.

“They are coordinating this as some sort of protest movement.

“Often these people have complex mental health, drug addictions, alcohol addictions - I just urge them, use the services that are available.”

House the Homeless WA spokesperson Jesse Noakes, a former Extinction Rebellion organiser and prominent advocate for homeless people, labelled the premier’s comments as “baseless conspiracy theories”.   Sad

“That the premier chooses to paint desperate people demanding support from his government as professional protesters shows how his government handles a crisis - with spin, distraction and a fatal abandonment of duty of care,” he said in a statement.

Mr Noakes said the government had ignored letters from advocates and homeless people demanding immediate accommodation and housing.

The premier has accused activists of setting up a camp in Fremantle over the Christmas period as a political stunt ahead of the March election.

Homelessness is shaping up as a major election issue despite expectations the Labor government will comfortably win re-election.

About 15,000 people are on the social housing waitlist and more than 1000 people are living on the streets, according to Shelter WA.   Sad

WA’s rental vacancies have meanwhile hit record lows, with a moratorium on evictions and rent increases effectively freezing the market.

Residents of Perth’s Tent City have raised fears about growing violence, theft of their possessions and mounting rubbish including discarded syringes.

Mr McGowan said his government was investing “more than ever before” into new social housing and homelessness services.

“What (the tent city organisers) are doing is taking advantage of vulnerable people rather than helping people, they are exploiting them,” he said.

whiteknight

Re: Homelessness Shaping Up As Major Election Issue
Reply #1 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 7:23am

Yes homelessness should be a major election issue, in all Australia.   Sad

Reply #2 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 8:58am

'Anarchists', you say?  I suppose.... like... they have some kind of choice?

What do you expect them to do, McGowan?  Starve genteelly in hovels out of sight of the decent folk hustling about their gold-plated business? Poverty on the streets is acceptable as long as the good folk don't have to see it in front of them... kind of like a concentration camp or something, where the good burghers didn't know what was going on over the hill??

Borderlander!!

It's part of the Australia disease, this simple and expedient ability to step back and forth between the Light Side and the Dark Side of humanity... and not even notice the difference....

The very clear presence of evil is precisely why we must learn to fight.....

I've tentatively re-titled my slowly developing book "Borderland".... that title crosses a few borders already in place, though - the Borderlands Series and such... but the focus is entirely different.

Reply #3 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 9:08am

whiteknight wrote on Jan 20th, 2021 at 7:23am:

ScoMo won the May 2019 election so the next
election is still over 1 year away.

Reply #4 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 9:17am

Bobby. wrote on Jan 20th, 2021 at 9:08am:

ScoMo won the May 2019 election so the next
election is still over 1 year away.

Campaign early - campaign often!!

It's time to bring those uppity Western States to heel and stop their overloading our FedParl with their lackeys of business etc... they are NOT the engine room of our economy - the Eastern and populous States are with their spending... and deserve greater respect and a few less Asbestos Queens and Cormannators...WTF did either of those ever bring to the table in reality?

Political position is not a business opportunity for your mates - the salary and perks should be reduced to reflect that it is a genuine service to the public and the nation, not your private fiefdom for your personal exploitation..

Reply #5 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 9:46am

I've noticed some media outlets and politicians trying to play down the issue by saying that these people are "sleeping rough".

They do anything they can to avoid using the H word.

Reply #6 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 9:53am

West Australia gets only 70% of it's GST back:

https://westernaustraliaparty.org.au/news/181-gst-campaign-update-2020

That amounts to $billions of stolen money which
could have helped homeless people.

whiteknight

Reply #7 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 10:51am

Is it not interesting how the federal government says, social housing is a state issue?.  Is that a case of what is called, passing the buck?.   Sad

Reply #8 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 11:14am

Bobby. wrote on Jan 20th, 2021 at 9:53am:
West Australia gets only 70% of it's GST back:

https://westernaustraliaparty.org.au/news/181-gst-campaign-update-2020

That amounts to $billions of stolen money which
could have helped homeless people.

Greatest good of the greater number - that's how socialist governments work, such as your LNP.  When it comes to the election breakers, they always ante up something....

They are as guilty as Labor in promoting the fatal illness of factionalisation and preference to specified groups.... they DID, after all, set the ball rolling with affirmative action in the Commonwealth Public Service, an issue over which I resigned.

Now that writing, as I so clearly laid out so many years ago, is on the wall.... women overall are now being paid 11.7% extra per hour worked, and often in jobs that do buggar all but sit.  This will become even more apparent once the fifty year cycle of superannuation comes along, and it becomes clear that women, via artificial advancement and preferred appointment/promotion in the lucrative and easy jobs and all the preferential things they cop along the way, actually have more in retirement than men, who will be trawling through the scrap heaps of jobs looking for a fair meal once a day.

WOPs and Spades are just an addition to the preference industry to make it look good....... but the primary intent and result is to favour women without valid reason. Put simply - they are NOT better at some jobs than men, and we only need one Swahili speaker at the airport... not fifty of them.

The facts are right there..... ignore at the peril of your sons and grandsons - and that applies to men and women alike.... they're your boys out there struggling to get a fair go.... and you vote for this sh1t.

whiteknight

Reply #9 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 11:44am

Social housing left high and dry in 2020 Budget   Sad
Housing and homelessness advocates say this year’s budget was a “missed opportunity”.
Probono Australia.
7 October 2020

Dreams of a social housing-led economy recovery have been dashed in this year’s federal budget, with the government favouring tax cuts to middle-income workers and big infrastructure spending as a way to reboot the economy.

For months, community housing and homelessness advocates have said that investment in social housing would create 60,000 jobs over four years, building 30,000 properties and renovating 100,000 to decent standards.

These calls received cross-sector support from industries including, unions, construction, economists, and community sector leaders.

But Treasurer Josh Frydenberg’s budget announcement on Tuesday night failed to take the proposals on board, or even mention social housing at all.

Frydenberg announced an additional $1 billion of low cost finance loans to support the construction of affordable housing, taking the total concessional finance that has been made available to community housing providers to $3 billion.

Steve Bevington, the managing director of Community Housing Limited, told Pro Bono News that while low cost finance would reduce the cost of debt to build housing, this would not help vulnerable people who are unemployed or on low incomes.

“People in housing who are unemployed or on pensions have the lowest incomes of all. They need rents that are at 30 per cent or below their level of their Centrelink benefits. Such rents can only cover the cost of management, maintenance, insurance and rates, and leave nothing left over to meet interest repayments on even low cost finance,” Bevington said.

“As far as affordable housing is concerned, where people have hung onto fast disappearing jobs then such financing is a great help, but $1 billion is just 13 per cent of what was sought in necessary grant funding under the request for social housing growth.”    Sad

Kate Colvin, the policy and communications manager of Council to Homeless Persons, told Pro Bono News that investing in social housing construction would have “killed two birds with one stone”.

“This was an opportunity of a lifetime to kill two birds with one stone, by creating jobs at the same time as creating homes, so that everyone has a decent, affordable place to live,” she said.

While $14 billion in new road infrastructure projects were announced, Colvin said these projects would not stimulate the economy anywhere near as fast as social housing projects would.   Sad

“Road infrastructure projects take years to begin construction, and they won’t stimulate the economy at a time when the stimulus is needed,” she said.

“It’s a budget that fails to stimulate the economy and protect vulnerable people in need.”

Homelessness budgets also take a hit
Budget measures also included a cut of $41.3 million from homelessness funding in July 2021, a move that has angered frontline and advocacy services.

Homelessness Australia chair Jenny Smith said that in a year with huge increases in unemployment creating a surge in rental stress and homelessness, slashing homelessness funding was the wrong move.   

“The treasurer had a choice to make, and he has chosen homelessness for tens of thousands of Australian families,” Smith said.

“Without increases in social housing and with even less resources for homelessness services, many families will become stuck in homelessness for a long time.”   Sad

Reply #10 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 3:47pm

help

help

help me.

when i was a child my mummy and daddy put a roof over my head.

now i'm an adult, i am looking for a mummy or daddy to look after me.

are you my mummy scomo

can i have some breastmilk as well.

i'm sad

scomo wont let me suckle

i think i'll have a little cry

i think i'll go on line and complain.

if i complain really loudly , maybe someone will come and build me a house.

i think i'll throw a little pity party and tell everyone how sad i am

just so you know

whiteknight

Reply #11 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 4:52pm

About 15,000 people are on the social housing waitlist and more than 1000 people are living on the streets, according to Shelter WA.   Sad

Yadda

A cat with a view
Reply #12 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 5:35pm

I agree.

The level of Homelessness we see, in a country like Australia, is a disgrace.

.....but then, so too, is the level of LAWLESSNESS, in Australia, in the last few decades.

Many state governments would rather get [directly] involved in the funding of $billion FOOTY and SPORTING STADIUMS, even when they can clearly see the level of Homelessness which is apparent, in Australia.

It is a disgrace.

"....And he said unto him, If they hear not Moses and the prophets, neither will they be persuaded, though one rose from the dead."
Luke 16:31

Reply #13 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 6:52pm

aquascoot wrote on Jan 20th, 2021 at 3:47pm:
help

help

help me.

when i was a child my mummy and daddy put a roof over my head.

now i'm an adult, i am looking for a mummy or daddy to look after me.

are you my mummy scomo

can i have some breastmilk as well.

i'm sad

scomo wont let me suckle

i think i'll have a little cry

i think i'll go on line and complain.

if i complain really loudly , maybe someone will come and build me a house.

i think i'll throw a little pity party and tell everyone how sad i am

just so you know

If only it were that black and white......

You could look at it the other way - governments design the policies that create unemployment and homelessness - therefore governments have the responsibility to fix it.

Reply #14 - Jan 20th, 2021 at 8:26pm

Amazing isn't it.

I don't want to work.......give me money.

Can't be bothered to get a job, but I want a house........give me house.

Like screwing shelas, making babies, shelas pumping out kids.....free money and housing.

Love just doing what I like, as long as it ain't work, give me money and a house.

It seems the lazy, the worthless, and the greedy want, but cannot be bothered to actually put themselves out to earn it themselves.

It's time to say enough is enough.
You get the dole for 12 months and after that, your on your own.

I was brought up in a poor home
Had to leave and find work at 15 because my parent couldn't continue to support me.
I worked, studied and made a life for myself.
Was never out of work.

If I can do it, anyone can, if they aren't just to lazy to try.

No one is owed a living.
Why should some lazy base turd be given free cash for doing nothing.
Get off your arse and work, be a contributor instead of a parasite.