Once our State borders open.... (Read 5618 times)

Re: Once our State borders open....
Reply #30 - Oct 7th, 2020 at 12:36pm

That happened only recently. Gladys closed Bondi Beach for the same reason.

Reply #31 - Oct 9th, 2020 at 3:56pm

Sophia wrote on May 9th, 2020 at 3:29pm:
Since travel overseas until at least next year won’t be happening, apart from New Zealand......

Will everyone be on our roads with campers, caravans, etc more than ever?

Will a lot of hotel/motels be booked more than usual?

Just wondering.....
I reckon more Victorian’s than ever will abscond to Queensland to escape winter.
Already wetter year than last year.
Water catchment this time last year was 50% now it’s 63% and we are mid way autumn only!

In a way, if it helps boost our own Australian tourism economy, it’s a blessing in disguise I guess.

For something that was written 5 months ago to the day, you were very perceptive. There will be plenty of people wanting to holiday around Australia, as they cannot travel overseas. But, we will see plenty of international visitors coming into Australia when the travel restrictions internationally end. Few Australians will be encouraged to travel overseas. There will be a lot of suspicion of international visitors. Accusations of restarting the spread of the virus in Australia by international visitors will be witnessed.

Reply #32 - Oct 10th, 2020 at 9:11am

Tasmania lifting restrictions for SA/WA/NT/Qld + maybe NSW later this month and Vic on 1 Dec if the number of new cases there keeps dropping.

Got that from an email from Spirit of Tasmania prompting me to check the Tas govt website.

Reply #33 - Oct 13th, 2020 at 12:49am

UnSubRocky wrote on Oct 9th, 2020 at 3:56pm:
Sophia wrote on May 9th, 2020 at 3:29pm:
Since travel overseas until at least next year won’t be happening, apart from New Zealand......

Will everyone be on our roads with campers, caravans, etc more than ever?

Will a lot of hotel/motels be booked more than usual?

Just wondering.....
I reckon more Victorian’s than ever will abscond to Queensland to escape winter.
Already wetter year than last year.
Water catchment this time last year was 50% now it’s 63% and we are mid way autumn only!

In a way, if it helps boost our own Australian tourism economy, it’s a blessing in disguise I guess.

For something that was written 5 months ago to the day, you were very perceptive. There will be plenty of people wanting to holiday around Australia, as they cannot travel overseas. But, we will see plenty of international visitors coming into Australia when the travel restrictions internationally end. Few Australians will be encouraged to travel overseas. There will be a lot of suspicion of international visitors. Accusations of restarting the spread of the virus in Australia by international visitors will be witnessed.

That's the problem, as it happened for NZ...after 102 days covid free...now they had quite a cluster of infections on the rise from someone flying in from OS I believe?
But have now gone down to zero, of course, it's unlock, lockdown, open, close, or partly open....and that will be witnessed in this next 6 month cycle to come in the land of Oz...since WA, SA, NT, Qld, and Tas are showing off their low or nil infections of late....how's it going to stay that way?
Will airports check everyone coming in thoroughly?
Who do we trust to do that properly?

Reply #34 - Oct 17th, 2020 at 4:33am

How many chunks of stem cells are they gonna remove with people having to do repetitive Testings.

...that's good Stem Cell 'harvesting' for the Medical Industry  Wink

Reply #35 - Oct 17th, 2020 at 4:40pm

Jasin wrote on Oct 17th, 2020 at 4:33am:
How many chunks of stem cells are they gonna remove with people having to do repetitive Testings.

...that's good Stem Cell 'harvesting' for the Medical Industry  Wink

You reckon they’re collecting our DNA?
Well I’m cactus then, can’t resort to a career of crime  Grin

Reply #36 - Oct 17th, 2020 at 5:08pm

Unless a blood sample is taken they are collecting mucus not cells.

Reply #37 - Oct 21st, 2020 at 6:04pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 17th, 2020 at 5:08pm:

It's the saliva/mucus that works out our DNA, but it's the blood that determines the stem cells and if we are a match to anyone needing stem cells etc.

It takes 6 weeks to do testing for stem cells from blood samples taken, and blood taken has to be done in a special way, and not all places that take blood samples can do it.

Reply #38 - Oct 22nd, 2020 at 5:34pm

Sophia wrote on Oct 21st, 2020 at 6:04pm:
Jovial Monk wrote on Oct 17th, 2020 at 5:08pm:

It's the saliva/mucus that works out our DNA, but it's the blood that determines the stem cells and if we are a match to anyone needing stem cells etc.

It takes 6 weeks to do testing for stem cells from blood samples taken, and blood taken has to be done in a special way, and not all places that take blood samples can do it.

spit is good lols.....ut tells them everything...stem cell collecting and dna are two separate things.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

I have so many blood tests its not funny   I have often wondered what happens to all that blood after the testing......not down the sink I trust....ugh!

Reply #39 - Oct 22nd, 2020 at 5:45pm

Depends if you gave them permission toy use your blood.

Reply #40 - Oct 23rd, 2020 at 1:48am

Well, back on topic, looks like a nice little stuffed up cluster happening all over again in the heart of Melbourne....good one Dan and the team, Keep us as the locked up Zombie Nation forever with your fumbling bumbling errors!

I say, how about just Melbourne, and not the Mornington Peninsula, and the Yarra Valley included in this stoopid Melbourne lockdown hot spot
BS-arama?

Enough is enough.

The authorities know where the problems are, the problem areas, and the people/families involved in the re-festering clusters.
It's all in the Norther and Western suburbs.
Same ole same ole as before and from the beginning of all this.

It's like at school, a couple of bad pupils, and the whole class has detention?

Reply #41 - Oct 23rd, 2020 at 6:58am

Dan is the Saviour of the rest of Australia.
Protecting us from the Super Spreaders of Melbourne who want their Americanised 'right' to spread it.

Reply #42 - Oct 23rd, 2020 at 8:30am

Only 1 new case in Vic.

Reply #43 - Nov 27th, 2020 at 1:10am

A few days ago, NSW border opened to Victoria, and it was so lovely to see signage up saying “Welcome Victorians, we missed you”

Oh so now I find out Queensland is opening up 1st December?

My daughter had been showing me how empty the shopping areas usually with tourists, and how dull it all seemed. Even with Black Friday specials it’s not quite busy.
Just all local bogans she sees about...and said she may as well have been at Frankston  Grin Grin

Reply #44 - Nov 27th, 2020 at 7:16am

Maybe despite the Media trying to pump out Tourism support.
People are too busy looking for work, rather than taking a holiday?

I can't post in C&C Lols. But sorry to hear about your cat.