The $50 Billion French Submarine Deal (Read 6251 times)
whiteknight

The $50 Billion French Submarine Deal
Jan 15th, 2020 at 4:03am

Defence Department considered walking away from $50 billion French submarine deal

ABC News
Updated about 8 hours ago
The SEA 1000 was identified in the 2009 Defence White Paper.
Photo: The Australian Government is purchasing 12 new submarines to replace its existing fleet. (Supplied: Australian Submarine Corporation)
Related Story: Defence projects running 57 years late amid delays and cost blowouts
Related Story: Australia to pay French submarine builders up to $404m if deal collapses
Related Story: Lunch breaks and month-long holidays cause culture clash in sub program

Defence secretly considered walking away from the $50 billion French submarine deal during protracted and at times bitter contract negotiations, and started drawing up contingency plans for the new fleet.
Key points:

Advisory group told Defence to consider alternatives
    Extending the life of the Collins-class submarines was one suggestion
    Future governments have the option to walk away from the current deal if it is delayed

The revelations are contained in a new report by the auditor-general that also confirms the program is running nine months late and that Defence is unable to show whether the $396 million spent so far has been "fully effective".   Sad

According to the report, the Federal Government's handpicked advisory group told Defence in 2018 to "consider alternatives to the current plan", when negotiations over a key contract appeared to be breaking down.

The Commonwealth and Naval Group, chosen to build Australia's future submarines, were at loggerheads over the Strategic Partnering Agreement, which would provide a framework for the complex and costly project.

Behind the scenes, the Naval Shipbuilding Advisory Board told Defence to start drawing up alternatives should the negotiations fail.

According to the auditors, Defence began examining whether it could extend the life of the existing Collins-class submarines and "the time this would allow to develop a new acquisition strategy for the Future Submarine if necessary".
Scott Morrison signs a document with Christopher Pyne and Florence Parly sitting alongside him. Naval officers stand behind them
Photo: Christopher Pyne, Scott Morrison and French Armed Forces Minister Florence Parly signed the strategic partnering agreement in February. (Department of Defence)

Concerns were so great that the board asked Defence to consider "whether program risks outweighed the benefits of proceeding" and questioned whether it was still in the national interest to go ahead with the project.   Sad

The Strategic Partnering Agreement was eventually signed, with much fanfare, in early 2019 and notably, it gives future governments the ability to walk away from the project if it's delayed or fails to deliver what it promised.

Already, two key milestones have been missed and work on the design phase is nine months behind schedule.

In the report, Defence expressed a "deepening concern over a number of matters", which in its view "were a risk to the Future Submarine Program".
'The alarm bells are ringing'   Sad

Opposition defence spokesman Richard Marles said the report was "deeply concerning".

"On all three measures of this program — on time of delivery, on the cost of the project, and on the amount of Australian content — the numbers are all going the wrong way," he told the ABC.

Australia's submarine requirements explained
With the winning bidder for Australia's next fleet of submarines announced, attention turns to how it will meet Australia's high-endurance requirements.

Crossbench senator Rex Patrick, who is a former submariner, said Defence needed a "fallback" plan if the project continued to face delays.

"The alarm bells are ringing," Senator Patrick said.

"If the Minister is not hearing them they need to be turned up.

"Defence's view that they can recover the schedule is naive at best."

Despite the persistent problems, Defence maintains construction of the submarines is still on track to begin in Adelaide in 2023.

Minister for Defence Linda Reynolds said the program was complex.

"I welcome the important ANAO [Australian National Audit Office] findings that the Federal Government has established a fit-for-purpose strategic partnering agreement with Naval Group, and that there are appropriate risk management strategies in place to deliver the Future Submarine Program," Senator Reynolds said in a statement.

"The first Attack Class submarine is scheduled for delivery to the Royal Australian Navy in 2032. The ANAO report confirmed there has been no change to this delivery timeframe or budget.

"The program is highly complex and requires a long-term focus.

"Whilst the Future Submarine Program is still in the early design phase and there have been some delays, it is essential to get the design right."

Re: The $50 Billion French Submarine Deal
Reply #1 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:08pm

Got no money for fire equipment but plenty for useless submarines Sad

Reply #2 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:28pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:08pm:

We should have bought proven nuclear submarines from France
not diesel subs.

Reply #3 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:33pm

Bobby reminds me of a submarine.

Captain Nemo

Reply #4 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:45pm

$50 Billion would have been bad enough for a Jerry-rigged diesel version of a meant to be Nuclear sub.  Roll Eyes

BUT ... the cost is actually about $255 Billion and counting.  Shocked

The 2025 election could be a shocker.

Reply #5 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:52pm

Reply #6 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 8:01pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:45pm:
$50 Billion would have been bad enough for a Jerry-rigged diesel version of a meant to be Nuclear sub.  Roll Eyes

BUT ... the cost is actually about $255 Billion and counting.  Shocked

Not quite.  That is based on its estimated total life costs, not on its cost of purchase.   Roll Eyes

Reply #7 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 8:02pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 15th, 2020 at 7:28pm:

not diesel subs.

And we would have lost them for years at a time as they are refitted for refueling.  We lack a nuclear industry, so we would need to pay the French considerably more for the subs.  Roll Eyes

Reply #8 - Jan 15th, 2020 at 8:21pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 15th, 2020 at 8:02pm:

not diesel subs.

And we would have lost them for years at a time as they are refitted for refueling.  We lack a nuclear industry, so we would need to pay the French considerably more for the subs.  Roll Eyes

Diesel subs derive from old WW2 technology.
They are a waste of time and could never survive a modern war.

Reply #9 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:52am

Hey, come on Aussies

what do 50 or 250 billion matter?

Think of all the pollies past present and future, not to mention all those deal-makers

who'll retire for life on the all-important CONTRACTS

and the fun and etc. involved in flipping back and forth around the globe, being feted by others who're 'in' and all those parties, and 'meetings' and tours from one luxurious destinations to the next and all the other rorts and perks to be gained from being 'public servants'

wouldn't we all like to be 'servants' of that type?  Beats two buses and a train just to get to work late on all the throwing-public-money-to-the-winds infrastructure that are also the result of lucrative contracts

contracts !  that's where the money is

and as someone has said, the pollies always find money for those contracts, as long as they're part of the gang receiving stuffed brown paper bags

Meanwhile, arise all of us for being the gooses who keep churning out golden eggs to be grabbed by those of the in-crowd

Reply #10 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:03pm

not diesel subs.

You are at a competitive and military disadvantage with deisel subs so why bother having them at all ?

Reply #11 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:20pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:03pm:

not diesel subs.

You are at a competitive and military disadvantage with deisel subs so why bother having them at all ?

Hear hear sir Nail,
we're buying the subs that John West rejected.

Reply #12 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:22pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 15th, 2020 at 8:21pm:

not diesel subs.

Sure of that, Bobby?  Really?  And on what evidence do you base that opinion?

Reply #13 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:25pm

not diesel subs.

You are at a disadvantage with no subs which is what is being proposed as the alternative.   Nuclear subs require 6-12 months to refit and refuel.  Are you prepared for that?

Diesel subs have advantages over nuke subs.  They are inherently quieter and have long lifes/range.  Must we trade that for nuke subs that spend 50% of their life in dock?
« Last Edit: Jan 16th, 2020 at 1:58pm by Brian Ross »  

Reply #14 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 1:56pm

I saw this deal falling through when they gave it to the French.
France is burning down. In no way could I see them keeping up the facade. They're just hoping they can take us for a ride for as long as they can. They can't deliver on the set price.
So we pay $50 BILLION on a defaulted submarine deal, but spend sweet FA on Fire Fighting. This Government lacks any foresight for our future and can only react in aftermath situations.

We would have been better off having the Nips or Germans doing us a deal. But besides them building 'superior' Subs back in the day, the 'Politics' of the past ignored their superior deals. But even those to me would have come at a hefty price.
Why not pump $50 Billion into our own 'innovation' - you know, the word that Turnbull pumped out recently via his ad campaigns and other PM's have done in the past.
They ask for innovation - but they will not support it and thus innovators are forced to head overseas in search of support.
Britain supported Dyson. USA tried to exploit Dyson. Australia just didn't support Dyson in any way. The Australian Government doesn't support or protect Australians from any USA exploitations. People are still reliant on Britain, but recently - we are seeing Australians support and rely on themselves... not Politics altogether.

Reply #15 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:28pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:22pm:

not diesel subs.

You know that:
they normally resurface very day to draw in air for the
diesel motor to recharge the batteries.
I know they can go for about 5 days underwater in special circumstances.
However - having to surface makes them vulnerable to attack.

Do you deny that?

Reply #16 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:33pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:25pm:

not diesel subs.

You are at a disadvantage with no subs which is what is being proposed as the alternative.   Nuclear subs require 6-12 months to refit and refuel.  Are you prepared for that?

Diesel subs have advantages over nuke subs.  They are inherently quieter and have long lifes/range.  Must we trade that for nuke subs that spend 50% of their life in dock?

If what you say is true nobody would have nuclear power subs and yet this is the preferred choice for most of the powerful nations. The Russians had them back in the 50's Wink

Reply #17 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:40pm

So you just have to be a ship that chases them for 5 days and then hit em like a harpoon to a whale?
That's a ridiculous act to allow them to be diesel.
Be like popping carnival ducks every time they come up for a prize to be won.
It kinda negates the true ability of what a Submarine's true potential is meant to be.

We need nuclear submarines that are designed and built by us to our specifications and needs as Australian. Cutting out all 'modifications' and their costs to meet Australian Standards for starters.
We designed and built the submersible to take James Cameron down into the Marianna Trench 11km's worth of water load upon it.
I'm pretty sure we can pay for more such innovators and builders to come up with cost effective submarines.

...or are all Australians just over-inflated buffoons that couldn't change a light bulb?

Reply #18 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:43pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:28pm:
Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:22pm:

not diesel subs.

You know that:
they normally resurface very day to draw in air for the
diesel motor to recharge the batteries.
I know they can go for about 5 days underwater in special circumstances.
However - having to surface makes them vulnerable to attack.

Do you deny that?

I think your "special circumstances" might be more common than you appear to think, Bobby...  Roll Eyes

Reply #19 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:47pm

Whaddaya mean Brian?

Reply #20 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 3:31pm

Jasin wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:47pm:
Whaddaya mean Brian?

I think that it is obvious that no diesel powered submarine would surface or even SNORT during wartime if there is a possibility that enemy craft would be present, so the supposed "exceptional circumstances" would become normal and it would remain submerged for longer than the estimated 24 hours.

Reply #21 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 3:42pm

Ships have hunted Subs over long distances for weeks.
So unless these Diesels have better staying power.
Then its just Whaling Season.

Reply #22 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 4:03pm

Jasin wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 3:42pm:

When?  Where?  Please be specific with a case of a "ships have hunted Subs over long distances for weeks."

ASW is much harder than most novels/movies would have you believe.  Look at the ASW efforts of the Royal Navy duing the Falklands/Malvinas war in 1982.  The RN was supposedly the most experience at ASW in the world and it failed dismally to find and sink any Argentine submarines.   Roll Eyes

Reply #23 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 5:03pm

this is another of abbots ill conceived thought bubbles that he rushed through in order to get the sound byte in time for the election

Reply #24 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 5:05pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 4:03pm:

When?  Where?  Please be specific with a case of a "ships have hunted Subs over long distances for weeks."

ASW is much harder than most novels/movies would have you believe.  Look at the ASW efforts of the Royal Navy duing the Falklands/Malvinas war in 1982.  The RN was supposedly the most experience at ASW in the world and it failed dismally to find and sink any Argentine submarines.   Roll Eyes

They can't even get crews for all the 6 Collins subs.
No one wants to go in their iron coffins.

Reply #25 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:33pm

It's obvious that this nation does not have a Naval Plan.

Reply #26 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:42pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 2:33pm:
Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 12:25pm:

not diesel subs.

If what you say is true nobody would have nuclear power subs and yet this is the preferred choice for most of the powerful nations. The Russians had them back in the 50's Wink

Other countries?  They developed Uranium enrichment industries.  We abandoned ours' in the 1960s.   We lack the ability to refuel any nuclear submarines.  Uranium enrichment is not something you wave into being with a magic wand.   Roll Eyes

Reply #27 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:48pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 5:05pm:

No, the crew issue is completely separate and revolves around the mining boom.  They never intended to crew, except in emergency all six COLLINS class.  Improve their conditions and allow more leave and more crew would be willing to serve.   Roll Eyes

Reply #28 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:50pm

Jasin wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:33pm:
It's obvious that this nation does not have a Naval Plan.

It has one and a Naval strategy.  Indeed, one of the reasons why they were able to purchase the CANBERRA class LPHs was because the Army supported the Naval decision to purchase them to be a core of the Naval Strategy.   What is missiing is large enough "lots" of a class for naval yards to keep those skilled in building them, building them.

Reply #29 - Jan 16th, 2020 at 8:47pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:48pm:

No, the crew issue is completely separate and revolves around the mining boom.  They never intended to crew, except in emergency all six COLLINS class.  Improve their conditions and allow more leave and more crew would be willing to serve.   Roll Eyes

What about the Collins sub that sunk out of control and was nearly lost with all the crew?
It was a miracle that they got back alive.
3 sailors from that crew left the Navy with PTSD after that.
It's a dangerous job even in peacetime -
that's why they can't find crews.

In a real war I doubt that any crew would come back alive.
I think 70% of the German U boat sailors died in WW2.

Reply #30 - Jan 17th, 2020 at 11:58am

Bobby. wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 8:47pm:
Brian Ross wrote on Jan 16th, 2020 at 7:48pm:

What about the Collins sub that sunk out of control and was nearly lost with all the crew?  It was a miracle that they got back alive.

A minor problem.

3 sailors from that crew left the Navy with PTSD after that.
It's a dangerous job even in peacetime -
that's why they can't find crews.
[quote]

Yet they do.

[quote]
In a real war I doubt that any crew would come back alive.
I think 70% of the German U boat sailors died in WW2.

WWII was a real war, Bobby.  Roll Eyes

Captain Nemo

Reply #31 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 1:01pm

The Sub deal was an appalling waste of money. It was done to save one minister's job, who subsequently (pardon the pun) left parliament anyway.

Reply #32 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 2:17pm

Brian,
A minor problem.

really - a sub sinking out of control -
is a minor is problem?

Brian,
WWII was a real war, Bobby. 

How many of our subs would survive a real war?

Reply #33 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 2:42pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 18th, 2020 at 2:17pm:
Brian,
A minor problem.

really - a sub sinking out of control -
is a minor is problem?

Yes.

Brian,
WWII was a real war, Bobby. 

How many of our subs would survive a real war?

Unknown.  How good are our enemies at ASW?    Roll Eyes

Reply #34 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 2:45pm

Brian ,
if it was a minor problem then why
did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

Reply #35 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 5:21pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 18th, 2020 at 2:45pm:
Brian ,
did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

Ask them. Bobby.  PTSD is a raft of problems which have a nice set of initials. 

Reply #36 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 5:26pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 18th, 2020 at 5:21pm:
Brian ,
did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

dear Brian,
this is where you lose your credibility -
facts don't persuade you.
Those guys were in a state of terror for many long hours -
that's what caused their PTSD.
How would you cope with sinking uncontrollably in a submarine?

We don't have many details.
Did cracks open up -
did water start gushing in?

Reply #37 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 6:09pm

did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

why do thousands of people get PTSD per year without having ever set foot in or near a sub? Most aren't even in the navy Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #38 - Jan 18th, 2020 at 7:39pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 18th, 2020 at 5:26pm:
Brian ,
did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

dear Brian,

Did cracks open up -

Provide some evidence that it occurred at all, Bobby....  Roll Eyes

Reply #39 - Jan 19th, 2020 at 11:22am

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 18th, 2020 at 7:39pm:
Brian ,
did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

dear Brian,

Did cracks open up -

Are you being disingenuous?

Reply #40 - Jan 19th, 2020 at 4:52pm

Bobby. wrote on Jan 19th, 2020 at 11:22am:
Brian Ross wrote on Jan 18th, 2020 at 7:39pm:
Brian ,
did 3 sailors get PTSD ?

dear Brian,

Did cracks open up -

Are you being disingenuous?

Are you lying?  Bobby?

Reply #41 - Jan 19th, 2020 at 5:21pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 19th, 2020 at 4:52pm:
Are you lying?  Bobby?

so dear readers - Brian is not being disingenuous -
he knew nothing about this even though
he claims to be a military expert.

HMAS Farncomb (SSG 74) is the second of six Collins class submarines operated by the Royal Australian Navy (RAN).

Sailors feared worst as submarine HMAS Farncomb sank.

https://www.theaustralian.com.au/national-affairs/defence/sailors-feared-worst-a...

By Exclusive Cameron Stewart
    TheAustralian
    1:00AM September 10, 2011

JUST after midnight off the coast of Perth, navy submarine HMAS Farncomb was slicing below the surface of a rough sea when its engines cut out.

For the 60 men and women aboard the Collins-class boat, the next few minutes would be among the longest of their lives. Like a Hollywood thriller, the sailors found themselves grappling with a double engine failure followed by a terrifying, powerless descent towards the bottom of the Indian Ocean, stemmed only by the cool actions of a veteran commander.

This real-life drama, which took place at 12.30am on August 23 about 20km off the northwest coast of Rottnest Island, was not revealed by Defence at the time. When quizzed by The Australian the following day, officials gave only a brief, sanitised version of the incident, omitting key facts while praising the competence and training of the crew for following "standard operating procedures".

Many of the Farncomb's crew are far from relaxed about what took place under the Indian Ocean that night.

"I said to myself, 'I'm gone, I'm dead',' one recalled thinking as the powerless submarine began to slide towards the ocean floor.

Another on the submarine has told friends: "When we started going down, I just tried to accept it and make peace with myself."

In their eyes, the Farncomb incident came uncomfortably close to being Australia's worst naval tragedy in almost 50 years. Defence denies this, claiming crew had "positive control of the submarine throughout the incident".

An investigation by The Weekend Australian reveals discrepancies between Defence's official account and first-hand accounts now circulating in Perth from the Farncomb's crew.

Commander Miles faced a full-blown emergency. He had lost both his engine and his emergency back-up.

Defence declined to tell The Weekend Australian how deep the Farncomb sank, saying only that such details were "not openly discussed".

According to several crew members' versions, the Farncomb slowed to a virtual halt, tilted nose up and began to slide backwards towards the ocean floor. The tilt was so steep that sailors eating in the mess room had to grab their dinners as they slid off the table. Those in the sleeping quarters found themselves "on top of each other".

Reply #42 - Jan 21st, 2020 at 1:22pm

*SIGH*  The Australia?  Sorry, they've had in for the COLLINS class since they were conceived.  That is what happens when you sack a large number of middle ranking naval officers who know a little but not a lot. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

FARNCOMBE wasn't in danger of sinking.  QED.

Reply #43 - Jan 21st, 2020 at 2:23pm

Brian Ross wrote on Jan 21st, 2020 at 1:22pm:
*SIGH*  The Australia?  Sorry, they've had in for the COLLINS class since they were conceived.  That is what happens when you sack a large number of middle ranking naval officers who know a little but not a lot. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

FARNCOMBE wasn't in danger of sinking.  QED.

"I said to myself, 'I'm gone, I'm dead',' one recalled thinking as the powerless submarine began to slide towards the ocean floor.

Reply #44 - Jan 21st, 2020 at 7:17pm

I know of a major Naval stuff up that could have cost many lives of its cadets.

Luckily the volunteer Marine Rescue saved them in hard seas and weather.

The Marine Rescue was 'ordered' to keep their mouths shut and not go to the Media (or alert the parents).

...and where were the Police in regards to this obvious 'crime'? Huh

Yeah right.  Roll Eyes

Reply #45 - Jan 21st, 2020 at 7:30pm

Jasin wrote on Jan 21st, 2020 at 7:17pm:
I know of a major Naval stuff up that could have cost many lives of its cadets.

Luckily the volunteer Marine Rescue saved them in hard seas and weather.

The Marine Rescue was 'ordered' to keep their mouths shut and not go to the Media (or alert the parents).

...and where were the Police in regards to this obvious 'crime'? Huh

Yeah right.  Roll Eyes

The Navy is well known for covering up their huge mistakes.

Stig

>_<

Reply #46 - Jan 28th, 2020 at 7:24pm

"An investigation by The Weekend Australian reveals discrepancies between Defence's official account and first-hand accounts now circulating in Perth from the Farncomb's crew."

So they didn't actually interview the crew, they reported second hand conversations people claimed to have had with the crew.

Top reporting there...

Reply #47 - Jan 29th, 2020 at 1:45am

Reckon the French will pull the pin on this deal soon.
Too many problems in their own country to worry about conning more money out of Australia for Subs that will never materialise.

Reply #48 - Feb 13th, 2020 at 8:16pm

Captain Nemo

Reply #49 - Feb 13th, 2020 at 9:09pm

This deal has been, is and will always be: an unmitigated disaster.  Shocked

Reply #50 - Feb 13th, 2020 at 9:24pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Feb 13th, 2020 at 9:09pm:

And you know this because?

What alternatives are there, Captain?   No one else around the world produces conventional powered submarines, apart from the Japanese that could buy...

Reply #51 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 9:44am

Captain Nemo

Reply #52 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 10:33am

Brian Ross wrote on Feb 13th, 2020 at 9:24pm:

What alternatives are there, Captain?   No one else around the world produces conventional powered submarines, apart from the Japanese that could buy...

That's the problem.

We should have purchased off the shelf nuclear powered subs.

Captain Nemo

Reply #53 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 12:11pm

Reply #54 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 12:28pm

Captain Nemo wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 10:33am:

That's the problem.

Of course we should have.
It's just like the Seasprite helicopter
where they kept changing the design
until $billions was wasted and
then they cancelled it all.

The Dept of Defence never learns.

Reply #55 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 1:11pm

Germany, Japan, Sweden

That's the problem.

Reply #56 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:25pm

That's the problem.

So, we need to distort our defence budget appreciably?  We don't manufacture nuclear reactors.   We don't enrich Uranium.   We would need to have both things occur overseas.   We would lose our submarines for approximately six months to a year every three years as they refueled.   We don't have nuclear technicians or engineers.   We would be dependent on who ever supplies the boats.   Not a good deal IMO, Captain.  Roll Eyes

Reply #57 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:27pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 12:28pm:

That's the problem.

The Navy never seems to learn, Bobby.   The rest of defence does seem to learn.   Roll Eyes

Reply #58 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:29pm

Prime Minister for Canyons wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 1:11pm:

Germany, Japan, Sweden

That's the problem.

Fine, in theory.  However, neither Germany nor Sweden bid on the contract.   It was either Japan or France.   They chose France.   They believed that France offered a better deal.    Are you suggesting that the Government should go a more expensive deal?

Reply #59 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:37pm

Brian Ross wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:25pm:

That's the problem.

So, we need to distort our defence budget appreciably?  We don't manufacture nuclear reactors.   We don't enrich Uranium.   We would need to have both things occur overseas.   We would lose our submarines for approximately six months to a year every three years as they refueled.   We don't have nuclear technicians or engineers.   We would be dependent on who ever supplies the boats.   Not a good deal IMO, Captain.  Roll Eyes

Rubbish - the subs go for up to 20 years before needing new nuclear fuel:
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Refueling_and_overhaul

"Time periods between ROHs on a ship have varied historically from about 5–20 years (for submarines) to up to 25 years"

forgiven for ignorance

namaste

Reply #60 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:38pm

Brian Ross wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:27pm:

That's the problem.

The Navy never seems to learn, Bobby.   The rest of defence does seem to learn.   Roll Eyes

I put them all in the same basket.
The Navy wastes more than anyone else.

Reply #61 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:40pm

That's the problem.

"Time periods between ROHs on a ship have varied historically from about 5–20 years (for submarines) to up to 25 years"

forgiven for ignorance

namaste

Reply #62 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:49pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:40pm:

That's the problem.

forgiven for ignorance

namaste

Forgive yourself.  It is dependant on how much use they see, Bobby.  Our submarines are traditionally run hard and far.  They would need refuelling more often.   Roll Eyes

Reply #63 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:54pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:38pm:

That's the problem.

Then you are foolish, Bobby, however that isn't new in your case.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

The Department of Defence is made up of three services - Navy, Army, Air Force.

Navy has been burnt appreciably in the past because it has often over-reached itself as far as the specifications that they set and reset for ships they build.   Because of the lack of experienced service people who can manage complex projects, the cost increases.

Because of the shortage of contracts, the contractors who build ships find themselves often having to retrain their work forces having had to let them go until another contract comes along.   The combination makes for more expensive ships.

Reply #64 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:56pm

Brian Ross wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:49pm:
Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:40pm:

That's the problem.

forgiven for ignorance

namaste

Forgive yourself.  It is dependant on how much use they see, Bobby.  Our submarines are traditionally run hard and far.  They would need refuelling more often.   Roll Eyes

Brian,
Just admit that your 3  years was nonsense.

Reply #65 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:57pm

Brian Ross wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:54pm:

That's the problem.

Then you are foolish, Bobby, however that isn't new in your case.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Navy has been burnt appreciably in the past because it has often over-reached itself as far as the specifications that they set and reset for ships they build.   Because of the lack of experienced service people who can manage complex projects, the cost increases.

Because of the shortage of contracts, the contractors who build ships find themselves often having to retrain their work forces having had to let them go until another contract comes along.   The combination makes for more expensive ships.

Navy?
They are incompetent fools who keep changing the goal posts in the game.

We need to buy proven nuclear subs from the French -
not some airy fairy dream on a bit of paper.

Reply #66 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 3:09pm

Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:57pm:
Brian Ross wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 2:54pm:

That's the problem.

Navy?
They are incompetent fools who keep changing the goal posts in the game.

We need to buy proven nuclear subs from the French -
not some airy fairy dream on a bit of paper.

Why do we need these WWII style German U-boats for anyway ? We should be putting in an order for 20 Erickson Sky cranes to save what is left of the country before it is completely obliterated by fires of our making Sad

Reply #67 - Feb 14th, 2020 at 3:16pm

Sir lastnail wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 3:09pm:
Why do we need these WWII style German U-boats for anyway ? We should be putting in an order for 20 Erickson Sky cranes to save what is left of the country before it is completely obliterated by fires of our making Sad

True Nail,
and watch what happens -
the French will design something and the Aussies will say - noooooo -
we didn't really want thatttttt - we want thisssss.

It will go on and and on just like the Seasprite helicopter debacle.

Reply #68 - Mar 6th, 2020 at 11:51am

Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 3:16pm:

True Nail,
and watch what happens -

I meant to go back to a news item the other day but forgot

it was along the lines of Aussies being stuck with the French contract because the tender process was flawed

flawed to the extent the French deal was the only one govt. cared to even look at

hope taxpayers are keeping book of LNP corruption in order to have it handy for dissemination when the Fed elections get underway

Reply #69 - Mar 6th, 2020 at 4:45pm

PZ547 wrote on Mar 6th, 2020 at 11:51am:
Bobby. wrote on Feb 14th, 2020 at 3:16pm:

True Nail,
and watch what happens -

it was along the lines of Aussies being stuck with the French contract because the tender process was flawed

flawed to the extent the French deal was the only one govt. cared to even look at

hope taxpayers are keeping book of LNP corruption in order to have it handy for dissemination when the Fed elections get underway

Buy the proven nuke subs.

Reply #70 - Mar 6th, 2020 at 6:48pm

PZ547 wrote on Mar 6th, 2020 at 11:51am:

Not unusual.  When the COLLINS contract was let, only the Swedes were the only one who complied with the Contract.  The Germans ignored it.  They lost it as a consequence.   In this case the French were only ones to comply with the contract letting process.

whiteknight

Reply #71 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 6:46am

French submarine program 'dangerously off track', report urges Australia to consider nuclear alternative   Sad

ABC News
March 11 2020

Australia's $80 billion Future Submarine Program is "dangerously off track" according to a new report that urges the government to ditch the controversial project and consider a nuclear option.
Key points:

The report indicates there are fears the current project is at a high risk of failing
    The Defence Minister denies those fears and maintains the project remains on track
    Under a proposed 'Plan B' scenario, the company that designed the Collins Class submarines could prepare an updated design

Businessman Gary Johnston, who commissioned and funded the study, fears the current plan to build 12 Attack class submarines designed by French company Naval Group is at "high risk" of failing.

His report, prepared by Insight Economics, suggests Australia should instead immediately begin work on a "Plan B" — an evolved version of the current Collins Class fleet — before eventually acquiring nuclear-powered boats.

Earlier this year, a report from the Auditor-General confirmed the Future Submarine Program was running nine months late and that Defence was unable to show whether the $396 million spent so far had been "fully effective".

"The government's own advisory body, including three American admirals, even recommended the government should consider walking away from the project," Mr Johnston said.

Under the proposed "Plan B", Swedish company Saab Kockums, which designed the navy's Collins class submarines, would be asked to prepare an updated design for the future submarine fleet.

In 2022-23, both Naval Group and Saab will present their competing preliminary design studies for building the first batch of three submarines in Adelaide — based on a fixed price, capability, delivery and local content.

Mr Johnston, along with former naval officers in the 'Submarines for Australia' organisation, argue that over the long term the government should begin preparing to acquire nuclear submarines.

With Beijing's growing military assertiveness in the South China Sea, Mr Johnston said the most disturbing finding in the report was that by the 2030s the effectiveness and survivability of Australia's submarines in a high intensity theatre will be threatened.

"If the government wants to continue deploying submarines to this theatre alongside the US Navy, the nation's duty of care to the dedicated men and women of the ADF means we will need to begin the long and difficult process of acquiring nuclear-powered submarines," Mr Johnston said.

"With our very small nuclear industry, that will not be easy — but we can make a start."
Government rejects report, issues warning

The 'Submarines for Australia' report will be formally launched by ANU Emiratis Professor Hugh White at the National Press Club today, but is already drawing fire from the Morrison Government.

With the winning bidder for Australia's next fleet of submarines announced, attention turns to how it will meet Australia's high-endurance requirements.

"I totally reject the premise that this project is 'dangerously off track', as stated in the new Submarines for Australia report", said Defence Minister Linda Reynolds.

"The delivery of the Attack class submarine remains on track, with construction set to commence in 2023."

Senator Reynolds said the technical feasibility of delivering an evolved Collins class submarine was reviewed in 2013-14, but a review found it would be equivalent to a whole new design, involving similar costs and risks, without a commensurate gain in capability.

"This assessment by Submarines for Australia will only increase cost, delay the delivery, and put at risk our submarine capability."

The Defence Minister also flatly rejected any suggestion of a nuclear-powered submarine in the future.

"As has been the policy of successive Australian Governments, a nuclear-powered submarine is not being considered as an option for the Attack class submarine," Senator Reynolds said.

Reply #72 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 5:07pm

Yes sir WhiteKnight,

His report, prepared by Insight Economics, suggests Australia should instead immediately begin work on a "Plan B" — an evolved version of the current Collins Class fleet — before eventually acquiring nuclear-powered boats.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-03-11/australia-urged-to-embrace-nuclear-submar...

Reply #73 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:30pm

Nothing like the sound of an old diesel plodding along, its rhythmic.

I heard its not too late to have nuclear subs.

Reply #74 - Mar 11th, 2020 at 8:16pm

Johnnie wrote on Mar 11th, 2020 at 7:30pm:
Nothing like the sound of an old diesel plodding along, its rhythmic.

I heard its not too late to have nuclear subs.

But Brian has been proven wrong.
I recommended proven nuclear subs at the start of this thread.

Once again - I have been proven correct above
armchair experts like Brian.

Reply #75 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 11:15am

The French Submarine Contract set to FOLD

due to the Corona Virus and the triple-fold blow-out of Budget if it is to continue under the duress of not getting any materials/expertise into the country from afield.

Now would be a good time for ScoMo the Salesman to actually stand by the endorsement of "Australia: Start your own business and 'innovate'" by making and paying us Australians to make and innovate our own Submarines.
Good for 'our' Economy...
...unless ScoMo is still serving the USA Economy  Wink

Belgarion

Reply #76 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 1:27pm

I have stayed out of this thread until now, however it's now time for an expert opinion - mine.  Wink  In an ideal world Australia would have developed a nuclear industry in the 1960s as planned, and SSNs would have been part of the RAN since the 1990s, along with conventional submarines. However this was not to be and we have the situation as it is now, not as it might have been.

Australia has a unique problem with submarine operations. Our areas of interest are very long way away and no one is designing conventional submarines that have the range and endurance we need. The last 'off the shelf' design to meet those requirements was the British Oberon class.  The Collins class is a heavily modified Swedish design that needed a lot of work to meet our needs, which it does despite a lot of uninformed media criticism.

But now, no one is designing what we need? What to do?
Cue the French...this seemed the best of several mediocre choices. I personally was initially in favour of it. However the long lead time, cost blowouts, lack of French willingness to allow Australian construction and other participation has made this a rather bad bargain.

IMO the best choice now is an upgraded Collins class  that will see us through the next couple of decades. After that I hope we have developed a nuclear industry and are able to support a mix of SSN and SSK as we should have started doing 30 years ago. 

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #77 - Mar 12th, 2020 at 1:49pm

An upgraded and improved COLLINS class would be quite an interesting idea, Belgarion.  Improved AIP and sonar.   Cool

Reply #78 - Mar 14th, 2020 at 2:46pm

I'm with that Belgarian. Refine what we already have. Far cheaper and a case of sticking with what we know.

James Cameron had Australians in Pyrmont design and build his Submersible to take him to the bottom of the Marianna Trench with 'few' problems that were managed. Very well done, considering it was a first up.

I'm sure we have the expertise and I'm sure we could come up with the Educational initiative to create that expertise on a wider scale. It sure would be far cheaper than this stupid French fizzer.

USA are the rulers of the Air and Aviation - it's where it wins it Wars.
The World is looking to Australia (driest continent) to lead the way in Water Technology and in some aspects we do!
But I do feel that our Submarines is where we would win our Wars with our own niche expertise (Oceania next door are Surface Skimmers with a Surface Navy).
Call it a 'Shark' instinct.  Wink
...and all things 'down under'.

I also think for our 'Defensive' measure - Mini Subs would be the go from many points of our Coastline. Great against all the Drug boats and shipments currently coming in by sea atm.  Angry Authorities are obviously only catching a 1/4 of what is hitting the towns and streets by the look of it.

Open up Whyalla (Well they should have when Blue Steel was going great guns there) and start building again.
Start employing Australian Workers and Designers.

NASA once nearly opened up at Weipa because of our high standard of workmanship reputation and safety standards.
To say that Australian worker pay rates are too high?
Well look at the cost of living in Australia!  Tongue

Out with crappy Holden and in with Australian Subs!!!!

Reply #79 - Apr 8th, 2020 at 9:36pm

XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXx

Blown out to $80 Billion?

Seriously, these subs will be out-dated and classed by the time they get finished, if at all now.

Surely this $80 Billion can go right back into paying off our growing Debt?

Pratt donated $1m to finding a cure. He is worth around $8 billion and owes in Tax $2 billion.

Getting what's owed is hard and the Australian Public deserve to have this Sub Contract voided!

Reply #80 - Apr 28th, 2020 at 3:56am

Brian Ross wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 1:49pm:
An upgraded and improved COLLINS class would be quite an interesting idea, Belgarion.  Improved AIP and sonar.   Cool

Plus costs of refurbishment and upgrading.... nothing lasts forever...hull fatigue sets in and the costs become prohibitive... more costly than total replacement.

Haven't looked into the design and parameters/specifications of these French letters... but the proof can only be seen in the eating.... if they aren't up to scratch........ well.... we know what happened last time around...

Reply #81 - Apr 28th, 2020 at 4:01am

Belgarion wrote on Mar 12th, 2020 at 1:27pm:
I have stayed out of this thread until now, however it's now time for an expert opinion - mine.  Wink  In an ideal world Australia would have developed a nuclear industry in the 1960s as planned, and SSNs would have been part of the RAN since the 1990s, along with conventional submarines. However this was not to be and we have the situation as it is now, not as it might have been.

Australia has a unique problem with submarine operations. Our areas of interest are very long way away and no one is designing conventional submarines that have the range and endurance we need. The last 'off the shelf' design to meet those requirements was the British Oberon class.  The Collins class is a heavily modified Swedish design that needed a lot of work to meet our needs, which it does despite a lot of uninformed media criticism.

But now, no one is designing what we need? What to do?
Cue the French...this seemed the best of several mediocre choices. I personally was initially in favour of it. However the long lead time, cost blowouts, lack of French willingness to allow Australian construction and other participation has made this a rather bad bargain.

IMO the best choice now is an upgraded Collins class  that will see us through the next couple of decades. After that I hope we have developed a nuclear industry and are able to support a mix of SSN and SSK as we should have started doing 30 years ago. 

Hmm - nukes are more noisy than diesels... I've known sailors who've entered Chinese coastal waters in a diesel/electric ... not the same range as a nuke, though.

Belgarion

Reply #82 - Apr 28th, 2020 at 11:45am

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Apr 28th, 2020 at 3:56am:

Plus costs of refurbishment and upgrading.... nothing lasts forever...hull fatigue sets in and the costs become prohibitive... more costly than total replacement.

Haven't looked into the design and parameters/specifications of these French letters... but the proof can only be seen in the eating.... if they aren't up to scratch........ well.... we know what happened last time around...

I don't mean upgrading the existing hulls, but building entirely new boats based on the Collins design and incorporating the technology improvements since the Collins class were built.

"I may not agree with what you say, but I will defend to the death your right to say it."

Voltaire.....(possibly)

Reply #83 - May 9th, 2020 at 12:43am

Belgarion wrote on Apr 28th, 2020 at 11:45am:
Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Apr 28th, 2020 at 3:56am:

I don't mean upgrading the existing hulls, but building entirely new boats based on the Collins design and incorporating the technology improvements since the Collins class were built.

Could be something in what you say - ask Vic - he's a submariner.  Your idea sounds like an argument for an Australian ship-building program in entirety.... good idea.

Reply #84 - May 9th, 2020 at 1:02am

I think the design of the Submarine altogether is very ineffective. It's still up there with the birds.
Doesn't even have the right type of rear to break the eddies behind it and is dragged back, rather than propelled forward by the slip.

Reply #85 - May 15th, 2020 at 1:58am

Jasin wrote on May 9th, 2020 at 1:02am:
I think the design of the Submarine altogether is very ineffective. It's still up there with the birds.
Doesn't even have the right type of rear to break the eddies behind it and is dragged back, rather than propelled forward by the slip.

And modern detection systems are very keen and can detect such things... doesn't sound good...

I mean - if you were a XXXXese Admiral, would YOU state publicly that you were easily tracking an Oberon or Collins or a French Fagot?  Of course not - to do so would blow your advantage ...

So it's always a serious cat and mouse game... and if there are faults in design of these French coffins... you can be sure someone will find them...

Our submarines are hunter-killers and reconnaissance - not nuclear 'boomers'....so unless they are a danger to a fleet......chances are they may get by for a while.... and since I do not anticipate major fleet action by the XXXXese in the event of a conflict... for the simple reason that they could not survive an open conflict on the High Seas ... our subs might survive even with some faults.

Now turn down that stereo system in the aft torpedo room, you blokes.. I'm trying to sleep here.. any more of that Edith Piaf and I might shoot myself here... Jesus...

Reply #86 - May 30th, 2020 at 5:37pm

I really think Australia should start building its own Subs NOW!
Let the Americans look after the skies like Eagles.

New Zealand can build the Ships and South America should produce the Ground Forces.

There will be War.