Greta Thunberg Lashes Australian Politicians (Read 1554 times)
whiteknight

Greta Thunberg Lashes Australian Politicians
Dec 23rd, 2019 at 6:47pm

Eco warrior Greta Thunberg lashes Australian politicians amid bushfire crisis   Smiley

December 22, 2019
Perth Now

Teen climate activist Greta Thunberg has weighed into the bushfire emergencies across Australia.

The Swedish eco warrior took to Twitter where she had our politicians in her sights.

“Not even catastrophes like these seem to bring any political action. How is this possible?" tweeted the 16-year-old, recently named Time's Person of the Year for 2019.

"Because we still fail to make the connection between the climate crisis and increased extreme weather events and nature disasters like the #AustraliaFires

"That's what has to change. Now."

Scott Morrison has defended his government's response to the bushfire crisis and says "reckless" moves like ending coal exports and setting a stricter emissions target will have no "meaningful impact" on the global climate.

The prime minister has faced criticism over his government's climate change policies during a devastating bushfire season.

In an op-ed in The Daily Telegraph, he conceded there was need for "real action on climate change" across all levels.

"There is no disagreement and there has not been any denial of this critical factor, either by the federal government or any state or territory government," Mr Morrison wrote.

"But to suggest that increasing Australia's climate targets would have prevented these fires or extreme weather events, in Australia or anywhere else, is simply false."

Scott Morrison says "reckless" moves like ending coal exports and setting a stricter emissions target will have no "meaningful impact" on the global climate.

Mr Morrison pushed back against more stringent action, including calls to end coal exports and set an emissions target.

"We won't embrace reckless targets and abandon our traditional industries that would risk Australian jobs while having no meaningful impact on the global climate," he said.

The prime minister took to breakfast television on Monday - days after returning early from a controversial family holiday to Hawaii - to defend his judgement and the government's climate change policies.

He was asked on Nine's Today Show if he was "embarrassed" at how Australia, and his leadership, was being seen globally.

"People from outside Australia will make whatever comments they want," Mr Morrison said.

"I'll set Australia's policies consistent with what I took to the last election and what I believe and my government believes is Australia's national interest."

Asked on Seven's Sunrise if he thought the community's feelings on climate change had changed since the election, the PM said: “The plans that we have are as important now as they were then. We will beat our Kyoto targets ... we will meet out Paris targets and I intend to beat those as well.”

"I made a promise to the Australian people to take action on climate change and I am.

lee

Re: Greta Thunberg Lashes Australian Politicians
Reply #1 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:01pm

Has anybody told Ste Greta that Australia is a "carbon" sink? Or is she just parroting Austrlia's emissions per capita crap still? Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #2 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:03pm

OK then, lets see if we can sort this out.

What % can we blame climate change for this current drought and fire season. Now I'm all on board with the climate scientists, yet nothing I've seen from reputable science can categorically blame AGW for these fires as they say it's a trend and no one of incident can be singled out.

Lets be REALLY generous and say these fires are 10% due to AGW.

Australia produces about 1% of greenhouse gasses. If from the first day ScoMo cut our emissions to zero, globally there'd be 1% less emissions.

I'll hand the next bit over to the maths brains among us. How much would a 1% worldwide emissions cut have on the 10% figure?

lee

Reply #3 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:15pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:03pm:
Now I'm all on board with the climate scientists, yet nothing I've seen from reputable science can categorically blame AGW for these fires as they say it's a trend and no one of incident can be singled out.

In Australia, BoM/CSIRO did a study of fires from the 1970's which apparently showed increasing fires. Why they didn't go back further where we have good fire records has not been disclosed. Wink

Reply #4 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:24pm

lee wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:15pm:
Now I'm all on board with the climate scientists, yet nothing I've seen from reputable science can categorically blame AGW for these fires as they say it's a trend and no one of incident can be singled out.

In Australia, BoM/CSIRO did a study of fires from the 1970's which apparently showed increasing fires. Why they didn't go back further where we have good fire records has not been disclosed. Wink

I reckon a lot of increased fire activity would have something to do with the growing population densities in fire prone areas.

Reply #5 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:34pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:24pm:

I reckon a lot of increased fire activity would have something to do with the growing population densities in fire prone areas.

I heard something on the news that half the fires were deliberately lit?

Reply #6 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:50pm

Australia's overall top temperature ever was topped at least twice last week.

Several Australian regions had temperatures approaching 50 degrees on multiple days.

In my life time there has never been dense smoke across many regions for an entire month (so far), possible never happened before, I have seen one or two days ?

Yes I know it's only the weather, right?  100 year weather events every 3 months is normal ? Right ?

Reply #7 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:55pm

no surprise that a 16 yr old girl is smarter than Lee and scomo combined

Reply #8 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:10pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:34pm:
Gordon wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:24pm:

I heard something on the news that half the fires were deliberately lit?

80%

THAT"S anthropocentric catastrophic fire events.  Nuffin' to do with your Holden.

Reply #9 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:10pm

Dnarever wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:50pm:

Several Australian regions had temperatures approaching 50 degrees on multiple days.

In my life time there has never been dense smoke across many regions for an entire month (so far), possible never happened before, I have seen one or two days ?

Yes I know it's only the weather, right?  100 year weather events every 3 months is normal ? Right ?

If there is global warming then shouldn't the oceans heat up creating
more humidity and therefore more rain?
Why is it so dry in Australia?

lee

Reply #10 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:22pm

John Smith wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 7:55pm:

No she's not. But definitely smarter than you. Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #11 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:25pm

lee wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:22pm:

i can only guess that when you were at school, you were one of those kids that got excited for getting a ribbon for coming second

lee

Reply #12 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:26pm

Marvellous what BoM can do with ACORN-2. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

And? Windsor Observatory 122F in 1939. I will let you do the maths. Wink

100 year weather events every 3 months is normal ?

You don't understand 100 year events. in the first year 1% of happening, year 2-1!%, year 3 - 1% and so on. you really should try harder.

lee

Reply #13 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:28pm

John Smith wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:25pm:
i can only guess that when you were at school, you were one of those kids that got excited for getting a ribbon for coming second

Which of course is better than you - merely getting a participation ribbon. Wink

Reply #14 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:39pm

lee wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:28pm:
John Smith wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:25pm:

Which of course is better than you - merely getting a participation ribbon. Wink

and again you come second  Grin Grin Grin

random

Reply #15 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 9:13pm

lee wrote on Dec 23rd, 2019 at 8:22pm:

So many farkwits, so little time.

lee

Reply #16 - Dec 23rd, 2019 at 9:32pm

And you too petal.  Of course you should hang your head in shame. Fancy getting your science from wiki. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #17 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:04am

he Swedish eco warrior took to Twitter where she had our politicians in her sights.

“Not even catastrophes like these seem to bring any political action. How is this possible?" tweeted the 16-year-old, recently named Time's Person of the Year for 2019.

yea!!!!  on ya greta...  Smiley

SO when is Greta off to CHINA to give..Xi Jinping  an earful...

cant wait to see that!.

random

Reply #18 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:07am

cods and lee have the same goals as terrorists.  Deny climate change is caused by fossil fuel CO2 so that the world will be disrupted.

It threatens the security of Australia, but still they do it.

Reply #19 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:29am

random wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:07am:
cods and lee have the same goals as terrorists.  Deny climate change is caused by fossil fuel CO2 so that the world will be disrupted.

It threatens the security of Australia, but still they do it.

WHO WHAT WHERE??>....   whos denying anything...

all I am suggesting is if Greta is fair dinkum... she not only chastises US the countries that SELL COAL  she also has a go at those countries THAT BUY COAL..

I like a fair playing field   if she was honest   she would go and slam those countries that buy the bloody problem as she sees it...

its a two way street you know.

Reply #20 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:30am

that neurotic little mental case couldn't lash a rice pudding

Reply #21 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:36am

PZ547 wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:30am:

random has the faith though...

all I want is for her to go to the TOP...China and India  our biggest buyers....

she has a voice doesnt matter whether you believe her or not  she has the attention of the UN......lets see her challenge the real culprits.. Roll Eyes

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #22 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:53am

Greta a great example of the blind leading the blind.

Nincompoop..............comes to mind.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Reply #23 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:04am

Ajax wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:53am:

she isnt going away any time soon.......

shes Times Person of the Year..

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #24 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:13am

cods wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:04am:

We'll see.

She boats it everywhere instead of flying.

I will go out on a limb and say this will not continue for too long.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

random

Reply #25 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:45am

cods wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:36am:

all I want is for her to go to the TOP...China and India  our biggest buyers....

she has a voice doesnt matter whether you believe her or not  she has the attention of the UN......lets see her challenge the real culprits.. Roll Eyes

cods maybe you do this deliberately, to bring to tone of the conversation down relating to climate change ... but bugger you say dumb shite.

Greta is pointing to science, she is repeating what it says.  But the denial industry has deliberately spun it as if it's her 'opinion'.  It's not.

She has told all not to listen to her, to listen to science.  But trolls do what trolls do and lie, repeatedly.  Either that or posters are so dumb that they don't understand simple concepts.  Like you.

Reply #26 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 10:10am

random wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:45am:
cods wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 7:36am:

cods maybe you do this deliberately, to bring to tone of the conversation down relating to climate change ... Roll Eyes Roll Eyesbut bugger you say dumb shite.

Greta is pointing to science, she is repeating what it says.  But the denial industry has deliberately spun it as if it's her 'opinion'.  It's not.

She has told all not to listen to her, to listen to science.  But trolls do what trolls do and lie, repeatedly.  Either that or posters are so dumb that they don't understand simple concepts.  Like you.

got it random.... we listen to a 16 yr old because we dont want to listen to the scientists... I got it.. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

makes sense to some..

by the way all I am asking is a question,,, WHY IS IT A DUMB QUESTION RANDOM???..

when is she going to CHINA AND INDIA>>>?

whats dumb about that?

Reply #27 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 10:11am

Ajax wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:13am:
cods wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 9:04am:

We'll see.

She boats it everywhere instead of flying.

I will go out on a limb and say this will not continue for too long.

good luck to her getting a free ride to CHINA.....

do you think its dumb to want her to go tho CHINA AND INDIA ajax????..

I have been told its dumb by random,, Undecided Undecided

random

Reply #28 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 10:38am

WHY ATTEMPTS TO SMEAR GRETA HAVE BACKFIRED

Many critics, like Knowles, have attempted to use Ms Thunberg’s mental health against her. Her response has been to both acknowledge and appear completely removed from the criticism she receives.

Take, for example, her response to US President Donald Trump launching a sarcastic public attack on her.

After her speech, Mr Trump tweeted that Ms Thunberg seemed like a “very happy young girl looking forward to a bright and wonderful future”.

In a cheeky response, Ms Thunberg changed her Twitter bio to read “a very happy young girl looking forward to a bright and wonderful future”.

It had previously read “16-year-old climate activist with Asperger’s”.

On Thursday, she posted a direct message to her trolls, dismissing them as “feeling threatened” by young climate activists and encouraging her followers not to give them the time of day:

lee

Reply #29 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 12:03pm

random wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 10:38am:
On Thursday, she posted a direct message to her trolls, dismissing them as “feeling threatened” by young climate activists and encouraging her followers not to give them the time of day:

Perhaps you should follow suit. That would be a relief. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Reply #30 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 12:44pm

One of my mates has a son who has some of the same psychological issues as Greta. He's on the spectrum and also has OCD.

When he was about 6 or 7 we were all on a camping trip and looking up at the stars and just talking about all stuff space and were discussing how asteroids hit the earth and caused mass extinctions. For the rest of the camping trip and in fact the next few years he fixated on an asteroid hitting the earth and wiping us all out. This was all a prelude to his formal diagnosis and prior to that he was just a difficult kid.

Greta began to fixate on climate change from about age 8.

Sorry but no 8 year old can fully understand the science of climate change and it's only because what she chose to fixate on is a hot button issue for her left leaning parents, she was encouraged to fixate on the issue.

She was told climate change would destroy and became fixated on that message, just like my mates kid who used to wet himself at the thought of an asteroid hitting the earth.

random

Reply #31 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 12:51pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 12:44pm:
One of my mates has a son who has some of the same psychological issues as Greta. He's on the spectrum and also has OCD.

When he was about 6 or 7 we were all on a camping trip and looking up at the stars and just talking about all stuff space and were discussing how asteroids hit the earth and caused mass extinctions. For the rest of the camping trip and in fact the next few years he fixated on an asteroid hitting the earth and wiping us all out. This was all a prelude to his formal diagnosis and prior to that he was just a difficult kid.

Greta began to fixate on climate change from about age 8.

Sorry but no 8 year old can fully understand the science of climate change and it's only because what she chose to fixate on is a hot button issue for her left leaning parents, she was encouraged to fixate on the issue.

She was told climate change would destroy and became fixated on that message, just like my mates kid who used to wet himself at the thought of an asteroid hitting the earth.

Same old denial shite.  Getting old mate.

Greta has repeatedly said that we should not listen to her, but listen to scientists.  She said in in the US Congress as well.

But denialist spinning dumb kunts like you, choose to ignore that, because it does not suit your aims.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=4&v=9h0tB0RrqQA&feature=emb_logo

Nice made up BS story about your mates son though.  How can we believe anything you say?   You have no credibility here.

Reply #32 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:00pm

Sorry bro, the story of my mates son is true. We were camping at Minnie Waters near Grafton.

As I've said 1000 times, I agree with the scientists and want to get off fossil fuels (hopefully to nuclear power) yet no scientist with any credibility have foretold the end of the world, as Greta has. She's fixated on single issue.

Thunberg says she first heard about climate change in 2011, when she was 8 years old, and could not understand why so little was being done about it.[21] Three years later, she became depressed, lethargic, and stopped talking as well as eating, and eventually was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome, obsessive–compulsive disorder (OCD), and selective mutism

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Greta_Thunberg#Education_and_early_life

random

Reply #33 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:13pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:00pm:
Sorry bro, the story of my mates son is true. We were camping at Minnie Waters near Grafton.

As I've said 1000 times, I agree with the scientists and want to get off fossil fuels (hopefully to nuclear power) yet no scientist with any credibility have foretold the end of the world, as Greta has. She's fixated on single issue.

Thunberg says she first heard about climate change in 2011, when she was 8 years old, and could not understand why so little was being done about it.[21] Three years later, she became depressed, lethargic, and stopped talking as well as eating, and eventually was diagnosed with Asperger syndrome, obsessive–compulsive disorder (OCD), and selective mutism

Ah, the caravan park where the locals still burn coal in their stoves?

Your story has no relavance.  It does not matter what characteristics Grete has.  It's what she says that has stirred the old white guys and fossil fuel merchants.

Analysing her is a tactic, a straw man, that is all.  Interesting that someone telling it like it is, is now an exception so rare that ...

joker.png (125 KB | 5 )
joker.png

lee

Reply #34 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:14pm

random wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:13pm:
It's what she says that has stirred the old white guys and fossil fuel merchants.

So the truth doesn't matter; just what she says. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

Give us some more wiki as rebuttal. Wink

Or you could get her to discuss phase change in H2O in the atmosphere. Or perhaps that Water Vapour is the greatest GHG. Wink

random

Reply #35 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:18pm

lee

Reply #36 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:21pm

That's a nice likeness of you. Grin Grin Grin Grin Grin

random

Reply #37 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:27pm

Climate Change Expands the Terrorist Threat

Terrorists take advantage of disruptions in fragile states – and these include water and food shortages associated with climate change. “From Afghanistan and Iraq to Somalia and Yemen, terrorist groups are pushing false narratives that they, not cash-strapped central governments, are leading campaigns against deforestation, water scarcity, crop failures and other environmental issues ravaging local communities across Africa and Asia,” reports Austin Bodetti. “While developing countries produce few greenhouse gases, they have the most to lose to the greenhouse effect, and militants are highlighting this disparity.” Osama bin Laden, organizer of the 9/11 attacks who was killed in 2011, relied on environmental issues in his propaganda. The Taliban, the Islamic State and Al Shabaab have expanded the effort, using the West's failure to act on climate change for recruitment purposes. In reality, the groups finance terrorist activities with illegal logging, oil operations, poaching and other acts of environmental degradation. Bodetti urges developed nations to counter the sham narratives and assist fragile states in preparing for climate change. – YaleGlobal

https://yaleglobal.yale.edu/content/climate-change-expands-terrorist-threat

Still we have posters here supporting destabilisation of countries by denying the link between fossil fuel CO2 and Climate change.  They are supporting terrorists.

Reply #38 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:28pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:00pm:

Your story has no relavance.  It does not matter what characteristics Grete has.  It's what she says that has stirred the old white guys and fossil fuel merchants.

Analysing her is a tactic, a straw man, that is all.  Interesting that someone telling it like it is, is now an exception so rare that ...

No the bush campground which usually has a total fire ban, because it's in the middle of the bush Wink.

Once again because this seems REALLY hard for you to comprehend.
I 100% believe in AGW and disagree with Scott Morrison on what should be done.

We need massive Govt investment in Nuclear and Hydrogen power. Solar also has it's place but the backbone of our power supply needs to be nukes which can also supply the massive power needs that hydrogen requires.

What I don't agree with Greta (well actually her PR team) is her fixation there will be a world ending catastrophe.

random

Reply #39 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:40pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:28pm:
[quote author=Gordon link=1577090864/32#32 date=1577156412]

No the bush campground which usually has a total fire ban, because it's in the middle of the bush Wink.

We need massive Govt investment in Nuclear and Hydrogen power. Solar also has it's place but the backbone of our power supply needs to be nukes which can also supply the massive power needs that hydrogen requires.

What I don't agree with Greta (well actually her PR team) is her fixation there will be a world ending catastrophe.

Maybe you should read the news. 

Reply #40 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:43pm

random wrote on Dec 24th, 2019 at 1:40pm:
[quote author=Gordon link=1577090864/32#32 date=1577156412]

Maybe you should read the news. 

Link to news or scientific studies that the world is ending ?

Reply #41 - Dec 24th, 2019 at 2:56pm

[quote author=Gordon link=1577090864/32#32 date=1577156412]Sorry bro, the story of my mates son is true. We were camping at Minnie Waters near Grafton.

What I don't agree with Greta (well actually her PR team) is her fixation there will be a world ending cata

HUHUMMMMMMMMMMM

ALBO agrees with him.. Sad