Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10
Cashless Welfare Cards Are A Failure (Read 7563 times)

Re: Cashless Welfare Cards Are A Failure
Reply #30 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 3:01am

Raven wrote on Sep 27th, 2019 at 12:32am:
We as tax payers are paying basically the equivalent of an entire year of welfare payments per card per person.

Essentially double per person per Centrelink payment. That's a lot of cash.

There are, reportedly, 6700 cards issued in the trial of Indue.

That's about $67 million that we as tax payers paid. That's a lot of cash that could have gone into drug policy, rehab and other services. Instead it went into the bank accounts of Indue.

There are roughly 700,000 unemployed people in Australia. If every single one of them are placed on an Indue card it will cost the tax payer seven billion dollars to transition to cashless welfare. Not to mention disability or aged pension.

What the f.uck is that going to do to the budget surplus?

Sure it sounded like a good idea when people thought it was only f.ucking abbos who would be affected but now it looks like the majority of welfare recipients (i.e. non abbos) are also going to be subject to this card.

All of a sudden it's a bad thing.

It's always been a bad idea. Handling one's own finances is the absolute bottom rung on the ladder of freedom and self determination. If this sort of intervention ever needs to take place it should be after DOCS has tried to deal with kids not being fed and implemented through agencies like that. IE there needs to be a reason for it to be enforced on someone, not the default.
« Last Edit: Sep 27th, 2019 at 3:06am by Setanta »  

Reply #31 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 6:52am

UBER is crying out for drivers.  The fruit growers are crying out for fruit pickers.

The job shortage is a direct result of the useless Whitlam signing the LIMA Agreement to move Australian jobs to poor countries.

Lefties, your new job is just a click away:-  https://www.finder.com.au/driver-rideshare-comparison

Now if Labor was in they would be bloating the Public Service to bursting point and creating permanent positions at Centrelink at a frightening rate all financed by Chinese Bribes.
« Last Edit: Sep 27th, 2019 at 6:57am by juliar »  

Reply #32 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 7:06am

Valkie wrote on Sep 26th, 2019 at 8:15pm:
All welfare, every single cent, should be by welfare card.

Controlled so that the money can only be used for food, housing and the necessities of life.

No entertainment, no smokes, no grog.

And if the recipient does not use that fortnights allocated free money, they lose it.
No more hoarding it for trips to Bali.

This free money is a privilege,  not a right.

If you want money to spend how you like.
Get a job.....easy

There are ppl with jobs on that card. Because they dont earn enough to get by the govt gives them a couple dollars anad they have to have their money controlled. What about pensions? Govt wants pensioners on it too. In fact some are already. You dont think they have the right to control their own money? what is wrong with you?

Reply #33 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 7:08am

rhino wrote on Sep 26th, 2019 at 9:32pm:
Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Sep 26th, 2019 at 12:25pm:
rhino wrote on Sep 25th, 2019 at 10:54pm:
Bam wrote on Sep 25th, 2019 at 10:05pm:
Professor Langton said the idea of the cards, along with other welfare reforms, was to wean people off social security and make them useful members of the economy.

The answer the Libs will never consider: push the unemployment rate down to 2% or lower and mandate full employment by law backed by a Job Guarantee.

Australia has a serious problem with chronic high unemployment that has persisted for over 40 years. No amount of supply-side pressure will fix the lack of demand for Australian workers. Right now, 15 OECD countries have an unemployment rate that is lower than Australia has managed at any time in the last 40 years. Until this problem of chronic high unemployment is addressed, we will always have economic victims. Scapegoating these victims will not fix anything.
I wouldnt disagree with any of this but its the kids who suffer in these remote communities. It is a serious issue that their parents spend welfare money on grog, cigarettes and  junk food often leaving the kids go hungry or at the best severely neglected. If the PC brigade wont allow us to take the kids off them anymore then we have a responsibility to do something.

Its not just ppl in remote communities on that card. Its not just aboriginals either. Nor is it just ppl on newstart.

But every example the bleeding hearts are using are aboriginals in remote areas. Maybe the others just arent complaining as much. Its a credit card that cant be used to buy anything other than basic neccessities. There really is not an issue.

Nope. Every example the govt controlled media is using is of aboriginals. do a tiny bit of googling and you will see there are a LOT of stories out there that arent getting any attention

Reply #34 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 7:09am

Raven wrote on Sep 27th, 2019 at 12:32am:
We as tax payers are paying basically the equivalent of an entire year of welfare payments per card per person.

Essentially double per person per Centrelink payment. That's a lot of cash.

There are, reportedly, 6700 cards issued in the trial of Indue.

That's about $67 million that we as tax payers paid. That's a lot of cash that could have gone into drug policy, rehab and other services. Instead it went into the bank accounts of Indue.

There are roughly 700,000 unemployed people in Australia. If every single one of them are placed on an Indue card it will cost the tax payer seven billion dollars to transition to cashless welfare. Not to mention disability or aged pension.

What the f.uck is that going to do to the budget surplus?

Sure it sounded like a good idea when people thought it was only f.ucking abbos who would be affected but now it looks like the majority of welfare recipients (i.e. non abbos) are also going to be subject to this card.

All of a sudden it's a bad thing.

No you arent.

Besides why not put the money into creating jobs or rehab centres or something instead of this punishment?

Reply #35 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 7:43am

Are the Dole Bludgers parasites feeding on taxpayers' money ?

Reply #36 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 7:57am

It's not that easy to get a job -
I know a fully qualified engineer with an excellent job record
who applied for 600 jobs before he got one.
It ended up as a short term gig job.

The job situation out there is dreadful.

Reply #37 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 8:13am

Well Whitlam sent our jobs overseas when he signed the LIMA Agreement as a traitorous act of treason.

Reply #38 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 8:20am

Bobby. wrote on Sep 26th, 2019 at 8:26pm:

Controlled so that the money can only be used for food, housing and the necessities of life.

And if the recipient does not use that fortnights allocated free money, they lose it.

Get a job.....easy

I know its difficult.
When my last job went belly up because our head office overseas saw no future in just making a few million in Australia, I found myself out of work.

I applied for quite a few jobs, but as a 58 year old (at the time) I got few responses.

So,
Did I sit on my arse and whine?
Did I complain to the grubberment, who couldnt give a rats arse?

No
I went out and started a consultancy business.
and as a result of that work I was offered a well paid job in another company.

The work is out there.
You just have to look and be willing to try different things.

Not all of us are ABEGoriginals getting loads of free handouts.

Reply #39 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 8:36am

Valkie wrote on Sep 27th, 2019 at 8:20am:
Bobby. wrote on Sep 26th, 2019 at 8:26pm:

Get a job.....easy

I know its difficult.
When my last job went belly up because our head office overseas saw no future in just making a few million in Australia, I found myself out of work.

I applied for quite a few jobs, but as a 58 year old (at the time) I got few responses.

So,
Did I sit on my arse and whine?
Did I complain to the grubberment, who couldnt give a rats arse?

No
I went out and started a consultancy business.
and as a result of that work I was offered a well paid job in another company.

The work is out there.
You just have to look and be willing to try different things.

Not all of us are ABEGoriginals getting loads of free handouts.

But after paying taxes all my life
for other people to get the dole & the pension -
I now feel entitled to
at least get some of my taxes back.
I want the pension earlier than 67.5 years or 70.
I reckon people should get the pension at 55 if
they've had enough of the crazy rat race work force.
Everyone is expected to do the job of 4 people.

miketrees

Reply #40 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 10:10am

The so called caring left wing leaning people on this site should be ashamed.
I bet none of you have been to Katherine or Kununurra and seen what goes on.
Let alone been further out of those towns to the communities
Just a wild guess but I bet your opinions are formed by just wanting to criticize anything the Lib government does
You are always welcome to have an opinion..but you should at least be informed.
At least the government is trying to change things ...you Drongoes carry on as if things are perfect out there.

There is terrible neglect and abuse of children which is just leading to a self replicating problem
Kids as young as 4 turning up at PMH or now the PCH with STDs...getting treated then turning up again 6 months later.

This mindless bigoted campaign against anything the government does is a low despicable act.

There are so many instances of neglect that dont make the news in your comfy leafy suburbs in the city.
To be fair...if you wete better informed I am sure you would be doing the right thing...however some of you are willingly uninformed

Reply #41 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 10:37am

miketrees wrote on Sep 27th, 2019 at 10:10am:
The so called caring left wing leaning people on this site should be ashamed.
I bet none of you have been to Katherine or Kununurra and seen what goes on.
Let alone been further out of those towns to the communities
Just a wild guess but I bet your opinions are formed by just wanting to criticize anything the Lib government does
You are always welcome to have an opinion..but you should at least be informed.
At least the government is trying to change things ...you Drongoes carry on as if things are perfect out there.

There is terrible neglect and abuse of children which is just leading to a self replicating problem
Kids as young as 4 turning up at PMH or now the PCH with STDs...getting treated then turning up again 6 months later.

This mindless bigoted campaign against anything the government does is a low despicable act.

There are so many instances of neglect that dont make the news in your comfy leafy suburbs in the city.
To be fair...if you wete better informed I am sure you would be doing the right thing...however some of you are willingly uninformed

For the 100th time the card is not about aboriginals. the govt is putting EVERYONE on the card in those areas and planning to do it nationwide.

Reply #42 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 10:54am

Just happens that 99.99 percent of people in those areas who qualify for the card are Aboriginals , you nitwit.

Reply #43 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 1:04pm

Sir Spot of Borg wrote on Sep 27th, 2019 at 7:06am:

Get a job.....easy

There are ppl with jobs on that card. Because they dont earn enough to get by the govt gives them a couple dollars anad they have to have their money controlled. What about pensions? Govt wants pensioners on it too. In fact some are already. You dont think they have the right to control their own money? what is wrong with you?

As a self funded retiree ......to be.
I worked hard, saved my money and will live comfortably ( not on the thieving grubberments stolen cash)

If you have not planned for the future, educated yourself or worked hard and saved.
What gives you the right to demand money for nothing?

Bring on the card for all.
If you want free cash to live on, you have to jump through hoops.

Or you can work

Easy

Reply #44 - Sep 27th, 2019 at 1:05pm

rhino wrote on Sep 27th, 2019 at 10:54am:
Just happens that 99.99 percent of people in those areas who qualify for the card are Aboriginals , you nitwit.

ABEGoringinals only know how to BEG

So it's normal for them

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10