Poll closed Poll
Question: Is Sarah rorting her travel entitlements?
*** This poll has now closed ***

Yes    
  5 (55.6%)
No    
  4 (44.4%)

Total votes: 9
« Created by: Bobby. on: Jan 13th, 2019 at 5:17pm »

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7
Sarah spends $1 mill on travel. (Read 6004 times)

Sarah spends $1 mill on travel.
Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:14am

From the time of her appointment in 2008 until December 2014, the senator reportedly claimed a total of around $970,000 in travel expenses.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/news/article-3213698/Greens-senator-Sarah-Hanson-You...

Greens senator Sarah Hanson-Young racks up travel expenses bill of almost $1 million - including $85,000 'to visit refugee camps and environmental summits'

Senator Hanson-Young reportedly claimed nearly $970,000 in expenses
    Sum includes domestic and overseas claims, family costs and car costs
    She regularly posts pictures of her overseas fact finding missions online.

Greens senator Sarah Hanson-Young has spent almost a million dollars in travel entitlements, according to a report.

The prominent South Australian's costs included $85,000 to attend environmental summits and to visit Syrian refugee camps, News Corp reported on Friday morning.

From the time of her appointment in 2008 until December 2014, the senator reportedly claimed a total of around $970,000 in travel expenses.

The report said the sum included her travel allowance, family costs, car costs, domestic fares and charter and overseas claims.

Ms Hanson-Young has consistently updated her social media accounts with pictures of her various study trips overseas, including a January 2014 trip to refugee camps in Lebanon and Jordan.

She posted a picture of herself smiling with several children at a camp in Jordan, writing: 'Many more (refugees) in Syria and can't get out'. 

In a report to Parliament, the senator said the aim of that journey was to assess the scale of the humanitarian crisis. 

She found the Australian government needs to contribute more funding to vital services in camps overseas, such as sewerage systems.

Other countries Ms Hanson-Young reportedly claimed travel entitlements to visit included Papua New Guinea, Indonesia, Denmark, Sweden and Greece.

Daily Mail Australia called Ms Hanson-Young's spokesman for comment but did not receive a response by deadline.

Re: Sarah spends $1 mill on travel.
Reply #1 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:15am

And what about her burning of fossil fuels for all that travel?

Her carbon footprint is astronomical -

so much for her Green credentials - go figure?

Reply #2 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:27am

Bobby. wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:15am:

One would ask the obvious question....How much have other members spent whilst in office....If the travel was conducted on a commercial flight the fuel would have been spent even if Hanson Young had not been on the flights....How do you expect Senators to travel if they cannot burn fossil fuel....Is it the Greens fault that the major parties are stuck on fossil fuel and fail to support renewable and alternative energy???

Do you think Hanson Young is an exception mate??

Hanson young $970 000 in 6 years???

Sussan Ley (total expenses claimed 2015: $1,140,547)

Susan Ley $1,140,547 in one year???

https://www.news.com.au/finance/work/leaders/where-is-all-our-money-going-how-po...

Huh Huh Huh

macman

australia
Reply #3 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:34am

Care to comment on the  terminators latest joy flight Bobby? More than 30,000 dollars for one flight?

Reply #4 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:46am

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:27am:
Bobby. wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:15am:

One would ask the obvious question....How much have other members spent whilst in office....If the travel was conducted on a commercial flight the fuel would have been spent even if Hanson Young had not been on the flights....How do you expect Senators to travel if they cannot burn fossil fuel....Is it the Greens fault that the major parties are stuck on fossil fuel and fail to support renewable and alternative energy???

Do you think Hanson Young is an exception mate??

Hanson young $970 000 in 6 years???

Sussan Ley (total expenses claimed 2015: $1,140,547)

Susan Ley $1,140,547 in one year???

https://www.news.com.au/finance/work/leaders/where-is-all-our-money-going-how-po...

Huh Huh Huh

Thanks for your input about other travel rorts.

Reply #5 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:49am

But despite the considerable difference in between the two major parties, Labor MPs are certainly not immune from inexplicably high expense claims.

Michael Danby (total expense claimed in 2015: $455,747), Labor member for Melbourne Ports, for instance, claimed $187,000 in office costs in the first half of 2016, the highest office expenses claim for anyone in parliament over that period.

Given that he is an opposition backbencher, who was sitting on only a couple of joint standing committees during that time, it’s difficult to understand how this is justified.

Particularly given that $135,000 of that was for printing and communications, almost all of which occurred in the months leading up to the 2016 election. Danby’s name also appears in the top 30 claims for office related expenses every year going back to 2011.

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

lets say..
IT NEEDS TO STOP....

will SUPER BILL STOP IT DO YOU THINK?>>

Reply #6 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:50am

shy is the biggest hypocrite

I cant stand her....she is fake..

Reply #7 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 7:40am

cods wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 6:49am:
But despite the considerable difference in between the two major parties, Labor MPs are certainly not immune from inexplicably high expense claims.

Michael Danby (total expense claimed in 2015: $455,747), Labor member for Melbourne Ports, for instance, claimed $187,000 in office costs in the first half of 2016, the highest office expenses claim for anyone in parliament over that period.

Given that he is an opposition backbencher, who was sitting on only a couple of joint standing committees during that time, it’s difficult to understand how this is justified.

Particularly given that $135,000 of that was for printing and communications, almost all of which occurred in the months leading up to the 2016 election. Danby’s name also appears in the top 30 claims for office related expenses every year going back to 2011.

Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

lets say..
IT NEEDS TO STOP....

will SUPER BILL STOP IT DO YOU THINK?>>

Maybe....We know dickhead Morrison will do nothing!!!

Reply #8 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 7:44am

WHY SHOULD HE?..

Labor did bugger all in their 6 years..

it isnt as if this is NEW..

the cost increases because like everything else travel costs GO UP>.

I am quite happy within reason if its ministers....

we dont want to look like a Junta do we?...

but this is going overboard....

I wonder if Mr Anning is in favor of pollies cutting back on travel expenses... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #9 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:16am

cods wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 7:44am:

That's true but by how much is what matters!

Did you look at the graph in Ruperts article!

Reply #10 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:17am

WHY SHOULD HE?..

I wonder if Mr Anning is in favor of pollies cutting back on travel expenses... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

If you read the link I provided the Coalition outspend every other party on "entitlements"....Why is it you condemn Bill Shorten and the ALP yet say nothing about the Coalition....Your whole argument is based on bias of the lowest order....You overlook the main offenders and condemn Bill Shorten who has never lead the ALP in Government so has had no ability to address the issue....The facts seam to escape you on a regular basis Cods???

Reply #11 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:26am

philperth2010 wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:17am:
WHY SHOULD HE?..

If you read the link I provided the Coalition outspend every other party on "entitlements"....Why is it you condemn Bill Shorten and the ALP yet say nothing about the Coalition....Your whole argument is based on bias of the lowest order....You overlook the main offenders and condemn Bill Shorten who has never lead the ALP in Government so has had no ability to address the issue....The facts seam to escape you on a regular basis Cods???

the Libs   are in GOVT    and I expect that..

SHorten was asst TREASURER    Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

and like I said this has been going on for a long time...

we are now in an age where electronics are taking over EVERYTHING...

and yes that INCLUDES communication..

and these buggers should use it...

senators  are not there to MAKE POLICY.. they are there to see the GOVT of the day does its job as promised...

yet we are paying a fortune for them to travel the globe....... Angry Angry Angry

thats not what they are there to do...

as I have said..ALREADY

when it comes to MINISTERS  we have to expect to SPEND....

when Labor is in GOVT I will expect them to outspend the opposition....

in the mean time  when it comes to criticising my own side..

I am one of the few that does
... Angry Angry Angry

Reply #12 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:27am

Redmond Neck wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:16am:

That's true but by how much is what matters!

Did you look at the graph in Ruperts article!

I agree red and have already said so

its out of control...

what are you guys   doing about it???? Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Reply #13 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:28am

While it seems to be too much it is over a number of years and the only example given does look to be 100% legitimate.

Many of the main stream politicians spend a heap on their yearly travel and it is often for disguised holidays justified by transparent reports.

Reply #14 - Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:37am

Dnarever wrote on Jan 12th, 2019 at 8:28am:
While it seems to be too much it is over a number of years and the only example given does look to be 100% legitimate.

Many of the main stream politicians spend a heap on their yearly travel and it is often for disguised holidays justified by transparent reports.

if you look at Fraser Annings trip to Perth..

remember he has only been there since 2017 and did only get 19 votes....

you will see he made his reasons up for being there....

he even takes his family...

this guy was almost made bankrupt....now hes one of the dodgy bros.. Angry

Pages: 1 2 3 ... 7