Plan to scrap car rego.... (Read 4441 times)

Plan to scrap car rego....
Jun 25th, 2018 at 1:00pm

https://au.news.yahoo.com/radical-plan-scrap-rego-pay-drive-scheme-fund-roads-22...

"Motorists could be slugged for every kilometre they drive on major roads, with the top planning body renewing its push for a user-paid system.

Infrastructure Australia is pushing to scrap fuel excise and registration fees in favour of charging drivers for how far and when they use the roads in a bid for future investing in road infrastructure.

The government agency says the current system for funding roads is unsustainable because drivers are transitioning to electric cars, which will not pay fuel excise, but the cost of our roads will stay the same or increase.

The proposal was part of its Australian Infrastructure Plan published in February 2016 which the group said the Australian government initially showed support in, but no inquiry followed.

Infrastructure Australia last Monday released its Prioritising Reform report, which assessed how the 2016 recommended reforms progressed in the past two years.

“The system is unfair because the link between usage and charging is weak,” the Australian Infrastructure Plan said.

“Australian taxpayers incur a significant ongoing cost burden to maintain and develop our road system, regardless of whether they own or drive a car.

“The system is also unsustainable because fuel excise revenue will continue to decline in real terms as fuel efficiency continues to rise and the uptake of alternatively fuelled vehicles gathers pace.”

The report said an Australian road market was needed that reflects the true costs of providing, maintaining and using the network, with fees to reflect these costs.

Infrastructure Australia chief executive Philip Davies said “more action is needed” and pushed the government to move forward on this “important opportunity for reform”.

The next Australian Infrastructure Plan will be released in 2021."

Does that mean pensioners will be exempt since they currently enjoy free rego and only pay CTP and inspection costs?  That would mean that the trip to Queenslund (where they do things diff'rently) to visit the grand-kids would cost more... or would it work out evenly without fuel excise, or even better for me?

Is this going to be like the GST when it came in - a Digger mate on TPI said it was replacing some income tax - I said, just remember that you don't currently pay income tax.  (hmmmm...)  Pensioners who didn't pay income tax then were paying its replacement - but King John the Last Guy You'd Want did give a sweetener ....... (while he and Pedro Castella stole the Futures Fund away from under our noses)...

How do they propose to monitor road usage?**

How will that affect the trucks (damn their eyes on that freakin' highway)?

I note the emphasis on electric cars not paying excise... but they surely pay in other ways such as GST etc...

Any thoughts??

**"OK, sir - I'm from the Foundation for Underlying Kilometre Use (FUKU) - let's see your odometer.. NOW!  Refusal is an offence carrying twenty year's imprisonment..... "
« Last Edit: Jun 25th, 2018 at 1:06pm by Grappler Truth Teller Feller »  

Imrah

Re: Plan to scrap car rego....
Reply #1 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 1:58pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 1:00pm:
“The system is unfair because the link between usage and charging is weak,” the Australian Infrastructure Plan said.

“Australian taxpayers incur a significant ongoing cost burden to maintain and develop our road system, regardless of whether they own or drive a car.

“The system is also unsustainable because fuel excise revenue will continue to decline in real terms as fuel efficiency continues to rise and the uptake of alternatively fuelled vehicles gathers pace.

It is seemingly logical argument if one ignores the fact that Australian taxpayers incur ongoing cost to our health due to petrol & diesel powered vehicles, as well as the carbon emissions which will supposibly mean cost to the health of the planet.

The reason for the fuel excise is not only for the roads that we drive on, but for the health costs resultant from the exhaust fumes of petrol & diesel transport. 

Electric cars, providing that they are charged from renewable power sources, (which is largely the government's responsibility), do not create fumes which cause pollution, carbon in the sky, asthmatics and lung cancer sufferers in the public hospitals, and most immediately noticable, engine noise.  It is unAustralian to tax those who are providing a good service to all of the population. 

Personally, I'd be better off because I don't use my car as much as the average Australian, so I'd be paying less for the weekly kays than average.  Ethically, I think it is wrong to make electric cars pay the same as petrol cars when electric cars are good for the health of the whole community compared to noisy, smelly fossil-fuelled cars which negate the whole idea of renewable energy because they each contain their own personal pollutive power station.

Sometimes, there just aren't enough rocks.

Reply #2 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 2:44pm

https://au.news.yahoo.com/radical-plan-scrap-rego-pay-drive-scheme-fund-roads-22...

"Motorists could be slugged for every kilometre they drive on major roads, with the top planning body renewing its push for a user-paid system.

Infrastructure Australia is pushing to scrap fuel excise and registration fees in favour of charging drivers for how far and when they use the roads in a bid for future investing in road infrastructure.

The government agency says the current system for funding roads is unsustainable because drivers are transitioning to electric cars, which will not pay fuel excise, but the cost of our roads will stay the same or increase.

The proposal was part of its Australian Infrastructure Plan published in February 2016 which the group said the Australian government initially showed support in, but no inquiry followed.

Infrastructure Australia last Monday released its Prioritising Reform report, which assessed how the 2016 recommended reforms progressed in the past two years.

“The system is also unsustainable because fuel excise revenue will continue to decline in real terms as fuel efficiency continues to rise and the uptake of alternatively fuelled vehicles gathers pace.”

The report said an Australian road market was needed that reflects the true costs of providing, maintaining and using the network, with fees to reflect these costs.

Infrastructure Australia chief executive Philip Davies said “more action is needed” and pushed the government to move forward on this “important opportunity for reform”.

Does that mean pensioners will be exempt since they currently enjoy free rego and only pay CTP and inspection costs?  That would mean that the trip to Queenslund (where they do things diff'rently) to visit the grand-kids would cost more... or would it work out evenly without fuel excise, or even better for me?

Is this going to be like the GST when it came in - a Digger mate on TPI said it was replacing some income tax - I said, just remember that you don't currently pay income tax.  (hmmmm...)  Pensioners who didn't pay income tax then were paying its replacement - but King John the Last Guy You'd Want did give a sweetener ....... (while he and Pedro Castella stole the Futures Fund away from under our noses)...

I note the emphasis on electric cars not paying excise... but they surely pay in other ways such as GST etc...

Any thoughts??

**"OK, sir - I'm from the Foundation for Underlying Kilometre Use (FUKU) - let's see your odometer.. NOW!  Refusal is an offence carrying twenty year's imprisonment..... "

It's another con to get deeper into our pockets.

How on earth are they going to monitor road use?

More implementation of big brother into our cars & even more control over our lives.

They can get stuffed.

As to electric cars not paying fuel excise ... what crap ... they pay for the coal generated electricity when they charge the batteries ... they pay gst on higher priced auto technology ....

It's all about privatising all the roads as gold mines for the private sector .... who what they have all done when public utilities are privatised ....... keep raising the prices & neglecting the maintenance for executive salaries & shareholder dividends.

Reply #3 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 2:55pm

A distance based tax would more effect poorer people in the outter ring suburbs.
People out in schitsville often drive 100km a day!

There is already a distance based tax anyway, it's called the fuel tax!
Drive more, buy more petrol, pay more tax.

If a large % of cars are electric and being powered from rooftop solar, then yes some distance based tax would be appropriate.

Reply #4 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 3:00pm

user pay.. why not...

what annoys me about car rego  is we are fooled into thinking that money goes towards our roads....like its intentions..... HA...

they steal from us no matter what...

and they will do what they want! no matter what... Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

tickleandrose

Reply #5 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 3:08pm

The people in the rural area would be dis-advantaged.  Plus, what would be cost of setting up these types of infrastructure to monitor the usage?  We dont even have enough to bring fibre to homes, how are they going to tax it?  Voluntary reporting of the odometer?

Reply #6 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 5:50pm

tickleandrose wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 3:08pm:
The people in the rural area would be dis-advantaged.  Plus, what would be cost of setting up these types of infrastructure to monitor the usage?  We dont even have enough to bring fibre to homes, how are they going to tax it?  Voluntary reporting of the odometer? 

Maybe they'd look at it once a year at rego time when the odomoeter reading is on the inspection form....

Bit rough on us rural carers and pensioners who have to travel heaps to see quacks and such... or even for shopping etc.

Not a good idea - unless pensioners get it free like rego.... but I can't see the vultures coming at that one... these vultures pick your eyes out long before you're dead....

Hmmm - 40.0 cpl ... if you use 80 litres a week - easy for a rural personage - that's about $32 a week - fifty two weeks in a year = $1664 a year... sounds like more than rego to me...... if as Gordo said poor people out west in Sydney travel 100km a day - say 8l/100 x five days a week - that's 40 litres a week... half that....
« Last Edit: Jun 25th, 2018 at 6:12pm by Grappler Truth Teller Feller »  

Reply #7 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 6:02pm

cods wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 3:00pm:
user pay.. why not...

what annoys me about car rego  is we are fooled into thinking that money goes towards our roads....like its intentions..... HA...

Won't be long & that mentality will have us paying to breathe. Roll Eyes

Reply #8 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 6:13pm

Gnads wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 6:02pm:
cods wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 3:00pm:
user pay.. why not...

Won't be long & that mentality will have us paying to breathe. Roll Eyes

Was discussing that yesterday - soon you'll pay to load up your breathing tank - no money - no air.

Imrah

Reply #9 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 6:16pm

Grappler Truth Teller Feller wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 6:13pm:
Was discussing that yesterday - soon you'll pay to load up your breathing tank - no money - no air.

What use is breathing in a world like that?

Reply #10 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:43pm

It's really very simple. Tax petrol.

Reply #11 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:52pm

freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:43pm:

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

Reply #12 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:01pm

Bobby. wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:52pm:

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

Not quite. A petrol tax is the simplest and most accurate way to charge for road usage.

Reply #13 - Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:30pm

freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:01pm:

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

Not quite. A petrol tax is the simplest and most accurate way to charge for road usage.

It would be close to 90%.

The Govt. taxes everything all the way through the supply chain.
It's probably taxed over 10 times before you fill up.

Reply #14 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 3:17am

See delivery drivers everywhere groaning.

tickleandrose

Reply #15 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:31am

And there is more.  If there is voluntary reporting of the odometer.  How are they going to audit this?  Are they going to employ a 'team' of public servants nation wide to catch under reporting?  Are there going to be penalties?  Can people going to court or jail for this?  There just too much issues to sort out.   And probably what happens at the end, is that all the big companies is going to be okay, and the 'computer software' would just go after pensioners in rural areas.

Stig

>_<

Reply #16 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:39am

tickleandrose wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:31am:
And there is more.  If there is voluntary reporting of the odometer.  How are they going to audit this?  Are they going to employ a 'team' of public servants nation wide to catch under reporting?  Are there going to be penalties?  Can people going to court or jail for this?  There just too much issues to sort out.   And probably what happens at the end, is that all the big companies is going to be okay, and the 'computer software' would just go after pensioners in rural areas. 

A simple matter for cars >5 years old - just check the odo when you go for your pink slip. For newer cars I'm sure a quick check each year can be mandated in a similar fashion.

Stig

>_<

Reply #17 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:41am

This is inevitable as electric car usage takes off.

And it's a good thing too - also means that you can keep a weekend car in the garage or a proper 4WD for the grey nomad types and not pay stupid amounts of rego for it.

Grendel

Reply #18 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:41am

Gordon wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 2:55pm:
A distance based tax would more effect poorer people in the outter ring suburbs.
People out in schitsville often drive 100km a day!

There is already a distance based tax anyway, it's called the fuel tax!
Drive more, buy more petrol, pay more tax.

If a large % of cars are electric and being powered from rooftop solar, then yes some distance based tax would be appropriate.

Yes Gordon and regional people who need to travel long distances to see Drs, Specialists, have Hospital treatment, get to larger retail outlets, etc, etc, etc...  petrol is already 20c/l more expensive in regional areas than in the cities and suburbs.

Reply #19 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:44am

They already tax petrol ... are you kidding? Roll Eyes

40c per litre - unleaded
40c per litre - diesel
13c per litre - Gas
« Last Edit: Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:51am by Gnads »  

Reply #20 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:47am

Stig wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:41am:

And it's a good thing too - also means that you can keep a weekend car in the garage or a proper 4WD for the grey nomad types and not pay stupid amounts of rego for it.

When will that be?

It's a long way off yet.

Grendel

Reply #21 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:50am

Gnads wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:44am:

totally agree Gnads...  cost of living is already ridiculous imagine what this would add. Roll Eyes

Reply #22 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:55am

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:50am:

totally agree Gnads...  cost of living is already ridiculous imagine what this would add. Roll Eyes

They get 40 cents from every litre we buy which currently is averaging $1.50 per litre.

And they tax us anywhere from 32.5 to 40 cents of every dollar we earn.

Freediver would make a voracious parasite .....

who would drain all his hosts dry.

Stig

>_<

Reply #23 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 10:28am

Gnads wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:47am:

When will that be?

It's a long way off yet.

It is, but anything that moves us away from a stupid tax like rego to a more intelligent distance-based tax is a good thing.

Personally I'd have done away with rego years ago, made third party insurance a token amount (say <$100) to get rid of the issue with uninsured drivers and simply upped the excise on petrol to compensate.

Reply #24 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 11:18am

Stig wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 10:28am:

When will that be?

It's a long way off yet.

It is, but anything that moves us away from a stupid tax like rego to a more intelligent distance-based tax is a good thing.

Personally I'd have done away with rego years ago, made third party insurance a token amount (say <$100) to get rid of the issue with uninsured drivers and simply upped the excise on petrol to compensate.

So owning a motor car becomes more affordable .....

but it stays in the shed because you can't afford to put fuel in it?  Roll Eyes

Imrah

Reply #25 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 11:44am

Bobby. wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:30pm:

Still a long way to go.  Tobacco tax is over the 1,000% mark now.

Grendel

Reply #26 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:02pm

Stig wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 10:28am:

When will that be?

It's a long way off yet.

Greenslip insurance used to be cheaper (under $100) but state governments (well NSW at least) stuffed that right up.

Grendel

Reply #27 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:07pm

Some of you aren't listening.
Regional areas would be penalised under such a system.
I have to travel 2 hours at 100kmph to get to the nearest city with proper shops and services.

In Sydney for example I could catch a train or drive for 10-20 minutes at 60kmph.

You cant do that in the regions. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

Imrah

Reply #28 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:12pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:07pm:
You cant do that in the regions. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

With respect, you are right.  I agree.  Living away from the rat-race is a luxury is what comes to my mind.  If you want to save money, go to town.  I hope you understand what I mean.  The country is the last decent place left in Australia, but we only get what we pay for.

Reply #29 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:27pm

Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 11:44am:

There is a vast difference between taxing the guts out of tobacco than doing likewise to something as important as vehicular transport.

Imrah

Reply #30 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:33pm

Gnads wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:27pm:
Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 11:44am:

There is a vast difference between taxing the guts out of tobacco than doing likewise to something as important as vehicular transport.

The damage that a car engine does to passive smokers is 10,000 times more than the damage that a smoker does in the same timespan.  There are alternatives if they can quit their dirty habits.
The difference is not vast at all.

Grendel

Reply #31 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 5:27pm

Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:12pm:
Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:07pm:

With respect, you are right.  I agree.  Living away from the rat-race is a luxury is what comes to my mind.  If you want to save money, go to town.  I hope you understand what I mean.  The country is the last decent place left in Australia, but we only get what we pay for.

I used to live in a city.
I am now a carer my parents have retired, I have no choice where I live.
BTW I've paid more tax than most Australians over my lifetime.  Comes from working very long hours and being well paid.

Imrah

Reply #32 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 5:31pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 5:27pm:
I am now a carer my parents have retired, I have no choice where I live.

Perhaps lucky your parents have found a place in the country to retire, but still Grendel, I wish you and your folks all the best luck and happiness, and hope that the money doesn't become any more of an issue with the next crazy government policy they come up with.

Grendel

Reply #33 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:14pm

The point is...  regardless of my circumstances...  this scheme would still be unfair.

Imrah

Reply #34 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:22pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:14pm:
The point is...  regardless of my circumstances...  this scheme would still be unfair.

Every little bit of government legislation is fair on one and unfair on another.  Otherwise there would be no need to legislate.  If we all were to benefit from something, then there would be no need for government at all.

The trick to good government in Australia is to make sure that the majority benefit more than the minority suffer, always abiding the UN Declaration of Human Rights, common decency and traditionally those Ten Commandments, so that no citizen suffers more than they can survive.

PS: Please excuse my multitasking this hour.  Hotel California in the Harley thread prompted me to practice piano so I am not quite the full quid at this forum right now. That is what multitasking does to people.

I will try to concentrate as best I can and hope that the random song selection fits with our converstion so that it plays a song I don't like much when we are communicating.  Then I will be able to answer more intelligently.  Sorry.
« Last Edit: Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:27pm by Imrah »  

Grendel

Reply #35 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:29pm

Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:22pm:
Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:14pm:

Every little bit of government legislation is fair on one and unfair on another.  Otherwise there would be no need to legislate.  If we all were to benefit from something, then there would be no need for government at all.

The trick to good government in Australia is to make sure that the majority benefit more than the minority suffer, always abiding the UN Declaration of Human Rights, common decency and traditionally those Ten Commandments, so that no citizen suffers more than they can survive.

The trick is...  in the land of the fair go....  to be fair... minorities do not have to, nor should they suffer and many people live outside cities...

Imrah

Reply #36 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:35pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:29pm:
The trick is...  in the land of the fair go....  to be fair... minorities do not have to, nor should they suffer and many people live outside cities... 

Fair Go was Rudd's 2007 winner, but he never got the chance to make it happen, and now that conniving bastard Shorten is trying to ressurect the idea of the 'fair go' again.

He's got Buckey's, mate.  The fair go has gone the same way as Australian culture, Grendel.  In the bin.  Australian culture is opposed to multiculturalism, according to the multicultiralists.

That is why I wish you every happiness and may you always have the best of the good things in life.  Adam Brand believed in a fair go, but he doesn't have a seat in parliament.

Reply #37 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 7:12pm

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

You could always try informing yourself rather than guessing Bobby.

40c per litre - unleaded
40c per litre - diesel
13c per litre - Gas

Perhaps that is where Bobby gets his 90% from - petrol for 44c per litre.

You do realise that roads aren't cheap, don't you?

Reply #38 - Jun 27th, 2018 at 1:00pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 7:12pm:

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

You could always try informing yourself rather than guessing Bobby.

40c per litre - unleaded
40c per litre - diesel
13c per litre - Gas

Perhaps that is where Bobby gets his 90% from - petrol for 44c per litre.

You do realise that roads aren't cheap, don't you?

Yes but it's not just fuel excise that goes into that .. so does part of your registration.

The cost of both keep increasing.

And as for roads we don't seem to be getting value for money .... a lack of quality control it seems ... because you can bet a quid that after they redo do a section of highway .... within 3 to 6 months the trucks are breaking through it and they are back repairing it.

We can't build decent roads ... either that or those contracted are deliberately ripping off govts. with poor product.

Reply #39 - Jun 27th, 2018 at 7:00pm

We can't build decent roads ... either that or those contracted are deliberately ripping off govts. with poor product.

Did you hear that down at the pub?

Reply #40 - Jun 28th, 2018 at 7:08am

freediver wrote on Jun 27th, 2018 at 7:00pm:

Did you hear that down at the pub?

No I drive the highway between Brisbane & Rockhampton on a regular basis.

Do you?

Reply #41 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 7:26am

How much do you think that highway costs?

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #42 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 8:04am

An extra petrol tax is a good idea. I only fill up once a month because I have a small car - so I would be better off. If I have to go outside my area - I use public transport so I don't have to deal with road rage.

Obviously a lot of people have to use their cars more frequently and for longer distances, but then they are causing more wear and tear on our roads.

Registration used to be the sole contributor towards road maintenance, but that's no longer the case.

The Greenslip is a rort also. How much of it actually goes to victims of car accidents?

Reply #43 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:29pm

freediver wrote on Jul 1st, 2018 at 7:26am:
How much do you think that highway costs?

Multi millions ... what's your point?

If they can't last more than 6 months before the road patrols are out patching them ... they're not getting built well enough for the money.

Reply #44 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:31pm

Are you saying they replace the entire highway every six months?

Reply #45 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:31pm

mantra wrote on Jul 1st, 2018 at 8:04am:
An extra petrol tax is a good idea. I only fill up once a month because I have a small car - so I would be better off. If I have to go outside my area - I use public transport so I don't have to deal with road rage.

Obviously a lot of people have to use their cars more frequently and for longer distances, but then they are causing more wear and tear on our roads.

Registration used to be the sole contributor towards road maintenance, but that's no longer the case.

The Greenslip is a rort also. How much of it actually goes to victims of car accidents?

Bully for you .... what may suit you doesn't suit millions of others or me.  Roll Eyes

Reply #46 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:32pm

Would you rather they raised the funds through a far more inconvenient system?

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #47 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:32pm

Any thoughts??

Another example of the oligarchy pushing governments.

While China is advancing Australians will soon be on bicycles.

Time for a revolution.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos