Plan to scrap car rego.... (Read 4436 times)
Imrah

Re: Plan to scrap car rego....
Reply #30 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:33pm

Gnads wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:27pm:
Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 11:44am:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:30pm:
It would be close to 90%.

Still a long way to go.  Tobacco tax is over the 1,000% mark now.

There is a vast difference between taxing the guts out of tobacco than doing likewise to something as important as vehicular transport.

The damage that a car engine does to passive smokers is 10,000 times more than the damage that a smoker does in the same timespan.  There are alternatives if they can quit their dirty habits.
The difference is not vast at all.

Sometimes, there just aren't enough rocks.

Grendel

Reply #31 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 5:27pm

Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:12pm:
Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 4:07pm:
You cant do that in the regions. Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes Roll Eyes

With respect, you are right.  I agree.  Living away from the rat-race is a luxury is what comes to my mind.  If you want to save money, go to town.  I hope you understand what I mean.  The country is the last decent place left in Australia, but we only get what we pay for.

I used to live in a city.
I am now a carer my parents have retired, I have no choice where I live.
BTW I've paid more tax than most Australians over my lifetime.  Comes from working very long hours and being well paid.

Imrah

Reply #32 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 5:31pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 5:27pm:
I am now a carer my parents have retired, I have no choice where I live.

Perhaps lucky your parents have found a place in the country to retire, but still Grendel, I wish you and your folks all the best luck and happiness, and hope that the money doesn't become any more of an issue with the next crazy government policy they come up with.

Grendel

Reply #33 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:14pm

The point is...  regardless of my circumstances...  this scheme would still be unfair.

Imrah

Reply #34 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:22pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:14pm:
The point is...  regardless of my circumstances...  this scheme would still be unfair.

Every little bit of government legislation is fair on one and unfair on another.  Otherwise there would be no need to legislate.  If we all were to benefit from something, then there would be no need for government at all.

The trick to good government in Australia is to make sure that the majority benefit more than the minority suffer, always abiding the UN Declaration of Human Rights, common decency and traditionally those Ten Commandments, so that no citizen suffers more than they can survive.

PS: Please excuse my multitasking this hour.  Hotel California in the Harley thread prompted me to practice piano so I am not quite the full quid at this forum right now. That is what multitasking does to people.

I will try to concentrate as best I can and hope that the random song selection fits with our converstion so that it plays a song I don't like much when we are communicating.  Then I will be able to answer more intelligently.  Sorry.
« Last Edit: Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:27pm by Imrah »  

Grendel

Reply #35 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:29pm

Imrah wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:22pm:
Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:14pm:

Every little bit of government legislation is fair on one and unfair on another.  Otherwise there would be no need to legislate.  If we all were to benefit from something, then there would be no need for government at all.

The trick to good government in Australia is to make sure that the majority benefit more than the minority suffer, always abiding the UN Declaration of Human Rights, common decency and traditionally those Ten Commandments, so that no citizen suffers more than they can survive.

The trick is...  in the land of the fair go....  to be fair... minorities do not have to, nor should they suffer and many people live outside cities...

Imrah

Reply #36 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:35pm

Grendel wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 6:29pm:
The trick is...  in the land of the fair go....  to be fair... minorities do not have to, nor should they suffer and many people live outside cities... 

Fair Go was Rudd's 2007 winner, but he never got the chance to make it happen, and now that conniving bastard Shorten is trying to ressurect the idea of the 'fair go' again.

He's got Buckey's, mate.  The fair go has gone the same way as Australian culture, Grendel.  In the bin.  Australian culture is opposed to multiculturalism, according to the multicultiralists.

That is why I wish you every happiness and may you always have the best of the good things in life.  Adam Brand believed in a fair go, but he doesn't have a seat in parliament.

Reply #37 - Jun 26th, 2018 at 7:12pm

freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:01pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:52pm:
freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:43pm:
It's really very simple. Tax petrol.

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

Not quite. A petrol tax is the simplest and most accurate way to charge for road usage.

The Govt. taxes everything all the way through the supply chain.
It's probably taxed over 10 times before you fill up.

You could always try informing yourself rather than guessing Bobby.

Gnads wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:44am:

They already tax petrol ... are you kidding? Roll Eyes

40c per litre - unleaded
40c per litre - diesel
13c per litre - Gas

Perhaps that is where Bobby gets his 90% from - petrol for 44c per litre.

You do realise that roads aren't cheap, don't you?

Reply #38 - Jun 27th, 2018 at 1:00pm

freediver wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 7:12pm:
freediver wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 10:01pm:
Bobby. wrote on Jun 25th, 2018 at 9:52pm:

Isn't it 90% tax anyway?

Not quite. A petrol tax is the simplest and most accurate way to charge for road usage.

The Govt. taxes everything all the way through the supply chain.
It's probably taxed over 10 times before you fill up.

You could always try informing yourself rather than guessing Bobby.

Gnads wrote on Jun 26th, 2018 at 9:44am:

They already tax petrol ... are you kidding? Roll Eyes

40c per litre - unleaded
40c per litre - diesel
13c per litre - Gas

Perhaps that is where Bobby gets his 90% from - petrol for 44c per litre.

You do realise that roads aren't cheap, don't you?

Yes but it's not just fuel excise that goes into that .. so does part of your registration.

The cost of both keep increasing.

And as for roads we don't seem to be getting value for money .... a lack of quality control it seems ... because you can bet a quid that after they redo do a section of highway .... within 3 to 6 months the trucks are breaking through it and they are back repairing it.

We can't build decent roads ... either that or those contracted are deliberately ripping off govts. with poor product.

Reply #39 - Jun 27th, 2018 at 7:00pm

We can't build decent roads ... either that or those contracted are deliberately ripping off govts. with poor product.

Did you hear that down at the pub?

Reply #40 - Jun 28th, 2018 at 7:08am

freediver wrote on Jun 27th, 2018 at 7:00pm:

Did you hear that down at the pub?

No I drive the highway between Brisbane & Rockhampton on a regular basis.

Do you?

Reply #41 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 7:26am

How much do you think that highway costs?

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #42 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 8:04am

An extra petrol tax is a good idea. I only fill up once a month because I have a small car - so I would be better off. If I have to go outside my area - I use public transport so I don't have to deal with road rage.

Obviously a lot of people have to use their cars more frequently and for longer distances, but then they are causing more wear and tear on our roads.

Registration used to be the sole contributor towards road maintenance, but that's no longer the case.

The Greenslip is a rort also. How much of it actually goes to victims of car accidents?

Reply #43 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:29pm

freediver wrote on Jul 1st, 2018 at 7:26am:
How much do you think that highway costs?

Multi millions ... what's your point?

If they can't last more than 6 months before the road patrols are out patching them ... they're not getting built well enough for the money.

Reply #44 - Jul 1st, 2018 at 2:31pm

Are you saying they replace the entire highway every six months?