Re: Tomato plant time.
Reply #45 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:09pm

Gordon wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:07pm:
Vine ripened tomatoes were down to  $2kg in Harris Farm the other day   Wink

In Coles & Woolies they still cost megabucks.

Reply #46 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:11pm

Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:08pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:05pm:
Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 4:58pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 4:50pm:
Hi Ajax - that's looking great.
How long ago did you plant them?

About 6 weeks ago.

We left them in their little pot plants and had them inside for about 2 weeks before planting in the ground.

OK - we had extraordinary heat in Melbourne for the last 3 weeks of November
& then it's been a bit cold since then.
I wonder whether I just picked a dud plant?
I bought it from Bunnings.
If you get one good cocktail tomato plant it will grow enormous -
if you don't cut the suckers at the bottom off & stake them out on bamboo poles
you can get 100 to 200 tomatoes from one plant!
I applied a small amount of Aquasol 4 times over the month so it
had proper nutrients.

We got ours from Bunnings as well.

The bossed sprayed them with something to keep the insects off but that's about it, I hope we can get about 200 from each plant that would be nice.

Closer look, its 2 photos side by side.

https://preview.ibb.co/ns2pfG/tom03.jpg

Really - are they cocktail tomatoes?

I've grown beefsteaks before but only got maybe 5 or from each plant
because they are so large.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #47 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:12pm

Cant say I've had those so don't know about the quality.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #48 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:14pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:11pm:
Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:08pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:05pm:
Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 4:58pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 4:50pm:
Hi Ajax - that's looking great.
How long ago did you plant them?

About 6 weeks ago.

We left them in their little pot plants and had them inside for about 2 weeks before planting in the ground.

OK - we had extraordinary heat in Melbourne for the last 3 weeks of November
& then it's been a bit cold since then.
I wonder whether I just picked a dud plant?
I bought it from Bunnings.
If you get one good cocktail tomato plant it will grow enormous -
if you don't cut the suckers at the bottom off & stake them out on bamboo poles
you can get 100 to 200 tomatoes from one plant!
I applied a small amount of Aquasol 4 times over the month so it
had proper nutrients.

We got ours from Bunnings as well.

The bossed sprayed them with something to keep the insects off but that's about it, I hope we can get about 200 from each plant that would be nice.

Closer look, its 2 photos side by side.

https://preview.ibb.co/ns2pfG/tom03.jpg

Really - are they cocktail tomatoes?

I've grown beefsteaks before but only got maybe 5 or from each plant
because they are so large.

Two apollos and one big red.

1. There has never been a more serious assault on our standard of living than Anthropogenic Global Warming..Ajax
2. "One hour of freedom is worth more than 40 years of slavery &  prison" Regas Feraeos

Reply #49 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:14pm

Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:12pm:

You can't beat a fresh tomato taken straight from the plant & eaten.
They taste wonderful compared to the supermarket ones.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #50 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:15pm

Last year we got about 200 from the same brands.

Five only........that's weird....!!!!

Reply #51 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:16pm

Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:15pm:

200 beefsteaks on one plant?
I've never seen that.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #52 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:16pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:14pm:

Sometimes I eat them like an apple.

But love the juice from them in a tossed salad.

« Last Edit: Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:22pm by Ajax »  

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #53 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:17pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:16pm:
Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:15pm:

200 beefsteaks on one plant?
I've never seen that.

I'll keep you posted when they bloom.

Reply #54 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:18pm

If you let it run wild it will grow like a bush and you'll get less fruit Bobby. Run it around a large stake and don't forget to rip out the spurs and off shoots. Make it one long vine like a snake. You'll get heaps. I've got 4 large cherry tomato plants going now and we haven't purchased tomatoes  for weeks.  Smiley

Reply #55 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:19pm

Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:16pm:

The secret trick is to put some balsamic vinegar on them.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #56 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:21pm

Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:19pm:

http://bpc.h-cdn.co/assets/17/04/480x720/gallery-1485282401-newmans-own-organic-...

Ok might try that one.

We usually cover them in olive oil and some salt, really brings out the flavour of the tomato.

Reply #57 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:21pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:18pm:
If you let it run wild it will grow like a bush and you'll get less fruit Bobby. Run it around a large stake and don't forget to rip out the spurs and off shoots. Make it one long vine like a snake. You'll get heaps. I've got 4 large cherry tomato plants going now and we haven't purchased tomatoes  for weeks.  Smiley

I found the opposite.
I wish I had a picture of it.
I staked out the spurs & off shoots.
I got heaps from one plant.
I would add a tiny amount of Aquasol every day to the water.

Ajax

CO2 has never controlled
temperature on Earth

Reply #58 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:23pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:18pm:

Yeah that's right, once they grow rip out any new growth / leaves underneath so all the strength goes into the fruit.

Reply #59 - Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:24pm

Ajax wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:21pm:
Bobby. wrote on Dec 9th, 2017 at 5:19pm:

http://bpc.h-cdn.co/assets/17/04/480x720/gallery-1485282401-newmans-own-organic-...

Ok might try that one.

We usually cover them in olive oil and some salt, really brings out the flavour of the tomato.

Wow - that looks yummy.
I'm getting hungry.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6