Food (Read 10500 times)

Food
Jul 7th, 2017 at 6:55pm

Writing about Food in Relationships????

Can you think of a better place?

Food is SO much more than food for the body. Can you think of anything better able to get families together than round a table loaded with delicious food?

Food keeps the body going but that is just the basic, elementary part of food. It can nourish the senses—sight smell and taste and in that order—and, as I stated, can bring families, even communities together.

I bought a three rib beef roast. Also sweet potatoes. Will attempt Yorkshire puddings—no guarantees  Smiley And I reckon I can get a dinner party started with little effort.

So, an occasional series of food posts will appear here.

Mod.

Re: Food
Reply #1 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 6:59pm

Heads up all.  Any Post appearing here which is not directly relevant to the Topic will be deleted.

Reply #2 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 9:17pm

I used to work with a Yorkshire man, he told me the girls thought his "puddin'" was to die for.

I have made a few myself years ago, great to mop up real pan made gravy with.

Reply #3 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 9:24pm

Dat’s nice.

Reply #4 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 10:11pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 7th, 2017 at 9:24pm:
Dat’s nice.

Is that on topic?

Reply #5 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 10:20pm

Could be.

Reply #6 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 10:47pm

I think Au should delete this and the previous 3 posts, as per his edict. Rules are rules! Wink

Reply #7 - Jul 7th, 2017 at 10:57pm

Yes.

Reply #8 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 12:26am

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 7th, 2017 at 10:57pm:
Yes.

And that one, and maybe this one... Except, no, I'm cooking lamb loin chops, they will be wonderful. I will eat them with fresh mint and drink beer.

Mod.

Reply #9 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 6:52am

I see that smart arses will be smart arses, so ~ New Rule.

I'll leave everything as posted, unless I am asked by Monk to act.

Reply #10 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 8:51am

Oh no. Maybe delete the posts if Set asks?

Reply #11 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 11:15am

Preparing a cooked breakfast. . .they seem to be going out of fashion. Anybody make cooked breakfast? Just bacon and eggs or something more fancy? Nothing wrong with b&e but when I make a cooked breakfast I like to do something more.

Reply #12 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 11:27am

Butter chicken.

Reply #13 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 12:20pm

For breakfast? Recipe?

Reply #14 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 6:16pm

Buffalo wings for dinner tonight. Roast spud, roast leek.

Reply #15 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 9:51pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 8th, 2017 at 6:16pm:
Buffalo wings for dinner tonight. Roast spud, roast leek.

Buffalo have wings? Undecided

Reply #16 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 10:01pm

How else can they fly?

Reply #17 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 11:13pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 8th, 2017 at 10:01pm:
How else can they fly?

Were they flied buffaro wings?

Reply #18 - Jul 8th, 2017 at 11:24pm

That’s silly.

Reply #19 - Jul 10th, 2017 at 6:44pm

Bought two cookbooks today:

1. A. A. Davis “25 techniques for Smoking” no, not cigarettes silly.

2. Rick Stein “India” reckon there will be some great curry recipes in there

Pity this place doesn’t have a Food board.

Reply #20 - Jul 10th, 2017 at 7:00pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 10th, 2017 at 6:44pm:
. A. Davis “25 techniques for Smoking” no, not cigarettes silly.

smoking the other stuff is illegal in Qld Cheesy Cheesy

Reply #21 - Jul 10th, 2017 at 7:11pm

Not joints either

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #22 - Jul 11th, 2017 at 9:27am

I haven't cooked for a young, hungry person for about a year, but one moved into my home a few weeks ago.

I love my slow cooker. You can throw everything into it and at the end of the day you have a delicious casserole or stew. It's fantastic for legs of lamb, corned beef and cheaper cuts of any meat that looks good when it's raw.

It's nice having someone appreciate a home cooked meal and eat everything on the plate plus more until the pot is empty. I hate throwing out good food.

I still don't know how to cook a good curry though. Every time I try one - it's too spicy. The chili overtakes the curry.
« Last Edit: Jul 11th, 2017 at 10:00am by mantra »  

Reply #23 - Jul 11th, 2017 at 9:43am

Don’t need chili in every curry.

The heat of a chili is in the membranes, remove them and the seeds should cut the heat down. Chilis are loaded with antioxidants, do persevere and you will get to like them.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #24 - Jul 11th, 2017 at 9:58am

I don't like chili that much - my kids love it so hot that your mouth and throat are on fire.

The next curry I attempt I'll leave the chili out, but I can't find a nice curry powder. I don't like Keen's, but use it because there's nothing else on the supermarket shelf.

Reply #25 - Jul 11th, 2017 at 10:19am

Tbsp ground coriander
Tsp ground cumin
Tsp ground tumeric

will give you a nice mild but spicy curry. By spicy I mean the taste of the three spices, not heat.

Cook the curry, near the end remove your portion, sprinkle half a tsp chili flakes into the remainder. Everyone is happy.

Reply #26 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 4:59pm

Really good spicy but not hot curry:

Buy the coriander and cumin as seeds. In a dry, clean fry pan, heat the seeds until you smell the aroma. Move them around else they burn. Can add cardamon seeds if you like.

Once fragrant, tip into a spice/coffee mill or mortar and pestle, grind finely.

Once cooking the curry add:

• curry leaves

• cinnamon stick

• star anise stars

• cardamon pods

Mace, nutmeg, allspice etc all nice in curry. Cinnamon stick especially tho.

Reply #27 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 5:14pm

Now! Since AGW is belting vignerons around the ears they have had to respond by pulling the original varieties of white wine grapes and plant Italian varieties.

So, Monday I bought a couple bottles Fiano.

Friday I want to showcase Fiano.

So what, in the line of a cold buffet, do I buy to go with a bottle Fiano?

Fish, I suppose? Nice bit of smoked salmon? Or some nice kingfish sashimi? Or both?

Could buy, and steam, some chicken dim sims at the market? I ALWAYS give them the sign of the cross: “In Nominee Patre et Fili” I solemnly intone, squeezing a line of chili sauce North–South across the top of the dimmers. I then pick up the soy sauce bottle and intone “Et Spiritu Sancto, amen” crossing the dimmers E–W with the black stuff. Just my rather adolescent sense of humor/rebellion against Catholic upbringing/whatever. I like it.

So, chicken dim sim, smoked salmon (or rainbow trout) and/or sashimi plus olives, sundried maters, roast peppers & eggplant, falafels etc. What else?

Really looking for food to eat while drinking white wine. Preferably not requiring cooking (steaming some dim sims is OK.) Some marinated sardines, some oysters (really should drink stout or porter, copious malt vinegar splashed about.) Some cooked prawns be nice. Want to get away from seafood tho.

Any suggestions?

Reply #28 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 6:17pm

Also try chickpea brushetta.

Found a recipe for you here, it's pretty simple. Like all good food, you don't need to stick to the recipe exactly, use what you have in your cupboards

http://www.seriouseats.com/recipes/2009/06/dinner-tonight-chickpea-bruschetta-ba...

Reply #29 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 6:21pm

Cool, will have a look at it. Thanks!

Reply #30 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 6:24pm

Looks doable, no cooking! Toasting is not cooking!

Maybe some pate too? Would go nice on hot toast, so make lots!

Reply #31 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 6:29pm

Have I mentioned my 'to die for' Aberdeen sausage which I have just about ready for tonight, with mash, peas and gravy?

Yum stuff.

Reply #32 - Jul 12th, 2017 at 7:16pm

More  red wine dish, Aussie.

I want to give the Fiano a thorough trial before I pass sentence and hang it high!

Reply #33 - Jul 13th, 2017 at 2:13pm

Made a quick trip to the market.

Bought some coffee that is to die for! The aroma of that coffee in the car! Hmmmmm! And some ginger and apricot dacquiose to have with the first cup, yum!

Had a look in the fish shop, some nice chunks sashimi kingfish and tuna so will get some of those tomorrow. Some smoked salmon too. Chicken dim sim. Mushroom and tomato salad, couple dips, bewdiful!

Reply #34 - Jul 14th, 2017 at 7:46pm

Oh boy, tummy is bulging!

Bought a nice steak of kingfish. Cut into thin strips, eaten with a bit of wasabi oh so
F’ing
yum!

Then some smoked salmon. Lots of accompaniments including Woodside goat curd, smooooth, creamy and tangy O!M!G! so good with smoked food, beautiful fresh offset to the smoky, rich fish.

Still have oysters. . . stomach says “No.”

Washed down with a couple glasses Saltram’s Winemaker’s Selection Fiano.

Very nice indeed! Does not have the depth and complexity of a really good Riesling, Semillon or Sauvignon Blanc (my fave white wine varieties) but perfectly acceptable and probably a bit better and sturdier with a really rich meal. The price we pay for not trying to reduce emissions in a serious, systematic way: Fiano is more heat resistant than the other white wine varieties which in the heat of the Barossa Valley floor produce wine rich in fruitiness and sugar but deficient in balancing acidity.

Buuuuuuuurrrrrrrrrrrrrppppppppppp!!!!!!!!!!
« Last Edit: Jul 14th, 2017 at 9:01pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #35 - Jul 14th, 2017 at 9:05pm

Just finishing the meal with a nice double brie and a small glass of Mr Pickwick’s Particular Fine Tawny Port. From Saltrams, of course.

Bloody nice meal.

Reply #36 - Jul 15th, 2017 at 11:46pm

Took the kids out for some 'hunting'.
We walked along the water's edge and found a packet of fish fingers - so I got the kids to give the box a good clubbin with their cricket bats.
Then we found a tray of kangaroo meat, by the side of the road - so the kids clubbed that one to death.
Then on the way home, we found some tins of veges growing behind someone's yard - so the kids plucked them out of the dirt.
We didn't really need it - a tin of mutton.
But the kids were feeling pretty good with their huntin skills they just clubbed the tin of mutton just for fun.

Reply #37 - Jul 16th, 2017 at 4:52pm

Was going to work in the garden but it is raining.

So made a lime marmalade instead.

Blood lime and tahitian lime.

Just went by the seat of my pants, no recipe.

Nice! Quite tart, know it is lime.

Tested for the set point, no not quite, 10 minutes later, ah looks good enough. Turned the heat off, let it stand for 10 minutes, oh lovely nice skin on the marmalade. Fished the jars out the waterbath, filled them, got the lids out the waterbath, sealed the jars (2 and a bit) and put the two full ones upside down on the counter.

A little while ago I tilted the part filled jar—marmalade had set!

Tried some on a sandwich. Nice!

Reply #38 - Jul 16th, 2017 at 5:26pm

Hmmm glass of Mamre Brook Eden Valley Riesling. Made by Saltram Winery.

VERY nice Riesling! Eden Valley is classed as being part of the Barossa Valley wine region but it is much higher than the Barossa Valley floor and so rather cooler.

If they ever find they have to rip the Riesling vines out of Eden Valley to plant Fiano then I think all hope is lost of saving the planet.

Anyway, the Riesling has a depth of flavor that the Fiano lacks. Beautifully crisp, all lemon and lime with a crisp finish and a taste that lingers. The “nose” is cleanly peppery.

The Barossa has largely turned tourist whore but there are still some great wineries there and Saltram is one of the best of those.

Reply #39 - Jul 18th, 2017 at 1:43pm

Heh, the 2 jars of marmalade look funny: having put them right way up the marmalade is staying put so the bottom cm or so of the jar is empty  Smiley

Have been looking through some cookbooks for something hearty to make on the weekend.

Reckon a couple pizzas, nice and simple, get some techniques from the Forkish book right.

The other main meal: butter chicken. This is from one of my latest cookbook acquisitions, Rick Stein’s “India—in search of the perfect curry.”

Be good I reckon, the kitchen will be redolent with the smells of spice.

When it stops bloody raining here will try something from the book I bought at the same time as the Stein book: “25 techniques for Smoking” by Ardie A. Davis. Smoke a nice bit of salmon, maybe? Might be able to add some fennel fronds to the fire chamber of the smoker.

Reply #40 - Jul 19th, 2017 at 5:38pm

Lovely long lunch at D’arry’s Verandah restaurant:

http://www.darenberg.com.au/darrys-verandah-restaurant

Four of us, three adults and great niece Milly.

We had entree and main, no room for desert {sob}

Two of us had the oysters presented three different ways, hmmm. One of us had the tommy ruffs as their entree. Great niece had chicken and chips and a really impressive desert from the kids menu. I had pork–fragrant pork fillet, the chicken stuffed with parmesan also went down very easily.

Wines were broken fishplates—d'arenberg sauvignon blanc. Aromatic, clean, ideal for the two courses. I had a glass of their grenache, nice but the nose promised more than the wine delivered.

I heard not a single complaint  Smiley

$200 but worth it.

Reply #41 - Jul 19th, 2017 at 7:35pm

We can talk about food, well, some of us can.

But there is a bloody big black person in the woodpile. AGW.

YAWN! you go, bloody b o r i n g AGW, doesn’t Monk talk about anything else?

Well, the next post in the AGW thread here will bring AGW much closer to home.

Stay tuned!

Reply #42 - Jul 20th, 2017 at 12:20pm

Aussie wrote on Jul 12th, 2017 at 6:29pm:
Have I mentioned my 'to die for' Aberdeen sausage which I have just about ready for tonight, with mash, peas and gravy?

Yum stuff.

Never had Aberdeen sausage as far as I recall.

You do know parsnip and celeriac both make a nice mash? Not both together, parsnip mash is nice so is celeriac mash. Must roast the parsnips, apparently to make mash from them.

Reply #43 - Jul 21st, 2017 at 4:32pm

I have a yen to make some quickbreads. Had a book on muffins that had some quickbread recipes, dunno where it is, think it was given to a niece—I wasn’t using it.

Bought two books just now.

Best Quick Breads: 150 Recipes for Muffins, Scones, Shortcakes, Gingerbreads, Cornbreads, Coffeecakes, and More (Paperback)

And

Southern Biscuits: Quick Comfort with Reinvented Southern Classics (Hardback)

Be good, I reckon.

Puzzled me a bit, reading American fiction talking of cooking the biscuits in the bacon grease  Grin

Reply #44 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 12:11am

You can't cook books but you can book cooks.

Reply #45 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 1:12am

You can root a beet but you can’t beat a root.

Reply #46 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 12:56pm

I looked in the mirror today and thought I better get a gym membership:

Made a beautiful stock for a great peasoup!

Reply #47 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 2:50pm

Gawd,  there goes the breakfast of some!

Reply #48 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 2:56pm

ahahahahaha

Yet they will gladly eat bacon, ham, pork.

People are out of touch with the realities of food. Meat comes from what were living animals.

To honor the animals that were killed to provide me with food I eat steak etc but also the other parts of the animal (except tripe.)

Reply #49 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:34pm

Just ate some tongue in blood. Delicious!

Also called “tongeworst” or “tonguewurst.”

Love that stuff!

Reply #50 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:49pm

Just found some disgusting fungus in a container of flour. Flour was damp. No fruiting body (i.e. mushroom or toadstool etc) visible.

Now what do I do?

Reply #51 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:51pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:49pm:
Just found some disgusting fungus in a container of flour. Flour was damp. No fruiting body (i.e. mushroom or toadstool etc) visible.

Now what do I do?

I hesitate to think what you might do next with that.

Reply #52 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:55pm

Aussie wrote on Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:51pm:
Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 22nd, 2017 at 5:49pm:

Now what do I do?

I hesitate to think what you might do next with that.

Maybe bring it to your roach infested kitchen.

Reply #53 - Jul 22nd, 2017 at 6:03pm

Nah, I kneaded it, let it rise, punched it down and divided it into two balls.

Two lovely pizzas for dinner tonight.

Yeast is a single cell fungus.

Thanks for playing.

Reply #54 - Jul 28th, 2017 at 7:27pm

Well, was thinking of making a guessing game (“by the time I got to the fish shop only scraps were left. . .”) but fear I will be taken all too literally.

2Kg of fish bones/heads etc are slooowly simmering into a gorgeous stock with onion and leek and lime zest and ginger etc. OMG, seriously good fish soup tomorrow.

Since the rain has held off I bought chicken drumsticks, feral boar ribs, sweet corn etc. Lovely hot-smoked dinner on Sunday!

Reply #55 - Jul 29th, 2017 at 8:12pm

Well, the fish soup was very nice, good and hearty. Mussels, squid and fish. Onion, green chili, fennel bulb. Later some white bok choy, mint and parsley. Oh yeah, boiled a spud in some of the stock, added that to the soup. A meal in a bowl. Glass of a kiwi sauv.blanc to go with it.

Reply #56 - Jul 29th, 2017 at 8:19pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 29th, 2017 at 8:12pm:
Well, the fish soup was very nice, good and hearty. Mussels, squid and fish. Onion, green chili, fennel bulb. Later some white bok choy, mint and parsley. Oh yeah, boiled a spud in some of the stock, added that to the soup. A meal in a bowl. Glass of a kiwi sauv.blanc to go with it.

Out of the lot, I'll just have that, thanks.

Reply #57 - Jul 29th, 2017 at 8:33pm

I have to admit, the kiwis know how to make white wines.

Reply #58 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:12pm

Tomorrow din dins will be. . . .

. . . .hot smoked feral boar ribs.

Will soak the ribs (and some drumsticks) in brine overnight.

In the morning, rinse the brine off, let the ribs warm up a bit then remove the membrane from the back. The ribs can then go into a nice chili/soy etc marinade and later into the offset smoker.

Feral boar ribs, hot smoked after being well marinated. Hickory chunks to make the smoke.

heaven on a stick!

Reckon next weekend: home made sausages. Feral boar pork, 25% pork fat, fennel bulb and ground fennel. I buy pork gut to make the snag: pushing all that gut onto the spout does feel kinda like pushing back foreskin  Grin It is TRUE, you try making snags one day!

Reply #59 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:27pm

Ribs sound good as do the snags.......

Reply #60 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:44pm

Are great. Make sure to soak in brine overnight, remove the membrane from the back of the ribs, bit of work but not that much. Soak in whatever marinade you like (cumin powder rubbed on, mix of sweet chili and soy sauces etc then put in hot smoker and cook over a few hours at 105°C.

The sausages: feral boar has good flavor but stuff all fat so to 1500g feral pork add 500g pork back fat.

Mince—coarse, medium or fine. I add lots of fennel bulb and ground fennel seed.—Oh, I use a Tefal mincer/sausage stuffer. Put the sausage spout on the machine (remove the cutting blade etc, really big time jams if you don’t) and start the pig gut.

I like natural and if I can eat pork, bacon and ham plus boil a pighead for stock I reckon I can cope with pig gut as sausage skin. Feels rude pushing all that pig gut onto the spout tho Grin

Make sure to pull the pig gut off the spout so snags can be formed afterwards.

FGS, get stuck into spice! Yes, yes, chili is hot (poor baby, here is a fire extinguishers) but fennel or ginger or cumin is great, tumeric is good for you and bulks out a curry powder. Smoked paprika is to die for.

Reply #61 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:47pm

Hmmm as well as feral pork I reckon lamb snags are great.

Lamb + rosemary + semidried tomatoes + garlic be OK.

Lamb korma—in a snag?

Reply #62 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:49pm

Lamb korma—in a snag?

Why bother putting it in a skin?

Reply #63 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:50pm

Won’t be a snag without that gut, Aussie.

Reply #64 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:50pm

Did you harvest the pig?

Reply #65 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:51pm

No, but I would like to some day!

Reply #66 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:53pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:51pm:

One day I'll take up shooting,  would love a fresh deer.

Reply #67 - Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:56pm

I find deer just tastes like inferior mutton. I like the wild piggies! Or goats!

Reply #68 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:40pm

Have eaten sashimi oysters, now for some sashimi kingfish.Yum!

Reply #69 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:42pm

Gordon wrote on Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:53pm:

Overrated.

I had it in Austria once, from a friend's backyard, and it didn't impress me.

Give me Western Australian beef any day.

Reply #70 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:55pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:42pm:

Overrated.

Didn't like the gamey taste?

Reply #71 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:57pm

Gordon wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:55pm:

Overrated.

Nah.

I had a lot of goose in Austria too, which wasn't my thing.

I'm a beef boy (Booby, settle down).

Reply #72 - Aug 3rd, 2017 at 8:03pm

greggerypeccary wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:57pm:
Gordon wrote on Aug 3rd, 2017 at 7:55pm:

Overrated.

Nah.

I had a lot of goose in Austria too, which wasn't my thing.

I'm a beef boy (Booby, settle down).

There's a reason why we raise so many cattle....they're bloody delicious!

I had some venison back strap with a red wine reduction last time I was in NZ and it was orgasmic.

Goose is mkay, used to eat it once a week in Vietnam.

Reply #73 - Aug 4th, 2017 at 12:45am

Going to make pizza tomorrow, make the dough in the morning and let it ferment for 8 hours.

Looking through the Ken Forkish “Elements of Pizza” just saw one I will DEFINITELY make soon! Involves frying some leeks in butter until they get some color, add some non-hoppy (not bitter) beer* reducing that then covering the leeks and let them cook. In another pan over high heat fry some pork belly lardons or pieces of pancetta. Roast a yellow potato then crumb it (reduce to crumbs) and assemble and bake the pizza!

Brekky tomorrow: toasted bagels, cream cheese and either smoked salmon with capers or pastrami.

Sounds OK to me!

* Ken suggests a Belgian Farmhouse Ale or a Saisson. Good choices but if I can’t locate one  a Tripel or a wheat beer will do. At a pinch: Coopers Pale Ale.

Just for Sprinty:
Heh, I brewed a saison. Farmhouse ales were rustic and the farmer–brewers opportunistic so I added a bit of a mix of ingredients (including, so help me, chunks of what were called belgian candy sugar  Smiley  ) spelt and oats. Brewed it (lengthy process of a cereal mash stepped through 15 minutes at 32°C (degrade the gums in the oats) then heat to 50°C and keep at 50°C to degrade some of the voluminous proteins in the oats and spelt, 15minutes at 65°C to let the enzymes degrade what starch they could then a boil of the mash for 10 minutes, tip into the main mash, let that stand etc. Made a big starter of saison yeast. Had a LOT of yeast left over in the primary fermenter (the saison fermented another month in secondary) what to do. I bottled the yeast, 2 swing cap bottles, made 2 part mash saison Packs and sold the Packs with the yeast a mere $5 extra. Waste not want not!
« Last Edit: Aug 4th, 2017 at 12:37pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #74 - Aug 4th, 2017 at 9:08am

Pizza dough made, bagels toasted, filled and eaten. Life is good.

Reply #75 - Aug 4th, 2017 at 9:12am

Food is more than just “petrol for the body” in that making good food has elements of artistry and artisanship. But a good meal is a way to bring a family together and what better than a cooked breakfast early Sat morning, bring the family together before a hectic 2 days of shopping, sport etc.

Food feeds families, communities, nurtures relationships as well as feed the body.

Reply #76 - Aug 4th, 2017 at 12:30pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Jul 30th, 2017 at 7:12pm:
Tomorrow din dins will be. . . .

. . . .hot smoked feral boar ribs.

Will soak the ribs (and some drumsticks) in brine overnight.

In the morning, rinse the brine off, let the ribs warm up a bit then remove the membrane from the back. The ribs can then go into a nice chili/soy etc marinade and later into the offset smoker.

Feral boar ribs, hot smoked after being well marinated. Hickory chunks to make the smoke.

heaven on a stick!

Reckon next weekend: home made sausages. Feral boar pork, 25% pork fat, fennel bulb and ground fennel. I buy pork gut to make the snag: pushing all that gut onto the spout does feel kinda like pushing back foreskin  Grin It is TRUE, you try making snags one day!

BUGGER! forgot I wanted to make sausages. Visiting the Willunga Farmers Market tomorrow (see if Seville oranges are available) so can buy some pork then, hope can get some pork fat, need 25% pork fat (or maybe beef sausages?)

Then need some pig gut to be the skin. Ah, the “German butcher” will have some.

Reply #77 - Aug 5th, 2017 at 2:09pm

OK!

Got feral pork and pork back fat, 1.5 and .5Kg. Feral pork and fennel sausages will be made a bit later today.

2.2Kg seville oranges—whiskey marmalade (but with brandy cuz whiskey sux!) and Dundee(?) marmalade, cooked until it is dark.

Bought some lemons for the marmalade and mandarins and oranges to eat. But with a grapefruit tree in the backyard maybe a mixed fruit marmalade.

Reply #78 - Aug 7th, 2017 at 2:10pm

Just got “Southern biscuits” delivered by the postie.

Looks good. Bacon and parmesan biscuits sounds great for brekky!

Next week Quick Breads. Hmmm panfried cornbread.

Has cobblers as well.  Smiley

Reply #79 - Aug 10th, 2017 at 11:16am

Just got my copy of “The best quickbreads.”

Be some biscuits and soda bread made here soon!

And the leek cooked in beer pizza!

Reply #80 - Aug 10th, 2017 at 2:15pm

Went to the The Edinburgh Hotel & Cellars, bought two stubbies English cider—cook the wild rabbit I bought at the market in it.

Also two stubbies saison, made at a Melbourne craft brewery, some of which will be used in the leek and beer pizza tomorrow.

Tonight—sashimi oysters and blue fin tuna plus some pickled octopus followed by a cheesboard. Yum!

Can’t neglect the smallest family member here, Demi is on the back lawn tackling a lovely big feral goat bone. Crunch!

The Saisson is by Hawkers www.hawkers.beer light, relatively sweet, has grains of paradise in it. Hmmm

The cider is Aspall Suffolk draught cider (spelled “cyder” on the label  Smiley )
« Last Edit: Aug 10th, 2017 at 2:53pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #81 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:11pm

The pizza is about to go in the oven.

Lovely!

Made the dough early this morning, fermented all day meaning flavor!

Lardons sliced up, potato roasted and crumbled.

Leeks slowly cooking in the last bit of saison.

Damn, forget to look up “raclete” cheese. Nevermind, have some nice cheese to go over the leeks, lardons and potato.

A real winter pizza  Smiley

Reply #82 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:20pm

Ever tried Dickens Cider?

Reply #83 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:25pm

No, can’t say I have.

Most of the local ciders are made with eating apples, desert apples. Definitely lack something flavorwise.

I did like Mercury cider, back in the 70–80s. Did try it again, ohhhh, dunno, 10 years ago? Crap. Must have changed the recipe.

Did try Strongbow cider once—only once.

Reply #84 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:34pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:25pm:
No, can’t say I have.

Most of the local ciders are made with eating apples, desert apples. Definitely lack something flavorwise.

I did like Mercury cider, back in the 70–80s. Did try it again, ohhhh, dunno, 10 years ago? Crap. Must have changed the recipe.

Did try Strongbow cider once—only once.

Mercury is probably the best cider I have tasted. I'm not a fan of cider but that was at least passable as a drink. Strongbow... Nope.
My wife likes Dickens Cider but doesn't partake as often as she used to.

Reply #85 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:37pm

Will have a look at Uncle Dan’s and the Edinburgh Cellars.

Reply #86 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:50pm

Hmmm my leek, potato and lardon pizza—is bloody good!

Want to make it again soon—using raclete cheese, whatever that is.

Very nice pizza, range of tastes and textures.

Reply #87 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:56pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:50pm:
Hmmm my leek, potato and lardon pizza—is bloody good!

Want to make it again soon—using raclete cheese, whatever that is.

Very nice pizza, range of tastes and textures.

Ya reckon cods will like it?

Reply #88 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:58pm

I have no idea.

Think it may be too unusual for her?

Reply #89 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:58pm

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 11th, 2017 at 7:58pm:
I have no idea.

Think it may be too unusual for her?

I suspect so.

Reply #90 - Aug 11th, 2017 at 8:01pm

I will post the recipe.

To make great pizza, make the dough the night before, let it ferment in the fridge overnight.

Looooonnnnnnnnnggggggggg ferments put flavor into bread and pizza bases.

Reply #91 - Aug 15th, 2017 at 6:35pm

For tomorrows dinner I bought a kangaroo pie and an emu pie.

Will have the coat of arms on my plate, how cool is that?

Reply #92 - Aug 16th, 2017 at 7:24pm

Need to buy a nice big bag of wholemeal flour this week and get a sourdough starter going.

In this coming summer, if the power does blackout, as I suspect, I will have a gas fired pizza and bread oven.

Reply #93 - Aug 18th, 2017 at 6:33pm

Ha! At the Adelaide Central Market stall “Wild Oz” saw these big lumps of fat. Camel hump!

Would have bought one, bit different to pork fat but getting late in the season for big roasts.

Will make the Forkish leek cooked in beer pizza again, was really nice. Got a bigger potato to roast this time. Tomorrow on the way back from the Strathalbyn Antiques Fair will buy some saison (French or Belgian Walloon farmhouse ale) and a bottle English cider for the wild rabbit I bought: made this last week but due not reading the recipe properly overcooked the rabbit to buggery. It was nice but a bit dry.

Reply #94 - Aug 19th, 2017 at 3:17am

Jesus Christ, is no one on this bloody board interested in real food????

Reply #95 - Aug 19th, 2017 at 4:05pm

There sure are.  2800+ views say so.
« Last Edit: Aug 19th, 2017 at 4:44pm by Aussie »  

Reply #96 - Aug 19th, 2017 at 4:34pm

big lumps of fat isnt food..eughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

Reply #97 - Aug 19th, 2017 at 5:13pm

So you never eat butter?

I use duck fat when roasting potatoes, etc.

Reply #98 - Aug 25th, 2017 at 5:05pm

Bought some blood oranges at the Central Market. I buy a few to add color to the blood oranges on my tree which rarely shows any real color. Thinking, make some more marmalade. Then I actually thought! (second time this year, wowee!)

Going to juice all the blood oranges, fill the juice into sterilized jars, seal, put into a waterbath and boil that for an hour. Add a few lemons to the mix, the juice should be acid enough to keep: marmalade is the same thing except has peels and sugar.

In summer, make blood orange gelato, blood orange sauce, add to some gin and tonic water, etc etc.

Be good!

Hmmm bit of a search found this: http://www.epicurious.com/expert-advice/preserve-winter-citrus-blood-orange-tang...

Preserve blood oranges in the same way as lemon is preserved. Oh yeah!

Searched for preserving juice—glad I did! Will have to juice the oranges one by one, then strain the juice, heat to 190°F (whatever that is in °C) ladle into sterilised jars, seal, water batch process 15 minutes. Must be careful not to get any pith in the juice—bitter, yuck!

So two things to do tomorrow.
« Last Edit: Aug 25th, 2017 at 5:42pm by Jovial Monk »  

Reply #99 - Aug 26th, 2017 at 8:28pm

Nice little freerange duck for dinner. Shoved a blood orange up its arse with a sprig of rosemary. Had some parsley left, quick chop, shoved that into the other end.

A parsnip, diced and some nice (tho large) brussel sprouts went under it.

Not much duck is left. Still have the carcase to pick for lunch tomorrow.

Making Southern style biscuits tomorrow for brekky.

mantra

ozpolitic.com

Reply #100 - Aug 27th, 2017 at 8:28am

Jovial Monk wrote on Aug 19th, 2017 at 3:17am:
Jesus Christ, is no one on this bloody board interested in real food????

It's not that people aren't interested in real food - it's just that appetites are changing over time and for some of us as we get older - the food that you love and prepare just seems too rich and the average digestive tract couldn't cope with it.

Your recipes look delicious, but for some of us it could lead to a heart attack. Do you ever suffer from indigestion?

Reply #101 - Aug 27th, 2017 at 8:44am

I never suffer indigestion from my own cooking and rarely suffer indigestion at all.

I also never bother reading about much less practising all these idiot weird diets and all that crap! That and some BEER keeps me healthy!

Reply #102 - Aug 27th, 2017 at 10:29am

Four snickerdoodle biscuits for breakfast, yum!

These are US style biscuits, more like scones than what we call biscuits.

I was puzzled to read, many years ago, in a SciFi book by Heinlein “I fried the biscuits in the bacon fat” which was ???????? to me.

Will likely try frying some (US) biscuits in bacon grease some time.

Will make this recipe again, until I get the hang of it (stuffed this lot up a bit) then try others. Biscuits with parmesan and bacon—
Yes please!

Reply #103 - Aug 27th, 2017 at 7:50pm

Snickerdoodles were fine, next batch will be bloody excellent!

Seven 150ml jars of blood orange juice resting on the bench after being water bath processed. Be nice in summer: BO gelato, BO sauce, BO juice + gin + sodawater or just as juice.

Bit of a fiddly process: squeeze the oranges (and some lemons, keep the pH of the juice safely low) strain into a jug: it is essential that no bit of pith or pip gets into the juice or the preserved (canned) juice will be bitter as a mother in law’s tongue!

Wash jars, pop into waterbath to sterilise them. Heat to 190°F/90°C. Actually—the bloody juice was starting to boil so I only go to 180°F or so.

Fill into jars, seal, waterbath process for 15 minutes.

Reply #104 - Aug 28th, 2017 at 6:55pm

« Last Edit: Aug 28th, 2017 at 7:04pm by Neferti »  

Reply #105 - Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:24pm

i went to my local IGA today for garlic bread amongst other things.. and they didnt have any so I had a moan at the checkout as all they had was garlic ciabatta  and I had to have it at over $6......the lady said...if you buy a french stick you can make your own...

so I said to her  I am a modern women.....  dont tell me anyone  still cooks..

I thought who makes their own... Embarrassed

Reply #106 - Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:28pm

I do.

Reply #107 - Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:39pm

the stores must love you monk...

Reply #108 - Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:48pm

cods wrote on Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:24pm:
I thought who makes their own..

why wouldn't you make your own?

it's a bloody good way to use up bread that's a few days old.

Reply #109 - Aug 29th, 2017 at 7:19am

Can’t wait to have my own woodfired brick oven for baking pizza and bread!

Reply #110 - Aug 29th, 2017 at 9:40am

John Smith wrote on Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:48pm:
cods wrote on Aug 28th, 2017 at 10:24pm:
I thought who makes their own..

why wouldn't you make your own?

it's a bloody good way to use up bread that's a few days old.

you dont get sarcasm do you....and I cant be bothered explaining it too you...dont like what I say dont read it..