Forum

Back to OzPolitic.com   Welcome, Guest. Please Login or Register
  Forum Home Album HelpSearch Recent Rules LoginRegister  

Page Index Toggle Pages: 1
Send Topic Print
Coles Says Grocery Prices Need To Be Cheaper (Read 424 times)
whiteknight
Gold Member

Australian Politics

melbourne
Coles Says Grocery Prices Need To Be Cheaper
Jun 9th, 2017 at 9:24am

Coles says 'crazy' grocery prices need to be cheaper
The Age
June 7 2017

Australia's food and grocery prices have to come down further because they are "crazy" compared to the rest of the world, Coles managing director John Durkan says.   Smiley

"It's already an overpriced grocery market in my view and I've been saying that for nine years," Mr Durkan told analysts during Wesfarmers' strategy day meeting on Wednesday.

"I still look at products here that are made overseas and they are crazy prices."

He said the cost of those products meant there was room for Coles' private labelled products to grow.

His comments come in the wake of consumer magazine CHOICE's latest supermarket price survey which found consumers can save nearly $80 a shop by switching from leading brands to a basket of Aldi budget products.   Smiley

However, Wesfarmers shares have been a major drag on the ASX on Wednesday morning after outgoing chief executive Richard Goyder said the group's hardware business in the UK was likely to make a loss in the second half of 2017 and into the first half of 2018.

Wesfarmers' shares were down more than 2.9 per cent to $40.19 just after midday.

The company also warned its supermarket margins continue to be under pressure amid intense price competition.

"The rate of investment in the second half is notably above that in the first half," Durkan said.

Coles invested about $65 million into reducing prices and improving service in the December-quarter and second-half investment was "triple that".