My electric chainsaw died on me today. (Read 3329 times)

My electric chainsaw died on me today.
May 23rd, 2017 at 8:42pm

No power.

And so ... I'm resurrecting an old McCulloch 'Eager Beaver' mini petrol-driven chainsaw a neighbour gave me awhile ago because it had seized up on him and he'd given up trying to repair it.

With a few squirts of WD40 and a few deft strokes of a hammer in just the right place I've got the 'seized up' mechanics loosened up again. 

Tomorrow I'll try to get it started, but first a good cleaning and fresh petrol and oil. New spark plug too.

Then I might get stuck into a whipper-snipper that another neighbour gave up on and which is now in my possession.

AND THEN I'll have another go at trying to start up a portable generator yet a third neighbour gave me after he gave up on it.

busy ... busy ... busy.

Which all goes to prove I don't sit in front of the computer all day long.

Re: My electric chainsaw died on me today.
Reply #1 - May 24th, 2017 at 10:10am

I assume you have to put chain oil in an electric one Herb.
OMG, I can't think of a more dangerous piece of equipment than an electric chain saw, unless it's maybe one of those little ones on a long pole . . .but even then.

Reply #2 - May 24th, 2017 at 11:00am

bogarde73 wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 10:10am:
OMG, I can't think of a more dangerous piece of equipment than an electric chain saw, unless it's maybe one of those little ones on a long pole . . .but even then.

They're incredibly dangerous, almost to the point I'm surprised you can't own a gun but you can own one of these things without a licence.

I use my big branch lopper as much as possible, and even my Circular Saw, but alas and begorrah there are those times when only a chainsaw will do.

Every chainsaw sold at Bunnings should have a sticker on it saying 'Don't Try This at Home, Folks'.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #3 - May 24th, 2017 at 11:31am

Does that mean Herr Bert's neighbors can come within power cord range of Herr Bert?

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #4 - May 24th, 2017 at 12:28pm

Lord Herbert wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 11:00am:
bogarde73 wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 10:10am:

They're incredibly dangerous, almost to the point I'm surprised you can't own a gun but you can own one of these things without a licence.

I use my big branch lopper as much as possible, and even my Circular Saw, but alas and begorrah there are those times when only a chainsaw will do.

Every chainsaw sold at Bunnings should have a sticker on it saying 'Don't Try This at Home, Folks'.

I thought you suffered from migraines herb??>.

a chainsaw.....really!

Reply #5 - May 24th, 2017 at 12:42pm

Herb which chook are you going to off first?

Reply #6 - May 24th, 2017 at 2:03pm

I'm in the process of fixing the petrol chainsaw, but I ducked over to Bunnings anyway to check out the prices of their chainsaws.

Ouch!

They've got to be joking.

The cheapest was a piece of Ozito crap at $169.

99% of the chainsaws of all means of powering were around $250 and waaaaay up.

If it comes to it I'll trot down to my local Porn Shop and pay under $100 or less.

Have you seen the prices of drill bits at Bunnings? $7 for a small one. Give me a break. It's back to the Chinese Bargain shop again ....

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #7 - May 24th, 2017 at 2:06pm

Lord Herbert wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 2:03pm:
I'm in the process of fixing the petrol chainsaw, but I ducked over to Bunnings anyway to check out the prices of their chainsaws.

Ouch!

They've got to be joking.

The cheapest was a piece of Ozito crap at $169.

99% of the chainsaws of all means of powering were around $250 and waaaaay up.

If it comes to it I'll trot down to my local Porn Shop and pay under $100 or less.

"Porn Shop" is right. Vibrators cost less than chain saws.

Reply #8 - May 24th, 2017 at 4:10pm

herb, a neighbour of mine will climb a tree.
then he holds onto the cord and drops the chainsaw
that starts it and then it bounces back up on the pull cord and he grabs the handle and starts sawing.
interesting party trick

Reply #9 - May 24th, 2017 at 4:33pm

WHY do you need a chainsaw, Herbie?  I don't even have an electric drill .... but I do have a hammer and a saw.  Grin

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #10 - May 24th, 2017 at 4:50pm

Neferti wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 4:33pm:
WHY do you need a chainsaw, Herbie?  I don't even have an electric drill .... but I do have a hammer and a saw.  Grin

If I had a hammer
I'd hammer in the morning
I'd hammer in the evening
All over this land
I'd hammer out danger
I'd hammer out a warning
I'd hammer out love between
My brothers and my sisters
All over this land, uh

Peter, Paul & Mary - If I Had A Hammer Lyrics

Reply #11 - May 24th, 2017 at 4:57pm

A hammer is also a blunt object ... should you need one. Smiley

Only after you have used The Hammer do you need a chainsaw to dissect the body. Then lots of garbage bags.  Grin

I watch a lot of the Crime Investigation Channel on Foxtel.  Grin

Reply #12 - May 24th, 2017 at 4:58pm

Here's how a Bondi boy handles a chainsaw
@50sec

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #13 - May 24th, 2017 at 5:04pm

Gordon wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 4:58pm:
Here's how a Bondi boy handles a chainsaw
@50sec

Herr Bert is going to beat that?

There are no men in Bondi, only boys.

Reply #14 - May 24th, 2017 at 6:19pm

Neferti wrote on May 24th, 2017 at 4:57pm:
A hammer is also a blunt object ... should you need one. Smiley

Only after you have used The Hammer do you need a chainsaw to dissect the body. Then lots of garbage bags.  Grin

I watch a lot of the Crime Investigation Channel on Foxtel.  Grin

The Yorkshire Ripper liked using a hammer.

Idi Amin's security guards used to kill prisoners with sledge hammers.

The human race is riddled with very sick people indeed.

Did you watch The Green River Killer docudrama? He carried on for a staggering 19 years in the same locality but STILL the police couldn't catch him because it was the pre-DNA era.