Re: The pensioner problem
Reply #30 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:47am

Fuzzball wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:43am:
John Smith wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:37am:
juliar wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:33am:
Mr Smith is getting cranky again because the paw soal just cannot understand this economic mumbo jumbo and so he has a go at that annoying poster who insists on posting the horrible TRUTH.

Calm down Mr Smith you are suffering from brain strain.

Not sure why you haven't realised it yet, but it's plainly obvious that you're an idiot..

And you?

I realised his idiocy long ago. I also noticed you aren't the sharpest tool in the shed either.

Reply #31 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:51am

Geez the Lefties are in turmoil as they display their amazing intellectual prowess.

Mr Smith is becoming increasingly snarly.

They just do not want to accept that their silly Socialist fantasies are simply unsustainable rubbish.

Reply #32 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:59am

Understandably the Lefties don't want to know anything that conflicts with their unsustainable Socialist nonsense.

Now this article MUST be correctly biased as it is from the ABC Socialist Propaganda Station and explains just how govt foreign borrowing works.

Fact check: Is the Government paying $1 billion a month in interest on its debt?
Updated 12 Jun 2014, 9:17am

Joe Hockey's claim on the Government's monthly interest bill and who is responsible is exaggerated.
Photo: Joe Hockey's claim on the Government's monthly interest bill and who is responsible is exaggerated. (AAP: Gary Schafer)

Related Story: Has the Government doubled the budget deficit?

Criticism of spending cuts announced in the budget has triggered a Coalition campaign to persuade the public that the proposed changes are needed. Central to the sales pitch is the argument that Australia needs to reduce its debt.

Treasurer Joe Hockey, one of 33 Coalition members to raise the topic of Australia's interest bill over a single week in May, told Parliament that Labor was to blame. "At the moment we're paying a billion dollars a month – one billion dollars every month in interest, in interest on the debt that Labor has left," he said in Question Time on May 26.

Is the Government really paying $1 billion a month on its debt and is that payment only because of what Labor did during its time in government?

ABC Fact Check finds out.

The claim: Treasurer Joe Hockey says the Government is paying one billion dollars every month in interest on the debt that Labor left.
    The verdict: Using either gross debt or net debt as a measure, Mr Hockey's claim is exaggerated.

What is government debt?

If a state or federal government needs to raise money either to pay for specific projects or to cover any shortfall between the government's annual revenue and expenditure - known as the deficit - it will issue bonds or notes.

These operate like a loan, where the government agrees to pay the person who buys the bond or note the full purchase price at the time the loan matures, usually two, five, 10 or 15 years from the date of issue. The government pays interest on the loan at fixed intervals, usually twice a year. The initial purchaser of the bond or note can sell it on the open market at the prevailing price, which is based on traders' views of the likely direction of the economy.

According to the 2014-15 budget, Australia's interest-bearing liabilities in the year to June 2014 are expected to reach $358 billion. About 97 per cent of these liabilities are Commonwealth Government Securities (CGS). These are Treasury bonds, Treasury indexed bonds and Treasury notes.

Commonwealth Government Securities

Treasury bonds, defined in the budget as having a fixed annual rate of interest payable every six months (face value $301 billion)
    Treasury indexed bonds where the capital value is adjusted for movements in the consumer price index, with interest paid quarterly, at a fixed rate, on the adjusted capital value (face value $23 billion)
    Treasury notes which are short‑term securities generally maturing within six months of issuance (face value $4 billion)

Figures as of June 10, 2014

At the moment, there are $329 billion worth of Commonwealth securities on issue.
What is the interest owing on outstanding debt?

The federal budgets include details of how much interest the Commonwealth pays on its debt each year.

The 2014-15 budget shows $13.2 billion will be paid to service CGS liabilities for the year to June 2014, and $13.5 billion next financial year, rising to a projected $16.4 billion by June 2018.

HSBC chief economist Paul Bloxham told Fact Check that a generally accepted way to find a "back of the envelope" calculation of interest payments on government debt is to use the interest rate that the market sets for the 10 year Treasury bond.

Mr Bloxham said the interest rate on securities is determined by the "active, deep and liquid" bond market. Interest rates reflect a range of things, including Australia's AAA sovereign rating, he said. Without this, the interest rate on debt would likely be higher.

In the market, Commonwealth securities are traded by investors including fund managers and foreign reserve managers.

The government always pays fixed interest rates on the notes and bonds it issues, which are set at the issue date. Pricing for new issues is affected by market movements.

The market rate for the 10 year Treasury bond is currently about 3.7 per cent a year. Using Mr Bloxham's back-of-the-envelope method, 3.7 per cent of $329 billion gives an annual interest bill of $12.2 billion, or $1 billion a month.

A spokesman for the Australian Office of Financial Management (AOFM), which manages the government's debt portfolio and is responsible for issuing securities, confirmed that annual interest payments equate to slightly more than $1 billion a month.

He said Mr Bloxham's calculation was a reasonable rule of thumb for calculating interest, mainly because the 10 year bond market rate is fairly similar to the average interest cost which the Commonwealth pays on all its securities currently on issue.

More in the LINK

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2014-06-12/joe-hockey-one-billion-a-month-interest-fa...

Hoss

talbot victoria
Reply #33 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 8:09am

HI ALL

Has the Government doubled the budget deficit?

Pretty much, but that is all somebody-else's doing.

Give you one guess,  the Librats have been there long enough to own it all now!
Cool

Old n get radicalized by government

Reply #34 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 8:39am

Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 7:25am:
Aussie wrote on Mar 27th, 2017 at 9:27pm:
Here is a real life example of this pensioner problem.  I've mentioned several times about my neighbour widow undergoing chemo for very advanced breast cancer which may well lead into mastectomy.  She is 74.  She has a multitude of health ailments including having a pace maker she calls 'Elvis.'  She is a Presley obsessive from way back.

She is now suffering from very serious depression.

Her only viable family support is her 52 year old daughter who works like a dog in a place north east of Perth.  She left her job and 20 year old daughter to come over to 'look after' neighbour.  Said job was paying her $1600.00 net per week.

Daughter gets here and tries for a Carer's pension and is given a CentreLink brush off.

So, Widow Neighbour pays Daughter $13,000.00 to stay here to look after her.  She is in a 'nut house' dealing with the depression, and also having the chemo.

The depression is heightened because the Neighbour reckons she is 'running out of money.'  So......today....with Daughter (who has Power of Attorney,) at her request, I drive to Brisbane to see the Accountant who has been managing the Neighbour's financials.  The object was to find out exactly what the position was.

So.....turns out, this is what she has:

1.  Totally unencumbered House/Place of Residence if sold would probably net her $800,000.00.

2.  $175,000.00 in investments readily convertable to cash.

3.  Pension of $400.00 pw.

4.  From that $175,000.00 investment, Accountant has been paying her $1500.00 a month.

5.  That means she has a weekly 'income' of about $750.00, with the investment dwindling to zero after about ten years.

6.  She is distressed out of her mind with all that is going on.

Well, you 'tards...what do you reckon?

Is she in the marriage market?  Smiley

He ex husband wore lots of gold Herb, chains, rings and watches, even had gold capped teeth.

She is looking for that type of guy!

You may be in the money Herb!  Grin Grin Grin

Reply #35 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 8:46am

Aussie wrote on Mar 27th, 2017 at 10:09pm:
Yeas....and how does she do that, Mr Smith?  She is in a serious state of depression, undergoing debilitating chemo, in Hospital/Mental Health.....and by some magic wand.......it is all solved by her (she cannot even pay a telephone bill which was overdue) doing all that.

Wake up to the real World, Mr Smith.

I told her today (after walking into her Room with the Daughter to see her blubbering in a heap about her phone about to be cut off.....and then paid the account):

1.  Stop being whinging, whining, poor me, whatever will I do.

2.  You are fine. Stop worrying about having nothing.

3.  Assuming you live for ten years, you are okay.  Please don't hang around that long if you are going to blubber like that for ten years.

4.  'You mean I don't have to sell the House and move?'   "No, you don't.  You are fine, the sky is not about to fall in, you deal with the health issues, and forget about disaster.  There is no disaster."

5.  'But, I am not right in the head.'  "Damn right, you are not, but.....stop being depressed about being depressed because you dementedly think you are destitute"

6.  'Is that true, I don't have to sell the House, and move?  I cannot cope with that, Aussie.'  "Damn right, you don't have to sell with all that entails, empty your Home with all that entails, find another place with all that entails, and move in with all that entails.  Relax ferfuxsake."

You work it out from there, Mr Smith.  Walk an inch in her shoes.

There are two ultimate ironies in this tale.

1.  She was the most loyal Liberal supporter, making donations, handing out HTV cards etc you could ever imagine.  All the local Libs/Pollies know her and of her now circumstances.  Not one piece of assistance or contact from those arseholes.

2.  She was a volunteer at a Breast Screening Clinic for more than a decade, and that Clinic, which did her mammograms, missed her cancer.

so we have millions on the pensions and getting more on welfare every day...

then... thats only half the story....

like Aussie has said... a lot of them a sickly and costing Hundreds of Million of tax payers dollars providing medical expenses...

and like the OP was saying... there's only so many people working to support these people...

where's the money going to come from????

everyone has their hand out but no one knows where its coming from???

should be be throwing Million of Dollars at old folk who are going to die anyways??

Reply #36 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 9:50am

They should never have increased the price of cigarettes -
it means older people will now live longer than ever before.
We will never be able to pay them all the pension.
Maybe they'll die of malnutrition instead?

hawil

Reply #37 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 11:20am

Bobby. wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 9:50am:

A bit cynical, but maybe there is some truth in it.
The smokers have been used as scapegoats for medical costs for too long.
Had a couple as friends for more than 30 years, she a smoker and died of lung cancer at the age of 62, about ten month after the cancer was detected; he later had prostate cancer, bladder cancer, removal of the bladder and is still alive at the age of almost ninety.
His medical and pension costs would be multiples of his wives.

hawil

Reply #38 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 11:31am

Jovial Monk wrote on Mar 27th, 2017 at 8:43pm:
Neither John useless Howard, tony abbott nor Turdfull increased the award rate of award super. So, more people on the pension.

Get rid of negative gearing, halve the CGT exemption, reform super which is now a source of tax exemptions for very high income earners, make retirees on big SMSF pay tax on their income and the Budget will soon be balanced.

Stop hitting the old, the sick and the poor and they will be happy to spend more.

The opposite of what the idiotic Libs are doing.

You are very right; but Labour is no better, they are only prepared to govern for the elite 20% of society, as far as income and assets are concerned, because the top Union leaders and all the politicians and ex-politicians are, or will be among them.
The worst part of super, is, that many employers do not pay in the super , and the government does not police the system properly.
Furthermore, even after years of compulsory super, some 80% of the retirees will depend mostly on the age pension for their income, so it is not hard to see, that the Australian super is only set up for the benefit of the rich, the super industry including the Union bosses, who manage super assets, for enormous fees.
Australia is the only country which exempts super incomes of $100,000 plus to be tax exempt; prove me wrong.
Debate: is the new means test for the aged pension fair?

The meanest means-test of the age pension.
The Australian government provides every retired person with the safety net of the age pension, subject to the means test.

According to the means test of income, a single pensioner loses 50 % of the age pension after his/her income exceeds $162 a fortnight or $4212 per annum; a couple loses after an income of $4288.00 per fortnight or $7488.00 per annum.
If a single self funded retirees income falls below $1896.00 per fortnight or $49296.00 a year, or a couples income falls below $2902.00 per fortnight or $75452.00 per annum they can claim a part age pension.

The government is using the means test of the age pension, that the pensioner on a modest extra income above the allowable income, before his/her pension is reduced by 50%, to subsidise the generous tax concessions for the self funded retirees; the cost of the tax concessions is now almost as much as the total cost of the age pension.
When the Howard-Costello introduced the obscenely generous tax concessions in 2007,it  was hardly mentioned by the media.

As it is now becoming obvious, that cost of the tax concessions are becoming unsustainable, the government should scrap the means test of the age pension and scrap all tax concessions for super.

What complaints would the self funded retirees have, if they were paid the full age pension, for losing the tax concessions for super?

A government in any civilised society should provide a basic living income for its retired citizens, but the government should not use a devious means test, so that citizens on modest incomes should not have to subsidise a luxurious lifestyle for the very rich.

The huge tax concessions for super do, and will in the future greatly contribute to Australia’s government debt problem. 

Reply #39 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 12:59pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 27th, 2017 at 11:03pm:
Yeas....and how does she do that, Mr Smith? 

i thought we were discussing the pensioner problem, not her own problems. They have happy drugs that can help her with her problems.

Her story is what the pension problem is partly about.  She is siting on a $800,000 pile of cash but it is her home and she does not want to be out of it.  Totally understandable.

Reply #40 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 3:33pm

hawil wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 11:20am:
Bobby. wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 9:50am:

A bit cynical, but maybe there is some truth in it.
The smokers have been used as scapegoats for medical costs for too long.
Had a couple as friends for more than 30 years, she a smoker and died of lung cancer at the age of 62, about ten month after the cancer was detected; he later had prostate cancer, bladder cancer, removal of the bladder and is still alive at the age of almost ninety.
His medical and pension costs would be multiples of his wives.

What's the point of living if your so damn old & unhappy?

Reply #41 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 3:48pm

Aussie wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 12:59pm:

i thought we were discussing the pensioner problem, not her own problems. They have happy drugs that can help her with her problems.

Her story is what the pension problem is partly about.  She is siting on a $800,000 pile of cash but it is her home and she does not want to be out of it.  Totally understandable.

whilst I understand her sentiments, and if we were in a better position I would advocate that the govt. do more, the fact remains that we aren't in a position to do what we like and it's up to her to look after herself.

This is one of the reasons I think they should consider a inheritance tax. The pensioner hoards away their assets while milking the taxman, so as to leave their kids something. Meanwhile the taxpayer has to make up the shortfall.

Reply #42 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 4:08pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 3:48pm:

whilst I understand her sentiments, and if we were in a better position I would advocate that the govt. do more, the fact remains that we aren't in a position to do what we like and it's up to her to look after herself.

This is one of the reasons I think they should consider a inheritance tax. The pensioner hoards away their assets while milking the taxman, so as to leave their kids something. Meanwhile the taxpayer has to make up the shortfall.

Nah.  Just because she lives in her Home and has for decades, one which is worth net $800,000.00 does not mean she must be forced to sell up while her, let's say Sister, lives in her home which is worth net $300,000.00 and is not forced to sell.

The Home of anyone and everyone ought never be included in any pension means test.

Inheritance tax.  That's another issue, and one which was dealt a fatal bow decades ago with the abolishment of 'death duties.'

Even if it were brought in, I'd confidently expect the Home would never be included.

Get off the Pensioner's back Smith.  You'll be there one day.

Reply #43 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 5:55pm

John Smith wrote on Mar 28th, 2017 at 3:48pm:

When pensioners need to go to an old persons home
they normally pay for it with a reverse mortgage on their house.

Get the facts before you dribble on here.

Reply #44 - Mar 28th, 2017 at 6:25pm

When pensioners need to go to an old persons home
they normally pay for it with a reverse mortgage on their house.

Get the facts before you dribble on here.

Sure, if they have rocks for brains.