Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10
10 things you should know about slavery in Austral (Read 6117 times)

Re: 10 things you should know about slavery in Austral
Reply #30 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:46pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:40pm:
Now nincompoops like Mothra are adding slavery to the aborigine saga. The slaves in early Australia were white people you muppet.

Hammer, why are you so intent on embarrassing yourself?

Reply #31 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:48pm

mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:46pm:
Now nincompoops like Mothra are adding slavery to the aborigine saga. The slaves in early Australia were white people you muppet.

No mention of British convicts you dropkick.

Reply #32 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:50pm

Mr Hammer wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:48pm:
mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 1:46pm:

No mention of British convicts you dropkick.

Is there a reason there should be?

Reply #33 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:08pm

mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 12:16pm:
Valkie wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 12:14pm:
I think we must stop this racial discrimination right now.

From now on, regardless of your race, creed, colour, or religion (CULTS excepted)
everyone MUST be treated EXACTLY the same.

No more "specialized" treatment, one and all EXACTLY the same.
No more "Special" welfare , condition or exceptions.
ALL and EVERY Australian to be given the EXACT same benefits.
The EXACT SAME requirements.
NO more "CULTURAL or RELIGIOUS" dedicated health or welfare.

One law, one welfare and one country for ALL AUSTRALIANS.

How is that for TOTAL fairness for you?

Or do you want "Special" treatment, Racial inequality and Class segregation?

What special treatment do Aboriginal people get?

Oh I don't know, How about
Special Aboriginal medical facilities.
More welfare
Free education.
Government housing with extras, faster than any white Australian.
Special loans
Cultural gimmies
Free land, which they then sell off and waste the money.
Aboriginal only employment (Its culturally significant requirement....bullshite)

Shall I go on and on?????

Lets just make everything EXACTLY the same for EVERY Australian.
Do you have a problem with that??????

You are racist.

Reply #34 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:11pm

Valkie wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:08pm:

From now on, regardless of your race, creed, colour, or religion (CULTS excepted)

More welfare
Free education.
Special loans
Cultural gimmies
Aboriginal only employment (Its culturally significant requirement....bullshite)

You are racist.

You are, as usual, quite wrong.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #35 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:13pm

More welfare
Free education.
Special loans
Cultural gimmies

You are racist.

Aborignals have the right to be abused by immigrant-descendant racist cretins like Valkie.

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #36 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:39pm

mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:11pm:

More welfare
Free education.
Special loans
Cultural gimmies

You are racist.

And you are a liar.
Typical of an apologist I suppose.
There are Aboriginal only medical facilities where I live, Aboriginal only....
Aboriginals get a higher welfare payment, I have an Aboriginal friend who is on welfare and its a fact.
Education is not only free, my friend several qualifications all paid for by my taxes, I would have to pay to do them.
Are you aware that Aboriginal housing has several mandatory extras? Well it has dear, Wood fences, not metal, Wool carpet, not nylon fixed heating etc, there are more, but I cant remember them all.
And if you want to be bumped up the list quick smart, just tick Aboriginal or Torres Straight Islander and see what happens. That is why they ask.

Cheap, SPECIAL loans, or are you missing out dearie?
Aboriginal cultural centers, buildings and meeting places, all paid for by the Grubberment My taxes. Every town, suburb or city has these, and don't think for a second that they pay for them.

They are given land after they get someone else to fight for it of course, which they sell off cheap.
On the Central Coast the local Aboriginal tribe went in with the National parks to get the rights to the peninsular from Soldiers beach to the Entrance.
When the local Grubberment gave them the land, previously owned by everyone, the Aboriginals gave half to the National Parks, who promptly locked it all up. and then sold the rest to a development corporation for quite a few million. They had been trying unsuccessfully for years to get a hold of it.
Now access to the beach along that peninsular is limited.
The Aboriginal group wasted nearly half of the money with nothing to show for it, until an administrator was appointed, which to this day they are still fighting.
This is the normal outcome of many land right claims, sell off the land and waste the money.

Finally, If I were to advertise for a white or ethnic employee, I would have to fight off dozens of groups wanting to get their hands on me.
And yet, the Aboriginals have Aboriginal only employment because its "Culturally significant".
I thought it was illegal to discriminate?
Or is reverse racism OK?
Must be the CULT has no problem getting away with it do they?

Now, I have demonstrated that
1) you are a liar
or
2) you have no idea what you are talking about.

Reply #37 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:57pm

Valkie wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:39pm:

More welfare
Free education.
Special loans
Cultural gimmies

You are racist.

And you are a liar.
Aboriginals get a higher welfare payment, I have an Aboriginal friend who is on welfare and its a fact.
Education is not only free, my friend several qualifications all paid for by my taxes, I would have to pay to do them.
Are you aware that Aboriginal housing has several mandatory extras? Well it has dear, Wood fences, not metal, Wool carpet, not nylon fixed heating etc, there are more, but I cant remember them all.
And if you want to be bumped up the list quick smart, just tick Aboriginal or Torres Straight Islander and see what happens. That is why they ask.

Aboriginal cultural centers, buildings and meeting places, all paid for by the Grubberment My taxes. Every town, suburb or city has these, and don't think for a second that they pay for them.

They are given land after they get someone else to fight for it of course, which they sell off cheap.
On the Central Coast the local Aboriginal tribe went in with the National parks to get the rights to the peninsular from Soldiers beach to the Entrance.
When the local Grubberment gave them the land, previously owned by everyone, the Aboriginals gave half to the National Parks, who promptly locked it all up. and then sold the rest to a development corporation for quite a few million. They had been trying unsuccessfully for years to get a hold of it.
The Aboriginal group wasted nearly half of the money with nothing to show for it, until an administrator was appointed, which to this day they are still fighting.
This is the normal outcome of many land right claims, sell off the land and waste the money.

Finally, If I were to advertise for a white or ethnic employee, I would have to fight off dozens of groups wanting to get their hands on me.
And yet, the Aboriginals have Aboriginal only employment because its "Culturally significant".
I thought it was illegal to discriminate?
Or is reverse racism OK?
Must be the CULT has no problem getting away with it do they?

Now, I have demonstrated that
1) you are a liar
or
2) you have no idea what you are talking about.

You're raving.

And you're absolutely wrong on everything but the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Centres ...  but why would you begrudge them that?

Reply #38 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 4:00pm

Here's the truth about the 'free ride' that some Australians think Indigenous peoples get

The shocking truth about non-Indigenous Australia is that many people mistakenly assume that Indigenous Australians coast through life, receiving privileges and benefits. Bronwyn Carlson busts this myth with some hard truths.

Recently, while teaching an 'Introduction to Indigenous Australia' course, a non-Indigenous student asked me if it was true that Indigenous people got to go to university for free. He had heard that Indigenous people were also recipients of a range of other benefits and privileges not available to non-Indigenous people.

Intrigued, I decided to ask the class what they thought about this idea that Indigenous Australians received goods and services and even financial compensation for being Indigenous. Many of the students held the belief that indeed Indigenous Australians received privileges and benefits not available to non-Indigenous Australians.

The level of conviction that this was in fact the truth shocked me. I asked the class to tell me more about the ‘free’ things available only to Indigenous Australians.

The first question was about university. I am not sure where this idea originates from but it is enduring. Members of the class were convinced that Indigenous Australians did not have to pay for a tertiary education and received “free” government funds to attend.

Some also believed that Indigenous students passed and received their degree without having to do any of the assignments. I asked them if this was the case why are Indigenous people under-represented in the university sector?

According to the Review of Higher Education Access and Outcomes for Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander People: Final Report 2012, Indigenous people comprise 1.4 per cent of student enrollments at university, including only 1.1 per cent of higher degree by research enrollments. Indigenous staffing levels are also low, with 0.8 per cent of all full-time equivalent academic staff and 1.2 per cent of general university staff being Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people.

Indigenous Australians like all other Australians pay to go to university. The only way any student would come to university without paying fees is if they had a scholarship. There are very few scholarships for Indigenous people specifically.

In terms of the “free payment” – Indigenous Australians generally have access to the same or similar services and support for studying as other Australians. They do not receive “free payments” because they are Indigenous nor are they exempt from doing the work. Specific government programs not “free payments” are available to address the economic and social disadvantage that Indigenous Australians may face. Such payments are generally also means tested.

The next range questions were amusing in some ways given the ridiculousness of them. I was asked if it is true that Indigenous people get free wedding dresses, a free dog, a free Toyota and a free payment from Centrelink (perhaps to pay for dog food for the free dog). The most nonsensical question however, was whether Indigenous people get “free home loans”.

Commonsense would surely tell us that a loan requires repayment therefore cannot and is not “free”. I was at first amused at the absurdity of the questions then realised that some of the students actually believed that these were indeed factual. To be clear – there is no truth to these myths.

I asked the students to reflect on why they thought that Indigenous people received such things for ‘free’. Over the next 13 weeks we examined historical documents written by colonisers that described massacres of Indigenous people and forced dispossession of lands.

The literature provided students with evidence that revealed that for over two centuries, policies of ‘Protection’, Segregation and Assimilation variously regulated the daily lives and movement of Indigenous people in Australia. Regulation occurred through child removal, enforced miscegenation, the outlawing of culture and language, the destruction and theft of lands and the breakdown of kinship relations through forced relocation; in effect, policies and practices were aimed towards the containment and annihilation of all Indigenous people.

While many non-Indigenous people may argue that such practices were a thing of the past, evidence suggests otherwise. For example, in 2007 the then Prime Minister John Howard led the Northern Territory Intervention, which was widely condemned as racist and including by the United Nations. More recently, the Western Australian government announced plans to stop funding fundamental services to Indigenous communities essentially forcing Indigenous peoples, in these locations, from their homelands.

In 2016 the Productivity Commission revealed that Indigenous Australians are becoming more disadvantaged with increasing accounts of intergenerational trauma, high imprisonment rates, alarming suicide rates and mental health issues. Characterisation of Indigenous Australians as recipients of a “free ride” and who are seen to be motivated to rort the public purse has its roots in an ignorance of Indigenous experiences of dispossession, colonisation and ongoing colonial violence.

Reply #39 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 4:01pm

When confronted with the idea that Indigenous people get everything for free it is important for commonsense to prevail. I am pleased that my students were able to see that there was no truth to be found in the questions that they had and that they were able to critically reflect on why they thought there was.

Bronwyn Carlson is an Associate Professor of Indigenous Studies at the University of Wollongong and author of The Politics of Identity: Who Counts as Aboriginal Today?

http://www.sbs.com.au/topics/life/culture/article/2016/12/07/heres-truth-about-f...

Reply #40 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 4:31pm

If you are going to talk about Australia and slavery, you should at least make the comparison with the long, pestulant voyages of those exiled from the British Isles for what were acts of rebellion, and then farmed out as labourers to private individuals. Cheap labour. They were often flogged with a cat o' nine tails by their masters, so let's not pretend Australian ancestors all had a rosy time lording it over aboriginals like Simon LeGree. But you probably don't know of him anyway.

“Blackbirding” in the Islands came to the notice of the colonists in Australia in the 1860s due to the American Civil War and the chance for plantation owners to try cotton, the American supply being limited. It wass immidiately vilified in colonial newspapers. But cotton failed due to a blight and requirement for labour did not reappear until the planting of sugar in Queensland. But equally large plantations were vying for labour in German New Guinea, Fiji, and other islands. British and American cruisers had been  instrumental in the supression of the West African slave trade before the Civil War, and afterwards they focused on the South West Pacific. At the same time, Queensland passed laws to regulated island labour.

But to suggest that Colonial sugar planters used slave labour cannot be supported if you actually study history and not just sensationalism. Bucko captains like William Hayes may have got away with kidnapping in the early days, but nobody was sold on an auction block in Australia. Islanders were paid for their labour, and returned to their islands in most cases. The most popular items they took home were guns and ammunition, and they were not given to them for free. They had money. It was not uncommon for some islanders to return to Queensland a second or third time out of choice, having known the conditions under which they would work.

What those who just discovered a little about the 19th century don't understand is that Blackbirding or kidnapping began against a panorama of tribal warfare and canabalism. They are happy to avoid the worst slavers: Peruvians who denuded whole islands of their populations. None ever returned from Peru. They were worked to death in the guano mines.
Equally, those who talk about slavery in Australia, are completely unaware that a steady slave trade had run between Zanzibar in East Africa, an Arab countries from a time centuries before America or Australia were discovered and right up into the 20th century. But such gullible neophytes would rather wring their hands an moan about some bogus guilt by inheritance just because they are of European descent.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arab_slave_trade

Here is a photograph taken of a labour vessel at Bundaberg, preparing to repatriate Islanders. These people are clearly not slaves. Out of interest, note the long surf boat specifically for landing at atolls without harbours.

Reply #41 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 10:39pm

FRED. wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 12:01pm:
mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 11:56am:
velee wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 11:45am:
bogarde73 wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 10:41am:
So no history of Muslim slave traders from mothra,

And that's in Australia.

mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 10:45am:
If you bother to look on thee front page of the eneral forum, you will see a thread i started about Islamist and Right Wing terrorism.

And another on Female Genital Cutting.

But nothing of the history of Muslim slave traders and Australia.

Why must everything be about Musims with you people?

This is clearly about Aboriginal people.

Do you have a problem accepting that Aboriginal people were slaves?

You don't seem to want to address it.

Bit late to address some might have been slaves way back..Way back things were different  Grin Grin Grin Grin

That's true, Fred. Things were really different in the 1950s.

We'll discuss the Muslim slave trade instead, shall we?

Reply #42 - Mar 18th, 2017 at 10:49pm

mothra wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 10:36am:
rhino wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 10:21am:
*yawn*

Of course. Why would it interest you?

You're a notorious racist.
Im not racist, nature is. I just draw attention to evident facts.

Raven

Around
Reply #43 - Mar 19th, 2017 at 4:48am

Valkie wrote on Mar 18th, 2017 at 3:39pm:

More welfare
Free education.
Special loans
Cultural gimmies

You are racist.

And you are a liar.

your ignorance is staggering

No, it is illegal to turn away those who need immediate medical attention regardless of race.

Oh you have an Aboriginal friend? Raven was raised by an Aboriginal family and he can tell you they get the exact same welfare payment as every one else. But don't take his word for it look at the Centrelink website. You have absolutely zero evidence to back up your ludicrous claim

Nope. Once again there is zero evidence to support your claim. Raven's brother and sister are still paying off their HECS debt.

Oops wrong again. Come on mate, show some evidence.

Again evidence? Raven's sister was on the Territory Housing list for 5 years. Yeah, she was bumped up up real f.ucking quick

Such as??

Where? Provide evidence.

So one group sells their land and you say it's the normal outcome?

Quoth the Raven "Nevermore"

Raven would rather ask questions that may never be answered, then accept answers which must never be questioned.

Reply #44 - Mar 19th, 2017 at 7:25am

the story of the aborigines is one that warns us never to fall off the narrow road to success and never to take a dollar we didnt earn.

the aborigine pre the arrival of Phillip was engaged with his environment. each day he knew he had to take maximum personal responsibility for his survival. each member of the tribe knew he was only welcome in the tribe if he brought value. each day as he hunted he went into a flow state and he would have seen himself as strong, powerful and resilient.
if he did not spear the roo, he knew that sitting around complaining about it, having a sook, asking for counselling about his depression at missing the shot, or joining a union to demand that roos "play ball" were unlikely to help him.

He was in full acceptance of the "harsh reality of the world' and as such he thrived.

fast forward to the introduction of the patronising welfare state and the sit down money of the hand wringing bed wetters from the left and now he is screwed.

Once you take the hand out from the leftie you fall off the road to success.Once you lose momentum its all over. Once you start taking the "path of least resistance" you slide into lower consciousness.

lefties are in this lower conscious state. they are always angry and fearful and blaming and looking back and playing the victim and there is simply no way forward once you let these "negative thought loops into your head".
because its always easier to blame then to climb.

never "vibe" with a leftie do-gooder.

the current state of aboriginals is the direct result of them becoming addicted to the lefts lower consciousness.

maximum personal responsibility is the way to go.

alcohol, welfare, inertia, victimhood, cry baby status, feeling so sad about "me and my harsh little life"...this is not the way of the superior man . leave those emotions to mothra and her band of hand wringers who cant vibe with anything that doesnt make them feel "OUTRAGED".

The aboriginal should be outraged. he had a fun life vibing with the strong alpha males of the NT cattle farmers until the lefties told him he was "entitled" to"victim status".
shame on them, how ugly the soul of the do-gooder is. like a pedophile priest, the do-gooder virtue signals to hide this ugliness.

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 ... 10