Everest Base Camp (Read 9771 times)

Re: Everest Base Camp
Reply #30 - Mar 12th, 2017 at 1:50pm

[quote author=Gordon link=1489136617/29#29 date=1489290284]

Why? I've been to the Indian Himalayas, hiking and on motorbike.
Are you upset I can do stuff like this but you can't because you're  cripple?
[/quote]

He won't go there himself for fear of being mistaken for a porter and being loaded-up despite his protests.

Reply #31 - Mar 12th, 2017 at 2:02pm

[quote author=Herbert link=1489136617/30#30 date=1489290637][quote author=Gordon link=1489136617/29#29 date=1489290284]

[/quote]

He won't go there himself for fear of being mistaken for a porter and being loaded-up despite his protests. [/quote]

Maybe I'll pay him to carry a bag of MREs up for me.

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #32 - Mar 12th, 2017 at 3:48pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 1:44pm:

In your perverted imagination Herr Bert and Gordon.

I climbed Kota Kinabalu in Sabah in one day in 1983 which is about the same height as Mt. Everest base camp. Returning down was harder on the muscles than climbing up.

At that time I was a heavy smoker, but very fit.
« Last Edit: Mar 12th, 2017 at 4:42pm by Unforgiven »  

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #33 - Mar 12th, 2017 at 5:01pm

Unforgiven wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 3:48pm:

I climbed Kota Kinabalu in Sabah in one day in 1983 which is about the same height as Mt. Everest base camp. Returning down was harder on the muscles than climbing up.

You're now in your 50's.

Not far from Sandakan from where the notorious march took place under Japanese guards.

Reply #34 - Mar 12th, 2017 at 6:15pm

Unforgiven wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 3:48pm:

Found you.

Reply #35 - Mar 12th, 2017 at 7:44pm

Smoking seems to be a universal need. Tribes in the middle of the Amazon jungle enjoy a smoke just as much as people living on the sides of mountains or in the desert areas of the world.   

But I digress.

'Things Go Better with Coke' use to be the refrain, but it seems to be a 'universal' that smoking has therapeutic virtues of the psychological kind.

I've been off tobacco for exactly 26 years now.

Reply #36 - Mar 13th, 2017 at 7:04am

Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 7:44pm:
Smoking seems to be a universal need. Tribes in the middle of the Amazon jungle enjoy a smoke just as much as people living on the sides of mountains or in the desert areas of the world.   

But I digress.

'Things Go Better with Coke' use to be the refrain, but it seems to be a 'universal' that smoking has therapeutic virtues of the psychological kind.

Obviously Unfoolgivens heavy smoking led to a foot amputation.  Poor fella.

Reply #37 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 9:59pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 9:06pm:
Unforgiven wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 9:04pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 8:44pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 8:29pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 7:57pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 7:51pm:
Correct.

And not a Portaloo to be seen anywhere.

Yuck

Turds all the way up to the top of Mount Everest. Those poor bloody Yeti having to step into that muck all the time.

How would you like tourists trekking through your backyard and sh!tting all over the place?

I've actually seen Chinese tourist's kids shhhitting in the park at Nth Bondi

Gordon hanging around public toilets again?

Why would they be crapping in my park if there was a dunny nearby?

They were probably coming onto you, dear.

Reply #38 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 10:10pm

Mattyfisk wrote on Mar 16th, 2017 at 9:59pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 9:06pm:
Unforgiven wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 9:04pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 8:44pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 8:29pm:
Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 7:57pm:
Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 7:51pm:
Correct.

And not a Portaloo to be seen anywhere.

Yuck

Turds all the way up to the top of Mount Everest. Those poor bloody Yeti having to step into that muck all the time.

How would you like tourists trekking through your backyard and sh!tting all over the place?

I've actually seen Chinese tourist's kids shhhitting in the park at Nth Bondi

Gordon hanging around public toilets again?

Why would they be crapping in my park if there was a dunny nearby?

They were probably coming onto you, dear.

Granville style.  Is that you?

Reply #39 - Mar 16th, 2017 at 11:28pm

Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 7:44pm:

But I digress.

well done herbert

Unforgiven

I have sinned

Reply #40 - Mar 17th, 2017 at 1:00am

Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 5:01pm:
You're now in your 50's.

You flatterer.

“I’ll let you be in my dreams if I can be in yours” Bob Dylan

Reply #41 - Mar 19th, 2017 at 8:43pm

Unforgiven wrote on Mar 17th, 2017 at 1:00am:
Lord Herbert wrote on Mar 12th, 2017 at 5:01pm:
You're now in your 50's.

You flatterer.

I could put together a kettlebell workout for senior cripples if you like

The_Barnacle

Reply #42 - Mar 29th, 2017 at 8:55pm

Gordon wrote on Mar 10th, 2017 at 7:03pm:
Anyone here done the trek?

I did it in 2001.
Absolutely amazing.
I've been back to Nepal twice since then I loved it so much.
The scenery was amazing, and that feeling of altitude and the need to aclimatise is something we never have to worry about in Australia.

It is a bit of a culture shock. Nepal is one of the worlds poorest countries so if you don't like roughing it a bit you probably shouldn't go.

Everest.JPG (116 KB | 96 )
Everest.JPG

The Right Wing only believe in free speech when they agree with what is being said.

Reply #43 - Apr 28th, 2017 at 5:15pm

Looks like I'm taking 1stborn in December, but I won't do basecamp with an 11 year old. Instead well go to Pokhara where the treks are lower altitude.

Reply #44 - Jun 5th, 2017 at 10:03pm

I went to the Himalayas in the 90's.
I went to about 5600m on Kala Patar - across from Everest and probably a bit lower than Base Camp.
Great spot - it is a small peak in the middle of an immense valley surrounded by Everest and all the high Mountains.
I was lucky and had clear skies all the way up from a lowland village called Hille.
We walked for 33 days to acclimatise.

*the reason why the tracks are not 'straight up' is to help acclimatisation. If you get altitude sickness, its like being bent like a Scuba Diver ascending too fast - it can KILL !
Many 'rich' people with more money than sense fly into Lukla and start off there, but its not a wise thing to do.

Kathmandu is full of drugs. The Prince was off his scone on cocaine and machined gunned his royal family at the dinner table. Marijuana 'trees' grow everywhere. It's full of 'hippies' - some of which are still trapped in time since the 60's.

There are 3 Religions in Nepal: Buddhism (high lands), Hinduism (lowlands) & Tourism (everywhere).

Trekkers are everywhere in the Mountains and you will pass hundreds on those narrow little tracks every day.

Kathmandu is a filthy dirty place, due to the Indian influence.
The Mountains is also dirty, mostly to Tourism leaving its rubbish everywhere - especially the rich Mountaineers who just dump their leftovers after their climb all around Base Camp.

I had a great experience. The first week nearly killed me (because a few weeks previously I was smoking pot as usual with mates: stood up and said I was going out for a walk. They never saw me again for a few months ...nor did they notice  Roll Eyes ) - but by the end of the trek, I was a lean, mean walking machine.
I visited many Monastries, learned to eat chilli food and more.
Sitting in one Monastry: an old lady brings an Italian Trekker/Tourist in and shows him a wooden box. He gives her some Rupee and she opens it up to give him a skull-coconut looking thing. He looks over it like a Scientist and then hands it back. He walks out, she puts it back and closes the lid ...then winks  Wink at me. She got another 'sucker' for the YETI skull.  Grin

The reason why Budhist monks sit on the floor in Monastries is because their heads are under the cloud of incence smoke above.

It was a great, live-enhancing experience and I recommend it highly. I was lucky my mate working at Parramatta Station managed to 'nick over' to the Kodak store that had just been broken into and grab me over x100 roles of film which he sold to me for $100. I certainly clicked away up there and got heaps of great photos (pre-digital) as if I had a digital.

As an Australia - where everything is so FLAT here. It was simply awesome seeing those mountains, so clear and immense. Even a Pyramid could not compete with their sheer size and presence.

I could write for ages about being up there.
But truly, it is a true 'adventure' in a very simple way.